Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Cottage, Hot tub on 3-tier Deck, Pontoon Boat, 3 kayaks, paddle board

Sleeps11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3+ bedrooms, 1 bath, sleeps 11

This A-frame cottage was completely rebuilt in '04. Its multi-level decks and panoramic windows have spectacular views of Trout Lake and the evening sunsets. The deck is nestled into the rock and is surrounded by pines, giving a sense of being a part of nature. On the deck's first level is a new, large barbecue grill, table and seating; on the second level is a cedar, wood-fired hot tub and more seating; and the third level provides additional seating as well as serves as an entrance to the ground level sleeping porch and stairs to the dock. A deck off the living room and a balcony off the master bedroom offer more views and seating. In living room is a floor to cathedral ceiling stone fireplace and TV w/ over 150 satellite channels. There is a swimming area on the shore, as well as off the dock. A new (2013) 17' pontoon boat w/ 8 hp motor (12' x 7' deck with 4 chairs and 1 bench, collapsible cover), 3 kayaks, stand-up paddle board are provided.

Indoors, the floor to cathedral ceiling fireplace, as well as the spacious picture windows and French doors make the living room a haven of views and comfort. One of the leather sofas opens into a full size bed. Off the living room is the dining room and kitchen. The kitchen has all new cabinets, appliances, Corian countertop, and is fully equipped. Also on the main floor is a bedroom w/ a queen bed across the hall from the full bathroom, which has all new fixtures as well as a stackable washer and dryer. On the second floor is the master bedroom, with queen bed, single bed and private balcony. On the ground level, near the water's edge, is a sleeping porch, with wrap-around screens, and has 2 queen beds--access to the sleeping porch is off the deck. In addition to the fireplace, the cottage has built in propane heaters.

Trout Lake lies in the midst of many recreational opportunities--golf, biking, hiking, spelunking, river kayaking/canoeing, fishing, hunting and unlimited ways for the family to explore the out-of-doors.

More Details

Property Manager
Donna & John Clark
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Donna & John Clark

Donna and John Clark began their lodging business in 1994 with one room in their home which they converted into a bed and breakfast room. Now, almost 20 years later, along with some of their grown 7 children and 15 grandchildren, they own and manage 12 bed and breakfast rooms as well as 4 waterfront vacation rental homes. It is a family business that has brought joy to their family as well as to the hundreds of vacationers who have stayed with them.

Map

Trout Lake is surrounded by 1600 acres of State forest, where there are state-marked hiking trails. Nearby Cedar Lake and Wolf Lake offer additional trails and fishing opportunities. Trout Lake is annually stocked by NYS Department of Conservation with rainbow and lake trout, large and small mouth bass; perch and rock bass are native and in ample supply for the kids. Directly to the east is the high peaks region of the Adirondack (Lake Placid, the home of 2 Olympics, provides a great day trip-about 90 min); to the south along the St Lawrence River is the famous Thousand Islands Region, where one can enjoy boat cruises, castle sight seeing, boat museums (60 minutes away); to the north and across the Ogdensburg International Bridge awaits Canada's capital city, Ottawa, a city known for its continental flavor, fine dining, museums, tours of the Parliament building, and gardens--a unique excursion (90 min away).

Amenities

Edwards Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower , Stacking washer and dryer in bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom - 2 queen , This bedroom is a sleeping porch with wrap around screens.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Motorboat
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
4 queens, 1 single, 1 sleeper sofa pontoon boat with motor, 3 kayaks, stand up paddle board

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
5% Complete
17% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
Waterfront Cottage, Hot tub on 3-tier Deck, Pontoon Boat, 3 kayaks, paddle board
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 17 reviews
5

Amazing Lake House

  • 5 of 5

The kids loved swimming off the dock, kayaking, paddle boarding, fishing and cruising around the lake on the pontoon boat. The view from the hot tub is breath taking. The house was very comfortable and the kids really liked the sleeping porch. Camp fires at night capped off perfect days on the lake. The house and all the amenities included made for a great family vacation. We just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great view, some house issues

  • 3 of 5

The first thing to know about this property is the driveway is very steep and graveled. If you don't have 4 wheel drive, I don't think you want to chance it. I drive a honda crv with all wheel drive and brand new tires and had a very difficult time getting up the driveway. The front door of the house would not lock and the door sticks and is extremely difficult to close. I had to constantly go to the door to open it and close it for my grandchildren because they couldn't budge it.The screened in bedroom on the second tier of the house was okay except some of the sreens were pulled away and my sons were getting bitten by misquitos in there sleep.The hot tub was great and the views were excellent but the fishing was very poor. I guess they had some issues with acid rain a while back and it has taken its toll on the lake. We fished many hours each day and caught about 10 rock bass and only 8 smallmouth bass, the biggest one being 9 1/2 inches. It was nice having the pontoon boat and kayaks and paddleboards available. I think if the driveway was paved and the issues with the house were addressed, it would be a nice place to go on vacation. One last note, the house is advertised that it sleeps 11 which it does, but there are only 3 drinking glasses and a handful of wine and champagne glasses. We had to go out and buy plastic cups : (

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Pictures and descriptions are Deceiving

  • 1 of 5

I usually do not write reviews, but I feel obligated to inform others of this property. The first thing you need to know is that the front door does not lock. It is broken and has been broken for a long time. The second thing you should know is to bring your own life preservers for the boat as they are NOT provided. The boat is falling apart. My husband fell back when he sat on the chair because the screws are rotted out. The dock has a few boards that are loose and I guess someone complained because to my surprise without any notice, two people woke my family up at 7am, drilling and banging the metal. The jacuzzi only has one working jet, and the walls are slimy. Grill is rusted on the inside and the tray was filled with grease. The inside of this property was just as bad. I walked in to find ants in the kitchen. Dog hair, everywhere! Please do not even look under the beds unless you want to be grossed out by the dog hair and dust. Ceiling fans in the house have an inch of dust on them. Bathroom shower is a joke! It is so small that you can not bend over in it. If you drop something, you have to swat down for it or get out to pick it up. The sleeping quater outside is just that. It is located under the first floor, screened in room with 2 queen beds. If it's cold or raining, you WILL be exposed to the elements. Be careful of the wasp nest right outside the door. The dust and cobwebs are unreal. The roll up shade is broken and it is also filled with and inch of dust. Cobwebs are inside and outside. Vacuum is broken. The owners said that the were not aware of these issues, but all of the issues are posted by previous visitors that wrote down reviews in a book that is in the cottage. The picture of the living room isn't the way it looks. The furniture was rearrange to look bigger and this photo was taken from the upstairs balcony. Not worth what we payed. Owners were upset that we brought an extra 4 lb toy yorkie without notice ( understandable) but they let it go because we were so gracious about the unpleasant conditions. They did give us some ant traps and syrup.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is sad that one of our guests was so disappointed in their vacation. We tried to make everything right by going to the cottage as soon as we heard that they were unhappy with the ants and dog hair. We brought ant traps but when we arrived, we could not find a single ant. We offered to send back our cleaner, but she said it wasn't necessary. When we left she seemed happy, but it rained almost every day that week--a difficult situation with so many people in the home as well as 3 dogs. By the way, we were never informed about their bringing dogs and so no pet fee was ever paid. Nevertheless, it is sad if we feel that we have disappointed anyone as we have taken great pride in providing beautiful places to create happy memories for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Absolutely Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

The view is beautiful. So relaxing and enjoyed kayaking, hot tub at night and great memories with friends!

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It was absolutely beautiful

  • 4 of 5

We would definitely come again

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Memorial Weekend!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the house. It had everything we needed for our long weekend on the lake. The deck was beautiful to hang out on, we even had the games going on it all weekend. We had a problem with the boat but I immediately contacted the owner and someone was there to give us another boat the very next morning. The only few things I would mention that is good to be aware of, the one screened in bedroom that is off the deck is literally that, all screens, no glass windows so it can get very chilly and damp in there. The beds provided in that room though are very nice and comfortable. The other piece of information that is important to know ahead of time, unless you have 4 wheel drive you may want to park on top of the hill and bring ur stuff down. The day we left it was raining and it took us 2 hours to finally get the car up the driveway. Other than that it was a great weekend and Donna Clark is a delight to work with. I would absolutely rent from them again!!! Oh.... and I thought it was wonderful to walk in and see a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us on the table, very nice touch!!!!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Tax Rate 3.0%

Included in rent: cleaning fee, use of boats and boat gas, firewood, propane
Not included in rent: 3% taxes, optional sheet and towel rental ($12/set sheets, $9/set towels), pet fee ($25 per pet per day)
Optional event fee: if home or property is used for an event, such as wedding, reception, reunion, graduation party, $15 per guest
Holiday weekends: 3 night minimum, each night is weekend rate

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.