check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Ground Floor Apartment with Sea Views and pet friendly

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
Sleeps
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Saltburn-by-the-Sea Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Two bedrooms, sleeps 5, dog friendly, 5 minutes' walk from beach

Sleeps 5 plus 2 well behaved dogs. The beach is five minutes walk away with full amenities equally close. There is a promenade walk along the sea front less than a minute from the apartment. You can walk down to the beach in under five minutes or take the scenic route down to the sea through the valley gardens.

The front double bedroom has one double bed. The rear bedroom has a triple bunk bed, being a double on the bottom and a single on the top. All bed linen and towels are provided.There is a shower room, separate toilet and fully equipped kitchen. There is a small garden to the front of the apartment and a rear yard. In the rear yard, there is a warm water shower to wash dogs' paws after their run on the beach or in the woods. There is a TV and DVD player in both bedrooms and the living room and free wifi to help you have fun and relax. The living room and dining area both seat six people. The supermarket, laundrette and many cafes, restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance, as is the train station. I have prepared a visitors pack for all guests listing which places allow dogs.

THE AREA

Perched on the edge of stunning North Yorkshire, this perfectly preserved historic fishing and smuggling area of Saltburn is steeped in ancient history and maintains much of its original charm as a Victorian seaside town.

Its warm and welcoming residents are extremely proud of their heritage, from its oldest public house, The Ship Inn, dating back to the 1500’s to the stunning Saltburn Pier, recently restored to it’s former glory. The pier is the most northerly surviving British Pier and only remaining pleasure pier on the

North East coast.

THINGS TO DO

If you’re discovering the town for the first time, there are plenty of things to

see and do. Whether you’re looking for breath-taking leisurely walks, taking advantage of the beaches or browsing around the local attractions,

Saltburn by the Sea has it all.

Enjoy magnificent sweeping beaches at your leisure. Or, if you’re after a great surf, there are great breaks to suit all, from beginners to the more experienced on the north and south side of the old pier.

The upper and lower promenades are great for long leisurely walks looking out across the Saltburn coastline. The walk is part of the 36 mile Heritage coast, displaying dramatic headlands and climbing high above smugglers’ secret caves, then meandering south towards Whitby.

Stroll down through the beautiful Saltburn Valley Gardens where you can appreciate the manicured Italian Garden flowerbeds and the ruins of the old corn mill. Stop off at the tea rooms and the Woodland Centre, to gain valuable information on the many local walks the permanent orienteering course. Then jump aboard the miniature railway* for a ride which runs from the Valley Gardens to the sea front.

Ride the Saltburn Cliff Lift* - the oldest water balanced cliff tramway running 120ft from the town on the upper promenade, down to the Pier on the lower promenade, lovingly restored and refurbished with amazing stained glass windows.

Pay a visit to The Ship Inn, dating back to the 1500’s, for a bite to eat and a drink. Or try one of the vast array of cafes, pubs and restaurants catering for every discerning palette, from light lunches and snacks to evening meals.

Wildlife lovers can visit Saltburn Gill, a 52 acre woodland nature reserve, Seal Sands where a colony of seals reside at various times of the year, and there are always plenty of seabirds to steal your chips!

FURTHER AFIELD

If you prefer to venture further afield for day trips out, then Whitby is only a 45 minute drive away and Scarborough is 1 hour, 10 minutes. Or, if you fancy popping inland for a spot of shopping, you will find Middlesbrough just a 30 minute drive from Saltburn. Alternatively, Saltburn’s railway station will take you to your desired locations - check out the local train times and destinations.

Travelling distances:

Redcar 5 miles

Middlesbrough 13 miles

Whitby 26 miles

Scarborough 46 miles

Helmsley 48 miles

*Some attractions are seasonal. Full details are available on booking or by visiting www. redcar-cleveland.gov.uk

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Janet Dalton
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2016

About Janet Dalton

I am a dog groomer and I also purchase property for investment reasons. I decided to combine three of my favourite things in life -spending time with my dog, buying property and my love of Saltburn since childhood. So I bought an apartment in Saltburn for others to visit and which is dog friendly. (Note: you are also very welcome to stay if you don't have dogs!)

Janet Dalton purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Janet Dalton chose Yorkshire Moors and Coast

I specifically chose this property because it has fantastic sea views, it is on the ground floor and while being quite spacious, it is also cosy and welcoming.

What makes this apartment unique

Saltburn is on the very edge of the North Yorkshire Moors. It is a beautiful town in its own right with wonderful beach, promenade, and woodland walks. It is also very close to many other wonderful places to visit; Guisborough, Roseberry Topping, Robin Hood's Bay, Sandsend, Stokesley, Whitby, Scarborough, Middlesbrough, Helmsley, Mount Grace Priory, just to name a handful of places that are close by and worthy of a visit.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your apartment was the best thing about the holiday. We felt right at home. Just a shame about the weather but that didnt really bother our dog Megan who enjoyed her first holiday with us. We will definitely be back.
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

Ground Floor Apartment with Sea Views and pet friendly
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
5

the property was spacious and very Comfortable. Ideal for being so close to the Beach and amenities.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this property. The beaches all around are beautiful and was ideal to let the dog off the lead. The dog shower in the court yard was so useful and a easy to use. The Apartment was furnished with a lot of care taken to match this lovely Victorian House..Close to all amenities, shops takeaways. Fantastic scenic walks on your doorstep and plenty of places to visit. We really had a great holiday.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Its really great to hear that everything worked out so well for you. I'm especially pleased that you liked the outdoor shower for your dog! Thank you very much and I hope you might come back some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great holiday stay

  • 4 of 5

This is our second stay here and delighted again. So near to the town centre and beach. Our dog loves it here. Everything just to hand, comfy and accommodating. Lovely shower and plenty of room. Sit outside in the front or the nice enclosed back garden with handy water hose to clean off the dog full of sand.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so pleased you enjoyed it just as much second time round! Thank you very much.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect. A home from home.

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time we have been on holiday with our dog Megan. We usually holiday abroad but we miss her too much when we are away. So I hunted for someplace that we could take her with us and my decision to go back to Saltburn By The Sea was the best I could have made. The apartment was just perfect for us and more importantly for Megan. It is ideally situated a stones throw from the beach and plenty of shops and pubs nearby. We were spoiled for choice. The only fly in the ointment was the weather which is out of our control obviously. If the weather has played its part we would have had the perfect holiday. The apartment and Saltburn were perfect and we will be back next year and hopefully the weather will be better.

One word of warning for dog owners if their dog is on a raw diet. The fridge has no freezer compartment. We brought a weeks supply of raw food for Megan so we had to reduce the temperature in the fridge to keep her food frozen. Unfortunately that meant that everything else in the fridge was frozen. A minor inconvenience that we managed to deal with with some forward planning.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for this excellent review. I am pleased Saltburn and the apartment lived up to expectations. I'm sorry you struggled with the fridge as it doesn't have a freezer compartment. I will review my literature and adverts to ensure that other guests are aware that there is no freezer available at the moment. Thank you again and I hope to see you again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

This Property is in need of some TLC

  • 2 of 5

The photos are a little different to the reality - no where to sit outside, front bench rotten and thin and courtyard very neglected full of weeds and algae. TV went wrong during our stay and was replaced with a tv too small to watch from the sofas in the room.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry you feel that way about your stay with us, however I would like to point out a number of things. We do not show any photos of what you refer to as a 'courtyard'. It is not a courtyard, it is a yard for storing the rubbish bins and, as such, we do not encourage any of our guests to spend time sitting in it when there are so many beautiful views of Saltburn and places to relax at the front of and very close by the property. There is a bench at the front of the property which you describe as rotten, this is not true. This is a seaside town and so wood warps in the sea air but the bench is perfectly serviceable and fit for its purpose. You mention that the tv went wrong. May I point out that we did deal with that issue immediately by providing another tv. My housekeeper took the tv away and could not find anything wrong with it. We replaced it with one of the smaller tv's from the bedrooms which is the best we could do at short notice. It would not be reasonable to expect that we have a large tv on standby just in case. I suspect at many other holiday lets, you may not even have received a replacement at all. While I respect the fact that you are entitled to your opinion, this is not typical of the reviews we receive at the Emerald. The reason for that is that we work very hard to maintain high standards within the property. The outside space at the Emerald is not the selling point of our property and it never can be, but I do not advertise it as being anything other than what it is.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely appartment in an ideal location kitted out with everything you could need

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely stay . Well organised . Everything you could need . Very clean . Great with the dog . Would love to return

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again, thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location in a lovely little resort

  • 4 of 5

Saltburn is a quiet, clean town with lovely views, nice gardens and a great beach. It has some good pubs and eateries.

The apartment is well located for access to the sea front and also the town's shops (especially Sainsburys which is only about 100 yds. away!)

All the facilities in the apartment worked well and we were able to make ourselves very comfortable.

Handy as a base for touring North Yorkshire too.

It was a great place to holiday.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a kind and informative review. I hope you can return to us again some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
teesside
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Kilometres
the queens
Nearest Train
0.3 Kilometres
saltburn
Nearest Motorway
15 Kilometres
a66
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
vista mar
Nearest Beach
0.1 Kilometres
saltburn
Car: not necessary

Saltburn is a small seaside town with everything a visitor needs; a Victorian cliff lift and pier, long beach, great surf, many restaurants, cafés, pubs and convenience stores.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saltburn-by-the-Sea Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Pre-xmas
Nov 4 2016 - Dec 22 2016
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$63
$377
 
 
Xmas
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 5 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$103
$619
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Jan 6 2017 - Feb 9 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$69
$415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Valentines
Feb 10 2017 - Feb 16 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$82
$490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Feb 17 2017 - Mar 23 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$69
$415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter
Mar 24 2017 - Apr 27 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$82
$490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Apr 28 2017 - Jul 20 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$88
$528
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer holidays
Jul 21 2017 - Sep 7 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$101
$604
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Autumn
Sep 8 2017 - Oct 5 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$82
$490
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Hallowe'en
Oct 6 2017 - Nov 2 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$75
$453
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre-Christmas
Nov 3 2017 - Dec 21 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$69
$415
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas and New Year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 4 2018
Changeover Day: Friday
3 night minimum stay
$101
$604
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add $6 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$69
$415
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $63
Pet Fee $0

Prices based on 5 guests. At selected times of year, there are prices for 2 guests. Please contact owner for these. On receipt of your non-refundable 25% deposit, I will send you a rental agreement to sign. I will also ask you to pay your £50 damage deposit which will be returned within 7 days after your stay, providing there is no damage. Preferred changeover day is Friday; alternatives possible

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Saltburn-by-the-Sea Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Warm water shower outside for dogs. All towels provided
  • Fetch your own dog towels please
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Triple bunk bed
  • TVs and towel warmers in both rooms. Travel cot and dog cage available. All bed linen provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Yard
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Groups
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers