check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Carol Holmes

Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Water's Edge Cottage on Quiet Pond

11 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Belmont Cottage Rental Photos and Description

- 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 2

Charming cottage just a few feet from quiet Tilden Pond with screened porch. Kitchen is well equipped. Southwest exposure for outdoor dinners and great sunsets. Loons, bald eagles, wild turkey, cranes, osprey, beaver,

otters, and moose are sometimes seen. Fishing poles and canoe are provided as there is great small and large mouth bass fishing. Only six miles to Belfast and coast. Wonderful place for canoe or kayaking, swimming, fishing, and birdwatching. This is a special spot.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Carol Holmes (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Reviews

4.9
based on 11 traveler reviews

Water's Edge Cottage on Quiet Pond
average rating of 4.909091 based on 11 reviews
5

Vactionland !! Indeed!!!

  • 5 of 5

This is the perfect Maine cabin. So beautiful and peaceful, a secluded bit of paradise yet easy to get to so many of Maine's pleasures. Carol is a wonderful host, she greeted us and then let us enjoy the week at her cabin , which is very well supplied for any and all needs.

Belfast is a nice coastal town with good restaurants and we even went to a street fair which was fun. Marshalls Wharf Biergarten is a must go IMO. We came for the Lobsterfest in Rockland, which btw was where my father grew up in the 40s-50s. WE did a schooner sail out of Camden, Schooner Surprise and a reggae cruise in Boothbay.

Other highlights include a day at Moose Point park , Threshers Brewing just a ten minute drive away BUT mostly just being at the cabin. Mornings are spectacular, the water is perfect for just peacefully floating around on our rafts, BBQ dinners in the screened in porch were el perfecto.

We had the best Maine vacation. Thank you Carol.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
5

You've found the one

  • 5 of 5

This place could not be more perfect if you are looking for a place to get away from it all. This little cottage has everything you need for an awesome getaway. From an extremely comfortable bed, to well equipped little kitchenette, to a peaceful screened-in sitting area, not to mention a well-equipped bathroom and living room.

But that ignores the best part: the view. Tilden Pond is absolutely gorgeous. It is far larger than what most of us out-of-towners would call a pond. With the trees and mountains in the distance, you couldn't be more gorgeous even on the ocean. And when you get a clear night, just wait for the greatest show in the universe as you see far more stars than you see most anywhere else.

If you do decide to get out, the cottage is a mere 15 minute drive to Belfast. Less touristy and crowded than places like Bar Harbor or Camden, Belfast offers plenty of coastal Maine charm. Closer small towns like Searsport and Lincolnville also have much to offer. If you do want to get out, though, Camden and Rockland are very close, and Acadia and Bar Harbor are an easy day trip. Plenty of suggestions for activities and restaurants are offered in the guest book, and there is a variety of travel books and flyers with many possibilities.

There are a few things, though, you should be aware of. They are not negatives to many of us, you if you are expecting 5 star amenities, you will be disappointed. The cottage is rustic. While it is nicely decorated with the charm you would expect of a Maine cabin, the roof is low with exposed 2x4s. The bathroom is particularly a tight fit. And as another review mentioned, it is a guest cottage to a larger home. This was never a problem, though, as we were quite as were our hosts. And don't expect to have the pond totally to yourself, as several homes can be seen at various spots along the pond. Again, all these were not a problem for us, but if you need that pampered feeling, this isn't your spot, you will be far more comfortable in an overpriced inn elsewhere in Maine.

The hosts were incredibly nice and checked in by phone after our arrival to ensure we had everything we needed, but also were kind enough to give us our space. Carol was also quite flexible when we had an unfortunate unforeseen occurrence that affected our trip. They were perfect hosts.

All-and-all I highly recommend this spot, and we hope to become regulars, that is, if we don't move to Maine first.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Heaven On Earth

  • 5 of 5

I tell people I live on the banks of Tilden Pond in secluded Maine and spend the other 50 weeks of the year traveling elsewhere. It's hard to describe just how wonderful this place is and how naturally it fits as soon as you arrive. The silence, as they say, is deafening, save for the lapping water and the occasional loon call. The air is sweet, the view stunning and anything you should ever need is just minutes away. Read, nap, day-trip, eat, explore, really live. The way, as they say, life should be. Steve and Carol are wonderful folks and friends and will make sure your stay is a good one.

Bill Straub and Alexis Schuler

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This cottage is the perfect getaway. Secluded and very private, but close to Belfast, Camden, Rockland, as well as Ellsworth and Mt Desert Island.

The owners could not have been nicer and more pleasant to work with. The cottage was all as advertised and so much more. Carol had anticipated our every want and need.

The pond is beautiful and it was such a treat to watch the geese float about as we enjoyed the sunsets.

This is definately a jewel to be cherished and enjoyed.

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

A Little Bit of Heaven

  • 5 of 5

This year was our second stay and we had to have 2 weeks. Robert was recovering from hip replacement and this little bit of heaven was just what the doctor ordered. Perfect cottage... with all the amenities you could want. A vacation here was the best one we've ever had and the coast of Maine from Belfast to Bar Harbor is a treat. Good restaurants nearby and don't forget to go to Young's Lobster Pound for really FRESH lobstah. Carol and Steve are both gracious and helpful hosts, with an eye for outfitting the Water's Edge to keep it lovely and comfortable. We had great fun fishing in the pond and just observing all the wildlife nearby. We'll be back for a certainty.

Robert & Luana

Belton, SC

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wow, the pictures do not do this "Llittle slice of heaven" justice! The inside of the cottage was just so cute and well put together, and most importantly very clean. How beautiful it was to wake up every morning and be looking right onto the pond! We enjoyed getting up every morning and drinking our coffee in the screened porch, watching and listening to the Loons.The sunset from the screened porch was different each night, one more breathtaking than the next. My husband and I really took advantage of the canoe as well. We were on the water for what seemed like minutes, only to find out we were there for hours. Very relaxing cottage all the way around. We had picture perfect weather and had a wonderful vacation, we didn't want to leave.

We visited Acadia, Camden Hill State Park, and Belfast. The sceenery in the parks is just breathtaking. The Whale Watching Boat Tour was fantastic, a must see, and the sailing trip in Belfast was so relaxing and beautiful.

Carol and Steve, thank you so much for sharing your "Paradise" with us, it was truely a great vacation!!!

Bill and Sharon, New Jersey .

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Belfast
Nearest Ferry
9 Miles
Lincolnville
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Northport
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Searsmont & Belfast
Nearest Beach
6 Miles
Belfast
Car: necessary

Cottage is not far to Belfast with restaurants, theater, sailing, artisans, boat tours and planned events. Also 15 mi. to Camden and the schooners, Mt. Battie and Camden St. Park. Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park are 1 1/2 hours away.

Other Activities: canoeing, kayaking, bird watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Belmont Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$700
 

Additional information about rental rates

$700/week includes tax.
May, June, July, August, September, Oct. $650 per week includes tax. One half due at confirmation of reservation, balance due 30 days before arrival.

One half due at confirmation of reservation, balance due 30 days before arrival.
Discount for month long rental of June, Sept., and Oct.

1/2 paid to hold reservation, balance due one month before arrival. Deposits are returned only if reserved time is rerented.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Belmont Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Warm pine bedroom with built-in window seat overlooking lake. Hear the call of the loons and lapping of the water!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • MP3 Dock
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch Furniture
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hammock and picnic table, canoe, i-pod dock, wi-fi.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties