This 4 Bedroom home with large kitchen and gathering areas is completely furnished and ready for you to enjoy. You will love the charming features of this home. Two of the bedrooms have new queen size beds, one bedroom has a twin bed and a full-size daybed with a twin size trundle! Another bedroom has a full-size bed and a twin size bed. There is also a memory foam full size sofa sleeper in the living room and three roll out queen size mattress/beds included at an additional charge. There is a full bath on the second floor, a full bath on the first floor and a really cool locker style bathroom with 2 showers 2 sinks and a toilet in the basement, along with a washer and dryer. The lovely shaded patio area provides outdoor space and seating as well. The home is within walking distance to Historic Valley Junction, where there is great shopping and entertainment. You will be close to parks, pools, biking trails as well as the Racoon River park. This is a great property and very conveniently located. It is less than 15 minutes from the Airport and Downtown Des Moines. Plenty of off street parking. You can also view additional photos and information on our Facebook page.
Jana Belle and Renae Johanningmeier
- Calendar last updated:
- Jan 21, 2019
About Jana Belle and Renae Johanningmeier
We are native Iowans that love our state and the area that we live in and really look forward to sharing it with you. We love hospitality when we travel and enjoy providing an inviting setting for our guests. We look forward to making your stay enjoyable and memorable.
Jana Belle and Renae Johanningmeier purchased this House in 2017
Why Jana Belle and Renae Johanningmeier chose West Des Moines
We love this house because it has such great character and fun unique features that have been preserved very well. Original woodwork and hardwood floors. Original texture wallpaper as well as beautiful glass door knobs.
What makes this House unique
This property has an open room off the kitchen that could be used as a meeting room if people want to have a corporate retreat or a bridal shower. It can be set up with chairs and tables that would easily seat 25-30 people. We have a projector system that is WiFi accessible for presentations.
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Great Home Away from Home
We had a lovely experience at Walnut Place. The owners were very gracious and the home was very clean and well stocked. Plenty of space to spread out. Just a wonderful time with family in a very convenient and accommodating location. We highly recommend Walnut place and Janna and Renae.
Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you return again in the future. Happy New Year!!
Family Christmas - Charming stay
We had a great stay at the Walnut Place. Renae was very helpful when we arrived with the history of the house and with some A/V assistance. It is a very quaint and charming home, unique in many ways. The Christmas trees were a great touch! If you would like a unique property to stay with your extended family, check this out. Well done Renae and Jana!
Thanks so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Walnut Place. We love happy guests!!!
Our Christmas House
Our family gathered here from all over Iowa and Virginia for our family Christmas. The house looked small from the outside but was perfect once we got inside. There was plenty of room to gather together to play games and enough space to find some quiet time to visit and catch up while the kids played in another room. My nephew will always refer to this as the Christmas House!
What a lovely review! We are so glad you had a wonderful time with your family and that new memories were made together.
The house was clean & owners very nice
This was a nice place for a family get-together. We had plenty of room for kids to play & to cook meals. The bathroom situation was a little different but we made it work. Overall nice place to stay & owners were great to work with.
Perfect house for girls weekend!
We had a group of 9 ladies for girls weekend. The house was ideal- enough beds, bathrooms, & showers. Large well equipped kitchen. Close to shopping. Cute neighborhood. Next time we come to Des Moines we will stay here again.
So happy you enjoyed your stay!! Thanks for the great review. We look forward to you returning.
Nice property if you don’t mind losing your security deposit and the fire alarms going off.
Very functional house. Owners were very cooperative and accommodating prior to our stay. I was very surprised when they kept our security deposit for extra cleaning, spot cleaning of carpets, stains on (white) towels, and because we took the air beds down “incorrectly” even though they offered to help. We treated the property with the utmost respect. My family stayed there for my daughters wedding. We had 12 people stay and hosted a brunch with 20 plus people. The bathroom rugs in the master bath were dirty/stained- however they were white we took it in stride. We had to clean the coffee pots before we used them because they had coffee/ liquid in them from a prior stay. The owners did email me regarding taking the beds down however I did not read the email until it was after the fact as I was busy with the wedding. I’m not sure how we took them down wrong. We did what we thought was correct. They weren’t elaborate or complicated. As far as spot cleaning carpets, most of the house is hard wood and we were not aware of any stains on what carpet there was. If there was any they would have been minor and as a result of any normal course of use of a house. I also was not aware of any stains on towels but again with the use of white towels there is ample opportunities for them to acquire stains. The house has issues with the fire alarms going off from the use of showers. We had them go off twice. The first time we tried to call the owner and could not get a hold of them. We figured out how to reset the alarm so we were prepared the second time. Again, I would have expected to lose a security deposit if we spilt a bottle of red wine on the carpets or abused the house- neither of which occurred. We were flexible and accepted the abnormalities with our stay. I am disappointed the owners lacked flexibility in their expectations of what normal use looks like when you have 20 people in a house with white towels. If you don’t have more than 10 people and you bring your own towels then this is a great property.
We want all our guests to have a great experience. I am dissapointed that you did not mention that we went ahead and returned the damage deposit to you.
We have added showers in the main floor and suite upstairs and our commercial grade fire detectors are very sensitive and are detecting the steam as smoke. We are working to resolve this concern. Our guest's safety is of upmost importance to us.
Wedding weekends are stressful and we sincerely apologize for any additional stress this caused.
Located near Historic Valley Junction, Within walking distance to great restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Close to Racoon River Park where there is a beach, boating and playgrounds as well as biking and walking trails that will connect you to many other trails in the city. There is a great swimming pool with water slides for the kids as well as parks and lots of green space within walking distance of the location. Also nearby is the Des Moines Art Center. Great location with many nearby amenities.