Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Maui Sunset Beautiful Oceanside 1 Bedroom/2 Bath Condo

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + two Convertible beds in LR, 2 Baths


This nicely renovated condominium has a view over the resort's beautiful grounds to the ocean. Good architecture and concrete construction keep the units in this well managed resort quiet and private. Free internet service through Time Warner. Great new 55' LG Smart TV.

Ideally located in sunny Kihei and is perfect for a couple or small family.

Photos show the most recent renovations.

Relax at the resort or try some of the many great places and things to do nearby.

There are so many fun things to do but here are a few of our favorites:

* While still on mainland time (the first couple of days) when you wake up in the dark, take WARM clothes and drive up to the top of Haleakala (allow 50 minutes) to see the sunrise from the top of this extinct volcano. You can even arrange in advance to bike down the volcano.

* Good beaches, snorkeling, and other ocean activities, the Ocean Centre, golf, groceries, shopping, and restaurants are all close by.

* There is a beautiful oceanfront municipal golf course at Waehu (good value) and also some good restaurants and shopping on the airport (north) side of the island, as well as a Swap Meet on Saturday mornings (great place to get fresh produce and souvenirs). A drive to shop down Front Street in historic Lahaina (on the West side) and see the pageant (Ulalena) at the Arts Centre is well worth while (each of these is about 40 minutes drive).

* Get out on the water with a charter catamaran snorkel trip to Molikini and Turtle Town and (in winter months) watch the whales along the way.

For a greatwebpagel to help plan your time in Maui, go to

Keywords: Condominium, 'Maui Sunset' & Kihei

More Details

Kyra Hanson
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2017

About Kyra Hanson

I am a Calgary Mom with children who love Maui.

Kyra Hanson purchased this condo in 2002

Why Kyra Hanson chose Kihei

This unit became available from a lady we had met at the pool over the years.

It is well located so that we are not bothered by traffic noise and we can see kids running on the soft grass,

coming from the pool or barbequing down below. It is on the B side, so it does not get too hot in the afternoon. We have always liked the layout and when we renovated, we extended the breakfast bar and added other personal touches that our guests appreciate.

What makes this condo unique

Our unit is very well equipped beach themed holiday home. The floors are Pergo and easy to keep clean. We just installed a beautiful new tile shower and pebble tile entrance flooring,

We have nice new covers for the beds and the appliances are quite new. There is a new 55 ' Smart TV.

The complex has the biggest private pool in Kihei, weight room, outdoor shuffle board,

croquet, putting green, tennis court and excellent seaside park for watching sunsets.

It is close to good beaches, shopping and restaurants.

The people staying at the Maui Sunset always seem to be friendly and in holiday mood.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was a perfect family holiday. The condo was equipped with everything we could need.

Our kids loved playing barefoot on the on the soft grass and watching the Disney videos when they

had a little too much sun. The floors were easy to keep clean. The decoration in the condo matches

the Maui holiday feeling we had. After a week it felt likehome and noone wanted to leave. We will be back.
Apr 2010
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahului (OGG)
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Many good ones within 2 - 5 minutes drive
Nearest Golf
1.5 Miles
Many excellent course nearby 5 - 20 min. drive
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Sugar Cane Train (Lahaina)
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
Mokulele (crosses the island)
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Many good places nearby 2 - 15
Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
At the resort - many excellent beaches nearby
Nearest Point of Interest
Maui Sunset
Nearest Point of Interest
Long's Drugs in Azeka S.C.
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: recommended

Kihei's Largest Private Pool, Hot Pool (jet spa), Tennis Courts, Putting Green, Shuffle Board Courts, Croquet, Exercise Room, Barbecue Grills, Plenty of Opportunity for meeting Other Friendly People, Golf Courses, Restaurants, Aquarium, Ocean Activities, Beaches, Groceries, Etc, Biking Down the Volcano


Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Sauna ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Fully-Equipped Kitchen, Private Lanai (balcony), New Pergo Flooring throughout is easy to keep clean, 2 Phones (1 portable), Answering Machine, CLEAR Internet service with LAN connection if you bring a laptop, All New Appliances, 2 TVs, 2 VCRs, Stereo with CD Player, Microwave & Coffee Maker, Quiet Dishwasher, Easy to Clean Stove, Large Refrigerator, The condo has all the towels & linens you will need, including beach towels, There are also beach toys, mats, a beach umbrella, coolers and boogies boards for guests' use, There is a large breakfast bar with plenty of eating or working space, In addition to the Queen size bed in the bedroom (which has its own bathroom) there are 3 new futons (which serve as sofas or beds) dresser end tables & plenty of cupboard space for storage of your things, The second bathroom also has a shower, Hot Tub, Pool & Gas Grills (BBQ) shared


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
Maui Sunset Beautiful Oceanside 1 Bedroom/2 Bath Condo
average rating of 4.5 based on 9 reviews

Great Place, Great Location, Great Price, Great Hosts!

  • 5 of 5

This is our third time staying in Harris and Kyra's condominium and if we're ever fortunate enough to contemplate another trip to Maui, we won't consider staying anywhere else. The hosts are fabulous and so easy to communicate with. Value for money, there's no better condo on Maui. Believe me when I say that unit 306 B at Maui Sunset is very reasonable. I've done hours and hour of research! And where better to be than south Kihei where it's sunnier than the rest of Maui? Maui Sunset is perfectly located right on the ocean and the complex is thoughtfully designed in a 'V' shape which means that this unit doesn't directly face another so that privacy is maintained and it doesn't get the direct sun and therefore doesn't get too hot although air conditioning is available. From the comfort of the balcony you will get to enjoy ocean views and stunning sunsets. Writing this makes long to be back there right now! The grounds are beautifully maintained as are the facilities (pool, BBQ, gym, tennis court to name a few). There is plenty of parking and it's free (parking on Oahu is generally $25/night)! We found that there was a pressure hose outside 'A' complex which was just perfect for washing our car. The unit itself is clean, perfectly equipped, including a washer and dryer and comfortable. Seriously, if you're looking for somewhere to stay on Maui that's not too expensive, is comfortable and perfectly located, you don't need to look further than this unit. You won't be sorry! Aloha and Mahalo Kyra and Harris!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My friends were looking for great weather in a Hawaiian resort,oceanview,close to beach, big pool, nicely decorated with Big screen TV,wifi,clean and in a great location this Maui Sunset condo fits the bill and was even more . The location was great to venture out for restaurants, golf ,farmers markets & Lahaina. Pictures are very accurate Great owners to work with. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Escondido, California

Perfect condo!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the Maui Sunset resort, and this unit in particular. The 3 futons were great for our teen boys, who don't like sharing beds. Having two bathrooms was a must, but the one-bedroom pricing made it affordable. The ocean view is somewhat distant and angled, but we enjoyed watching the kids playing on the putting green below. Noise was not a problem except in the bedroom when loud neighbors were talking on their way to the elevator. The additional sink in the bedroom made getting ready very convenient while my husband was in the shower. It was helpful to have the washer and dryer right in the unit. Everything was very clean and in good repair; the kitchen had everything we needed to cook our Costco meals, avoiding the overpriced restaurants. We enjoyed playing tennis at the resort, though the workout room left much to be desired. The location made exploring the entire island very convenient. Each evening we walked out to the beach to watch the sunset and chat with other friendly folks.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. I believe the weight room is going to be renovated this year but we agree that it is not the main attraction at the Maui Sunset. Quiet time is posted in the walkways but vacationer's sometimes don't notice or forget, when returning from a luau or something. We keep the sliding door in the bedroom closed and use the fan and or air conditioning inn there at night. While we still have the two futon / couches in the living room, we did remove the one in the hallway, after a complaint that included that our condo was too cluttered. Mind you, this was the only person who has ever given us a bad review. She said nothing to us while she was there and we would not pay anything to accommodate her, to prevent her review from being posted. We have children and have been happy to accommodate families all these years. Maybe we will find a day bed for the hall that is narrower than the futon, Thank you again for your feedback,
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington State

Big Disappointment at Maui Sunset

  • 1 of 5

We have stayed at Maui Sunset twice before and really like the place. Not this unit. The owners themselves were great as far as the rental process went. The unit presents itself as a family condo, not a rental condo. The furnishings appear to be mostly garage/estate sale finds so there is no unity in the furnishings. The lanai table is old and beat up, however the chairs are new. Sadly, the chairs don't fit the table size-wise so it we couldn't eat outside comfortably. The linens are cheap and mis-matched. Two closet shelves in the master bedroom are taken up with stained pillows. So glad that we brought our own! The curtain in the bedroom is sheer so the outside light shines right through, making it difficult to sleep. The ceiling fan in the front room either doesn't work or needs a battery. There is a nice tv, however the rest of the electronics are junk - not what I would expect in a rental unit. There was an array of mis-matched dishes, glasses, and silverware. The dishwasher did a very poor job cleaning the dishes and needs replacing. Cleanliness is absolutely lacking in this unit, evidenced by ants all around the microwave. I would not recommend renting this unit to anyone.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Lynda's review comes as quite a surprise. All of the people who have rated our condo before gave it 5 out of 5. We were there in December and there were none of these problems. The repeat renters who were there for a month before Lynda's week in our condo found none of these problems. Our check-in instructions ask people to call or email if they find anything that needs attention. We live on the mainland and depend on this. We always immediately correct any problem that is identified. Lynda did not contact us at all during the week she was there. Now that we have heard this from her we are immediately investigating. Since Lynda's week at our condo, we now have a sliding screen door that is off the track (something that has happened a couple of times before when people drinking on the lanai yanked it open too fast) and other repairs to do that were apparently not needed before her arrival. None of our prior renters complained that the light coming through the curtain woke them up. We expect that they were not sleeping during daylight hours. None has complained before that our condo is a family condo, even though more than half of our renters do not bring children. We do have booster seats, a stroller, beach toys, children's DVDs etc that are available for use by families with children. Our check-in instructions explain that the wall switch for the ceiling fan must be kept on and that it is operated with a remote. We don't believe that Lynda read this, given what she first said by email to us. As everyone else has said, this is a beautiful condo with everything that one could ask for while on vacation in Maui. If people let us know that something needs attention, we always address it immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great view and location.

  • 5 of 5

The location was in the middle of Maui, could travel anywhere in a short time. Condo had everything you needed and up-to-date. Would definitely return next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great to have you back again and glad that you enjoyed the renovations.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sunnyvale, CA 94087

Well Equipped Maui Sunset Condo

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have been to Maui numerous times and this is the first time that we have been there in January. We have been there during the summer and fall months. We went there to celebrate our 42nd anniversary. We were fortunate enough to find this lovely and comfortable one bedroom, two bath condo. It had everything we needed to make our stay quite enjoyable. It was our home away from home for six days. The owners have done a great job in maintaining their condo. We would love to stay there again. Also, the grounds and the pool at the Maui Sunset are also well-maintained and the location is perfect to view the wonderful sunsets. We can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2012
  • Stayed: January 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Tax Rate 13.42%

Our Hawaii State ID number is W01047493 01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.