One of the nearest recreational spot south of Chicago, IL. This is the perfect spot for a reunion of friends or family. Also a favorite for Notre Dame visitors, game weekends and weddings. Approximately an hour and a half from Chicago. Comfortable home style with a fully equipped kitchen and a lot of space.We supply bed linens and bath towels. You will need to provide beach towels. There is central A/C and heat. We do provide parking for at least 10 vehicles, so just bring food & drinks & you're set! Beach, boating, and BBQ are all right here! Historic New Carlisle, Parks, antique shops, groceries shopping, Bowling alley & great places to eat are nearby. 3,9 miles to the Long Beach, shops, and restaurants and casino. 14 miles to artsy Three Oaks, Michigan, and its art galleries, theater and independent movie theater. Golf at Whitaker Woods Golf Course, or Briar Leaf Golf Course. Outlet shopping in Michigan City. Nature hikes at nearby Spicer Preserve. 9,8 miles to Heston Steam Train museum. Minutes to apple picking,peach, blueberry and pumpkin farms.
- english, Ukrainian
- Calendar last updated:
- Feb 20, 2019
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Small improvements would go a long way
The pictures accurately portray the property, which is pretty and large. That said, small improvements to the property management could go a long way toward making this a lot more pleasurable of an experience. There were no toiletries provided except hand soap - and no heads up that would be the case. I have never been to an airbnb/vrbo that did not at least provide basic shampoo and conditioner. Towels were provided, but they were all left in the laundry room rather than in the bathrooms, so when someone first went to the bathroom there was nothing to dry their hands with because we had not noticed the lack of towels at first. Additionally, it was the middle of winter and we arrived to no heat on whatsoever in the property (even though the property has a nest that likely could be turned on remotely). It is a huge house that took awhile to heat.
It is easy to imagine how a lack of attention to detail here could lead to something bigger going wrong, as almost happened when we were there. It seems like the kitchen was recently redone -- and apparently we were the first people to try to use the oven. There was still the oven manual inside and plastic over some of the oven parts. Luckily we noticed in time not to burn the entire house down! This was actually incredibly dangerous and could have had a lot worse of consequences.
Again, these are somewhat minor complaints, but they are also easy changes for the owner to make that I think would make the experience a lot better. Just a little more attention to detail would go a long way.
Beautiful home and the owner was very responsive to all my emails. Great vacation, highly recommend this house
Beautiful home was excellent for our extended family Thanksgiving Celebration. Recently renovated 8 bedrooms, ample dishes, 2 kitchens. With any home that large, you will encounter minor issues. The host was extremely responsive and addressed everything immediately.
Perfect place for a group reunion!
Held our study-abroad group reunion here; perfect location for large groups to get together, enjoy the beach and the large back yard. Lots of space outside for lawn games and a bonfire. Spacious indoors as well; great central gathering places along with plenty of bedrooms.
Plenty big but a huge disappointment!
Over all, we liked the house because it was big enough for our big family. We did have some major issues though....There were some safety issues we had. There were no screens on most of the windows And opened all the way allowing a child to fall out! Several windows wouldn’t close once opened, expired smoke alarms and lack of them, no carbon monoxide detectors with a gas stove, exposed wires, no hand towels or wash clothes, no curtains or blinds on some bathrooms and bedroom windows and the grass was terribly long with lots of bugs. The house was clean except for two bathrooms which were dusty and had hair on on the floors. Some of the cabinets in the kitchen were broken and the main door didn’t have a door stop and constantly slammed into the wall where the was a hole due to the door lock and the WiFi didn’t work the entire time. In several bathrooms, there weren’t any mirrors, outlets or towel racks or shower curtains and rods which made things difficult as we had planned to utalize the entire house. We were extremely disappointed!
Thank you so much for your review. Frankly speaking, we tried to satisfied you with all the aspects that you mentioned earlier. The first day you came was everything fine until we tell you that you will be charged extra for bringing three large dogs without letting us know and after this you start to be unsatisfied with everything, you provided the list with the things that you were unhappy. You were trying to find some minor issues to destroy the positive impression of the property in general. Firstly, we brought you additional towels the same day you came. Also, we put additional curtains and blinds. The grass was in appropriate condition since we even took a picture (with dates). Our technician came and went through the whole list that you gave me and your husband confirmed that he is satisfied with all the solutions. You were informing us about such minor things but we never heard from you about inappropriate condition of the bathrooms. Regarding the WiFi, during your stay our «Nest system» showed us that you do have WiFi, we saw it remotely.
From the other side we were very frustrated and disappointed since we found out during your stay that you brought three huge dogs to the property and we did not know that you were planning to bring them, their weights and sizes. You didn’t let us know and that was a very important aspect. Anyway we try our best to satisfied your needs and we promise to work even harder to make our guests satisfied with their vacation at our home.
Great property with a great kitchen!
My extended family of 16 (ranging in age from 4 - 82) stayed for a long weekend. We had great fun cooking in the big kitchen with an enormous kitchen island. We also really enjoyed the bonfire and s'mores in the fire pit outside. In the beautifully accomodating 8 bedrooms, the beds ranges from very comfortable to "not so much." It seemed like there were things that were not quite finished with the new renovations (like blinds on bathroom windows.) Updated pictures on the VRBO listing would be helpful because this house has a lot more to offer since the renovations!
Additional information about rental rates
All long weekends are 3 nights minimum stay.At high season its 3 nights minimum stay unless your date of arriving is less than 10 days and its available ,than we will accept 2 nights stay. Returns customers get 10% discount. 50% nonrefundable deposit due upon booking to reserve dates, with the remaining balance due at least 15 days prior to your arrival. A fully refundable damage deposit of $1,000 is also due prior to arrival. Also all the long weekends, such as Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas and New Year have higher rates, additional $250.