check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!

53 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Hawi Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio, Studio + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Yes, the Big Island does have a north shore, SHHHHHH! This unique spot on Hawaii is unspoiled by excessive tourism, traffic, and VOG (volcanic pollution). Come have an island experience the way locals enjoy it! Gaze across the channel at the island of Maui as you breathe in the clean clear air courtesy of the trade winds. Feel the aloha spirit in the quaint small town of Hawi which borders the tropical and dry sides of the island. The north shore of Hawaii is for people who want to go beyond the high priced hotel experience and enjoy the islands the way they have been enjoyed for generations.

From Hawi you can go ten minutes west to dry heat and swimming, fifteen minutes east to lush tropical jungle and the wild Pololu Valley, twenty minutes south to the summit views from the cool Kohala Mountain top or you can walk into Hawi town and enjoy a cup of coffee with the locals then get a massage or shop for locally made treasures in our artist filled community. After a fresh fish dinner at one of the local restaurants you may even be lucky enough to catch some live music by one of the many famous musicians living in our town.

Enjoy the benefits of a kama'aina (local) host, and use our years of island experience to help you get the most from your island stay. Having an on site host opens a vast potential of possibilities that most people never get to experience while visiting Hawaii.

Travelers who come to North Kohala should know that they are forgoing the hot dry heat and touristy areas to be out in the country. Most of North Kohala is very jungle like and therefore includes all animals and critters found in such locations. If geckos, pigs, spiders, mosquitoes, wild turkeys and roosters trouble you, then North Kohala is not for you.

Keywords: Studio

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Owner
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

Our family has deep roots in the Hawaiian Islands. While we certainly do not consider ourselves native Hawaiian, we can however, trace our family back to the early 1900s in Hawaii. Jim's mother grew up in hawaii and spent years in the entertainment industry on Oahu, singing and dancing for the early visitors to the islands.

The aloha spirit is very alive in our family as well as the town of Hawi where we chose to settle down. We invite you to join us and experience the warm hawaiian sun and an even warmer aloha!

The Owner purchased this studio in 2006

Why The Owner chose Kohala Coast

It was amazing; we rounded the the tip of the island and went from rain-forest to desert. What had been a tropical deluge of over 3 inches per hour had given way to sunshine and an amazing rainbow. It was in the magic of that 5 minutes that we decided that the big island was the place we wanted to live. It was 3 months later when we became the owners our Hawi home.

What makes this studio unique

The greatest benefit of choosing to stay with us is called aloha. What do you want and need to make your stay special? Adventure ideas, a meal prepared, your shopping done prior to arrival, a ride somewhere, more privacy; you name it and we can get it done for you. It is our goal that you have a perfectly relaxed and enjoyable vacation and then come back to see us again next year!

Reviews

4.8
based on 53 traveler reviews

Break Free from the Dominant Paradigm, at least for a Week!
average rating of 4.8301888 based on 53 reviews
Seattle
5

Soooooooo AWESOME!

  • 5 of 5

Girls getaway!!!

My three friends and I stayed in Jim and Leah's studio cabin for 3 nights and we loved, loved, loved our stay. It was raining hard when we arrived and Jim immediately greeted us with umbrellas and offered to unload our luggage. Their studio was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the location is located in a quiet neighborhood. Everything you need for cooking a meal at home is there. Our favorite part is the outdoor shower!!

To quote Jim, "You have to have Aloha (kindness) to see Aloha." We felt Jim and Leah's aloha during our entire stay.

We would stay here again!

Lynda (from Seattle)

p.s.: Be sure to schedule your stay through a Saturday so you can visit Hawi's farmers market and to eat Jim & Leah's yummy food at the Sol Kitchen. We ordered Leah's kombucha, their chicken salad and roasted pepper sandwich! Yum..yum...and good for you! So ono!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo Lynda, Every once in a while we have guests who actually slow down enough on their vacation to truly see what a paradise we have here. We are glad that you were among that group of people. It's truly not the physical beauty of the place (although that is a nice plus) that make it a paradise, it's the aloha. When I said to you that "one must have aloha to see aloha" I was not using the word in one of its many narrow forms. I was using it in its broadest form: Aloha, love, affection, compassion, mercy, sympathy, kindness, sentiment, grace, charity; greeting, salutation, regards; loved one; beloved, loving, kind, compassionate, charitable, lovable; to love, be fond of; to show kindness, mercy, pity, charity, affection; to venerate; to remember with affection. MAHALO FOR SEEING! THIS IS THE PARADISE WE HOPE ALL OUR GUESTS CAN SEE!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Spartanburg, SC
5

Lovely Hawi

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I along with our 2 kids (ages 11 & 12) had a wonderful stay at Jim and Leah's place. They are great hosts and give you recommendations on where to go, beaches, etc... (just ask). Their ohana is all that you need. It comfortable, neat, clean and has WiFi. The outdoor shower is a bonus!!! Love this feature so much. The space was perfect for our family of four and had a great kitchen for cooking meals in. Hawi has some of the best sushi I have had at Sushi Rock and you must, must, must check out the food at Sol Kitchen at the Hawi Farmer's Market, so ono!!! This a good home base and is but is easily accessible to other areas such as Waimea and Kona. We cannot wait to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Juneau, AK
5

Wonderful time!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time at Jim and Leah's place. Hawi itself is a really interesting place and close by some amazing beaches, with sand dunes, great views, the whole 9 yards. The guest house is a great home base for all your adventures, and because of the way I had set up my vacation, I had to do some work for a few days which wasn't an issue at all (good internet access). We all absolutely loved the outdoor shower.

Bottom line, we really had a great time there with Jim and Leah and their family (their children are roughly the same age as ours) and would recommend it to anyone. Side note: they run a booth down at the Farmer's market that serves excellent food.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Incredible way to start a vacation

  • 5 of 5

We spent just a brief two nights with Jim and Leah in Hawi. They we're super accommodating with us arriving late at night which after an entire day of traveling is always fantastic. The hale was perfect, everything two people could want/need. Plenty of cooking supplies to help you save a little money. Jim and Leah also gave us some fantastic recommendations for places to visit, including Mahukona for a brief morning swim and Kēōkea Beach Park to sit and watch the sunset. They're recommendations really made our trip. Not to mention the day of our departure Jim informed us of the local farmers market that day where we went and had an incredible meal cooked by Jim himself.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grants Pass, OR
5

A Week In Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

We spent two weeks on the Big Island and our most pleasant stay was at James and Leah's hale in Hawi. We didn't want the tourist trappings of Kona or Hilo and spent a week on both the most north and south ends of the island. We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant setting with a more wonderful family than our stay with them. The hale is clean, has all the conveniences, a MOST comfortable bed and that 3-headed outdoor shower is more than perfect. Their business, Sol Kitchen, is wonderful organic food that is served at the local Hawi Farmer's Market on Tuesday's and Saturday's. Really good food and such a fun market. We went back just for their food Tuesday and after we left, wished we could drive back for more! The town of Hawi is quaint, lots of awesome shops, great ice cream and espressos, a kava cafe with local music, art stores and more. Staying here gave us access to so many wonderful places to visit. Of course, Polulu Valley is a must see. We hiked all the way down to the black sand beach, spent some time absorbing the peace that valley brings to the soul and also explored beaches like Keokea on the way back. The turquoise waves were 15 ft high the day we were there and a small tidepool allowed for dipping. A wonderful white sand snorkeling beach is just down the highway at Beach 69. Great place with shade and a lot of reefs & fish. For a history of the area, Lapakahi State Park, is a 600 yr old native village just off the road, on the ocean that is filled with knowledge about farming and fishing of early settlers. One of our favorite places of all, and is not widely advertised, was a beach that isn't accessible by road. One of the locals told us about it. You park on the highway at mile post 81. Follow trails across the lava beds, past wild goat herds, and lava tubes, to a beautiful black sand and lava ocean beach. Go to the bay on the right and walk to an area of old lava rock walls that are channels to lagoons surrounded by palms and greenery. These channels were built by natives hundreds of years ago so that fish would enter at high tide into the lagoons. Then they close the channel and catch the fish. Now hundreds of sea turtles use this area for protection and to sun. There were so many turtles in the shallows of the bay feeding and in the channel in the afternoon. One actually came out of the water and sunned by me as I sat on the beach. Thank you James & Leah! We want to return. P.S. Don't touch the turtles.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Want to return!

  • 5 of 5

We didn't want to leave! The ohana and outdoor shower were the perfect places to return to each evening after our daily activities around the island. Jim and Leah's place is lush with tropical vegetation and flowers, birds, scents, and relaxation. The ohana is nice and roomy and has everything you would need. And, the outdoor shower. We miss it, especially on a moonlit night. I liked that we were staying near a small town and not in the more touristy busy areas. We ate at their Farmer's Market grill several times. Great food and mostly organic. The nearby town, Hawi, has a great coffee shop, gift shops, galleries, a grocery store, etc. Jim and Leah are wonderful hosts! We want to go back. and stay again.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
KOA
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bamboo
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
King Kamehameha Park ($9 all day)
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Historic and scenic Akoni Puli Hwy.
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bamboo, Sushi Rock, Kava Kafe, Lighthouse Deli
Nearest Ski
120 Miles
Mauna Kea Summit (4x4 needed--- No lift)
Nearest Beach
8 Miles
Swim at Mahukona or Pristine 69 Beach 20 mi. away
Nearest Point of Interest
Mahukona
Nearest Point of Interest
Birth place of Kamehameha
Nearest Point of Interest
Pololu
Nearest Point of Interest
Farmers Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Lighthouse
Car: recommended

Kohala Zip lines, Kohala Ditch Adventure, Helicopter tours, Kayak adventures, Swimming,

Sport Fishing for ahi, marlin, wahoo, etc.,

Surfing, Boogie boarding, Whale Watching,

ATV Tours (All-Terrain Vehicle),

Dinner Cruises / Sunset Cruises,

Dolphin Encounters, Hiking / Eco Tours,

Horseback Riding,

Inter Island Tours,

Luaus, Massage, Parasailing, Romance,

Scuba Diving, Shark / Ray Encounters,

Shows / Entertainment, Sightseeing Tours,

Snorkeling / SnorkelCruises, Snuba Diving,

Submarine / Glassbottom Boat,

Volcano Tours

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hawi Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 23 2016 - Nov 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$120
$780
 
 
Holiday
Dec 1 2016 - Jan 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$124
$850
 
 
Winter
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$120
$780
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$110
$720
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hawi Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • This studio has a toilet and bathroom sink inside with an awesome 3 headed and private outdoor shower.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Trundle Bed converts to king or two twin beds, Child Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) Pac-n-play is available for your little ones.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Don't miss the Saturday farmers market. and be sure to . . . Pick, husk and crack all the mac nuts you can eat on our organic Macadamia nut orchard.

Partner Offers