check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill East

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Stunning Rooftop View and Garden, Quiet Street, Beloved Staff

11 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 6 nights

Overview

Zona Centro House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 4.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Come share the colors, sights, sounds, charm, excitement, and classes in this artist town maintained as a historic, colonial landmark in Mexico with a large population of both visiting and residential Americans.

Five Bedrooms, a den with an inside table and cable TV in English and cable internet, outside dining room with a fountain, corner garden with a card table, rooftop garden with a view of the neighborhood, and a spectacular rooftop terrace with a view of La Parroquia.

Sleeps ten (five couples).

Four full baths, two half baths.

There are five bedrooms on different levels for privacy, each with screened windows, ceiling fans, dark curtains for summer, and heaters for winter, as well as American-sized beds with down pillows.

The inside den has cable internet, cable TV, American DVD player, VCR, fireplace, table for breakfast and games, and Sony music system. Wifi is included from ground to rooftop.

Next to that is the picturesque outside covered dining room with fireplace, fountain, and garden of its own.

Up a short stair is the corner garden with a card table. Above that is the rooftop garden with mandarin and orange trees, roses and other flowers you can pick to grace your table, and places to sit, walk, and dream. The corner garden especially attracts hummingbirds.

Finally, via a conch-shell spiral staircase from the corner garden, and with a private entrance to the master bedroom, there is a study with doors opening onto the corner and rooftop gardens and a view of La Parroquia Church. A great place for reading and writing. There is a sound system in this room as well as the sofa bed and a large shower.

The uppermost rooftop terrace, up the second section of the spiral staircase, has one of the most spectacular views of San Miguel, La Parroquia Church, surrounding plains and mountains. Great location to watch the sunset. Has a table for evening meals and high chairs to kick back and watch the sun set.

The housekeeper is Veronica and is much loved by the regular visitors. She manages the assisting housekeeper and gardener and is available M-F and 1/2 day on Saturday. Clothes can be washed daily, except Sundays.

She loves to cook and will provide breakfast and lunch, with enough food for the evening, if desired (you provide the funds for food, Veronica will shop on her own or even take you along to see the markets). There is a Spanish-English cookbook, with the same recipes in each language, should you like. There are also classes on gourmet and Mexican cooking at the San Miguel schools.

The kitchen was recently remodeled with marble countertops, dishwasher, garbage disposal, gas oven and range, microwave, blender, and juicer. We have many appliances not available in other homes such as the pressurized water system, new water heater, and clothes washer and dryer.

The House is a five minute walk from El Jardin (the center of town for all the San Miguel activities) and is situated on a quiet residential street so you do not have to put up with late night revelers (bars do not close in San Miguel at night). While in San Miguel de Allende, you can go to the Tuesday market to see a Mexican bazaar, attend wine receptions in art galleries, take art classes at the Instituto or Belles Artes, hear classical music in the historic Angela Peralta Theatre, or go on the Famous Home Tour on Sunday mornings from the Biblioteca library to help other Americans raise funds for medical care for impoverished ranch children. People come from around the world for the art classes. There are also 8-9 Spanish language schools.

Or just stay in Casa DeMarco and read and relax. Restaurants in town are excellent, silver jewelry costs one-third less than in the United States, and getting a pair of the San Miguel women shoes is a must!

The in-town manager, Martha Hernandez, is a neighbor that can respond to your needs and provide information that can be helpful during your stay.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill East (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Bill East

We, the owners, are a Dallas couple that have enjoyed our time off and treasure being able to visit areas that offer historical as well as cultural events.

My name is Bill, the manager and I will handle your reservations and contract request.

Bill East purchased this house in 2000

Why Bill East chose San Miguel de Allende

We fell in love with San Miguel when we first visited it, and like many others, bought our house on our first trip there. Spanish schools, art schools, art galleries, photographers, writers, and a lovely population of hard-working people who treasure their kids, churches, and their friends. There is so much to do and so, in a town that was founded in 1826. All local children learn both English and Spanish in school.

What makes this house unique

Breakfast in the covered dining room by the kitchen but outside is delightful. Dinner in the same place with a fire going in the fireplace. Drinks and appetizers on the top roof while watching the sunset each night. An average low of 55 degrees and an average high of 75 degrees in the spot called perpetual spring. We continue to update the casa and encourage your suggestions on how to make it better for you and others return visits.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Bill,

The Casa DeMarco blew every ones mind. They had no idea what to expect when they arrived, and did they get a surprise when they saw the size of the house once you opened the door. The size of the bedrooms, with their own bathroom, the up-dated kitchen with the outside dinning area and what really "knocked it out of the ball park" were the three terraces with all the different kinds of plants and of course the roof-top terrace with the view.

But, most importantly, was the staff - Veronica, Lupita and Agustin. What a team you and your sister have assembled that work so well together and in my opinion, THEY ARE KEEPERS. They made us feel at home and did everything within their means for us to enjoy Casa DeMarco. Each one of them deserve every peso they earn and more.

Our friends who visited us those three weeks were from Lima, Peru, Washington, DC, San Diego, CA, Israel, and San Antonio, TX, So we had a little United Nations at Casa DeMarco.

..... and I and our friends thank you and your sister for the wonderful and enjoyable accommodations we all had in San Miguel de Allende.

Hasta pronto

... and ..... Guest name with help but referrable.
Jul 2016
  • 1 of 11

Reviews

5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Stunning Rooftop View and Garden, Quiet Street, Beloved Staff
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
Acton, Massachusetts
5

Carl and Barbara and quests

  • 5 of 5

This was our third prolonged stay at this wonderful house in SMA, and we are already reserved for eight weeks next year.

The house is very well outfitted and is extremely comfortable. When we are not out enjoying the charms of San Miguel the gardens and outdoor spaces are a relaxing haven. Watching the sunset from the upper deck is

truly spectacular. Veronica takes very good care of us and laughs (in a good way} at our attempts at Spanish.

We look forward to our return next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Carl...We welcome you anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles
5

The charm of old Mexico in Mexico's most charming destination.

  • 5 of 5

This home was far more than what we expected. Unlike many rentals, this home has all the little personal touches of a family that loves it. It's spacious with glorious light that streams in from every window. The house incorporates the outside as part of the living space which is what we love so much about homes in Mexico.

The rooftop gardens are spectacular and beautifully maintained by a full time gardener. The home sits on a hillside overlooking the entire city, you view the sunset every night and see the lake in the distance.

As removed and peaceful as the location is, it's no more than a ten minute downhill walk to the famous Jardin square. For those of you who don't like hills, a $3.00 or 35 peso cab ride is all it is from anywhere in the city to make your way home.

The staff is warm and very sweet and they are also great cooks as well. We had a wonderful cocktail party for 15 friends, Veronica and Guadalupe spent the entire day making the appetizers from scratch. Evenings this is the most quiet and siren place in the city, I've never slept so well. I could go on, but I end by saying it was difficult to leave. We'll do it again.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate our staff as well as our guest. Thank you both. Bill
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent House!

  • 5 of 5

This house provided an excellent stay for 5 women on a getaway vacation. The roof top terraces are beautifully landscaped and we enjoyed the view! Plenty of comfy beds and well equipped kitchen. The only thing missing: hair dryers, but manager agreed to provide for future visits (bring one just in case).

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Outstanding suggestion. We have put hairdryers in the Casa. Thank you, Sheryl.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Lovely house in very quiet neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

This house was so much more than we had hoped for. The photos in the listing do not do it justice: it is all that and much more. The view from the upper roof garden (yes, there are two roof gardens) is just fabulous.

Veronica keeps the house absolutely spotless: fresh towels and (I think) fresh sheets every day are an absolute treat. Insider tip: let her decide what to make for breakfast!

Absolutely the only downside of this place is the walk uphill back to the house: don't forget that you are at 6500 feet above sea level. Your lungs will remind you! Fortunately, it's only about 50 pesos (currently ~ 3 USD) for a taxi: highly recommended, especially in the heat of the afternoon.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Acton, Massachusetts
5

Comfortable and spacious home with magical rooftop view

  • 5 of 5

We spent part of the past two winters at Casa DeMarco and will be returning next year for another six weeks.

The house is roomy, well appointed, with great mattresses and excellent linens. There have been recent upgrades to the furnishings to keep the house fresh and comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked and kept immaculate by Veronica, the delightful and capable cook/housekeeper. She kept us with a daily supply of fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit platters and guacamole. Casa DeMarco is in a quiet neighborhood by San Miguel standards (though up a steep hill) and well located, with beautiful views of La Parroquia and the surrounding town. Riccardo, the house manager, and the house owner are cooperative and very helpful.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing home in all aspects!

  • 5 of 5

Casa DeMarco was even more than what we could have imagined. A beautiful balance of outdoor and accessable indoor living. The charm and character of the architecture, tile work and decor was amazing. Spacious yet homey feel. We traveled with our five children who also appreciated the beauty of the home and could find places to have quiet time. While we kept them off the uppermost deck, the main rooftop terrace was a wonderful place to enjoy the fresh air, views and to stop to smell the flowers. Veronica and Guadaloupe were fantastic with breakfast preparation, cleaning and laundry. They were also patient and understanding of our limited Spanish. The location couldn't have been better as was within walking distance to the Parroquia, Park Juarez and the San Antonio district. From the neighboring rooster to the resident donkey down the next road, cobblestone streets, friendly coffee shop and convenience store owners, we felt this area was safe, picturesque and full of culture.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate your comments and believe we have the relaxing environment for all travelers. She and I had several conversations to make sure this was right for her. Thank you, Nicole
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Parque Juárez
Parroquía San Miguel Arcángel
Fábrica La Aurora
Mercado de Artesanías
Nearest Airport
53 Miles
Queretara International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
go west 1 block
Nearest Point of Interest
Casa Demarco
Nearest Point of Interest
Huertas

Art schools, art galleries, language schools, near historic town square, chamber orchestra music.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Zona Centro House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Christmas
Dec 23 2016 - Dec 31 2016
6 night minimum stay
$2,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$400
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,600
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 5 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

A deposit is required and will be returned no later than 45 days after visit is concluded and when there is no evidence of damage and when telephone bill has been obtained.

We accept checks and electronic deposits.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Zona Centro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) In the Master bedroom., Queen size Beds (1) In the second bedroom., Double Beds (1) In a downstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (1) Two twin beds in the upstairs kids room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
A combination safe is located in the master bedroom.

Partner Offers