Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Low Cost for Paradise Found - Where Comfort Meets the Beach!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Welcome to your home-away-from-home at incredible Fripp Island - a private gated community perfect for a wonderful family retreat or private quiet time alone. Enjoy three-and-one-half miles of pristine uncrowded beach, wildlife sanctuaries, bike paths, and nature walks. Fripp is located about 20 minutes from the quaint historic town of Beaufort, 60 miles to Savannah, and 90 miles to Charleston.

You will enjoy the comfort of our three-bedroom, two-bath home in the private area of Deer Lake including WIFI, a fully-equipped kitchen with a Keurig coffee maker, large dining area, gas fireplace for cool nights, jacuzzi tub and separate shower in master. King-size bed in master, two guest rooms each with queen-size beds, 300 count linens and very comfortable beds. 6 beach bikes to cruise the nature paths or use the 4 passenger golf cart which is included during your stay!

Deer Lake has their own private pool and children's playground just steps from your front door. Sip coffee in the morning on the front porch watching the deer in the front yard and eat dinner on the screened back porch overlooking private, wooded, nature-filled yard and creek.

Spend your days at the pool, beach, or just relaxing and exploring the island on your golf cart or bikes. You will soon see why Fripp Island area has been chosen to film so many movies, such as Forrest Gump, Prince of Tides, and Junglebook.

Fripp Island is also the chosen home of author Pat Conroy, famous for writing one of my favorite books, Beach Music. July through October is nesting time for the turtles on the beach. If you come during this time be sure to follow directions on visiting the sites.

Keywords: House with WIFI and a Keurig coffee maker

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About The Owner

I am a pediatric travel nurse. This is my primary home and I rent it out while I am working in different states. I love coming home to Fripp, there's just no place like it! I take a lot of pride in making my home/your vacation home a comfortable, relaxing place that you will enjoy and want to return year after year!

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

Why The Owner chose Fripp Island

One visit will let you know why people come back year after year...southern moss in the trees, deer that become part of your family, and a beach that offers something new every day.

What makes this house unique

I love that I have so many families that return every year and have built so many memories. I know that they must love my home as much as I do because after 10 years of renting it out, I can never tell that anyone has been there!

Amenities

Deer Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • No college or high school students without a parent staying at house. Housekeeper will ask for IDs as needed.
  • Pets allowed with prior approval. $100 pet fee.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1) upgraded, comfy!, Queen size Beds (2) upgraded and comfy!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Gated Community
  • Golf Cart
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
WIFI, Keurig coffee maker, golf cart, Ceiling fans in every room, VCR/DVD, Video Games, Board Games, Jetted Tub in Master Bath and Separate Shower, 6 Beach Bikes, Beach Chairs, Beach floats/toys, NO SMOKING

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
Low Cost for Paradise Found - Where Comfort Meets the Beach!
average rating of 4.4444447 based on 27 reviews
Powell, Ohio
5

Lovely home on a lovely Island with gorgeous beaches!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home on quiet cul-de-sac with lagoon in back. Kitchen was fully stocked, bikes in garage, and golf cart.No crowds in March and weather was very nice. Debbie, the owner, was great to work with and veery responsive. I highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Chris. I so appreciated you and your wife! I hope you will come back next year! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morristown, TN
1

BE VERY CAUTIOUS!!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

We've been vacationing on Fripp Island many, many times and have never stayed in a house or condo that was so dirty. On the first evening my husband and I literally cleaned. The property owner advertises cable tv, well believe me, it's just enough to barely support the claim. The refrigerator was nasty and didn't keep anything cold, the walls and cabinets in the kitchen had food/drink residue running down to the baseboards. There was dust and cobwebs in the living room and we had to wipe the walls of the living room and corners of the master bedroom down with the dust mop. The flloors were clearly left untouched. The hall bathroom shower had a handful of hair stuck to the walls of the shower. The golf cart had been so neglected that the battery won't hold a charge long enough to get you from one end of the Island to the other. It took my husband 3-4 days to get the battery fluid levels where it would hold an acceptable charge to use it for about 35-40 minutes at a time. And last but certainly not least, the description and pictures on the internet of the exterior and interior of the property look so inviting but be extremely careful of renting from this listing, because the dirt and unkempt house may not be the only issue you will have to deal with when you leave. We will return to Fripp, but never to this rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry you feel you had such a bad experience. You never called me to complain about any of this, but decide to write a bad review! People who rent from me know I am always accessible and call back usually immediately! Why would you not call me and have me call the housekeeper back to clean to your specifications! You actually damaged the batteries by overfilling them. The problem was the charger was not working properly. But since you decided to not let me know, I had to find out from the next renters. When they called me I had our cart guy go out within the hour and figure out the problem and fix it. Some people would rather be miserable I guess instead of solving the problem and then complain after the fact!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oak Ridge, NJ
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to Fripp and we couldn't have found a more perfect place.

The home's location, amenities and comfort will definitely have us coming back for another stay. Debbie was fantastic with her quick responses and recommendations.

Overall a wonderful experience. Thank you for everything!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Great views, wonderful amenities. Children enjoyed the bikes & golf cart rides!!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Simpsonville, SC
2

Dated and worn out. I guess you get what you pay for.

  • 2 of 5

Overall the house simply was not clean. Even though it is a pet friendly house, I feel the cleaning lady does not do a good job. The glass around the front door and both sliding glass doors still had obvious dog licks/smudges on them. Lots of pet hair in all the bedrooms. The carpets were badly stained and need replaced. Both chairs in the living area are badly stained and need replaced. Both showers need to be replaced. They work appropriately but both are very old and just look bad. The hall bath shower is tiny. Any sized adult would have difficulty showering in it. It worked ok for my 15 and 12 year old. The AC did keep the house comfortable and the large TV in the living area was nice when we crashed at night. I will not inquire about returning the this property. Overall I was disappointed with the property.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well...this is the first bad review I think I have ever had. If you feel you get what you pay for then you need to spend a lot more if you are wanting something that is to "your" standards. Families have always loved my home and many have been returning for years. I am surprised at the comments about the cleaning. My housekeeper usually does a great job. However, during the summer it does get quite busy and it is possible that something might have unfortunately been overlooked, but I feel pretty sure the house was clean and well furnished for "most" people's needs. If there was a problem you should have let me known and I could have had her come back to correct it. However, I would not send her back for a smudged small glass pane at the front door. I agree that evidently my house is not a good fit for you and agree you would be more comfortable in another "rental".
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Awesome rental and really enjoyed Fripp Island.

  • 5 of 5

Clean and well furbished. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Beach, Crabbing, wonderful town of Beaufort to explore, off island golf courses 20 minutes away, state park with nature activities and fishing pier.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning fee $120

NO REFUNDS AFTER FINAL PAYMENT UNLESS HOME CAN BE RE RENTED. WE SUGGEST YOU PURCHASE VACATION PROTECTION INSURANCE IF YOU ARE NOT CERTAIN OF YOUR PLANS. MONTHLY RENTALS REQUIRE HALF PAYMENT AMOUNT TO RESERVE AND IS NON REFUNDABLE UNLESS HOME CAN BE RERENTED. BALANCE IS DUE 8 WEEKS PRIOR TO ARRIVAL DATE.
Rates plus $120 cleaning fee and a refundable $200 damage deposit. Credit cards add 5%.
$50 pet fee is nonrefundable

May mail check or pay by credit card (credit card fee additional 4%)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.