check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Nina Carter Hitchen

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Charming cottage w/ WATERVIEW, 0.2 miles off Circuit Ave but quiet & private

13 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Oak Bluffs Cottage Rental Photos and Description

5 BR, 1.5 BA + luxurious outdoor shower, sleeps 9 *FERRY TIX AVAIL 7/16-7/23/16*

*VEHICLE FERRY RESERVATION AVAILABLE WITH BOOKING FOR WEEK OF JULY 16-23, 2016 (LAST AVAILABLE WEEK OF SUMMER 2016)

*1500+ sq. ft of fully renovated living space

*200 sq. ft front porch with water view and comfortable seating for 7 (two-seater swing, love seat, chair and 2 cushioned ottomans)

*Off-street parking for 2 cars

*Beautifully furnished living room, just updated in Spring 2014 - w/ 6-seater sectional sofa, shutter-style blinds, a 40” wall-mounted flat-screen smart (HD)TV and an entertainment console w/ blu-ray DVD player

*Side sun-porch w/ chalkboard wall & new (2015) sleeper sofa

*Shaded blue-stone back patio with table, seating for 8 and propane grill

*Spacious outdoor shower, just outside the back door and adjacent to back patio

*Side yard

*Updated and well-stocked kitchen that is open to the dining room

*Dining room table seats 8, plus breakfast bar stool seating for 3

*Fan in each bedroom and living room

*All new windows throughout

*Fully winterized

*Wireless internet, 2 cable televisions (1 w/DVD), stereo and phone

*On top of being a brilliant house in the ultimate location, our guests often comment that the house is “spotless”. Tidiness is a top priority, and our outstanding cleaning crew uses an organic line of cleaning products to ensure that the house is sanitized and sparkling for your arrival.

*Our wonderful caretaker, Wayne, provides our guess with a customized and thoughtful trash and recycling service. No dragging a smelly bin to the curb for pick-up, or being woken up at the crack of dawn by a noisy trash truck!

*For your immediate convenience upon arrival, we provide a small amount of each of the following: Toilet paper, liquid hand soap, liquid dish soap, dishwasher detergent, laundry detergent

More Details
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Nina Carter Hitchen (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! Your careful restoration and meticulous attention to comfort details does not go unnoticed! We have had quite a father/daughter adventure on the island! Mahalo nui loa/A hui hou! Erika 9/12
Sep 2012
  • 1 of 9

Reviews

4.9
based on 13 traveler reviews

Charming cottage w/ WATERVIEW, 0.2 miles off Circuit Ave but quiet & private
average rating of 4.923077 based on 22 reviews
5

Very Clean, Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with our three kids, and had some friends come late in the week. We really enjoyed being able to walk everywhere. There is a great park nearby for kids, and we were not far from the bike trail. The house is a good size for a group of 9, especially if kids are along as they really enjoyed the double twin room. The kitchen had every thing you could possibly need. We had a minor issue during our stay and the owners were very responsive. We really enjoyed it.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Escape

  • 5 of 5

We just finished our summer vacation at the Nashawena Cottage. Our family with 3 kids 8,5,2 - were able to have room to spread out and relax. The proximity to walk to Inkwell or to Circuit Ave is perfect. The quiet area allows you to get away and the porch was my favorite spot to unwind. The owners have put a ton of thought into creating a vacation house and their communication was superb!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Vacation

  • 5 of 5

I do not believe I could describe the stay, the home or the amenities any better than the other reviewers have done. We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

found our home away from home - heavenly

  • 5 of 5

We have rented on the island for 7 years and we have finally found our" home away from home"! The street is family friendly but quiet. Lots to do for the kids, walk to Inkwell, bike riding, a park down the street and walking distance to everything in OB. Ocean breezes every day were wonderful not to mention the beautiful view of the ocean when you step outside. The house is spotless, airy and open and well decorated. The kitchen has absolutely everything you need - right down to a fondue pot. This house is absolutely perfect for a quiet getaway, family vacation or to entertain guests. The outside shower is perfect at the end of a beach day and sitting on the front porch swing was relaxing in the evening while reading a book. The owners of the house are warm, friendly and so easy to work with. We can't wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very well maintained comfortable house in a nice neighborhood convenient to beach and Oak Bluffs.

  • 5 of 5

Would highly recommend. Historic house has been beautifully renovated. Owners very accommodating. House and landscaping in great shape. Very private and sunny backyard eating/grill area and outdoor shower is much nicer than typical for area. Front porch has water view and is a very comfortable place to relax and say hi to passers-by. Location in historic district is perfect if you want to be close to town but not too close. Short walk to beach, restaurants, stores, markets and unique and interesting Campmeeting area. Handy to bike paths to Edgartown and Chappaquiddick.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect location!

  • 4 of 5

This cottage is in a perfect location - close enough to Oak Bluffs center for easy walk and far enough away from the congestion to relax. Love the porch and the swing with view of the water, and lovely neighborhood. Neat, clean home with easy flow. While only 1 1/2 baths, there is a wonderful outdoor shower. The back patio area is private and enjoyable for outdoor dining. Owners were terrific with communication. We will return!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5.7 Miles
Martha's Vineyard Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Offshore Ale Company
Nearest Ferry
0.6 Miles
Steamship Authority
Nearest Golf
1.9 Miles
Farm Neck Golf Club
Nearest Train
83.3 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
37 Miles
I-495
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
The Sweet Life Cafe
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
Inkwell Beach
Car: not necessary

*3 blocks from the popular INKWELL BEACH

*(0.3 mi) 5 minute walk from OCEAN PARK, which overlooks Vineyard Sound, is surrounded by turreted Victorian mansions, and is the site of the pictorial Ocean Park Gazebo and many local celebrations

*(0.2 mi) 5 minute walk from CIRCUIT AVENUE (Oak Bluffs’ “Main Street”), with its shops, family concerts, restaurants, festivals, art galleries, antique shops, carousel and arcade

*1 block from WABAN PARK, a large open park perfect for kite flying, soccer and other games

*1 block from Niantic Park - with a PLAYGROUND and BASKETBALL & TENNIS courts

*(0.2 mi) 5 minute walk from Viera Park BASEBALL FIELD

*(0.5 mi) 10 minute walk from the OAK BLUFFS HARBOR, with open-air restaurants, visiting yachts from around the world, a small fleet of local charter fishing boats, and jet skis and parasailing rides for hire

*(0.2 mi) 5 minute walk from the Martha’s Vineyard Camp Meeting Association “Camp Ground”, with its historic central “TABERNACLE”, site of many concerts & lectures, and charming Victorian “GINGERBREAD COTTAGES” and museum

*(0.5 mi) 10 minute walk from the FLYING HORSES CAROUSEL, America’s oldest operating carousel

*(0.5 mi) 10 minute walk from the Oak Bluffs STEAMSHIP AUTHORITY dock (to/from Woodshole)

*(0.5-0.8 mi) 10-12 minute walk to the ISLAND QUEEN (to/from Falmouth), HY-LINE (to/from Hyannis and/or Nantucket), SEASTREAK (to/from NJ/NY/New Bedford) ferries

*3 blocks from a scenic bike path that leads to State Beach, Sengekontacket Pond, and Edgartown beyond.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Oak Bluffs Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July 2017
Jun 24 2017 - Jul 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,000
 
 
August 2017
Jul 29 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500

**VEHICLE FERRY RESERVATION AVAILABLE (for reimbursement of $157 ticket price) FOR WEEK OF JULY 16-23, 2016**

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Oak Bluffs Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bathroom - toilet , (there is an Outdoor Shower too)
  • Both bathrooms have been completely renovated. Just outside the half bath, through the back door, is a luxurious outdoor shower. With a roof, overhead lighting, an arched doorway with hooks and a mirror, and a built-in bench. The shower is luxurious and spacious. With a bluestone and mahogany floor and a stone tile wall, the shower also offers a foot rinse for sandy feet!. Not your usual outdoor shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • Each colorful bedroom features a quality mattress and plenty of pillows, encased in (non-vinyl!) water and allergen proof protectors. All bedrooms are freshly painted, bright, airy and well ventilated with big new windows and a fan in each. 1 Bedroom has a cable TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For your immediate convenience upon arrival, we provide a small amount of each of the following: *Toilet paper *Liquid hand soap *Liquid dish soap *Dishwasher detergent *Laundry detergent

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers