check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Mike and Julia Rindfuss

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

Lakefront Home in Berkshires

17 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Hinsdale House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

This beautiful waterfront home is located on Ashmere Lake in Hinsdale, Massachusetts. The house is a modern 4 bedroom, 2 bath home with full kitchen, beautifully remodeled bathrooms, open floor plan downstairs with hardwood floors and fireplace. It also has a beautiful screened-in porch overlooking the lake.

Boat dock and use of row boat, 4 kayaks, and life vests available with the rental of this property. A gas grill is conveniently situated for outdoor cooking. There is a campfire pit located in the backyard and firewood is provided for outdoor campfires.

Properties located in quiet lakeside community, great for family walks and lake activities.

Hinsdale is located approximately 30 minutes from Jiminy Peak and Brodie Mountain ski resorts. It is very quiet in the winter months and the frozen lake is convenient for long walks and x-country skiing.

The Fall is also a beautiful time of year as the fall foliage is as good as anywhere in New England.

Call Mike at 203-326-1600 for our best rates.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Mike and Julia Rindfuss (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english

About Mike and Julia Rindfuss

Family owned and cared for property.

Mike and Julia Rindfuss purchased this house in 1996

Why Mike and Julia Rindfuss chose Berkshires

Our beautiful lakefront home that we invite respectful guests to enjoy as we do.

Reviews

4.7
based on 17 traveler reviews

Lakefront Home in Berkshires
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 17 reviews
Hixson TN
2

Hind dale Lake Rental

  • 2 of 5

Family Vacation At Lakehouse

★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Every year my family gets together for a lake vacation. Since we live apart from each other this vacation gives us an opportunity to spend quality time with one another. After my husband and I drove 15 hours to get to this house our first impression was disappointing. In no way are we high maintenance, however, the front entrance had overgrown bushes, spider webs all over the overhang and the boards in front porch were splintered with nails popping up. Entering the house we found the size to be perfect and just enough room for all of us. After walking around we found filthy kitchen floor, the porch facing the lake had dog hair all over furniture and floor. The outside yard was cluttered with dog poop that we had to rake 4 times before we could utilize the yard. We also had to buy cleaning supplies for the kitchen floor and after washing 5 times the swifter pad was still black. The dock was also slippery and dangerous. The most disappointing thing is the owner was told all of this and made no offer to reimburse us for the cleaning supplies nor did he show any concern that we spent 2 days of our vacation cleaning. Very disappointing after driving 15 hours and the amount of money it cost to rent for the week. Shame on the owner will never rent here again nor will I recommend to anyone

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have had great renters for the 10+ years that we have been renting our lakefront house. Unfortunately, there was something very peculiar that should have been a warning in advance with this particular renter. They had reserved the house but did not want to pay the rental balance or security deposit until they arrived. I explained that unlike a hotel, we could not offer a free cancellation situation right up until the arrival date and that, at that point, we were far enough from the arrival date that I’d be happy to refund their initial rental fee and re-open the week for someone else to rent. Regretably they did not take me up on this offer. We have had good luck with the cleaning service that cleans between renters and, in fact, I was quickly up to the house in advance of this renter, and while I didn’t take a swifter pad to the kitchen floor, the house looked ready for renters. I also do not expect our cleaning service to go out to the backyard to see if there are goose droppings. Unfortunately, with the house being vacant the week before, it sounds like our backyard had become a target for the geese. When this renter sent me a picture of a swifter pad with some dirt on it and suggested I should be giving her some money back, she obviously didn't know that I cannot be extorted. Ironically, I was up to the house after the departure of these renters and the house was left as dirty as I’ve ever had a renter leave it. While we include the cost of cleaning within our rental fee, I do take notes on whether renters show some common courtesy in the way they leave the house upon their departure (this renter would not be welcome back). I do appreciate this renter letting me know that the hedges could use a trimming and I will make sure this is done. Also, I have already repaired the step onto the boat dock to ensure it is safe. In closing, I’d just like to say that we are very appreciative of the many great renters (many annual repeat renters) that we’ve had and for any new prospective renters, we’d be happy to arrange for you to speak with some of our many satisfied renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lake fun max and relaxing good times

  • 5 of 5

What a great lake house! Our family reunion had a terrific time here. We had a group of 16 -17 (some visited for only part of the week, and 7 stayed at another house.) The kayaks, canoe, and row boat were well used. The lake was fun for swimming, fishing, tow-tubing, and just quiet boat cruises. The fishing was amazing! Everyone caught fish, and we landed a respectable bass, a chain pickerel, and many slab crappies and sunfish.

The rooms were comfortable, clean, and nicely furnished. The kitchen was nicely equipped with pans, pots, silver, etc. to service our large group. It was very comfy inside for meals and get-togethers. The combination of the large family room & porch made dinner get-togethers for our large group easy. We used the campfire pit and a good supply of seasoned wood for many evenings of fireside fun. The propane grill was awesome. We quickly cooked major meals for our hungry family.

We were having so much fun at the lake we did not take advantage of the many nearby entertainments --- Tanglewood, Mt. Greylock, Berkshire Museum (to name a few).

Guess we will be back to enjoy even more of Lake Ashmere and the Berkshires.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Relaxing and delightful getaway

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a quiet lakeside getaway where we could relax, fish, use as a base from which to explore the Bershires and that's exactly what we got! Easy access, equipped as described (we used the canoe every day) and in a quiet end of the small lake, we were able to fish off the dock, just hang out and watch the ducks, heron, and chipmunks. We loved that there were gates on the stairways so our dog was able to be easily contained and the screened porch was great! All communications were excellent and the house was in good shape with typically dated furnishings in the living areas but comfy beds and all amenities. My 87 year old mother visited one day and she was able to easily access everything. Stores are a few minutes drive away and there are lots of things to do if one gets tired of relaxing! Although wifi was readily available and usable, my partner didn't even open his laptop the entire time we were there! How great is that? I would definitely recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful week in the Berkshires!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the lake house while we returned to the Berkshires for our niece's wedding. The house is very well cared for and Mike was super accommodating. We had plenty of room as we traveled with our son and daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. The bathrooms are new and spacious, the kitchen well-stocked and easily accessible. The great room and dining room are open and inviting. We had a cookout with our Berkshire family in the backyard one evening and thoroughly enjoyed that fire pit and comfortable Adirondack chairs! The weather was a bit cool for swimming for us transplanted southerners, but we enjoyed the kayaks and canoe - and fishing right from the dock. Our granddaughter caught and cooked her first fish! Very relaxing time!

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Boulder CO
4

Winter at the Lakefront home

  • 4 of 5

We spent a nice last week of December at this home. It snowed a ton while we were there. The owner made sure to have the parking plowed a couple of times and the local roads were plowed so it was easy to get in and out. The home is very comfortable and spacious. The house was also very warm and cozy which was great because it was cold! We came by plane and the owner went above and beyond and provided linens for us. We enjoyed a nice duraflame fire a night or two! Would love to have been able to see the lake view better, but the porch had plastic on the windows for winter. We will have to return in the summer for the view!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a relaxing time and always appreciative of feedback as we strive to make the home comfortable for our renters. Have already started planning to switch to a clear vs cloudy plastic insulation wrap for the screened porch for next winter in order to better preserve the lake views while keeping the heat in. We look forward to having you back for a return visit. Best wishes, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 adults and 2 boys under 5 were very comfortable in this great house. Everything was beautifully clean, the beds were wonderful, and everything provided for a good time. The lake is lovely and so clear. We enjoyed the canoes and kayaks especially. The boys were delighted with the ducks who visited every day! Mike was very attentive to any needs, sending his repairman out to fix a fan just in time before one of the hotter days. The house is conveniently located to many Berkshires attractions, and we would definitely recommend it for a memorable vacation. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

An easy 30 minute drive to Tanglewood in Lenox, MA, and 25 minute ride to Jacob's Pillow in Becket, MA. 45 minute drive to both Williamstown, MA and Northampton, MA. Hiking and walking paths only a couple miles away. Plenty of golf courses in Berkshire County as well. Playgrounds nearby for kids. Ski resorts also within 30 minute drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hinsdale House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Aug. 20th - Aug. 27th
Aug 20 2016 - Aug 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
Aug. 27th - Sept. 3rd
Aug 27 2016 - Sep 2 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
Sept. 3rd - Winter
Sep 3 2016 - Dec 31 2016
2 night minimum stay
$200
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $50

$1,000 - $1,875/week
For 4-bedroom, 2-bath House:
See Rate schedule for rates for specific periods of time.
Summer Weeks run Saturday - Saturday for Last week of June and July & August Weeks.
Wknd and Off-season rates avail incl mid-wk and long-wknd specials-PLEASE ASK.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Hinsdale House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • The 3 largest bedrooms each have Queen Size Beds; The 4th bedroom has 2 twin beds (bunk beds).
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • paddle boating
  • shopping
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
3 queens, 2 twins. Rowboat, kayak, life vests, boat dock; Blankets and pillows provided.

Partner Offers