check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Private Cedar Cabin in a West Coast Forest

Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-5)

Myles Lake Guesthouse is located on ten peaceful acres just 11 kilometres south of downtown Nanaimo and nestled in a lush evergreen forest. Secluded from the busy world on a country lane, Myles Lake Guesthouse offers you a magical setting, to rest, relax and unwind.

Constructed in 2007, this fully-equipped guesthouse is sure to make your stay easy and enjoyable! Relax on the sundeck, surrounded by trees, birds and wildlife, or snuggle up inside by the fireplace and enjoy a book or DVD from the stocked library. Create your own gourmet meals in the fully equipped kitchen, or enjoy the luxurious bathroom featuring a stone 'grotto' shower with double heads and soaker tub!

Connect with nature and hike the stunning Trans Canada Trail that passes through the property, or bring your mountain bike for an adrenalin ride! Bird watch from your sundeck or on the trails with binoculars and bird books provided--the lake and property provide a sanctuary for numerous species.

Myles Lake Guesthouse sleeps 2-5 and offers westcoast charm in an area that feels miles from anywhere, but is close to everything-- just 15 minutes to fantastic golf, downtown Nanaimo, Chemainus murals and much more!

Keywords: Cedar Cabin

More Details

Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 30, 2016


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Private Cedar Cabin in a West Coast Forest
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Place had everything you wouls need, bathroom was amazing with the double head shower, and the soaker tub, hiking trails right of the back side of the property, could not ask for anything more! Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

A few things to consider; there are no window shades or any vents out of the house, if it's warm outside it's boiling inside. There is no smoke alarm, no shade on the table outside, no vent for the stove. While we were there the structure was infested with carpendar ants and then red ants. There was no way to sleep and the owners didn't take use seriously at first and offered no money back for stress and conditions. The bites all over my arms and legs have turned to scars. I'll never foget this trip as the worst we have ever taken.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very shocked and sad to read this. We are in our tenth season and have never had a negative review. It makes me sad to think you left with such a bad feeling. Indeed, it was very hot when you stayed in June - we experienced record-breaking heat and the Guesthouse does get hot. There is however, a large ceiling fan, two large screened doors, and several windows that can be opened for ventilation. There are blinds on the bedroom window. When you let us know how hot you were, we immediately provided you the bedroom fan. There is also an umbrella on the patio set. It had been removed during a recent windstorm and was neglected to be put up again which was our fault. We have also checked into the smoke alarm and can confirm it is in perfect working order. High temperatures in spring can lead to hatches of ants on the west coast and you let us know there were carpenter ants which we have never experienced. When we came to see the problem, you informed us you had killed and vacuumed up all the ants you could find, with the exception of one to show us. This was understandable but did make it difficult to identify the cause of the ant problem and I’m sorry this was mistaken as being sceptical. We sprayed the exterior perimeter of the house immediately, and you reported later they were gone. A week later, you let us know that there were now tiny black/red ants! We came immediately to see the problem. You explained your phobia of being in contact with parasites, and how these ants were extremely upsetting to you. I could understand your feelings and felt terrible for your discomfort. I offered to put you up in a different accommodation and refund your money for the remainder of your stay. You were appreciative but insisted you wanted to stay. I assume now that you had a different idea of compensation in mind, and I would have been delighted to explore other options had you told me. We again sprayed and placed ant pellets. We called an exterminator to confirm our course of action. You never reported any further problems and we have not experienced any ant problems since your visit. We take a lot of pride in our Guesthouse and catering to our guests which is reflected in our beautiful guestbook! Even prior to your visit, we accommodated your needs of making the 50% deposit payment at your convenience, rather than when it was due. Again, I’m very sorry your experience wasn’t positive and I do hope your next vacation is more enjoyable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely chilled out stay amongst nature

  • 5 of 5

A party of 3 of us loved it. The cabin is delightful, we really loved the setting. We chilled out each evening with wine on the deck intending to all the noises in the forest. The only thing was the bright sunshine that flooded in at 4am ish each morning and woke us. Maybe a blind or curtain would help. But other than that it was a wonderful visit to this part of the island. We will be back x

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

I have only good thing to say about our stay at the guest house!! Jennifer provided excellent services and made our stay as comfortable as possible!. In the future we would only pick their house to stay in the island. Thank you very much for everything!.

Martha, Sohaib and our little 4 legged kid (Motty) :)

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Mu husband and I stayed here to get away from the business of our vacation (visiting family); we had a great time! This property is beautiful, clean, well equipped with everything we could need, and exactly what we needed. The bathroom itself is pure perfection. I'll rent this property every time we're in town! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Edmonton Alberta Canada

Beautiful, Peaceful Guesthouse

  • 5 of 5

We couldn't have asked for more peace and quiet than we got at this guesthouse! Hosts were excellent and provided everything we needed! We will be telling everyone we know about this gem!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Thousands of kilometers of forested walking trails at the back door!


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $8

Guests are asked to pay 50% at the time of booking via E-transfer or cheque. The balance is due upon arrival via E-transfer, cheque or cash.

Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.


Cowichan Valley G House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1) Log bed, Child Beds (1) Foam sleeper for a fifth guest., Baby Cribs (1) Pack and play , Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen futon
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties