Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

A Spacious Waterfront Lodge

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Half Baths2
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

- 6 BR, 1 Full BA, 1-3/4 BA 1-Half BA, Sleeps 16

Lodge at Pelots Bay, North Hero. A quiet and secluded family lodge situated on 9.5 acres with 1100 ft of lake frontage. This vacation house has 6 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 14-18 people and is suitable for larger family groups, small conferences and business gatherings. Layout is open with the kitchen, dining, living and entry areas defined in one 'great' room. Floors are birch hardwood and ceramic tile, bedroom areas are carpeted. The house faces West with a gentle sloping lawn to a fine shale beach and is very gradual and safe for kids. Lakeside features open decks and a large rustic outdoor stone fire box for enjoying outdoor fires.

Pelots Bay is very sheltered and known for swimming, fishing and suitable for recreational water sports. This is modern year-round vacation home with great views of the water from almost every room. The lakeside bedrooms have individual balconies overlooking the bay and its beautiful sunsets.

There is ample dock space for several boats and pleasure craft, and they can be launched right at the beach.

Please note: Weekend bookings low season are for 6 people, 3 night min. Extra charge of $35/per person/per night applies over 6. If total rental exceeds weekly rate then weekly rate applies.

More Details

Owner
Janet Tremblay
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 1, 2017

Amenities

North Hero Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom - toilet
    Bathroom - shower
    Bathroom - combination tub/shower
    Bathroom - toilet
  • 2 hot water heaters for each half of the house-never run out of hot water.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom - 1 queen
  • 6 bedrooms- 4 bedrooms with queen beds-2 bedrooms each with 1 double and 1 twin Linens not provided
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Golf
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Raft
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 10 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
4 queens, 2 full, 2 twins, 3 sleep sofas, 2 couches, 4 loveseats, Dock space for 3 boats & boat launch; outdoor & indoor fireplace ; ceiling fans in all bedrooms and 3 on main floor, 6 burner outdoor gas grill; Kitchen includes: Jenn-aire stove/ oven with additional 2 burner cooktop, 2 toasters, microwave, dishwasher, coffee maker, washer/dryer.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
A Spacious Waterfront Lodge
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews
5

Family vacation the week of August 12th

  • 5 of 5

Our large family enjoyed a weeks’ vacation at the home in Pelot’s Bay. The property was exactly as the listing described, 6 spacious bedrooms with a large kitchen and dining area for all to gather. The upstairs bathrooms have been recently renovated and were clean. I agree with the other reviews that the bay was not ideal for swimming, too many weeds. But we enjoyed kayaking and the bay provided calmer waters. The rental house is in a great location with lots of bike trails close by and this year we were able to tour a few wineries just over the Canadian border. Overall this is a perfect location for a large family gathering and the Burlington area offers many things to do.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointed with owner, property is not well maintained

  • 2 of 5

I contacted the owner by email several times before, during and after the rental. He was slow in responding or didn't respond at all. I have emailed and left a voice message because I haven't received our deposit. It has been 2 1/2 weeks since we left. No response yet.

When we arrived, we were very disheartened to see and hear construction going on right outside of the bedroom window. A new house was being built next door.There was a back hoe running 9 to 10 hours a day building a huge stone wall. We did not get advance notice. We did our best to leave the premises or keep the windows closed and stay inside during the day. We held off dinner until 7 pm when it was finally quiet. I know the owner has no control, but an advance warning and reduced rate was expected under these circumstances.

One of the twin bed frames was broken. The chair on the balcony was ripped and unusable. Only one of the 3 propane tanks had propane and was only partially full. We ran out of propane the first time we used the grill.

I texted the owner to find out when trash pickup was. The cans were almost full when we arrived and we wanted to make sure our vehicles didn't block them on pickup day. We did not get a response. Then I emailed him. He finally popped by unexpectedly and did apologize for the noise and gave me the info on the trash pickup. Normally this information is provided in writing but the only information we found when we arrived was a long detailed list on how to clean the property. His reply to the propane situation was that he fills it up at the beginning of the season, then it is up to the renters to replace it.

I knew there would be an issue with the grass from previous reviews. However, I didn't know they would have a huge orange grass cutting vehicle in the water right next to the property. It matched the back hoe though. The cutter didn't do much good near our dock. The grass got wrapped around the boat engines when we left and returned to the dock.

The layout of the house is great for a large group. However, a house that sleeps 16 should have more than 1 standard size fridge/freezer. We had to keep our food in coolers. There was very little storage for our non perishables. One cabinet had baby bottles. Another was full of miscellaneous items left by other renters. The pantry by the kitchen was disgusting and full of dirty cleaning supplies but we had to use it for storage. This is the first time I left a bad review in 5 years.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, we do take all input very seriously. Date this review was posted to Home Away: on or about 8/29/2017 Date security deposit returned: 8/18/2017 Date cashed by Tenant: 8/22/2017 Date documented in rental contract for return of security (signed and approved by Tenant): 8/29/2017 Date actual review written by Tenant: 8/16/2017 The entire security deposit including a partial refund of the rent was returned 2 weeks prior to committed date. It is not clear why this guest was not aware of the 30 day policy clearly documented on page 1 of the rental contract they signed. First, the delay in response was due to a serious life threatening family emergency which is the exception not the norm. I met with the renters on Wednesday (in person) during their stay. All the issues documented in their review were addressed at that time with plans to either resolve it or agreements on how to proceed. Since these issues were all addressed in person, I felt there was no need to respond in writing which would have been redundant. Construction next door: We were not aware that the property owner would be building a house until the 3rd week in May when construction began. We met with the owner of the property, were informed that the house to be built was a pre-fab and that the project would be completed by the third week in June before the summer rental season. We were not informed of modified plans to build a retaining wall until they began the project a few days before these guests arrived. This involved the use of large excavator for the entire week they were there. This issue is resolved - construction of the house next door has now been completed Adopted suggestions: 1. Add a second refrigerator – before May 2018 2. Clean out all unnecessary items from cabinets left by previous guests – completed 3. Replace broken box springs and twin mattress (this issue was caused by the previous weeks guests) – completed 4. Add weekly raking of the waterfront to property manager list of duties - completed 5. Add information to rental agreement to clarify items of concern: Weekly garbage pickup is Thursdays, and propane replacement if required at Heroes Welcome. reimbursement to guests with notification (this has been normal practice) - completed 6. Ripped chair off balcony - removed Please note the most recent reviews posted contrary to this review. Thank you again for your suggestions. The Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A great family vacation

  • 4 of 5

The home met our needs perfectly as far as bedroom set up and living space. The kitchen was very well equipped, the house was clean and in good repair. The four queen bedrooms with balconies were great for the adults and the kids slept in the two bedrooms across the hall. We weren't crazy about the extremely hard mattresses. The shoreline was easily accessible and we used our kayaks several times, and fishing from the dock was a lot of fun for our grandkids. There was a lot of seaweed in the bay and around the dock and shoreline that made swimming not very appealing. Also, the third/fourth day we were there, the Canada geese decided to camp out on the lawn which made walking down by the water a little hard.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week at Pelots Bay Lodge with our family of 7 celebrating my birthday. It was the perfect house, large open area so all could be together whether cooking, eating or playing games. Love the fireplace on cool days. Each couple had a separate bedroom with views of the bay. The bay was great for canoeing, kayaking and fishing with easy access to the lake to take motor boat out for a ride or fishing. Large yard to play corn hole, bocce ball or frisbee. Great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hillsdale, NJ
5

Paradise With A Lake Champlain View!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter got married at Camp Abnaki this last August and we had a group of 4 mature couples with assorted additional family members seeking shelter for the wedding week. We wanted a place near the camp with enough room to accommodate all of us with room to spare, just in case. We actually numbered 10 house guests and we easily hosted gatherings with many more wedding celebrants.

The house and the property were wonderful. We enjoyed quiet seclusion on the lake along with convenient access to all the amenities of N. Hero. The house was clean and well equipped. The layout of the rooms holds a big advantage over many of the other rentals we looked at: The 4 bedrooms facing the lake are all comfortable and equivalent, so there was no competition for the best room. Many large homes have a big master BR suite and then smaller rooms for lesser guests. Pelot's Bay Lodge provides democratic facilities so that all guests are equally pampered.

Our host Roger was very accommodating and helped us get oriented at the outset of our stay. He even recommended our best restaurant find: Shore Acres Inn just south of town.

Our wedding preparations kept us busy all week, but we did find time to grab Creemies and sample the great Hershey's Ice Cream down south at Seb's Snack Bar at the Apple Farm Market on Rt. 2 in S Hero.

I would recommend this Lodge to anyone who plans to visit N. Hero with a large group!

Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Wells,VT
5

Great Family Get-together Site !

  • 5 of 5

Myself and 14 other Members of my immediate family spent a very pleasant week here in June. This waterfront lodge has all the modern conveniences you should ever need. It was very clean and spacey while still being homey. The owners were very pleasant and answered any questions that were posed. The view of the lake and the lodges waterfront were spectacular. A perfect place for Families and reunions. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Always nice to hear when someone enjoys their stay! We work very hard to ensure that our guests have a great vacation. Our bookings continually go up so let us know when you're ready to come back!! The owners- Roger and Janet Tremblay
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
BTV
Nearest Ferry
14 Miles
Champlain Islands
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Alburg Country Club
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Route 2
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
North hero House
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Jay Peak
Nearest Beach
19 Miles
Sandbar State Park
Car: necessary

On site Spring through Fall you can enjoy volleyball, yard games, horseshoes and cycling, swimming, fishing and water sports. The Champlain Islands offers golf, power and sailboat rentals, kayak and canoe rentals, bicycle tour routes, sandy beaches and historical sites to explore. Area attractions include St Anne's Shrine, Lippizon Stallions, Fish Hatchery, ECHO Aquarium and Science Museum, Ben and Jerry's, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, Stowe, Jay Peak, Shelburne Farms & Museum and several golf courses all within a short drive.

Day trips to VT ski areas, Burlington, Montreal and the Adirondacks in NY are popular activities. Off season offers great scenery in the fall and of course fishing continues to be great, especially for bass. Fall is also a prime time for duck and geese hunting with Pelots bay offering a secluded opportunity to hunt where you will have the bay largely to yourself during the prime season.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Additional Guest Fee $35 per person per night
Pet Fee $100
Damage Deposit $500

Off season rates are based on $275/night, 3 night minimum for 6 people. Add $35/per person/per night for additional guests. Please note, the quote engine does not always add for the additional people above 6. Please define how many adult/children (under 2) when you inquire.

For 1 week bookings, rent is due 2 months before your stay. For 2 weeks or more rent is due 6 months in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.