check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David Taylor

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort

15 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay nights

Overview

Manchester Center Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment 2 bedrooms Carriage House 1 bedroom Both kitchen bathroom family room

The beautiful and historic Skinner Cottage (1802), home to Richard Skinner, the 9th Governor of Vermont, is very close to - just two doors from - the famous Equinox Hotel and Resort in the picturesque village of Manchester, Vermont.

The entire third floor 1,200 sq feet of the Cottage has its own entrance and is a lovely, characteristically-VT (greens, reds and wood), clean, comfortable and private two-bedroom suite (recently renovated) with a private bathroom, eat-in kitchen, family room with a cozy gas fire, and lovely window seat with views over Vermont's most quintesential Main Street.

The Carriage House is a separate 800 sq foot 2nd floor clean, comfortable, private, more updated (yet still Vermont in character) 1-bedroom apartment with a private bathroom, eat-in kitchen, family room with a cozy stove, and looks over a newly landscaped garden with mountain views.

The Cottage Apartment-Suite and Carriage-House Apartment-Suite are equipped with all linens, tableware, air conditioning, standard cable TV and free internet.

Stroll along the historic marble walkway and visit the numerous shops, restaurants and various points of interest in this wonderful four season resort community.

I recommend you take a 'Google' at the house: ...: You can quickly take a look at this beautiful house ... by entering Google Maps (in your search), entering '3505 Main St, Manchester, VT 05254', clicking on 'more' and 'street view' ... this way you can see the fantastic, quintesential Vermont village location near the Equinox Resort Hotel ... the beauty of the property and the street ... even 'walk up and down the street' on the site ... there are also some lovely high resolution photographs all within 100 yards of, or right outside, the house.

Brief history of the house - Skinner family:: Richard and Mary Skinner originally built the Skinner Cottage in 1802. Richard was a probate judge in Manchester, Vermont. The courthouse where he served is within walking distance of the house opposite the Equinox Hotel and Resort. Richard Skinner was later elected to the US Congress, was the 9th governor of Vermont and subsequently served as the State’s Chief Justice.

The Skinner family included a son Mark who became famous in his own right as an eminent citizen and public servant in Chicago and in whose name a public school is named to this day in recognition of his leadership setting up the Chicago public school and library system. It is Mark’s daughter who funded, in Mark’s honor, Manchester town’s public library to the left of the house, shortly past the Equinox Hotel and Resort, on the street junction.

Brief history of the house - Pew through Taylors: More recently (since the early 1900’s) the Pew family were decades long owners of the “Skinner Cottage”. Mary Ethel Pew was one of four children of the founder of Sunoco. She and her siblings founded the nationally and internationally influential Pew Charitable Trusts, a NGO founded in 1948 and now a multi-billion dollar philanthropic foundation whose mission is to serve the public interest, improve public policy and civic life.

The house has since had few owners. Ms Newhouse who did much to renovate this historic mansion (and others on Main Street), a caterer who enlarged the rear of the house, and a headmaster and his wife, who previously owned the Ethan Allen Inn nearby Arlington.

The house is designated historic by the Manchester Historical Society, within the Manchester Village Historic District, which was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

The current owners of Skinner Cottage, the Taylor family, have a decades long relationship with Manchester.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
David Taylor (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for your lovely accommodations. My wife and I very much enjoyed our time in Manchester and the time we spent at Skinner Cottage. When we arrived, everything was as you had described. We spent the weekend taking in the area and enjoying the local restaurants.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

Two Clean, Comfortable, Private Suites Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort
average rating of 4.733333 based on 18 reviews
5

Best of the Best

  • 5 of 5

When we were looking for A rental near the Equinox, we neve expected to find such a wonderful unit just doors away. Skinner Cottage had everything we needed and then some. We had a two bedroom unit with a full kitchen and large living room. Everything was in tip- top shape. The owner is friendly and helpful. We have rented this property twice and look forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Skinner Cottage...heaven on earth!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect location 2 doors down from Equinox Hotel in charming Manchester Village surrounded by mountains. Manchester area has everything we need...many trails for cross country skiing and snowshoeing, fantastic bookstore, great choice of restaurants, terrific markets (including farmer's market in Dorset on Sundays), fascinating lectures by professors, this year from Middlebury and Skidmore Colleges.

The 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd floor is spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped for a longer stay. We had little need of his services, but it is nice to know that local property manager is very cordial and always reachable. We eagerly anticipate our annual winter visit.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place to stay and value

  • 5 of 5

This place is wonderful! The owner is a pleasure to work with. The apartment is spacious, well-appointed, and well-kept. Our family of 4 had ample space. And it is in a prime location in Manchester, very close to the Equinox hotel. I highly recommend this place!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Impeccable rental in prime location!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Skinner Cottage. It was easy to communicate with the owner and arrange the reservation, and the rooms were very nice. We enjoyed the peaceful setting, and most of all appreciated how CLEAN everything was! We came this time with just one of our children, but in the future, this space will suit our needs for our family of five - the two bedrooms offer plenty of room (more than a suite at the hotel townhouses) and the kitchenette is helpful to our family with food allergies. Walking distance to golf, restaurants and shopping - this is a wonderful spot! Thank you so much for your hospitality.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful vacation

  • 5 of 5

We were pleasantly surprised by our rental in Manchester. The unit was very clean and decorated very nicely. It was fully equipped with a full kitchen. The wifi worked well and the TV offered a variety of channels. The bedrooms were comfortable and we could not have been more pleased. The unit was on Main Street and convenient to all restaurants.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious 2 bdrm.

  • 5 of 5

The rental was exactly as described. Centrally located in Manchester. About 20 minutes away from Stratton mountain. Within walking distance from the Equinox and the outlets are a short drive down the street. Property was well-maintained, clean and recently updated. I would definitely go back!

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
80 Metres
Equinox hotel
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Equinox course
Nearest Restaurant
80 Metres
Equinox hotel
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Bromley and Stratton
Car: recommended

Since this is a prime four-season resort community, the recreational activities are abundant, particularly in the summer, fall, and winter. Our guests also access the facilities of the Equinox Resort which include an indoor swimming pool, spa, golf, year-round tennis, and a fitness center for a charge through the concierge, golf or health club. Museums, art centers and historic points of interest are minutes away. The renowned Manchester outlets and antique shopping are in walking distance to the Cottage. Golf is available at Gleneagles Country Club (Equinox), Manchester Golf Club and Stratton Country Club. Skiing is available at Stratton and Bromley (quite close), Killington, Okemo, Pico and Mount Snow driveable, longer away.

Other Activities: Shopping - arguably the best outlet shopping scene in the country - diverse, small shops in a pretty, well done style, very well laid out all within strolling distance, with high quality items (Ralph Lauren, Bose, Orvis, Gap, Brooks Brothers, Yankee Candle, Tumi, etc.; furniture, clothing).

Outstanding book store - one of the best, most diverse private bookstores in the country (even worldwide) that I have seen.

Fly fishing, skeet shooting (through Orvis or the Equinox Hotel).

Falconry, Landrover driving school (through Equinox Hotel).

Canoeing and tubing (on famous Battenkill River) - multiple top flight and reasonably priced outfitters providing equipment.

Extensive hiking trails throughout Equinox Preserve and in White Mountain reserve (all within walking or short driving distance).

Historical Hildene House (descendants of President Lincoln's Summer home).

Golf: Gleneagles course - reasonably priced, run by Equinoc Hotel - beautiful world class course ... walking distance from our rentals.

Ekwanok - private course at end of Main Street (within 3 minutes drive) - very exclusive - top, top world class with a long history.

Dorset Country Club - I believe, the oldest golf course in the country - very, scenic, old stone bridges over streams, etc.

Manchester Municipal course - public - nice location.

Ski: Bromley mountain (within 10 minutes) - family mountain; sunny; pleasant because not too busy; has a very fun amusement park in Summer too.

Stratton mountain (within 20 minutes). Gondolas, 6-seat hi-speed chairs - big investment mountain; village scene (similar to Tremblant - same owner).

Okemo mountain (within 35 minutes); nice town (Ludlow) and mountain.

Mount Snow (around 50 minutes). Two 'mountains'; more of party scene.

Killington (an hour away) - huge multi-mountain facility.

Pico (about 50 minutes) - smaller, tougher mountain.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Manchester Center Apartment Rental Rates

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.0%

Notes

  • Minimum 2 nights. 3+ days, weekly & monthly rentals preferred.
  • Our separate Carriage House is now available from mid-June 2011 offering guests a newly renovated and modernly rustic one bedroom 800 sq ft suite-apartment with an eat-in kitchen, family room with a pull-out sofa and heating-stove, and bathroom. Air-conditioning is also installed in the Summer and Fall.

    In limited circumstances ... the entire Skinner Cottage (an additional 4,000 sq ft of the Main House; including an additional 4 second-floor bedrooms with three bathrooms, and first-floor large multi-seating-area entertainment living-room with fireplace and family-style dining table, family TV room, parlor-living room, billiards room, bathroom, professional kitchen with dining area) and private 1,200 sq ft blue stone patio, Weber barbeque, 7-person hot tub and newly-landscaped garden, may be available (please call to discuss).
  • The Cottage Suite is $195-$260 per night and $1,100-$1,300 per week (depending on season and holidays).
    The Carriage House is $185-$240 per night and $1,000-$1,200 per week (depending on season and holidays).
    There are special rates for extended stays.
    Entire Skinner Cottage rental available in exceptional circumstances.

    This calendar shows availability of our 3rd floor apartment-suite.
    For the calendar and availability of our Carriage House please see VRBO site 235670 or search for Skinner Cottage in the Manchester, Vermont section.
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Manchester Center Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Next to Equinox Hotel and Resort - additional amenities for a fee - and in walking distance from golf course, spa, restaurants, hiking trails, etc. As noted, all dishes, utensils, and bedroom and bathroom linens are provided (for 2 persons for the Carriage House rental, and for 4 persons for the 2-bedroom apartment rental in the Main House).

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties