Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Creekfront Contemporary Loft Cottage Sleeps 4

Bedrooms 1
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Relaxing, open floor plan cottage sitting on a small creek.This location is a great place for bikers, runners and hikers as the Moses Cone trails are just down the road. The house has lots of glass and is nestled in some trees. It is passive solar but does have a gas monitor heating system ,an electric fireplace and a woodstove.It is very cool in the summer as it is surrounded by trees. Sun warms this cottage in the winter. Bird and wildlife watching is a great past time here with all the windows. Nice cozy comfortable furnishings and linens provided. The kitchen is fully equipped just bring your groceries.There is a small television with cable and a dvd and vcr for movies.This cottage is not fancy but nice and it has older appliances and a small tv. The cottage also has wifi..

The queen bed and a bathroom are located in the loft that is reached by a custom made wooden spiral staircase. The cottage is close to Trout Lake Bass Lake and Price Lake and wonderful trails off the Blue Ridge Parkway. It is 4 miles from Blowing Rock and 3 miles to Boone. Pets and children are welcome. I offer competitive rates.

Keywords: House

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

About Sara

I am a registered nurse and have a private practice in Healing Touch and Craniosacral Therapy. I was a Rehab Nurse for 10 years in the coal mines in 3 states. My first career was a social case worker. I also own a consignment business. I enjoy sharing this delightful cottage with my guests.

Sara purchased this house in 2007

Why Sara chose Blowing Rock

Blowing Rock and the High Country region is very beautiful. These are the oldest mountains in the world. There are lots of outdoor activities and friendly people. The cottage is centrally located near Boone and Blowing Rock.

What makes this house unique

It is great to hear the little creek that wraps around the cottage. Children enjoy playing in the creek. I am pet friendly. You can see lots of birds, chipmunk, deer and raccoon from the cottage. It is cozy and relaxing and I try to be flexible with my guests and their needs.


Blowing Rock House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) pull out sofa futon couch, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
21% Complete
3% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Creekfront Contemporary Loft Cottage Sleeps 4
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 33 reviews

Cozy, Dog Friendly Cottage

  • 5 of 5

This cottage was a great place to stay for the weekend. We loved the location of the cottage and how close it was to Blowing Rock, Boone, and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We enjoyed watching the birds in the morning with our dog, Daisy. We also liked that the kitchen had everything we needed including a coffee maker, stove, pots, pans, and utensils which made cooking and eating breakfast at the cottage easy. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and I hope you can return for another visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much. It is in a great area, close to most of the attractions. The dogs loved the meditation window where they could see the birds, squirrels, and a chipmunk. Will come back again. Thank you so much for sharing your cabin with us.

-The Ludwigs Davenport, FL

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This is a nice quiet property with good amenities located close to everything, but feels secluded at

  • 4 of 5

My family and I loved our stay and wished we could have stayed longer. We will diffinently stay there again if and when in the area. Thanks

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You all were great guests come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and restful

  • 5 of 5

Loved the rustic-meets-contemporary styling of the cabin. Cabin was clean and all linens just right. Appliances in good shape. All the windows made enjoying the surrounding vistas easy. Perfect for our getaway for 2. Closeness to Boone, Blowing Rock, hiking to Calloway Peak, etc., was much appreciated. Host communicated plenty beforehand and had reasonable expectations for checking out. Had some traffic on the roads, which are close, but not at all bad.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cozy but in need of good cleaning and some repairs such as plumbing and deck

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The cottage has a plumbing problem when you flush toilet upstairs the only bathroom it spits up through kitchen sink. Cottage was dusty but all in all was a comfortable cozy little cottage. Needs some repairs deck is shaky. Tv was extremely small. For price we paid expected better. Creek was full of trash and grown up.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There are no plumbing problems at my cottage, the toilet upstairs is not connected to the kitchen sink. The kitchen and front of the house was just totally remodeled at the end of May and passed a plumbing inspection. I have a housekeeper come in after every guest leaves and I do not charge guests for this. I advertise in the listing that the tv is small. The deck is not shaky, there is a another deck under the current deck. The stream on my property is clean, the creek on the other side of the bridge belongs to the neighbor above. You did not follow directions on the refrigerator door. It says if you are unhappy with the cottage when you check in please contact me for a full refund You could have stayed at a local motel for 149.00 per night .Apparently you should have done this instead of staying and leaving such a negative review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely location of a pretty cabin

  • 4 of 5

This is a very pretty cabin in a great location near to Blowing Rock and Boone. Loved being able to watch the birds, squirrels and chipmunks on the feeder and really enjoyed staying here. Sara was very helpful with anything we asked and the cabin was very comfortable and cosy.We only had a couple of small issues that could be easily rectified... we arrived as non smokers without matches and couldn't find any at all to light the gas to boil the kettle to make a cup of tea which meant a trip back to the shops and, as we wanted to self cater whilst there, we found most of the pans in the kitchen cupboards were pretty dirty, I guess because they don't get used very often. The crockery was lovely and sparkling but other things needed a good wash. We didn't complain as we don't like to be negative when on holiday but maybe something to think about in the future and it didn't detract from our stay.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You did not need matches to light the stove, you just turn it on and it lights itself. There were matches in the closet for lighting the wood stove in the winter. I ask the guests to wash their own dishes and put them back up, thank you for letting me know that guests have not been cleaning them.I will double check them in the future between rentals . The week after you left, the kitchen was totally remodeled with new windows, new cabinets , floors and countertops. I wish you would have let me know about any dirty pans as I would have cleaned them or brought out new ones if I had known there was a problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Located next to a zip line, hiking and the Blue Ridge Parkway


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $10

The rental deposit is non refundable. I do my own booking.

I do NOT charge a cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties