Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Family House In The Heart Of Old Lyme Minutes Walk From Seafront

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms and lovely sunny garden

Anchor House is exceptionally well-positioned in the heart of old Lyme and restored to a high standard. Facing south towards the sea, it looks out on the garden of St George's Square and is just three minute's level walk from the beach, with Lyme's excellent Town Mill Bakery close by for morning croissants.

Anchor House features a large, well-equipped, family sized kitchen with an open fire-place, a smart sitting room and a secluded, sunny garden.

There are five bedrooms, one with an en-suite bathroom, and two shower rooms. A fine old spiral staircase leads to the upstairs rooms, all of which look out over charming rooftops to the sea and the Cobb.

The interior has been thoughtfully designed by Caroline Conran to create an enchanting seaside home.

Well behaved dogs are welcome at this property but must not go upstairs in the property or on any furniture.

Accommodation consists of the following:

Ground floor:

Large kitchen/dining room with open fireplace.

Double bedroom (single bed with pull out trundle single bed) with TV and shower room - suitable for children, grandparents or seniors.

1st Floor:

Sitting room with TV

Double bedroom

Bunk bedroom for 2 with washbasin

Shower room

2nd Floor:

Master bedroom with en-suite bathroom

Double bedroom (separate staircase)

Sunny garden with barbecue.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 28, 2018


Lyme Regis House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • The guest should make a good effort to clean an tidy at the end of their stay. Any extra cleaning over 3 hours will be deducted from the deposit.
  • Strictly no smoking in the property. A penalty of £200 fine will be made if evidence of smoking is are found in the property.
  • The guest shall not carry out any activity on the premises which causes a nuisance or annoyance to the owner or adjoining properties/neighbours.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
28% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Family House In The Heart Of Old Lyme Minutes Walk From Seafront
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews

Beautiful family home in fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a very happy Christmas at this beautiful house. Sarah the housekeeper was amazing, so friendly and helpful. The house is everything you could wish for in a super location; overlooking a pretty square and within easy walking distance to the town and sea. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you for letting us stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quaint house in prime location, but overpriced.

  • 3 of 5

We (8 adults and a 7 month old baby) stayed at Anchor House for 5 nights in September 2016. We enjoyed our stay, and overall the house was generally well equipped and you can't fault the location. However, there are a few things we'd like to point out to others interested in the property.

1. My main complaint is that the property is very over priced for the overall standard of the interior (it is described as a luxury property - it really isn't). I have stayed in many self catering cottages all over the UK and so feel justified in saying this.

2. There is free parking for 3 cars which is quite unusual for Lyme properties - although it is a good 5 minutes walk from the property (up a hill).

3. Most of the doors didn't shut properly.

4. There are only two showers in the property - one in the main bathroom (which oddly has a door opening into the garden) and the other is a rather unappealing wet room with a saniflow toilet. We had problems with the wet room as the plughole blocked very easily (within a couple of days) which resulted in water seeping into the downstairs bedroom.

Overall, it is a nice property, it was clean, the rooms are large, the beds were comfy and it was pretty quiet. Unfortunately, given the price we paid, the house did not meet expectations.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Chrissy We are glad you enjoyed the house, had a comfortable stay and appreciated the prime location. We do not in fact describe the property as luxury however it is very well-appointed and we feel presents good value for money when compared to other centrally located 5 bedroom properties in the area, with allocated parking for at least 3 cars. It is a pity that the issues regarding the wet room and the door not shutting properly were not reported during your stay as we would have made efforts to resolve them for you immediately. With regard to the parking, whilst Anchor House is fortunate to have its own parking, due to the natural topography of Lyme Regis, access is via hilly terrain. The fact that there are 2 showers, is clearly indicated with our description reading: 2 shower rooms and one ensuite bathroom. We very much appreciate your feedback and once again are delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one! Many thanks Penny & Sinclair
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Lovely House Good Location

  • 4 of 5

Anchor House is a great house for a family holiday Located close to the beach and town centre it is spacious and very clean. Parking also comes with the house which is a bonus in Lyme Regis. Sarah the houskeeper is friendly, helpful and very welcoming. We would recommend this property

I would also like to recommend Antonios Italian Restaurant just two minutes away

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Practically perfect in every way

  • 5 of 5

This house is as lovely as the description and pictures show. Fantastic location with excellent parking facilities. Great reception from House Manager. Clean, tidy and well maintained. Lots of extras; tea, coffee, milk, toilet rolls etc to ensure that the holiday started straight away. Will definitely book again. Many thanks

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely house in a wonderful location

  • 4 of 5

Three bedrooms have views of the channel, the house is in a perfect location, with two restaurants and a pub less than a 100 yards away. Two minutes from the Water Mill and five minutes from the beach and high street. Checking in and out was so easy, house was in great condition and Sarah gave us such a friendly welcome.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Fantastic Spacious Accommodation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week staying in Anchor House, right in the centre of Lyme Regis. The accommodation had lots of character and was ample for our three families including four children. Car parking was a bonus in this busy little place too. Everything was catered for in the property with a delightful garden equipped with BBQ, table and chairs. Location couldn't be better with lots of eateries within walking distance. We intend on coming back again and wouldn't hesitate in booking Anchor House again.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
21 Kilometres
Nearest Ferry
46 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
1.5 Kilometres
Lyme Regis Golf Club
Nearest Train
27 Kilometres
Nearest Beach
0.2 Kilometres
Lyme Regis
Car: not necessary

Perfect for cuddling up by the wood burner (even more lovely watching the French Lieutenant's women) and exploring the stunning Jurassic coastline, which has been awarded world heritage status. As well as walking there is surfing, sailing & for more land locked tastes, local galleries & independent shops to look round. Sample all of the delicious restaurants a stone's throw away - this town and its environs is seriously foodie. (Amongst the varied restaurants are: famed Mark Hix's Oyster & Fish House, The Mill Tea & Dining Room which is in the Michelin Guide and is the Good Food Guide Regional Winner 2012, one of our favourites the fabulous Millside Restaurant, the River Cottage is near by with its cookery school and the River Cottage Canteen is in Axminster. All of these gastro delights have an emphasis on food that is sustainable, local and organic.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

booking fee $62.32
Refundable damage deposit $830.91

Deposit amount will very depending on length of booking and numberof people staying in the property.
Payments received via credit/ debit card (2.5% surcharge for credit/overseas debit cards) bank transfer, cash or cheque.

A small fee will be charged for check ins or check outs outside of office hours, bank holidays and Sundays.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund