check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rosanna Horst

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Secluded Cabin in Mennonite Community Near Cookville, Crossville TN

25 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

Muddy Pond Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms 1 bath sleeps 2-6

This Tennessee cabin rental is in the friendly Mennonite community of Muddy Pond on The Cumberland Plateau. Conveniently located just 10 miles north of I-40 between Nashville and Knoxville, you can stop in for several days of refreshment or spend a whole week exploring the beauty of the Cumberland. Within easy driving distance of the cabin rental are nine state parks including Fall Creek Falls, Big South Fork, Burgess Falls, Cumberland, and Picket. Also nearby are an abundance of public lakes like Dale Hollow Lake and Center Hill. We offer you a romantic vacation cabin with modern amenities and features like a king sized bed and bedside Jacuzzi. The cabin is nestled in hemlocks beside a small private lake, where you can relax in the serenity of God’s creation and enjoy 60 acres of nature and solitude.

Surrounding your cabin rental is our small community of Amish-Mennonite heritage where we work and worship together and where you can enjoy shopping and browsing a variety of unique st

Bring along plenty of chow and a good attitude and leave refreshed after a true vacation back in the Tennessee hills. Step back to a simpler time and create a precious memory. Ya'll come see us now!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Rosanna Horst (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

5
based on 25 traveler reviews

Secluded Cabin in Mennonite Community Near Cookville, Crossville TN
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
Nashville, TN
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

We just got back from two days at the Two's Company cabin. It was so relaxing. It is a cute, clean cabin among beautiful woods with a lovely pond just steps away. The people in the community are friendly. Lovely countryside. If you want to just get away from the city and remember what it means to really relax, this is the place to go.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Beautiful, peaceful and fun

  • 5 of 5

This is our third consecutive year spending time at Muddy Pond cabins and we will continue to book at least one weekend each year here. Everything was top-notch and above what is expected. Whether a romantic escape for two or a family outing for 6, this is the property to spend your precious vacation days visiting. All the amenities of the larger lakes with total privacy. There are 3 cabins and 3 lakes/ponds. All are secluded and not visible to each other. As a suggestion, a paddleboat would be a nice addition to the experience.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family just spent a relaxing weekend at this quaint cabin. If you are looking for a hideaway from life's busy schedule this cabin is perfect! Waking up each morning to watch the sun come up over the pond was breathtaking. We had a great time outdoors-catching fish, rowing in the boat and sitting by the fire. We would like to thank the owners for their kind hospitality. Our family will return to this cabin again and would highly recommend to others.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate you taking time to write... Thank you so much for coming! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again. Rosanna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Whippoorwill Hideaway has to be the most peaceful, quiet, restful place to get away to anywhere!! The cabin is on it's own private large pond. The cabin is clean to a fault and very well stocked. The books, magazines, movies and games are family friendly and uplifting. The porch swing and the deck out into the pond give good places to enjoy the peace and quiet. The hiking trail is easy and interesting. The owners are friendly and accommodating....By all means, make this a top priority for a wonderful get away!!!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for coming and being a wonderful guest! Thank you also for taking time to write this review and we hope you can come back again. Rosanna
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5

Just got home from a blissful weekend. We have found our place we will return to again and again. The kids enjoyed rowing across the pond to visit the cows. We found a trail that circles the property. Great for exploring and stretching our legs. The porch was perfect for reading our bibles. The cabin was well stocked. And Rosanna was such a joy to book through. I don't know how we'd ever go through a 'rental management company' ever again. Not as personable, not as flexible. I highly recommend these cabins by the pond. Each one has it's own privacy. Some cabin rentals have cabins right on top of one another. So if you're looking for some solitude, quality time with your family or loved one, you will definitely find it here. And the Muddy Pond community has some of the sweetest, most welcoming folks. A lady named Rosemary has the best cinnamon rolls and homemade bread. We stocked up! Thank you, Rosanna, for helping make our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely be back... God bless you and your family!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
5

Beautifully Quiet and Serene

  • 5 of 5

We both loved the cabin...it couldn't have been nicer. So quiet, beautiful and serene. Will definitely return and will tell all our friends about this blessed spot and the community. Thank you so much.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being a wonderful guest! We were so thankful to all be kept safe with the storms and tornadoes in the area. I hope you can come again, Rosanna
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Nashville
Car: recommended

A favorite activity at the cabin is just sittin, doin nothin on the back porch or you can stroll down to the dock and dangle a hook in the water while you read a good book. After a spell of that you might wander out and enjoy old time shopping & sight seeing at the Leather Shop, General Store, Baken Haus or Sorghum Mill.Make a lunch stop at the Bakery for a burger on homemade buns or get a loaded Lebanon bologna and cheese sandwich at the General store. Farther afield are scenic treasures like the Big South Fork which offers horseback riding, fishing, white water rafting and hiking. Fall Creek falls, Picket and Cumberland State parks have scenic trails,swimming and boating. Local wineries and historic sights of the Cordell birthplace, Alvin York homeplace and historic Rugby are nearby too. For the fisherman, Dale Hollow Lake and Center Hill Lake are within easy driving distance. So come… hike a trail, visit a historic site or float a scenic river and leave…refreshed.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Muddy Pond Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
quiet time rates
Jan 1 2017 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$75
$450
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$89
From
$99
Fri,Sat,Sun
$554
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $25
Tax Rate 14.5%

$89- $99/night; Special: $75/night
$89 - $99/night for 2 people / Jan. 1st.- Feb. 28th. are quiet time rates. $75 @ nt. weekend or weekday
$10 for each additional adult if more than 2 people
$5 for additionchildren (3 to 14) if more than 2 people - Children under 3 free


Special: Take advantage of the quiet time with our special rates Jan 1 - Feb 28! $75/night - weekend or weekday !

After you've made a reservation through email or phone conversation, we will hold those dates for you on our calendar. We then require a $100 deposit, either through personal check, or I can email you a paypal invoice which you can pay with a credit card. After receiving your deposit, I reply to your mailing address with a confirmation letter. I include directions here, and a rental agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Muddy Pond Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 king
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
2 king beds, 1 sleep sofa. DVD player; a charcoal grill, whirlpool beside king bed; porch rockers, creaky swing.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties