check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Steve Jacobus

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: spanish

Costa Rica's highest rated vacation property 5 years on a row!

11 Reviews
Sleeps24
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms11
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Guanacaste Lodge Rental Photos and Description

Villa, 9 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 10+ Baths, (Sleeps 26)

Create your own memorable experience with your family, friends or retreat companions at Tierra Magnifica. With the amenities of a luxury tropical boutique hotel, the personal attention of an exclusive 5-star lodge, and the intimacy of a private ocean-view villa estate, Tierra Magnifica is THE state of mind you deserve to be in.

Tierra Magnifica is Costa Rica’s top rated full service vacation property, five years in a row; hosting group experiences including Destination Weddings, Special Family Celebrations, Group Vacations, Wellness Retreats and Executive Forums.

Tierra Magnifica is now available as a 5 star B&B during the weeks we do not have an exclusive full-property reservation. Whether you want a slice of our paradise or the whole pie, you'll get our down home family hospitality with every bite.

Keywords: Estate, Property, Viila, Resort, Private Hotel, Boutique Hotel, Bed and Breakfast, B&B, Retreat, family vacations, weddings, destination weddings, forums,

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Steve Jacobus (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks: spanish

About Steve Jacobus

Erika and Steve have are hands on owners who love to share their home and the culture of this special beach town in Costa Rica with you and your family and friends. They started building this unique property and experience 11 years ago and have lovingly sculpted every detail into amenities and accommodations to enhance your experience. Steve, a native of the US Midwest and Erika a native of San Jose Costa Rica have combined the perfect blend of their backgrounds and added in the local flavors of their staff to create a unique experience of being at a luxury boutique hotel that feels like visiting an old friend's home.

Steve Jacobus purchased this lodge in 2005

Why Steve Jacobus chose Costa Rica

11 years ago we started building our idea of the perfect vacation property. Today Tierra Magnifica embodies the hospitality of a close friend's ocean villa and the amenities of a luxury boutique hotel. You'll arrive as guests but leave as family. That is the way we like to feel when we travel, and that's what we have created for you.

What makes this lodge unique

Our location is spectacular, convenient and very private. Our furnishings and linens are the highest quality from Bali. Our kitchen is rated as the best on the coast. BUT, it's our staff that truly wins the hearts of our guests and makes us the highest rated vacation property in Costa Rica.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Steve,



WOW!!! What an amazing trip we had to Tierra Magnifica! It was actually even better than what we all imagined. Your place is so incredibly beautiful, with the nicest helpful staff- we so enjoyed them all! The weather cooperated beautifully, we loved ALL our activities from ziplining to surfing, to our day at the farm (but glad we let the kids sleep in and skip the early AM nature walk!) And of course we loved our hang-out time at TM!



Again, I wanted to let you know how amazing your staff was. Katia’s cooking was incredible and she was such a delight! We felt we had an added bonus with Jacob’s wealth of experience/knowledge of the area combined with Crystal and Benjamin’s new enthusiasm for everything we did. We’re sorry we didn’t have a chance to meet you but rest-assured your staff did a fantastic job!



Thanks for all your did to make this trip happen. Happy New Year!



Jeanine
Dec 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 11 traveler reviews

Costa Rica's highest rated vacation property 5 years on a row!
average rating of 4.6363635 based on 12 reviews
Middleton, WI, USA
5

Fabulous Vacation Property (and SO much more)

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent two weeks at Tierra Magnifica this year at the end of February/beginning of March. This is the third time that we have spent vacation time there. The accommodations are fantastic, the staff is fabulous, and the views are stunning. It is impossible to list all of the fantastic attributes of this property. It is a special place with special people (as well as adorable dogs and a bird :) ). We would go back again and again.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Port Charlotte
5

This Is Where You Should Stay

  • 5 of 5

Steve and Erika have created a wonderful hideaway in the mountains of Costa Rica. They have many plans for activities during your stay. We, on the other hand, are big stay-put, reading kind of people so Terra Magnifica was perfect for a Spring Getaway. Rooms are lovely. The bar is open and well stocked. The restaurant offers a fixed menu every night with whatever local seafood and vegetable the Chef has found that day. There is limited shopping and restaurants in Nosara but is a surfer's paradise. Don't miss a trip here.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, Costa Rica
5

Destino increible para una familia grande

  • 5 of 5

Tenemos años de estar planificando la visita de familia de los Estados Unidos a Costa Rica. Un grupo de 18 nos juntamos para las vacaciones en Costa Rica. Es la primera vez que no tomamos vacaciones en una cabina en el norte de Wisconsin. Después de buscar y buscar... y buscar, elegimos a Tierra Magnifica en Nosara como destino para el grupo. La verdad es que no pudo haber sido mejor. Todos nos quedamos maravilados del lugar. Es un lujo tropical. El personal de Tierra Magnifica nos atendieron de una manera fabulosa. Cada día nos ayudaron planificar actividades en la zona, de las cuales hay muchísimas. Como tica, pensé conocer bien la zona de Nosara pero realmente me sorprendió. Hay mucho que hacer y no se siente abrumado por molotes de gentes.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best family vacation by far!

  • 5 of 5

With half the extended family off at surf classes and the other half out on a horseback tour, I finally can take a few minutes to collect my thoughts, rest my eco-adventure-soar joints and enjoy this incredible view and comment on this remarkable family vacation.

Tierra Magnífica in Nosara Costa Rica hosted all 18 of us for this unforgettable family bonding experience. We gathered to celebrate mom's birthday and, boy, did we ever celebrate! On the birthday night itself, they prepared a special meal and probably the best birthday cake I have ever tried. Before dinner was served, Steve the owner played bartender to us on one of the decks.

A long way from our typical family vacation haunts in Door County Wisconsin, Nosara filled our days with outdoor adventures and Tierra Magnifica refreshed and rejuvenated us in the delightful pool, the magnificent rooms and the splendid meals by Chef Kevin. The three Erikas kept us abreast each day on our plans and schedules and found unique experiences for each of our tastes.

For me, without a doubt, the best part of the week was having this grand place to ourselves with plenty of space for us to gather as a family, recount memories new and old and plan our next adventures together.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Long Beach, CA
1

This rental property was a terrible choice for our wedding-don't make the same mistake that we did!

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I had our wedding here in June 2011. I gave the property one star because of the views, but I hope no one makes the same mistake that we did by renting this property. The owner will promise you the world before your stay, but he will not be responsible for any problems that you encounter after he has your money. There is a major disparity in room quality on the site. The Jungle Bungalows are shabby, dirty and very rundown. I was embarrassed that three of my guests were staying in them. The amount of electricity available is not adequate to power the whole house. When more than two people showered at the same time, the power went out on a consistent basis (every night). The guard dogs that are living on the property (including a Mastiff) are very unpredictable. On the second night of our stay, my husband could not enter the main area of the house during the night to get a glass of water - they wouldn't let him. I find this irresponsible and dangerous particularly if there are children on the property. The house is not the size that it appears in the pictures. There is really only one main room that can accommodate about eight people comfortably. There is also an extremely slippery, dangerous floor all around the outside of the property which includes the dining area adjacent to the pool. I was constantly afraid that someone was going to fall. The staff skipped our complimentary appetizers and drinks everyday. This service and daily breakfast were supposed to be included in our house rental package. Everyday, we had to go to town to replenish our own drinking water supply and one morning they even ran out of fruit and had to feed us what we had purchased ourselves the day before. The "Tropical Concierge" will be helpful as long as you don't interfere with his social life. In other words, don't depend on him to arrange your activities. We knowingly rented the house during the "Green Season" and were prepared for rain, unfortunately this house is not equipped for inclement weather. The Bridal Suite roof leaked and the Jungle Bungalows completely flooded and forced us to relocate our guests to a hotel in town. Their belongings were soaked and some were ruined. The rains also wreaked havoc with the house plumbing. There was no running water for three days. One of those days was my wedding day. The owner was contacted daily and kept aware all week of the problems we were having. He did nothing to help us even though he was in Nosara at the time.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is helpful for our prospective guests and clients as it points out that traveling to remote areas in Latin America are not for everyone. This client had the unfortunate timing of coming to Nosara during a very heavy tropical storm. The matter was further stressed because this client did not communicate with our team prior to arriving to Tierra Magnifica and had no interest in coordinating with our staff in advance or while on site. It is very important for us to establish a collaborative rapport with our clients prior to arrival so we can participate in creating a shared vision and deliver the best experience possible, especially for destination weddings. We have been fortunate to succeed in accomplishing our mission as is evident by all the reviews on VRBO with this one being the only exception. Tierra Magnifica is not part of a chain of hotels or resorts that can control the guest experience and shelter their guests from unpredictable natural events. We are a small, intimate private vacation rental in a very special part of the world. We offer to our guests a friendly, family like atmosphere with genuinely accommodating service. Our mission is to exceed your expectations while meeting your event vacation goals. When Mother Nature decides to blow off some steam, these situations can alter the experience our guests had in mind; they also usually present opportunities at Tierra Magnifica for a deeper bonding experience between our guests and our dedicated staff. It is times like this when some of our deepest friendships are created and our guests go home with life-long memories of a place in time when a group of people came together in an extraordinary experience filled with love, friendship and adventure. If you would like to discuss your vacation event or destination wedding plans personally with me please feel free to contact me through VRBO or through our web site.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2
Boulder, CO, USA
5

Our Family Visit to Nosara and Costa Rica

  • 5 of 5

We went to visit Costa Rica with my wife and I, including our 4 kids. We stayed at Tierra Magnifica. We loved it, and would go back again in a second! The views were incredible, and we made a Shutterfly book of our entire Costa Rica visit, with the front page picture of the view from Tierra Magnifica.

I would add that the travel arm of Tierra Magnifica, called Activated Life Experiences (www.activatedlife.com) planned our entire trip (air, land transport, hotels, restaurants, zip lining, waterfall rapelling, etc.) to Costa Rica, both in Nosara, San Jose and up in the Volcano Region (Arenal). I would highly recommend both Tierra Magnifica and Activated Life Experiences!

  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank your Andrew for your comments. We are deeply grateful that you entrusted us to provide your family with a memorable family vacation experience. Your comments are important to us and is our true reward for hosting your family at Tierra Magnifica and in Costa Rica. Kind regards, Steve Jacobus, Owner - Tierra Magnifica & Activated Life Experiences
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Liberia International (LIR)
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Tierra Magnifica
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Tierra Magnifica
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Playa Guiones
Car: recommended

Zip Line Canopy Tours,Surf Lessons, Concerts, Bars, Dance Club, Deep Sea and Spear Fishing,

Photos

Rates & Availability

Guanacaste Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Holiday Season
Dec 17 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$26,500
 
 
High Season - Full Property
Jan 3 2017 - Apr 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$16,500
 
 
Green Season - Per Room Rate
Apr 30 2017 - Dec 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$12,500
 
 
Holiday Season 2017
Dec 16 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
$32,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Rates are sunject to change until a deposit is received

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Guanacaste Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Building Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Floor Area:
  • 10000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 24 people
Bathrooms:
  • 11 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
    Bathroom 7 -
    Bathroom 8 -
    Bathroom 9 -
    Bathroom 10 -
    Bathroom 11 -
  • 10+
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 24
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king
    Bedroom 6 - 2 king
    Bedroom 7 - 2 king
    Bedroom 8 - 1 king
    Bedroom 9 - 1 king
  • 3 of our Guest Rooms feature 2 King Beds in each; 6 of our Guest Rooms feature 1 King Size Bed in each. This accounts for a total of 12 King Size Beds
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Follow our secluded Nature path that leads to a beautiful private waterfall with 2 poos. 2 Person platforms line the trail for moments of solitude and meditation. On Site Spa with complete Spa Services an Infinity Edge Jacuzzi and Outdoor Rainforest Shower overlooking Nature and Wildlife. Property Houses Open air 'Rancho' perfect for meetings and dinners along with Outdoor Kitchen next to Rancho. Onsite Executive Chef service,

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties