Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Cape Home for Tranquil Vacationing

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 baths, Sleeps 9

Over 100-year-old Cape home that has been tastefully renovated to modern standards. Home is situated on a ledge overlooking the tidal waters of Robinhood Cove. Located down a long private driveway next to the cove, the house is secluded with large pine trees that joins a 300 acre Audubon Bird Sanctuary and the cove in the front.

The home easily accommodates 9 persons in the 3 bedrooms and loft area. The master bedroom has a king size bed while one upstairs bedroom has a queen bed and a twin bed. The second bedroom upstairs has two single beds. The house has 2 full bathrooms, a living room, dining room, and large lofted family room. The loft has a relaxing library with a double size futon for your reading leisure. A sunroom overlooks the water and a fully equipped kitchen with modern appliances await your enjoyment. Washer/dryer, linens, towels for showers/baths are provided. Towels are not provided for beach use. The deck provides leisure afternoon cookouts with a propane grill and table seating. Lawn chairs enough for 9 people for waterfront relaxation. Walking trails access to waterfront and Audubon Bird Sanctuary. Reid State Park, three miles away, provides beautiful sandy and rocky beaches just waiting for your exploration. Fresh seafood can be enjoyed at the Five Islands wharf just 3 miles away also. Eat freshly cooked lobster at the wharf or take back to the house and prepare it yourself.


Property Manager
Katie and Chris Francis
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 15, 2017

Map

Popham Beach State Park
Reid State Park
Five Islands Lobster Co
Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Portland Jetport
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Osprey Restaurant
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Reid State Park
Car: necessary

Waterfront Cape home with the 'downeast' comforts. Located on a tidal cove and joined to a 300 acre Audubon Bird Sanctuary with miles of picturesque hiking trails in wooded terrain. Only 5 minutes to Reid State Park with its beautiful sandy beach and its enchanting rocky ledges, where the wonders of marine life are captured in its tidal pools and entice the adventures of child exploration. Ten minutes to the quaint village of Five Islands and its fishing wharf where you can enjoy the 'downeast' dining atmosphere on the wharf.

Your taste buds will delight over the delicious flavor of the fresh cooked lobster and steamers. Fifteen minutes away in Bath, Me., is the Maine Maritime Museum, boat tours to the Maine lighthouses, Chocolate Church theater of the arts, bowling, and the Maine Bath Iron Works where US destroyers and cruisers are constructed for the US Navy. Kayak rentals, antiquing, and gourmet dining is nearby for your pleasure.

Amenities

Georgetown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Village ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom upstairs 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Bedroom Upstairs 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Loft / Library - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 6 - Ottoman bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 9 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
1 king, 1 queen, 3 twins, 1 sleep sofa. Propane BBQ grill; $60 linen use charge, happy to provide. Deck off of Kitchen overlooks Robinhood Cove.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront Cape Home for Tranquil Vacationing
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here with 7 friends for a wedding recently. The house had more than enough space for all of us to enjoy eating and relaxing together. Great view overlooking the water from the front deck, and in a convenient location close to everything in Georgetown.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fun, comfortable house overlooking an inlet

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting. All the comforts of home. Nice access to all the local places, such as Reid State Park. Saw deer in the backyard and a mink on the shore. Lots of ticks in the nearby woods prevented lots of exploration.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved the house!! It was huge and it was great that the property manager checked in with us too!

  • 5 of 5

The house was clean and very large. The water was great fishing and beautiful veiw of it. The property manager went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay! Definitely recommend staying here!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A lovely house with a fantastic spot for fishing!

  • 5 of 5

Katie was a fantastic property owner who was constantly available and in contact. The property itself was beautiful with a lovely and well equipped kitchen. Myself and 7 other friends found plenty of sleeping places, two of us sharing the king size bed, and one sleeping on the very comfortable couch. It was a great 3 nights and 4 days.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful secluded and spacious home in the woods!

  • 5 of 5

We all (two families, including three kids under 6) had a great week in your home!! We loved feeling away from everything while also having easy access to so much. Highlights for us were hiking on the trails of the bird sanctuary located right out back, collecting acorns, attending children's story time at the local library a short walk away, driving to Five Islands and spending a day at the unbelievable Boothbay Botanical Gardens. The home was perfect for young and less young, with space and accommodations for us to cook all meals and spend time together and apart. We also all slept SOUNDLY. Thank you very much for the chance to stay here. We look forward to returning!!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Foul smelling tap water. Unpalatable.

  • 2 of 5

I gave two stars. This is my honest review. The location was nice. Georgetown is beatiful. My reason for only two stars is because the tap water was undrinkable. It smelled like sewer water and tasted terable. I had to apologize to my guest for the inconvenience.Needless to say showers were quick because of the smell. We had to buy spring water for all our cooking and drinking requirements. Also, when using the dining room for a family dinner, one of the chairs fell apart. A prior repair to a broken armrest did not support body weight. I reported the issue and it turns out that I am being held responsible for the damage even though I did not brake it initially. The owner refused to acknowledge the prior repair. When I reported the water issue, all I got for a responce from the owner was "thanks for your input". I am very disappointed in our stay at this location.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our initial policy is to charge for breakage. After investigating this concern, we identified that the chairs' arm rest had been previously damaged and fixed without our knowledge. We did not charge our guest for any damage. It is unfortunate that the guests experienced a sulfur smell from the well water. With the house being situated on an island, and utilizing well water, wells have the potential during droughts to draw upon water that may contain small amounts of sulfur. After this situation, we have added additional filters and a new water heater with a special zinc anode rod to eliminate the smell in the remote chance this happens again. We have also furnished a 3/5 gallon spring water dispenser for guests if they wish to use it. As you can see from our pre and post guest reviews, we consider our guests experience of utmost importance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $450

$60. Linen fees / week
Refer to Short Term Rental Agreement for Reservation Fee and Cancellation Fee with dates and terms.
Refer to House Rules Attachment Exhibit A

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.