check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Gary & Marianne Callari

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, We use Google Translate for email and voice mail

Private lush cottage -$168 a night

31 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Haiku Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

1 Bedroom Cottage close to the beach in the upcountry area of Maui.

County Of Maui Permit# BBHP-2015/0002

Our guests experience the romantic charm of our Large one bedroom cottage that provide you with an incredible experience on a traveler’s budget. Surrounded by lush landscape, these getaway accommodations afford you the privacy and comfort of a home like residence. With nature as your tour guide, Upcountry Maui will provide you with endless outdoor exploring. Experience the old Hawaiian charm of Hana, a turn back in time to how Maui used to be. Hiking trails to waterfalls, the bamboo forest and the Haleakala Crater are all within a short drive. Its rustic charm and lush natural beauty will fill your eyes and heart with joy.

Hale Kokomo is situated next to the main house on one third of an acre. While inside you will enjoy the greenery that surrounds the property and its warm welcoming light that cascades in through the skylights from the morning sun. Its central location to shopping, great restaurants, and beaches, allow the convenience of what the North Shore has to offer.

. The kitchen is well equipped with all you might need to create your gourmet meal. Shop locally for foods from the farmers market on Saturday and Wednesday mornings where our local growers gather to display the freshest organic food grown on Maui. We also have a backyard patio and Bar B que area for our guests to enjoy. Our convenient location, open well appointed floor-plan along with its affordable price makes for a great value here on our beautiful island of Maui.

Come, experience and enjoy Aloha.

Hale Kokomo accommodation include a comfortable king size bed for (2) guest plus a full size futon available when needed.

Currently, breakfast is not provided.

Please give us a call for further information and availability.

Hale Kokomo is a Pesticides and chemical free environment.

Mahalo

808 344 1877

Keywords: Vacation Rental, Guest Room, Cottage, Plantation House, Hawaii Home, Hawaii Maui Accommodation, Room Rental, and Maui Transient Accommodations

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Gary & Marianne Callari (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: english, We use Google Translate for email and voice mail

About Gary & Marianne Callari

We are Gary & Marianne -

Our home is a 1929 Farm house from the Hawaiian Pineapple era We believe the cottage was a blacksmiths workshop that has been converted into the cottage it is today. We love nature, home and family. Our fun and together past time is making great dinners at home. We grow our own food and eat and live a very healthy plant based diet. We go to bed fairly early and we get up early. We have healthy habits and healthy relationships with everyone we come in contact with. An open mind and a positive attitude we believe have been our tools in getting the home and lifestyle we create. We try not to have to many rules and flow with what life presents us. Sometimes we are really good at it! We believe energy follows thought, so if you think you can you can! We love to travel and enjoy meeting people from all over the world. Our travels have brought us to Spain, Italy, Mexico, Thailand and the Caribbean. We use travel guides about food to experience the flavors of life! We have two grown adult children that we are very proud of, we honor who they are and the choices they have made and look forward to many more exciting adventures with them. 5 things we can't live without: Great weather, great food a higher consciousness, good organic chocolate and of course an active healthy body! We subscribe to the 4 agreements: Be Impeccable with your word. Don't take anything personally. Don't make assumptions. Always do your best. We wish you Happy Travels and Aloha! Gary and Marianne

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Our home was built in 1929, we have taken the time and love to bring in the more modern conveniences and kept the old world charm. Access to the internet an equipped kitchen, full water pressure and endless amounts of hot water in a well appointed beautifully remolded bathroom, incredible soaking tub / shower. Such a feeling of freedom and nature but totally private and protected.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We believe that Gary and Marianne were sent to us by the angels above. We feel so blessed to have met them and been able to stay in their cottage. It was so much better than we could have dreamed and they went way above and beyond what a normal host would do. Their style and taste are excellent and the way they have that cottage set up is so beautiful and peaceful. There was no down side to our stay except that we had to leave. Honestly, if we could make that place our home and have Marianne and Gary as our neighbors, we would do it in a second. Our trip was inspiring, healing, and just what we needed.



Love love love!
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 17

Reviews

4.5
based on 31 traveler reviews

Private lush cottage -$168 a night
average rating of 4.516129 based on 48 reviews
5

Great Upcountry Ambience

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Maui Jewel (also known as Hale Kokomo) was very relaxing and the cottage is nicely decorated and spacious. Everything that could be needed has been provided for and its location is very accessible to Makawao, Ha'iku, Hali'imaile and Pa'ia. Marianne is a friendly and informative host. We loved our time spent there.

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
4

Very Nice Cottage

  • 4 of 5

This was my families first VBRO experience and I have to say that Marianne and her son made it a great one for us! Their cottage was very nice and comfortable. Things outside their control were the neighbor's chickens (roster in the AM) and dog (barking at odd times) but they truly were only noticed on the 1st night for us - after that we slowed down to island time and found the cottage to be VERY WELL located on Maui. While not right on the beach, we were shocked how we were able to see way more of the island from this base than we were up on the Kaanapali side and we have to THANK Marianne for letting us know how close Wailea beaches were (30 minutes!). They let us borrow their snorkel and boogie boards and we truly enjoyed our stay. The place is NOT a modern new hotel, but it feels like someone's home and it was inviting. The place is a rental unit on the back of a garage but it is not of poor taste. It has no AC but the cross breeze was wonderful (and quiet!). The interior is very clean and very richly decorated.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australia
5

Haiku - Makawao

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic cottage, very nice hosts and lovely spot. Location is very convenient to most areas of Maui, and the town of Makawao is well worth a visit. Facilities/Amenities of the cottage were great, and the hosts were kind enough to let us burrow their beach chairs, snorkel and surf boards. Very friendly and accommodating!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical upcountry

  • 5 of 5

Marianne and Gary's cottage is an ideal location for exploring the island with its central location. They offered suggestions for nearby restaurants, the fabulous upcountry farmers market and nature adventures. The bed is super comfy and the trade winds and evening rains make for a restful sleep. The higher elevation offers cooler breezes that were so refreshing after days spent exploring lower areas on the island. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need for preparing simple meals and the bathroom has a deep soaking tub. Thanks for the great accommodations.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for staying with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both and share some time together. Mahalo for your loving review!! Gary and Marianne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

False description

  • 1 of 5

The so called cottage is merely a garage type unit turned into a rental the pictures of this unit do not depict what is being rented the interior is older and worn and needs to be renovated or the description and pictures updated and pictures of the exterior to show the very close proximity to the main house should be added to show what you are getting for your money My daughter and I arrived to find as described in a previous review a dark unclean garage type side house next to the main house When we were showed the interior the owner was pushing her personal views on us and was wanting to educate us and we felt very uncomfortable when my daughter walked out to get our stuff the owner asked me how old my daughter was and if she was single and that her son would love to show her the island I was so shocked by her comments the we decided we could not stay at this property. I asked for a refund as what I paid for was clearly not what we were getting and was denied Beware this unit is far from what the description says

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As an owner I am so grateful to have this opportunity to address EXTORTION attempts made by guests. Threatening a host with bad reviews in order to get your money back after you have signed and agreed to our cancellation policy is not acceptable. .We have policy's in place for the protection of both the guests and owners. Taking a deposit and payment insures the guest that when they arrive they indeed have a place to stay. Vacation rental by owner provides guests with an affordable stay and complete access to the host through phone, text messaging or email. You have the opportunity to ask questions address concerns before you commit to booking the property. Once you decide to commit we have cancellation policy's in place to safe guard the owner. We have committed to you to take the property off the calendar market so your reservation is confirmed. In this day of technology there is no reason why anyone can't google a property and see exactly where they are going. Complete transparency on our site show EXACTLY what are property looks like. Upon arrival the disapproving tone began, i asked the guests where they were visiting from in order to engage in a conversation and was received with short snippy answer. Showing her inside I overheard ( under her breath) to her daughter say this isn't going to work as she looked around the kitchen. I pointed out the water filtration system in place to help eliminate the need to purchase water and this was interrupted as pushing my views on them. Educating visitors about life on an island is a conversation about our delicate environment. Suggesting that her daughter meet my son was also an innocent generous offer. My son Julian is a professional acrobat attending school in Quebec city Canada . He is a generous loving human being, along with his family believes in helping people have a memorable time. It wasn't meant to mean anything other than that. Our guests never stayed here, they left as quickly as they arrived and had their own agenda about using a bad review in order to get a refund. It is the guests responsibility to practice due diligent in order to secure a rental they will be comfortable in. I can understand being disappointed, that doesn't justify anyone twisting actual events around to their advantage in order to violate the agreed policy and get a refund. I Trust our future guests will understand the number of 5 star review's we have. Seeing this review for what it is, EXTORTION.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Spacious and Clean - Centrally Located

  • 4 of 5

Marianne and Gary are very nice hosts. In general we found the cottage as advertised, spacious and very clean. Looking back we were missing some pictures of the exterior view of the cottage. The cottage is a remodeled garage next to their house. It is darker inside than the bright pictures pretend which is mainly due to the dense vegetation in front of the windows.

Unfortunately, there were a couple of things we expected differently, especially at that price level (more than $200/night all fees included). Marianne and Gary took care of for the most parts, e.g. they put a brand-new bbq on the lanai when we mentioned that the one provided was quite icky. They provided us with a dehumidifier to dry the damp air inside. The appliance worked and the air improved.

We were allowed to use the big garden of which we took advantage, as the cottage has no private patio. After mowing and tidying up during our stay it was nice and beautiful.

The central and uphill location is perfect for excursions to Hana, Haleakala and Paia. It is not as hot as the coastline and benefits from a steady breeze with the downside of a wetter climate and more rain (but a lot of rainbows).

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our upcountry lush cottage is EXACTLY as described, our photos are not altered in anyway Reading the description will tell you EXACTLY what we provide you with. The whole property is available to our guests.. When the sun is shining there will be more light available The cottage has 2 sliding glass doors a wall of windows behind the king size bed and two areas where floor to ceiling windows are available along with a skylight in the living room area. . Maui has 27 micro climates and we sit on the edge of the rain forest which makes for a very natural lush environment. We even use that word in our description to give our visitors a clear idea of where they will be staying. Lush environments require rain.When the weather allows the yard is always taken care of. The average cost of a room on Maui according to my google search is Maui hotel room rates reached a new record for the month of July, an 8.6 percent increase to $304.02 We feel we provide a great value to our guests, considering this rate is for just a room. Our cottage allows for the comfort of luxury bedding, new appliances and a king size Posterpedic bed. (which our guests love) a great central location along with the comforts of home make it a winning combination. Our property was built in 1929. the cottage was a work shop for the black smith in this area that took care of the horse drawn carriages At certain times of the year and along with an unpredictable climate change environment make it difficult to know what the weather might bring. Read the owners description, do some research on the area of the island you will be staying on and then go with the flow and know we are all doing our best to make your stay on Maui a memorable one! ALOHA
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahalui
Car: necessary

on site massage services available by request. Fitness and private yoga instruction is also available. We are very close to twin falls and the road to Hana. Also an hour and a half away is the famous sunrise opportunity on Haleakala. People come from all over to visit this volcano for sunrise at 10,000 ft!!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Haiku Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
year round
Aug 1 2016 - Mar 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$168
$1,176
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$168
$1,176
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee (One Time) $120 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rate are base on (2) occupants. Additional guest charge is $25. per night per guest.
Additional guest charges will be added upon arrival when your party exceeds 2 adults. Children under 12 are free.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Haiku Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Private bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
  • full bathroom with luscious soaking tub and shower inside the cottage
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Romantic getaway lush and private - 1 king
  • cottage with its own bedroom and kitchen private bath. sleeps 2 guests check availability with owner . Mahalo 808 344 1877
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Host's Directions Our address is 2719 Kokomo Rd. Haiku. We are 15-20 min. from the airport. Please be advised we are located across the street from the mail box showing our street number 2719. large lava rock wall around the property. From Kahului Airport: OGG 1: Start out traveling north on DAIRY RD, traveling toward the airport 2: At DAIRY RD and HANA HWY Turn RIGHT onto HANA HWY / HI-36 E. 2.0 miles 3: Turn SLIGHT RIGHT onto HALEAKALA HWY / HI-37 S. 4.7 miles 4: Turn LEFT onto HALIIMAILE RD / HI-371. 2.6 miles 5: Turn RIGHT onto BALDWIN AVE / HI-390. 0.2 miles 6: Turn LEFT onto KALUANUI RD. 1.1 miles 7: Turn SLIGHT RIGHT to stay on KALUANUI RD. <0.1 miles 8: Bear Right at the top of KALUANUI RD 9: KALUANUI RD becomes KOKOMO RD / HI-398. 0.1 miles 10: End at Hale Kokomo, 2719 Kokomo Rd, Haiku, HI 96708-6007, US

Partner Offers