check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Darlene

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Relax With Our Special Weeknight Rates! Extend Your Stay, Not Your Wallet.

20 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Point Venture Townhome Rental Photos and Description

Townhome overlooking Lake Travis, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Our cozy townhome is located in the relaxing village of Point Venture. Point Venture is on Lake Travis, 30 miles northwest of Austin in the heart of the Texas Hill Country. Lake Travis is 44,000 acres of cool, clean, fun - full of many coves to swim and relax.

You can enjoy beautiful views of the lake while relaxing on the decks or go 1 mile to the waterfront park to jump in for a swim. You can also hand feed friendly deer in the front yard that roam around all hours of the day. The wood burning fireplace can be seen not only from the inside but out on the deck as well.

Our townhome is a three-story waterfront home with casual, comfortable furnishings in the same cove as The Gnarly Gar floating restaurant. We have three bedrooms, three baths, and three decks to accommodate up to 8 people. The master suite is upstairs and has a queen-size bed with a private deck and bathroom with jacuzzi tub. The second bedroom on the main level has a queen-size bed with an unattached bathroom. The third bedroom is downstairs and has two sets of bunk beds with a full-size bed on the bottom of each bunk. It also has its own bathroom.

You will have access to the gated 50-acre waterfront park which has two boat ramps, children's playground, picnic tables, bar-b-que pits, and pavilion. You rarely have to wait to launch your boat. And when lake levels are low, the waterfront park becomes the most popular weekend hangout, thanks to the expansive white sand beach that appears. Fun for the whole family!

There are many activities to choose from in the gated community of Point Venture. We have a 9-hole public golf course with a driving range, putting green, and pro shop. We also have a Jr. Olympic size pool (closed on Mondays), complete with sno-cone stand only a half mile away. And there are tennis courts and basketball courts that are right out our front door.

The Point Venture Marina, located at the mouth of our cove, provides a fuel dock, a store, and The Gnarly Gar restaurant on the Lake. There are watercraft rentals located across the lake and are easily accessible with the Water Taxi. The Gnarly Gar and Water Taxi only operate in the summer season.

Please email us and we'll be happy to send you a personalized quote. 2 night minimum stay required. Holiday Rates may vary. Hotel Tax, Security Deposit, Cleaning Fee, and Pet Fee will be added if applicable.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Darlene (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Darlene

I am a fifth generation Texan, and an avid traveler. I work overseas often and it seems a shame to let my little house sit there all alone while I'm gone, hence it's listing here. It's not an investment property, it is my actual home and I hope you will love it as much as I do.

Darlene purchased this townhome in 2009

Why Darlene chose Point Venture

I fell in love with the Hill Country a long time ago when I was working at a nearby summer camp during my college years. When I decided to buy a home, it was the only location that came to mind. I think it is the most beautiful and relaxing place in the Great State of Texas!

What makes this townhome unique

The view from the main balcony is just the best. Great place to kick back with a drink and just be still.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We did have a heckofagood time!
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.5
based on 20 traveler reviews

Relax With Our Special Weeknight Rates! Extend Your Stay, Not Your Wallet.
average rating of 4.5 based on 22 reviews
Duson, La
3

Great house but problems with temperature

  • 3 of 5

We recently stayed here with family and all enjoyed our trip very much! The house is a good size with adequate furnishings to accommodate a group. We really enjoyed watching the deer right outside the home and having access to the pool in the community. We also recommend the Gnarly Gar restaurant. Everything else was a further drive than expected. I am rather disappointed in the temperature of the home, and we were all very hot at night. The owner controls the thermostat remotely and actually could turn off the unit. The unit was usually on about 80 degrees and would not stay at a lower temperature. The kids had to actually sleep in the living room to try to get comfortable. We did speak to the owner during our stay, but the temperature never got better. There is also no television in the main floor bedroom.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation. Yes, we are located a 10 minute drive away from the actual town center of Lago Vista. Not much in Point Venture itself but the Gnarly Gar, the golf course, the pool, the lake, and a lot of peace and quiet. I am sorry you were uncomfortable with the temperature. We do have the ability to control the thermostat, but that is just so we can turn it on before you arrive and off when you leave. We don't adjust it while you are there, and certainly would never turn it off. You have total control of the device. I've accessed the history for the week you were there and it shows it ran all through the night at 72 or 73 every night. So I'm not sure what was going on. Could be that the vents were not open in some rooms or if all the bedroom doors were closed that does seem to mess up the air flow. But I will investigate further to see if I can find the issue. Thanks for letting us know. ...And yes, there is no tv in one of the bedrooms. There are 3 tvs elsewhere in the house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Good location but not up-kept

  • 2 of 5

Property is nice but not up-kept:

1. Multiple door knobs are broken, including main entrance door

2. Sink upstairs is cracked - can not be used

3. carpets/rugs are dirty everywhere in the house, probably have not been cleaned for more than a year if ever

4. Flees downstairs - was bitten by a flee - some pest control and some cleaning may help

5. AC upstairs is super noisy and barely enough to keep temperature going into the 90s (It was close to 100 outside)

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, please allow me to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I am personally very upset that my housekeeper left the house this way for your arrival and I will be addressing all of your concerns with her immediately. The main door knob has been fixed already and I've not found any others that are broken or loose. I was not aware that the sink was broken until after your stay. It is being replaced, but in the meantime it has been repaired so that it can be used. The carpets were cleaned at the first of the year, and certainly should have been freshly vacuumed for your stay. I am sorry if they were not. We do spray for pests quarterly and I've not ever seen fleas before. To my knowledge, there were no pets in the house for at least two months before your arrival, but perhaps someone snuck in a furry friend. I am in the house currently and have not seen any, but have sprayed again just in case. I did find the a/c noisy myself this week, it is normally just a low hum. I have fixed it and it is keeping me very comfortable every evening, so long as I remember to set it to "cool" and not just "fan". I do wish you had contacted us right away when you arrived at the house, rather than letting us know a month after checking out. We could have solved a number of these problems for you immediately. But again, I am very sorry that there were problems at all. We really do strive for a high level of comfort and cleanliness and want you to be able to relax and fully enjoy your vacation. Thank you for your feedback. It will help us improve in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denton Texas
5

Beautifully kept townhouse.

  • 5 of 5

When we first walked in, we were amazed at how beautiful everything was. Everything was clean. Darlene was very detail oriented about everything. My kids enjoyed the board games, movies, etc. My wife and I enjoyed eating breakfast and dinner out on the balcony. This is a place that I would definitely rent again and also recommend to family and friends. I also recommend going to the Oasis. Especially around sunset.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words! We're thrilled that you had such a nice experience. Feel free to come again anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Weekend stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay. The house was well maintained and very clean. The room distribution was perfect and our teenagers really enjoyed having their own space downstairs. The house is comfortable, and the surrounding area is great. We had the opportunity to feed the deer. It was lovely. The one suggestion for the owners would be to update the information regarding near by restaurants etc. we found a couple that were no longer open. thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! I'm so glad you enjoyed my house. I will have a look at updating the local info!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Annual Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Darlene, your Condo was decorated so cute and comfy. Our family just loved our stay. We swam at the lake and pool, golfed, played cards and grilled and ate until our hearts were content! Everyone was having so much fun we didn't even get to play tennis, which was one of our main intentions! I guess we will just have to come back!! Thanks again for the little courtesies you extend us. Blessings to you and your family. WBC Family

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oklahoma
1

Funseeker

  • 1 of 5

The home was dirty - I'm not sure why we had to pay for cleaning as it was full of spider webs & floors hadn't been cleaned. The patio & grill were so dirty that we didn't want to use them. We arrived 30 minutes early (after traveling for 10 hours) & could not get in touch with anyone to give us access to the home! :( nobody even answered when we called the maintenance office! The upstairs bedroom was very hot!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you found our home not as clean as you would have liked. We have addressed your concerns with the housekeeper as she must have missed a few things before your stay. I do sincerely apologize and only wish we would've been made aware when you found it so we could have taken care of it for you immediately. As for the entry problem, it is for the security of our home and our guests that the door codes we give will only work between your personal check-in and check-out times. Those times are stated clearly in your contract. We are happy to provide early check-in when possible if notified in advance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport
Nearest Golf
0.3 Miles
Point Venture Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.7 Miles
The Gnarly Gar
Nearest Ski
0.2 Miles
Waterskiing
Nearest Point of Interest
The Gnarly Gar
Nearest Point of Interest
Swimming Pool and Clubhouse
Car: necessary

Point Venture is a quiet village of less than 700 residents. It's a very relaxing place to be!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Point Venture Townhome Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Labor Day
Sep 2 2016 - Sep 4 2016
2 night minimum stay
$300
 
 
Off Season
Oct 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$180
Fri,Sat
$950
$2,200
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 24 2016 - Nov 24 2016
1 night minimum stay
$180
Flat fee
 
 
Christmas
Dec 25 2016 - Dec 25 2016
1 night minimum stay
$180
Flat fee
 
 
New Year's
Jan 1 2017 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$180
Flat fee
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,300
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

If you have any questions or need to make adjustments to this agreement, please email or call us before making your payment or finalizing your reservation. Pets and service animals may be considered on a case-by-case basis, but you must ask permission from the owner before this agreement is finalized. If permission is granted, fees will be charged accordingly. If your stay is longer than 30 days, you will not be required to pay the Hotel Tax.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Point Venture Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Guest Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , On the main floor, not attached to a bedroom.
    Cowboy Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Attached to the downstairs bedroom
    Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , jetted tub , Attached to the Master Bedroom
  • 3 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , carpet, balcony, a/c unit, ceiling fan, tv, dvd, roku
    Guest Room - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , On main floor, carpet, walk-in closet
    Cowboy Room - 2 double , 2 twin/ single , 2 bunk bed , Two bunks with twin on top and full on bottom, balcony, tv
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Tennis Courts(shared), Golf Course(shared), Park(shared), Basketball Courts (shared), Swimming Pool (shared - closed on Mondays for maintenance), Boat Ramp (shared)

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...