check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David Herrick

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Gulf Front Condo, 25 ft to Beach, Free Bikes

13 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

Sanibel Island Condo Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2 baths, sleeps 6

SPECIAL PRICING: Inquire about last minute reservations for savings up to 40%. During the four weeks prior to any arrival date, I will discount the rate on my unit an additional 10% each week for a stay of 7 nights or more. That's 10% if booked 4 weeks in advance, 20% if booked 3 weeks in advance, 30% - 2 weeks in advance and 40% - 1 week in advance.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION are said to be the three most important considerations in identifying desireable real estate. On Sanibel Island this can be further defined to VIEWS, VIEWS and more VIEWS in selecting your vacation home.

At our unit 3A3 at Ocean's Reach Resort, we think we have a combination of location and view that can't be beat. Our unit is only 25 feet from the beach, an amenity hard to find anywhere on the Island. Located almost exactly on the elbow of the Island, the views from the beach offer both inspiring morning sunrises and spectacular evening sunsets. With limited development on both sides, the atmosphere of tropical remoteness and serenity is enhanced.

With 1000 SF of living space, the unit comfortably accommodates up to 6 people. The screened lanai overlooks the short walkway to the beach and the Gulf. There are many amenities, typically found only in premier properties. These include being professionally decorated and furnished throughout, with solid surface kitchen and bath counter tops, 42” HD flat panel TV and DVD player in the living room and 25” flat panel TVs in each bedroom, ceiling fans in all rooms and the lanai and reliable, hi-speed, wireless internet access.

We make personal and family use of the condo 6-8 weeks each year. As such, we furnish, decorate and equip the unit to the standards required to make it a comfortable second home. The kitchen is fully equipped with modern appliances. You will also find an ample supply of dishes, cookware, utensils, dishtowels and other kitchenware to meet all your needs. The dining room comfortably seats six and opens to the living room, the lanai and the spectacular ocean view. The master bedroom has a king bed and there are twin beds in the second bedroom and there is a sleep sofa in the livingroom. All linens and towels are provided and there is a washer and dryer in the unit. We try to include as many staples as possible so you don’t have to run to the store as soon as you arrive and don’t have to buy a month’s supply of something for a one-week stay. These include items like soap, toilet paper, dish and laundry detergent, paper towels and much more.

The complex has 64 units in 4 buildings, located on a quiet, secluded dead end street. Its midpoint location on the Island makes for a short drive to Periwinkle and the center of Island shopping. Exterior amenities include tennis courts, heated swimming pool, gas grills, shuffleboard, basketball court, covered parking, beach chairs and other beach games and toys. We also have four adult bikes available at no additional charge. The beach is famous for the variety of shells that are found and the surf is generally gentle and slopes gradually, making for a great swim area, especially for small children. With limited development on both sides, the atmosphere of tropical remoteness and serenity is enhanced.

If you have never been to Sanibel, we believe you will find it to be a uniquely tropical vacation destination. If you are a returning visitor, we invite you to consider our Sanibel home for your vacation. In either case, we believe you will be very happy with your choice.

WHAT TO DO

Without question, the greatest attraction of Sanibel is its beach. While other beaches may have better or more sand, higher dunes or other favored characteristics, there is something about the total tropical experience of walking the beach at Sanibel. The combination of magnificent views and a shoreline that brings a new population of shells with every tide is rivaled only by the grace and beauty of the pelicans and gulls in the sky. The dolphins playing in the surf produce a serenity and solitude that is unmatched anywhere.

If outdoor sports are your priority, enjoy the three island golf courses and several championship courses nearby. Tennis courts are available at no charge and there are miles of bike paths on Sanibel on which you can explore the Island on the four bicycles provided at no charge. For the nature lover there is the Ding Darling Wildlife Sanctuary offering rare sightings of tropical birds, alligators and other wildlife. There is also The Bailey Track, Tarpon Bay which has nature trails, mangrove canoe trails and other interesting exhibits and many other preserve lands.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
David Herrick (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About David Herrick

Hi, my name is Dave Herrick. My wife Sandy and I live north of Boston and we have owned this unit since 2004. We have been coming to Sanibel for over 30 years. We owned a condo in the 80s which we unfortunately sold in 1992. Ever since then, we have been hoping to be able to someday re-establish an ownership position on the Island. Our desire is to establish a high quality, well maintained unit to which our guests will want to return to, year after year.

During the 80s we made Sanibel our annual vacation, usually over the Holidays to coincide with school vacations for our three boys. Sometimes we had Christmas trees and boats in tow. Sometimes it was grandparents joining us to escape the Boston cold. On every occasion, it was a trip we all looked forward to with excitement and anticipation. My kids learned to swim on Sanibel. This is where they saw their first alligator in the wild. We took daily bike rides on the miles of bike paths and explored the wildlife at the numerous sanctuaries. Sometimes we just walked the beach at low tide and talked about whatever interesting shells or other sealife we found. Overall, Sanibel became a very special place in our lives. It became a place we all enjoyed together; a difficult concept to achieve in a diverse and growing family. During the nineties, we missed our southern sojourns, but with the kids involved in school activities and moving on to college, it became increasingly difficult to schedule family trips. Interestingly, with the kids now through school and with kids of their own, they have rekindled their own memories and attraction to the Island.

We have enjoyed this new phase in our lives and look forward to continuing to share our Sanibel home with our family and with other new and returning visitors.

Dave and Sandy Herrick

David Herrick purchased this condo in 2004

Why David Herrick chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

If you have never been to Sanibel and you like quiet , layback, tropical, no street lights, no hi-rises and miles of bike paths, you must give Sanibel a try. Staying at my place is just an added bonus

What makes this condo unique

25 feet to the beach

direct gulf view

gulf front pool

on-site management

free bikes

totally re-built 2006

championship quality tennis court

grill and picnic area

beautifully landscaped

reserved covered parking

shell cleaning station

Guestbook comments from the owner

Greetings,



Just wanted to let you know that we really enjoyed our recent stay at your unit in spite of the horrible weather for the first several days. Unit was exactly as portrayed - great view, exceptionally clean, quiet, and well appointed. As I am told that I sometimes have a unique perspective of things, I also really appreciated the convenient location of the assigned parking.



Once again, thanks for helping make our stay at Oceans Reach such a positive one.



Cy
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 32

Reviews

5
based on 13 traveler reviews

Gulf Front Condo, 25 ft to Beach, Free Bikes
average rating of 5.0 based on 45 reviews
Sycamore. Il
5

Ocean's Reach at Sanibel

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful week during spring break '16 at the beautiful and peaceful Ocean's Reach beachfront resort. The entire facility is clean, well maintained and comfortable. The staff members were friendly and helpful. I am sure we will return, for the beach access, dining, shopping, and comfort were exactly what we were looking for that week.

  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We enjoy hearing that people love Oceans Reach as much as we do and we look forward to your return
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
5

Sisters trip

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at Oceans Reach. Great location! The condo was immaculate. Kitchen had every utensil imaginable. I have stayed a several other condos in Sanibel but by far this one is the best. Dave your wife did an awesome job decorating the condo. The staff was very attentive. It is actually just steps to the beach. Perfect for my mother who has a walker to be able to get to the beach and pick up shells. Sisters, SIL and I were out shelling everyday day with Mom on the lanai watching us. We made so many memories in Sanibel and thanks to Dave, his wife and Ocean Reach for making everything comfortable and convenient. We will return!!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We love our Sanibel home and enjoy introducing it and the Island to new visitors. It is truly a magical place
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
springfield, vermont, usa
5

perfect September vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed with another couple at this condo. It was fabulous! The condo was immaculate, it had everything we needed in the kitchen, the location was right on the beach. The pool was lovely and we spent many hours just relaxing. The only thing which needed an update was the drying rack on the lanai...it was broken and not usable. That being said, we were able to use the furniture as our drying racks for our swimwear. The bed in the master bedroom was spacious and comfortable. I loved the decor. Thank you so much, Dave for a wonderful trip. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We love hearing from guests who enjoy our condo as much as we do. We will see that the drying rack on the lanai is replaced
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Macomb, MI
5

Amazing trip!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just returned from Sanibel and everything about the trip was perfect! The condo location is within biking distance of shops/restaurants and the beaches are amazing! The views...WOW, walking the beach every morning at 7a waiting for the perfect sunrise on the east and then getting the sunsets at night too, couldn't have been better. Condo has everything you'd need, great bikes and beach chairs. Ocean side pool if you need a break from the beach. Saw dolphins every day playing in the gulf right in front of us. Dave was very easy to work with and the onsite staff was also helpful. 5 gas grills to cook out and save money, tennis and basketball for the kids. Beaches were not overcrowded at all, great family environment.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I couldn't say it any better myself. Thank you for the kind review.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 1
Illinois
5

Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully decorated and immaculate. This condo had everything we needed for a perfect vacation. Having bikes was a great plus. The owner was easy to work with, and the onsite people were friendly and helpful. Centrally located, we biked everywhere. Would love to return in the future!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We love hearing that guests enjoy Sanibel and our unit as much as we do. We look forward to your return
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Perfect Stay!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed in this condo June 29-July 6th. It is very well furnished and in great condition. The view is wonderful. We used the bikes daily. Do not hesitate to rent from the owner. He was very easy to work with and answered

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for selecting our unit for your vacation. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We love to hear from guests who enjoy our condo as much as we do. Please come again
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0

Map

Car: recommended

Our 2BR/2BA gulf front unit is only 25 feet from the beach, an amenity hard to find anywhere on the Island. Located almost exactly on the elbow of Sanibel, the views offer both inspiring morning sunrises and spectacular evening sunsets. The beach is famous for the variety of shells that are found and the surf is generally gentle and slopes gradually, making for a great swim area, especially for small children. With limited development on both sides, the atmosphere of tropical remoteness and serenity is enhanced. With 1000 SF of living space, the unit comfortably accommodates up to 6 people. The screened lanai overlooks the short walkway to the beach and the Gulf.

The complex has 64 units in 4 buildings, located on a quiet secluded dead end street. Its midpoint location on the Island makes for a short drive to Periwinkle and the center of Island shopping. Exterior amenities include tennis courts, heated swimming pool, grills, shuffleboard, basketball court, covered parking.

Other Activities: Birding, Shelling, Nature Trails

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sanibel Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
47
Aug 13 2016 - Sep 30 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,295
 
 
50
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 14 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
52
Oct 15 2016 - Oct 28 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
54
Oct 29 2016 - Nov 18 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,595
 
 
55
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,795
 
 
56
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 2 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
57
Dec 3 2016 - Dec 9 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
1
Dec 10 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
2
Dec 17 2016 - Dec 21 2016
4 night minimum stay
$1,350
 
 
3
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
4
Jan 3 2017 - Jan 6 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,875
 
 
5
Jan 7 2017 - Jan 13 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,275
 
 
6
Jan 14 2017 - Jan 20 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,475
 
 
7
Jan 21 2017 - Jan 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,775
 
 
8
Jan 28 2017 - Feb 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,825
 
 
9
Feb 4 2017 - Feb 10 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,925
 
 
10
Feb 11 2017 - Feb 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,275
 
 
11
Feb 25 2017 - Mar 3 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,350
 
 
12
Mar 4 2017 - Mar 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,450
 
 
13
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 7 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,250
 
 
14
Apr 8 2017 - Apr 14 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,550
 
 
15
Apr 15 2017 - Apr 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,075
 
 
16
Apr 22 2017 - May 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,775
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 11.0%

$1095-$2875/week
SPECIAL PRICING: Inquire about last minute reservations for savings up to 40%. During the four weeks prior to any arrival date, I will discount an additional 10% each week. That's 10% if booked 4 weeks in advance, 20% if booked 3 weeks in advance, 30% - 2 weeks in advance and 40% - 1 week in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sanibel Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom Master - toilet , shower
    Guest Bath 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom Master - 1 king
    Bedroom Guest - 2 twin/ single
    Sofa Bed - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Bicycles
  • Binoculars
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We make personal and family use of the condo 6-8 weeks each year. As such, we furnish, decorate and equip the unit to the standards required to make it a comfortable second home. The kitchen is fully equipped with modern appliances. You will also find an ample supply of dishes, cookware, utensils, dishtowels and other kitchenware to meet all your needs. The dining room comfortably seats six and opens to the living room, the lanai and the spectacular ocean view. The master bedroom has a king bed and there are twin beds in the second bedroom and there is a sleep sofa in the livingroom. All linens and towels are provided and there is a washer and dryer in the unit. We try to include as many staples as possible so you don’t have to run to the store as soon as you arrive and don’t have to buy a month’s supply of something for a one-week stay. These include items like soap, toilet paper, dish and laundry detergent, paper towels and much more.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties