Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Contemporary Barn Home at Foot of Mount Snow- 3400 Sq. Ft.

Bedrooms 6
Space 3,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

- 6 Bedroom/4 Bath sleeps 12+ on: 10 single beds, 1 king bed


Recharge your energy with nature. Come to New England in Southern Vermont. Only 3.5 hour drive from NYC. This house is a charming and classic Barn-style Contemporary. Two minute drive to main base lodge. Home is designed by architect of famous 'Inn at Sawmill Farm'. Art fijlled interior is relaxing and spacious. Immaculate interior by meticulous maid service. A large outdoor hot tub. Warm your bones by two large walk in hearth fireplaces after a day of leaf peeping and antique shopping.

Drive five minutes to Mount Snow Golf Club or Haystack golf club. Walk to local tennis courts. Bicycling rentals and trail riding, fishing, and nature walks are all available nearby. Boat & PWC rentals on nearby 12 mile Lake Whitingham. The house is located within the MOUNT SNOW RESORT at the foot of Mt. Snow and is surrounded by 3 acres of fruit trees, including apple, peaches and wild berries. Sleeps 12+ people on three full levels. Rent by week or weekend.

Pets possible - please ask owner

Drive five minutes to Mount Snow Golf Club or Haystack golf club. Walk to tennis courts. Spend a day Boating, fishing and jet skiing on Vermont’s largest lake, Lake Whitingham–rentals available at lake. Other activities include downhill and cross country bicycling rentals. Enjoy nature walks on an extensive network of easy well mapped paths. Horse, pony, and wagon rides nearby. Visit the petting zoo at Adam’s Farm and interact with familiar as well as exotic animals.

Don’t forget to sample homemade dairy products like Vermont’s own Cabot Creamery butter, Cheddar and goat cheeses. Enjoy the seasons bounty’s of local sweet corn, produce and baked goods brimming with the ripest local fruit. Sample local game from several organic free range farms. For an upscale Dining experience try the “Inn at Sawmill Farm” restaurant that features 4 star dining and “Wine Spectator Magazine’s best of America’s wine cellars.

Visit the many art galleries and antique shops that feature Vermont art and crafts that embody the beauty of this unspoiled region.

More Details

Robert Tatum
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, JAPANESE
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2017


West Dover House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
    Bathroom -
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom Master - 1 king , On main floor- easily accessible
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Top floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Top floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , Top floor
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , Lowest level
    Bedroom 6 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , recreation room
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Large Cooler
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
1 king, 1 double, 9 twins, 4 sleep sofas. Whirlpool tub; 2 large fireplaces.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Contemporary Barn Home at Foot of Mount Snow- 3400 Sq. Ft.
average rating of 4.5384617 based on 13 reviews

Absolutely gorgeous place, owner super hospitable!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Robbie's place for a long weekend with a group of 12, incl. my daughter Emma (1.5yrs) and our dog (Hungarian Vizsla). We met Robbie a week or so in advance to discuss house rules and he was very helpful with suggestions where to eat, what to do and he spoke proudly and enthusiastic about his house. It was an awesome place, super lovely decorated and a perfectly luxury getaway. Everything, incl. the hot tub was super clean, and Robbie gently checked in with me to hear if anything was OK with us and the house (it was extremely cold and there was a ton of snow). Overall impression of the house is that we will return this next season (all our friends agree!), and we experienced Robbie as a most reliable friendly New Yorker who loves siamese cats just like we do! ;-) No kidding, we love him and his house, recommend to go there if you have a chance.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Close to Ski area - Great hot tub

  • 4 of 5

Great house, nice fireplace, close to ski area, big clean hot tub. What else do you need for a long ski weekend with friends?

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with a group of 11 people, the house was perfect! Nice fireplace, beautiful kitchen, very clean hot tub, overall the perfect house for ski-weekend. The owner was very helpful and responsive to all our questions. We would love to come back!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great area, comfortable place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a long weekend. The house if very comfortable and spacious. It is also close to the ski area. Overall had a great time and the owners were extremely helpful when we had some trouble with electricity.

Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

wouldnt recommend

  • 4 of 5

House is nice. Owner is odd.

Was there for total of four days.He called three days before I arrived and asked that I bring linen (listed as provided) and that I leave a day earlier because he wants to change carpets. (I refused.) While I was there, he called about seven times to say that he is coming to exchange his Mercedes for Porsche (or vice versa ). He then called to say that he is coming at 8 AM to the children's bedroom to pick up his golf clubs.

Been coming to VT for over 20 years. Never experienced anything like it.

There are items on his amenities list that were not there, but that was the least of it.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to say, this group damaged my kitchen stove top. The oven also had some food boil over and cook into the ovens bottom. Again, sorry to say the renters came to my home and the group proceeded to enter my home and only one of 12 greeted me and my GF or even made eye contact. The man who posted the review was strange and suffered from some sort of disorder - he wouldn't shake my hand or even look me in the eye. when he did agree to walk with me through the house for a instructional tour he was stopping and proclaiming he didn't need any instructions or tour. lesson learned. This person before rental was very difficult to communicate on the phone and cried poverty when i told him my rental rate. i dropped my rate in order to accommodate this large group. because this man explained that he was a man of religion i felt compelled to help in spite of the odd communication prior to rental. lesson learned, never again to a difficult person from the first phone call.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1


  • 1 of 5

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! I reserved Robert's house for a surprise for my husband's 30th birthday. It was family members that were coming and we were excited for a nice relaxing weekend in VT. We were flying in from Atlanta and it took us quite some time to get there and money. I had wanted everything to go smoothly as I had been planning this for quite some time. We weren't able to make it in Friday night (we were staying Friday, Saturday, Sunday) because of the snow, but we made it up Saturday afternoon. When we got there Saturday, we noticed that the water was not working at all. Therefore, we could not flush the toilets, cook clean dishes, shower! We also had two small kids in the house and this made it extremely difficult for us. Robert promised to have it fixed that was not. Then, he promised the next was not. He kept on making promises and we had to spend most of our "vacation" shopping for water, trying to melt snow to put it in the toilets in order to flush them, letting repair men into the house, etc. It was NOT relaxing at all and definitely not enjoyable for any of us. The only reason we kept staying is because he kept promising it would be fixed and I would be out $2800. Save yourself the time and don't rent this house. I am sad that I flew all the way to VT for such an unpleasant experience.

I would have expected him to at least repay us for 2 nights of stay, but he refused to do that. He likes to talk in circles and even insinuated that this was OUR fault that the water was not working-how DARE he!

Save yourself the time and anguish and rent another house.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: RENT THIS HOUSE; 'enjoyed, such a nice place to stay' beautiful, spacious' 'wonderful' these are the comments of my renters for THE LAST TEN YEARS, UNTIL NOW. I rented my house to a person against my better judgement. I accepted PayPal for the first time because she said the event was a surprise for her husband. She explained that a check would spoil the surprise. Furthermore she wasn't able to swing the security/deposit. Finally, she convinced me to drop the rental price by 50% for sentimental reasons. I Never suspected that this person would slander me with false accusations after I accepted her personal pleas. Yes, SHE WANTS to KILL my reputation why? On Friday early afternoon the whole of her group arrived to a fully operating house. Saturday late afternoon the water stopped running. This is when SHE AND HER HUSBAND ARRIVED. I immediately contacted a highly regarded well drilling and maintenance company, whom arrived at my home promptly. The problem could have been solved in a matter of hours. But efforts getting to the pump failed because, it was buried under months of ice and snow.   I immediately arranged full access to my neighboring health club (located less than 200 yards from my front door) with indoor heated olympic pool, spa facilities, jacuzzi etc. for the entire group, witch they accepted. This was my sincere effort to ease the burden on them. In the morning heavy equipment was brought in to dig out and access the well and diagnose and fix the issue. Simultaneously a plumbing company and a master electrician were on site trying to fix the issue as well. All three contractors collective efforts was a very a costly weekend emergency. But, I knew my guests comfort to be top priority. The three separate contractors assured me the issue could be diagnosed and fixed that day. Much to my dismay it wasn't to be that day. The problem was fixed the next morning. I offered them an extended stay for no charge, during prime mid winter conditions. They declined. In resolution I mailed her a letter of apology and a check sum of $1,000.00 for the compensation, with the understanding, cashing it was the full settlement. But, in spite top of all my decent offers, this person demanded a full refund in exchange for NOT posting a 'SCATHING' review. BLACKMAIL! Paypal DENIED their claims and sided with me. I did and do sincerely understand the disappointment. Things happen to any one at any time, but, to BLACKMAIL me and LIE after all the my SINCERE efforts?
Did you find this review helpful?
4 3


Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Nearest Ski
0.25 Miles

Leaf peeping and antique shopping. Golf, tennis, bicycling, downhill biking, fishing, sailing, petting farm, horse back riding, apple picking, and nature walks are all available nearby. Also, snowmobile and ATV in the area. The house is located at the foot of Mt. Snow and is surrounded by 3 acres of golden trees including apple and peach. Power Boat and Jet Ski rentals on 12 mile long LAKE WHITINGHAM fifteen minutes away.


Rates & Availability

West Dover House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000

Call owner to arrange rental. Do not proceed to payment before contacting owner. Owner phone number 917-816-2323

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties