Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

St Ives: peaceful woodland cottage close to the sea

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Indoor Pool


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom stone-built cottage

An Dyji is located in 100 acres of woodland within the St Ives Holiday Village.

The cottage is tiled throughout with underfloor heating and double glazing, making it the ideal retreat all year round. We have one double bedroom, one twin room (with 3ft beds), and an open-plan living space which comprises a comfortable sitting area, dining area and well-equipped cook's kitchen. There is a combination TV/DVD player, and we offer complimentary WiFi so you can stay in touch (if you want to!).

Our fully-tiled wet room has a WC, basin and vanity unit, mirrored cabinet and heated towel rail.

We provide all linen, towels and kitchen towels, but we do ask that you bring your own pool/beach towels.

The cottage faces south and gets the sun all day. Outside a paved patio area with seating and picnic bench provides the ideal spot for a cool drink and al fresco eating, and watching the wildlife. If you fancy something a little more energetic, managed woodland walks give you the opportunity to get close to nature, while staying within the grounds.

An Dyji has a dedicated parking space for one car, or if you prefer to explore without worrying about parking, regular bus services run to St Ives and Penzance from the village.

During the season (between the end of March and the middle of October) you have full use of the holiday village facilities, including an indoor pool with flume, which offers separate swimming sessions for adults and children, plus water-based activities. There is also a clubhouse, incorporating a bar and family restaurant, a beer garden and a small convenience shop.

We bought An Dyji at the beginning of 2014 and have completely renovated and refurbished it to a high specification. Our aim is to provide you with a comfortable, well-designed and professionally-presented cottage. All you have to do is enjoy your holiday in your Cornish home from home.

We look forward to welcoming you to An Dyji*!

*The Small Cottage in Cornish

More Details

Liz Carr
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

About Liz Carr

We have been coming to St Ives for about 15 years enjoying the pure light and gorgeous colours much celebrated by the artists from Alfred Wallis onwards. We love Cornwall: it's a county of contrasts, and you really feel its ancient roots and industrial heritage as you travel around. We also enjoy good food and wine and the restaurants around St Ives offer a choice, freshness and variety which easily match anything available in maybe more well-known Cornish establishments.

Liz Carr purchased this cottage in 2014

Why Liz Carr chose Cornwall

We loved the house as soon as we saw it and knew it would be the perfect holiday retreat all year round. We wanted a place where we could get away from it all and use as a base for writing and photography. We also wanted a place we could share with guests. After major renovation and refurbishment, An Dyji is ready for visitors!

What makes this cottage unique

The location of An Dyji is lovely: right in the heart of a woodland and yet so close to the sea. You can watch birds, squirrels and rabbits right outside the front door, and enjoy sunshine all day long. It's the sort of place where you'll find yourself unwinding without even realising it. We did...


Saint Ives Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • The bathroom is a wet room with WC, basin and vanity unit, heated towel rail and mirrored cabinet.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Both bedrooms have bedside lights and individual shelves. There is a wardrobe in each room and all beds have two drawers to provide handy extra storage. The Roman blinds are backed by black-out material to aid restful sleep.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Singles
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

St Ives: peaceful woodland cottage close to the sea
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews

a tale of 2 ends of the spectrum

  • 2 of 5

The living accommodation property did not disappoint, in fact it far exceeded our expectations. For a family of 4 (2 young children aged 2.5 and 6 months) it was a lovely cottage to stay in. Although not the biggest it is decorated in a very modern style fairly recently i would guess to a high standard. There is underfloor heating in the open plan lounge/diner/kitchen (a nice surprise), and free wifi. Bedrooms are on the smaller side, but certainly not impractical. The bath room is a 'wet room' although we found that the water from the shower edged a bit close to the door and any towels on the heated towel get soaked if within touching distance of the floor-again a very minor gripe. A very minor point but probably true for many properties on site is that you cannot park right outside the property so are faced with walking up a path with all your gear when arriving and leaving. No mean feat when you have 2 very young children and all the gear they require for a weeks holiday! All in all this part of the holiday park would get a 4.5 stars.

Unfortunately the main clubhouse/swimming pool is disgraceful. I'd struggle to give it 1 star. The childrens play park is grotty, rusty, run down. Not somewhere i wanted my daughter to play for too long. The swimming pool is equally disgusting. Again the changing rooms are horrendous, just neglected rather than dirty as such. The water itself is freezing despite a claim that it was +30 degrees. Beware there are no lockers so you have to carry all your belongings (including a buggy) up the half dozen stairs, then over a water trough just to get to the pool side. There was water dripping from the electric lights as we did this and the life guard actually laughed when i pointed this out and said 'oh yeah, it's been doing that for ages' . Dont get me wrong its 'possibly' quite nice in the very warm summer but October half term wasn't very nice at all. I wouldnt even say worn at end of season just neglected for years.

The shop was equally awful. I get the fact it was a few days short of end of season and there was little food left, but the attitude of the lady working there was literally the worst i've ever encountered. She obviously couldn't wait to close up for the winter. She even argued with me about what day i had to check out as the park was closing that weekend. I'd like to think i caught her on a bad day but to be honest it was just the cherry on the terrible cake that was my experience of the main facility

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We're pleased that you were happy with our cottage and appreciative of the work we've done in refurbishing it to a high standard. However, I'm very disappointed to hear about your experiences with the village facilities and will pass these on immediately to the general manager. I do know that she and her team work very hard to provide a friendly face for all guests and to keep the grounds looking good. I understand there is an ongoing plan of investment for modernising the facilities. I'm sorry that on this occasion you didn't find that friendly face and also sorry that the car parking wasn't to your liking. In the St Ives area, it's pretty unusual to have any close parking at all, so we consider ourselves fortunate that we have dedicated spaces for the cottages.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely Lovely

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful cottage in idyllic surroundings, with a very relaxed atmosphere.

The cottage was very clean with great amenities and a bonus of underfloor heating.

Perfect location, close to nearby attractions. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely cottage in a beautiful part of the world

  • 5 of 5

The property was beautiful! Clean, modern and airy and ideally located fro travelling around the gorgeous Carbis Bay Area.

There is a frequent open top bus that stops nearby which will take you into St Ives if you don't want to take a car( my advice is that parking is a nightmare in town ), it cost £13 for a family of four return and then run till about 11.30pm so it's ideal if you want to spend the day on the beaches.

Carbis bay is lovely but bad prepared for a very hilly climb back to the car park! Hayle is close by with Asda and Tesco and other amenities.

We had a fabulous stay and got to see the seals in the harbour which was a highlight and we also became masters at crabbing too. We will definitely be returning and the owners are excellent providing aeverything else you need to know!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your holiday in our cottage, and that you've fallen for the area too! Look forward to welcoming you as guests again soon! Liz and David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely holiday cottage, well above expectations

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is decorated to a high standard and very well equipped

The location is nice and quite but only a few minutes to the on-site club house, pool and shop (local Mace)

There is a bus service into St Ives but we didn't use it

Nearby is the town of Hayle with Asda, coffee shops, pizza place and other interesting local shops.

St Ives is a 10 minute drive and easy to get to.

We used the leisure centre at St Ives for swimming which is very good.

I would recommend this cottage which is ideal for a family (good washing machine and other items needed for a holiday).

Extremely helpful owners who help with any questions.

We have rebooked for next year and will no doubt be booking for many years to come, two very happy children.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your terrific review! We're very pleased you all had a good time and thst you're coming back next year. See you then!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

clean, modern and lovely location. perfect.

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful holiday ad really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Kiddy friendly and very stylish. Has perfect weather too :)

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're pleased you all had such a good holiday. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely stay at An Dyji

  • 5 of 5

Such a cozy cottage only a short drive away from the beaches and St. Ives city centre, An Dyji was perfect for our family. It was clean, convenient, and most of all, warm on a very cold summer week! Thank you Liz and An Dyji for everything. We would definitely recommend An Dyji to our friends.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're delighted that you all enjoyed your stay at An Dyji and thanks also for your recommendation!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
The Watermill
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Carbis Bay
Car: not necessary

An Dyji is the perfect base for exploring the secret streets and beautiful beaches of St Ives, and for travelling further afield to discover all that Cornwall has to offer. From ancient standing stone monuments to contemporary art, it's all within easy reach of the cottage. You can surf at Porthmeor Beach, swim at secluded Porthgwidden (you might even see our local seal), enjoy all the local visitor attractions, explore Tintagel or the Lizard and walk for miles in breathtaking scenery. And at the end of the day, head back to An Dyji - your Cornish home from home.


Rates & Availability

Saint Ives Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Nightly Rate
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 1 2017
14 night minimum stay
Nightly Rate
Aug 13 2017 - Aug 13 2017
6 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $194.04

When your dates are reserved, we will email you an invoice detailing the payment schedule. Your dates are secured once the 50 per cent deposit is paid. The balance is due one month before your holiday starts.

If you have to cancel your booking, we will refund 25 per cent of your deposit up until one month before the scheduled stay.

We recommend that you arrange travel insurance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing

Special HomeAway Offers

You might like these similar properties