check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Helen Welm

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beachfront at Kana'I a Nalu - VRBO PRICES from $145/nt ! FREE PRIVATE WIFI!

19 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maalaea Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-6)

Lower VRBO Internet Pricing(Check out the regular pricing on our website link below)WE NOW ACCEPT PAYPAL!

Welcome to our luxurious Kana'i a Nalu (Gentle Surf) Condo in quiet Ma'alaea, often called 'Maui's Best Kept Secret'. Located on one end of a peaceful dead end road and fronting a pristine and uncrowded 3 mile long beach 120 feet from your Lanai door, our beautiful and comfortable condo awaits your pleasure...

Our Condo on Ma'alaea Bay is a beautifully furnished and decorated 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. Major Remodel done (2007), constant upgrades including 52' LCDTV, New Master BR Furniture, Gourmet Kitchen complete with Granite Counters, Cherry Wood Cabinets, and Designer Appliances. Air Conditioning, Premium Tile in Living Area and total remodeling of both baths (includes adding Jaccuzzi tub). Also added 32' LCD in Master BR, 27' LCD in BR2, new super quiet Washer Dryer. New carpet and Plantation Shutters in BRs, pull down shades in Living Area, Free High Speed Wireless Internet. Parking directly adjacent.

A lush tropical garden complete with heated pool and azure water beckons you in front of your Lanai. The miles-long beach and clear water will entice you to walk, swim, snorkel or just relax in the sun. Watch the sunrise over the beach and 10,023 foot dormant Haleakala (House of the Sun) Volcano...

Convenient ground level, with a great ocean views from the living and master bedrooms.

Comfortably sleeps up to 6. Air conditioning, free PRIVATE WiFi and free long distance USA/INTERNATIONAL.

Master bedroom- queen bed, 32' TV, DVD, and desk with phone and PRIVATE WIFI , printer.

2nd bedroom- twin beds (can use kit to form a king, 27' TV, DVD, phone).

Living room- queen sized fold out couch for extra guests.

Walking distance to Ma'alaea Harbor with its great Maui Ocean Center aquarium, miniature golf and bumper boat park, restaurants and shops. Whale watching and snorkeling trips depart from here.

4 Golf courses within 5 miles - including Sandalwood, Waikapu, Maui Lani, and Elleair (Silversword), with the world-famous Wailea and Makena courses only a few miles south. Ka'anapali is only 20 minutes north.

We are proud of our condo and would love to have you share our piece of paradise.

Please click our webpage links below for more pictures and details, as well as helpful links, picture albums, etc.

Keywords: Condominium, 2 BR

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Helen Welm (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Helen Welm

Aloha from Helen and Karl Welm

Northern California and Maui are our home locations

Helen Welm purchased this condo in 1999

Why Helen Welm chose Maui

We bought a condo in Maalaea originally in 1981 but sold it when our kids were in college. When we could afford it again we shopped all over the island but returned to peaceful Maalaea.

. The quiet beach, peaceful location, and cooling breezes called us back.

What makes this condo unique

Since we planned on staying there ourselves a lot, we did some serious upgrading to the place; a flat screen TV in every room and a modern kitchen were a must. We opened up the kitchen so you could see the ocean from there,modernized with cherry wood and granite and installed a whisper quiet Bosch dishwasher as well as a modern quiet washer and drier since we don't want to be disturbed. We love it there and we are sure you will too. Check out our guest book when you visit!

Reviews

4.8
based on 19 traveler reviews

Beachfront at Kana'I a Nalu - VRBO PRICES from $145/nt ! FREE PRIVATE WIFI!
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews
4

Great family friendly property

  • 4 of 5

The condo was well furnished with everything we needed and ready to go! Enjoyed our stay and the location was convenient. Good spaces for our family of five. Would recommend to stay here!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great affordable family option!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 6 (2 adults, 4 kids) spent 3 weeks in this condo and loved it! Everything was spotless and comfortable, and one closer was filled with everything you might need for beach trips, including chairs, coolers, toys, and life jackets for adults and little ones. There were plenty of beach towels, too.

We loved the location of the unit and the property. The beach in front is calm and sandy and great for little ones, but our older kids and the grown ups could also snorkel and paddle board. Sea turtles were seen almost daily, especially if you head down to the beach park a short walk down the beach. It was really easy to get to Lahaina, Kihei, or Paia within 20-30 minutes from this location, but we liked being out of the hustle and bustle when we wanted to. This location allows you quick access to everything while giving you the option of a less crowded beach when desired.

The pool, grills and yard area were also nice, and the residents and other visitors were very friendly.

The property was treated for bugs soon after we arrived, and they obviously do this regularly. We didn't see any live bugs inside and only a few dead ones. I'm sure this is a challenge in a tropical location, and this property seems to take it very seriously, which we appreciate do.

Owners were great at communicating and answering all my many questions, providing suggestions, etc.

The only minor complaints were:

- The master bed is really soft. Some people will love that, but I was having some back pain by the end of 3 weeks because of it. If you aren't staying as long, though, I doubt it will bother you.

- Even in November- December, we got hot at night. we used the little AC unit in the living room, but the bedroom furthest from it (2nd bedroom with 2 beds) was still pretty warm. Some may feel comfortable sleeping with windows and doors opened (screens close), but since we had little ones sleeping in the living room, we didn't. The heat was bearable and nothing that would keep us from renting again, but something to note if you get hot easily. There are very few options with full AC in Hawaii, so really this is just part of the experience. :) There are extra fans in the closet, so I believe the hosts have done all they can to accommodare.

Overall, we loved our stay and highly recommend this property and this unit. You get a great deal for your money, and the location is actually very convenient. We loved it and hope to be back soon.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Saginaw, Mi.
5

Quiet getaway

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place to stay. Ideal location close to popular towns. Unit has everything to make your stay comfortable. I would recommend this Unit for a wonderful vacation.

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

fantastic

  • 5 of 5

the property was fantastic,the condo was excellent ,had a great time.met a lot of nice people,would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for staying at our condo, and we are glad you had a wonderful vacation! Helen and Karl
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect place to stay for families!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this condo for our vacation! It's a great central location that made it easy for us to get to any place we wanted to go with our rental car. We have a toddler so it was really nice having a separate bedroom for nap time and early bed time. Having a kitchen was nice too because we got sick of eating out so much. The place was clean, big, and so much cheaper to stay at than the resorts! Perfect for us and I would definitely recommend it to friends!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words! We try to make your vacation experience as good as we would want our own to be! Helen and Karl
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Escalon, California
5

Maui paradise!

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Maui and we had such a wonderful time! The condo was so wonderful, with a view of the ocean from almost every room and was clean and comfortable and felt like a home away from home. I suffered an accident in June and crushed my Tibia 2 weeks before our trip that left me in a hospital bed for months, the owners were so kind and gracious and allowed us to reschedule until i was cleared for travel 7 months later! I was still using a walker when we went in January and both the condo and the grounds were extremely accommodating for a "handicapped" person such as myself. The location was quiet and peaceful and very centrally located. We will definitely stay here again!! Thank you!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barb, Mahalo Nui Loa (Hawaiian for 'Thank You Very Much')! It is gratifying to us that our little place in the sun has given you a great vacation (after all your waiting)! Helen and Karl
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
30 Metres
Car: recommended

On 3 mile quiet sandy Beach(backs up to National Wildlife Refuge, NO Developement) suitable for children, Whale Viewing (in season, Dec-May), Walking distance to Ma'alaea Harbor with its fine restaurants, shops & the Maui Ocean Center, rated Maui's #1 Tourist attraction

Photos

Rates & Availability

Maalaea Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall SPECIAL (Reg. $190/nt)
Sep 27 2016 - Nov 14 2016
7 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter (Reg. $200/nt)
Nov 15 2016 - Dec 14 2016
7 night minimum stay
$180
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Seasons(deposit $500)
Dec 15 2016 - Jan 14 2017
10 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
Jan 15 2017 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$210
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
SUMMER SPECIAL (Reg. $220/nt)
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$145
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 13.42%

YOU MUST PAY THE BALANCE OR CANCEL 45 DAYS PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL DATE OR YOU MAY LOSE YOUR SECURITY DEPOSIT (DURING THE CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY PERIOD, WE REQUIRE 60 DAYS CANCELLATION NOTICE). A $50.00 PROCESSING FEE WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM YOUR REFUND FOR CANCELLATIONS.
HOLIDAYS REFUNDABLE SECURITY DEPOSIT IS $500.00.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maalaea Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1027 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Dialup Access
  • Elevator
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • ISDN Access
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • PC
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Telescope
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) Converts to King w/kit, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Whirlpool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
52 ' LCDTV, 32' LCDTV, in-unit Jaccuzzi tub, free local+ US/Canada, LD phone service, additional 27' color cable TV w/DVD & VCR player, including 120 DVDs and Tapes for your enjoyment,High speed internet, printer, Stereo CD Player, Full Kitchen provided including Microwave, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Cooking Utensils, Dishes, Hair Dryers in Baths, Heated Pool, Gas and Charcoal Grills (BBQ)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties