check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Ryan L. Brooks (formerly Mark Randall)

Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA +Private Swimming Pool

27 Reviews
Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Murray House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedroom House + Convertible beds, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9+)

"EASE ON THE LAKE" IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE FOR RENT.

This property is owned by Murray Chi Alpha, a campus ministry at nearby Murray State University. Time at the property is enjoyed by its students, staff and financial donors.

This 2800 square-foot house is situated with a fantastic view on enormous Kentucky Lake (which has more shoreline than Lake Superior). An absolute fisherman's paradise, Kentucky Lake is known as some of the best crappie fishing in the world, Just last summer several big largemouth bass and a 10-pound catfish were caught straight off the dock.

The house has four bedrooms, each with a lake view - two upstairs and two downstairs. New beautiful wood floors upstairs and both bathrooms upstairs are completely renovated and beautiful. The upper bedrooms each have a bathroom and each have a king size bed. The newly renovated Washington suite is awesome. Downstairs there is one bathroom next to the bedroom with a queen size bed. The other room has bunk beds and another single - perfect for the kids. Pets and/or smoking are NOT allowed. NO exceptions!

The large living room upstairs has a gas-log fireplace, a large surrounding balcony and a stunning view. The upstairs and downstairs both have a large living area (fantastic lake view) with leather furniture. Downstairs includes a sauna along with a full-size desk for the workaholic. Other amenities include a large private swimming pool (30x20), foosball table, Bose music system.

PEACEFUL & QUIET! This property is situated only three miles from Miller Memorial Golf Course, which has been ranked among the top designed public courses in the nation by Golf Digest. Green fees are only $15!

Keywords: House, swimming pool, lakefront

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Ryan L. Brooks (formerly Mark Randall) (Owner)
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english

About Ryan L. Brooks (formerly Mark Randall)

Ease On The Lake is owned by Murray Chi Alpha, a campus ministry at nearby Murray State University. We've been helping students negotiate the craziness of college life and realize their full potential since 1975.

Ryan L. Brooks (formerly Mark Randall) purchased this house in 1998

Why Ryan L. Brooks (formerly Mark Randall) chose Kentucky

The peaceful and stunning views of Kentucky Lake are perfect for a relaxing getaway. It's also the 2nd-largest man-made lake in the U.S. and an absolute fishing paradise. We've been making upgrades and improvements to Ease On The Lake and it's finally PERFECT! The photos just don't do it justice.

What makes this house unique

Very unique benefits are swimming pool, beautiful year-round lake view, lake front, sauna, Bose music system. Did we mention it's located just 8 minutes from USA Today's 'Friendliest City in America'?!! You won't find another property like this anywhere.

Reviews

4.9
based on 27 traveler reviews

Kentucky Lake's Best View! 4 BR/3 BA +Private Swimming Pool
average rating of 4.851852 based on 27 reviews
Knoxville, TN
5

Wonderful view and Beautiful Upgrades

  • 5 of 5

I was very impressed as soon as I walked through the door. I had stayed at the house in years past and remembered some of its dated features. But the most recent renovations are spectacular. The upstairs living room has beautiful hardwood floors and great leather furniture. The kitchen looks very sharp now too with brand new appliances and new granite counter tops. All rental homes say the the kitchen is fully stocked, but this one really is. My wife and I stayed in the new Washington Suite which was definitely first class. Every detail in both the bedroom and bathroom was excellent. Most of our time was spent in the upstairs and every bit of the furnishings have a high quality feel, something I greatly care about in a rental property. The view and lake access was as good as ever. We appreciated the effort Mark (the owner) put into giving us a very clean and well done house. You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is always great to have people return, and it is a delight to have you and your wife as guests. My favorite room is the Washington Suite also. I continue to spend thousands of dollars every year to make this the best property available. My goal is to make this a 6 star vacation experience for everyone!!!!!!!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
16 0
5

a day in the life of gods country>>>>

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing home. The view is spectacular, kitchen is well equipped, I cant say enough good things about it. We had people from 15-77 years old and it was perfect. My mom is semi handicapped and we had no problem getting her around in her walker on the main level. would love to go back someday..

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice. Would stay again.

  • 5 of 5

The property was just as expected. There was plenty of room. Nice big kitchen. We'll be back.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Somewhat Disappointed Oct 2015

  • 3 of 5

I had talked with the manager a few times before our stay just wanting to know what to expect as we were taking my mother with us as well as other guests. The manager was very nice and answered my questions. The main reason we picked this home was for the amenities offered here. We have rented a lot of places and are not the type to complain unless there are legitimate issues. When you spend this much money to stay in someones home you expect it to be clean, in working order, as described, and prepared for your stay. We were disappointed to open the hot tub to smelly, dirty, and algae filled water. We have one at home so it was obvious to us that a hot tub in this condition had not been sanitized for some time. A call to the manager resulted in "grounds keeper" dumping some chemicals in it and spraying it with Clorox spray. The water should have been emptied prior to our visit and refilled or at the very least, cleaned and sanitized. Needless to say we did not get in it as algae was floating in the water. The Sauna does not work at all. "Grounds keeper" told us he has never been able to get it to work. Downstairs bathroom shower/tub could not be used as they had the water turned off due to plumbing issues. So, my husband and I had to share the shower in our room with our guests. Then the toilet would not work and flooded the floor due to plumbing issues. Dishes in kitchen cabinets had food on them. Mouse droppings in pantry. Coffee maker filthy. We could not get it clean so we did not use it. Pool was not open but had not been covered and leaves filled the water. All types of cleaning hoses and electrical cords laying around the deck. Went to prepare steak on the grill for our dinner. Gas tank empty. Charcoal grill full of ashes. Owner did provide a tank of gas for us to pick up in town after we called him but my husband spent some time on the rusty grill grates so we could use them. "Grounds keeper" apologized for problems but owner never did check back with us. When you open the doors to this home you will have a stunning view. It is a beautiful and comfortable home. They just need to take the cleaning fee money and pay someone to clean and do upkeep. Very quiet neighborhood with friendly neighbors. Great access to the lake. Back deck kind of scary as boards are worn and need replaced. I am rating this average due to the fact that we enjoyed spending time with our family despite all the disappointments and problems.

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was very sorry to read your 3-star review, especially since this is the first time most of these issues are being mentioned. We haven’t had anything less than a 5-star review for years and never anything less than 4. 1) “When you spend this much money…” - You paid half price nightly to stay in the same place where we book 2 years in advance (with mostly repeat guests). You got an excellent property for 7x less than a summer booking. 2) “We were disappointed to open the hot tub to smelly, dirty, and algae filled water. …it was obvious to us that a hot tub in this condition had not been sanitized for some time.” - Guests just 4 days prior very much enjoyed the hot tub. Not sure how else I could’ve handled this. Sent someone out there immediately upon hearing your dissatisfaction. 3) “The Sauna does not work at all.” - After sending our maintenance guy we never heard from you this was unresolved. After you left, we hit the reset button and it fired up on the first try. 4) “Downstairs bathroom shower/tub could not be used. …toilet would not work” - We notified you well before your stay that we had plumbing issues in only 1 of the 3 bathrooms and apologized for the inconvenience. You said it wouldn’t be a problem. 5) “Pool was not open but had not been covered and leaves filled the water. … cleaning hoses and electrical cords laying around the deck.” - We have to close the pool at some point each year. We’ve tried for years to stop the leaves from falling with no success. 6) “Went to prepare steak on the grill for our dinner. Gas tank empty. Charcoal grill full of ashes. Owner did provide a tank of gas for us to pick up in town after we called him but my husband spent some time on the rusty grill grates so we could use them.” - When you told us about the empty propane we offered to deliver a tank, but you said you preferred to pick up a tank from us. You said nothing about either grill. I’d have happily sent a replacement pronto. 7) “Back deck kind of scary as boards are worn and need replaced.” - Not sure what deck you were on. After a season’s worth of use, it might need some paint somewhere. Routine maintenance is performed on the deck (including a brand new addition 2 years ago). We even installed extra safety wires along the railings for more peace of mind with little ones around. Wish you would have expressed these concerns long before now. Two weeks after your stay doesn’t give me any room to fix any of the problems you might have experienced.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 3
St Marys OH
5

Family 2014 Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Great place to share a vacation with kids & grand kids. The pool and hot tub got a lot of use, The dock was easy to walk down to for boating and fishing. Very clean and roomy house with about everything we needed. Not having a washer & dryer was no big deal for us since we knew ahead of time and brought enough clothes, etc for the week. Owner great to work with and even stopped in once to welcome us and make sure there were no issues . Already planning to repeat in a couple years.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Family Weekend Celebration

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with pictures not doing it justice. Very impressive. Very spacious with six adults and one child. Gorgeous view of lake from family area and balcony that also over looks the large pool and awesome hot tub. Management was great to work with and couldn't of been nicer. Definitely would recommend and stay here again. Built fire down by lake one night too. So fun for all. Kitchen so fully equipped. Great place and great memories.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Patti's 1880's Settlement Restaurant
"Great restaurant just 45 minutes away. Great food. Lots of options, but don't miss their ver..."
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Murray State University
Miller Memorial Golf Course
"Miller Memorial Golf Course presents a unique challenge for competitive and recreational gol..."
Garden Gate Cafe
"Strange hours, so be careful. But if you can catch them open, you won't be disappointed. Ama..."
Hazel
"Hazel is an antique-hunter's dream. Twenty or so antique stores within a single block. "
Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area
"Miles and miles of trails for hiking or biking, Bison prairie (very cool), observatory, The ..."
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Miller Memorial Golf Course

Private Dock can hold up to 3 boats including Cruisers until Labor Day weekend.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Murray House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jul 9 2016 - Sep 2 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 6 2017 - Jun 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 7 2017
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jul 8 2017 - Sep 1 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
May 5 2018 - Jun 29 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July Week
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$600
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer
Jul 7 2018 - Aug 31 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
6 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.0%

Multi-Week and Monthly rates are negotiable. Please call. $500 deposit is non-refundable and non-negotiable.
Cancellations within 30 days of reservation will not receive a refund unless we're able to rebook all cancelled dates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Murray House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Ducted Cooling
  • Ducted Heating
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Gas Heating
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Skis
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
hot tub, foosball table, sauna, cd stereo with Bose speakers, copier, printer, fax machine No Smoking, NO PARTIES!

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties