check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Location & Charm -- Central AC

13 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Oak Bluffs House Rental Photos and Description

House, 4 Bedrooms + 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This home is perfectly located - a short walk to Inkwell Beach, downtown Oak Bluffs, and the OB Ferry. One side of the house is bordered by the Nashawena Park greenway, which offers a pleasant stroll to the beach and waterfront, while just around the corner you will find tennis and basketball courts, as well as a playground.

Inside the home you will find a freshly renovated kitchen, two full bathrooms with modern renovations, central AC, antique hardwood floors, and high efficiency washer/dryer. Outside, there is a large wrap-around farmers porch with gas grill and large outdoor dining table, as well as an adjacent outdoor shower with changing area. You may also want to check out my other listings: 43151 and 43322.

Keywords: House

Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About The Owner

I had been renting out my Edgartown house since 1998 (VRBO 43322) and found that I really enjoyed the whole process -- the summer rentals, the renovations, spending time on MV, and so on, which motivated me to purchase this home that Circuit Ave. I eventually purchased one more home on MV around 2006 (vrbo 43151) and then a vacation condo in San Diego. Owning these homes is a pleasure for me (most of the time!) and I think that may be the most important element in the whole process. I can't imagine doing this kind of work if you did not enjoy it. I really appreciate the fact that guests come to my homes for what may be their one true vacation of the year, and this time is very important to each guest. I keep that in mind as I constantly update and maintain my homes to what I hope you find to be a high level of quality.

The Owner purchased this house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Martha's Vineyard

While we put an equal amount of effort and care into all three MV homes, and while I can't say that I value any one property over another, if we were to move to the Vineyard this is the home we would choose to live in. It's difficult to pinpoint what makes a property 'special,' but I think the fact that we often consider living in this home ourselves is the strongest statement we could make about our thoughts on this property.

What makes this house unique

The combination of the old and the new makes this home stand out. While it has the look and feel of a cottage, it also has great modern amenities like two good-sized modern bathrooms, central AC, brand new solid wood kitchen cabinets, and newer dishwasher and washer/dryer.

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

Location & Charm -- Central AC
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
5

Perfect family getaway spot

  • 5 of 5

My family spent a week at this beautiful home this summer. The amenities are fantastic and it is in a prime spot to be able to walk downtown after days out and about on the island. We went to different beaches each day and it was relaxing to know we could come home and not have to drive. The house had everything we needed including appliances, a grill, linens, towels (you need to bring your own beach chairs and beach towels). The huge washer and dryer in the kitchen was a HUGE plus with a bunch of teenagers going to the beach everyday. The outside shower was another huge hit. I would definitely stay at this house again.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Oak Bluffs and I hope you do find a way to return. We are already working towards 2017 and making plans for improving the home for next season. Thanks again for your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

LOVED THIS HOUSE!

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from my annual Girl Getaway on Martha's Vineyard and THIS house helped make it one of my best trips yet. The location is PERFECT! Short walks to stores, restaurants, activities, beaches! Although we had one, You do not need a car. The owner was incredibly accommodating from my initial contact throughout and was very responsive. I actually did not even need to reach out to him during our stay because everything we needed was right there for us. From the modern appliances to decor to the updated rooms. We lounged around the house during the hot days perfectly comfortable b/c of the central a/c. It was all perfect. We were a group of 6 woman and one 17 year old and we fit very comfortably....side note 2 women shared the lower floor bedroom with the trundle bed and mentioned it was bit tight according to them. We had a wonderful breakfast out on the patio and discussed our day on the porch at night. We are EXTREMELY disappointed to find out the house was already booked for the week in 2017 :( but know whoever is renting will enjoy the memories they create. We definitely look forward to renting THIS house again in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to write a thoughtful review. Hope to see your entire group at the house again. I am always happy to hear that the home worked out and that you had a great trip to the island.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington, DC
5

Love this house

  • 5 of 5

I just returned from my third annual stay at this MV house. I love it so much I just committed to a fourth year!

The location is perfect - a short walk to the shops and restaurants in town and a short walk to Ocean Park and the beach. There is a market about a block away too. The owner definitely takes great care of this house and each year we are surprised with awesome, modern updates. It's rare to find an MV house with so many modern conveniences - central air, washer/dryer, dishwasher. The bathrooms are updated and there is a grill and a huge porch. Part of the porch is covered and it's great on days when it's raining at bit and you can't get to the beach. The house is always very clean and the owner is great and very responsive.

I can't say enough great things about this house. It has become my summer home away from home!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for the review and I am very happy that you have already made plans to return next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and most comfortable home for vacation!

  • 5 of 5

I love this house! Three girlfriends and I stayed here for a week in September and had a ball! One of the girls who could not go up and down stairs had the room on first floor with day bed and it was perfect for her. We loved the front porch! Enjoyed our coffee in the mornings out there and cocktails in the evenings. Several mornings one friend and I walked to Tony's Grocery Store for great coffee and fresh pastries while others slept. The location was so convenient to restaurants, shopping, water, and park. The house had a washer and dryer which helped us be able to pack lighter. Bathrooms were great and had wonderful outdoor shower as well. I would highly recommend the house to anyone who visits Martha's Vineyard and we loved the area of Oak Bluffs which is where the house is. People there could not have been friendlier or more pleasant!

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I say this with every review, but I am always really happy to hear that guests had a great time at the home and on the island. We made a lot of improvements in 2015, but we are not done yet and are already working towards 2016. Hope to see you again at the house. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
5

Epic/awesome

  • 5 of 5

Perfect is the only way to describe this property. Photos are spot on and shot w no wide angle lens. Beautiful hardwood floors. Great kitchen w everything you could think of but there were far too many restaurants to try and not enough days. Grilling would have been nice if time had allowed. One week goes fast. Bedrooms were so comfortable, love color and decor. Mattresses so comfortable. Heat and air worked as you expected, although we did not try heat and seldom used air. The most beautiful weather blessed us with not one cloud. Flowers were like a photo. So close to town of Oak Bluff you could walk if so inclined. Safe neighborhood. One night I did see a skunk, I have never seen one in the wild and was so excited. Spa bathroom upstairs. Everything spotless. Sat on deck w umbrella when we were at house day and night. Washer and dryer came in handy. Landlord was very responsive through out.

Needless to say I plan to return, can't wait. May even take my husband next time. Went w girlfriends from high school this time. To

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always great to hear that guests have had such a wonderful time at the house. Thank you for taking the time to post. Regarding photos, I intentionally do not use any "special" photography. Everything is done with the camera in my phone. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks again for your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the pleasure of renting this property for a second time this past June and from the moment we arrived and saw the brightly colored umbrella on the porch, we felt like we had come home. On our first trip to Martha’s Vineyard in June 2014, we rented this property and had such a great time, we returned again this year. On both occasions we had a fantastic stay and look forward to returning here in the near future.

From the onset, my communication with Joe was great. He was extremely helpful and very responsive to my many emails and requests. The house is beautifully maintained as Joe is continually working to improve and upgrade. As an example, when we stayed in 2014, the house had window ACs and this year he had installed central AC. It’s very clean, cozy and comfortable and is exactly as depicted in the online pictures. There were six adults in our party and we had more than enough space. The bedrooms were quite comfortable and the downstairs area provided many comfy sofas and chairs for relaxing, watching TV, playing games, etc. The HE washer and dryer was a huge plus for us and we loved the wrap around porch where we could hang out in the mornings and have our coffee and people-watch or enjoy a barbecue in the evenings.

The area is very quiet and peaceful, and the location is fantastic – within easy walking distance of downtown Oak Bluffs with its shops and restaurants, the waterfront, and the beach. Nashaweena Park is on one side of the property and is perfect for early morning strolls and late evening walks. Overall, my family and I have no complaints and we loved our vacation at this house; a great time was had by all.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Audra: Thank you for taking the time to create such a detailed review. It's great to hear that your trip worked out for you and your family. Glad you enjoyed the central AC! Thanks again, and hope to see you on the island again soon. Joe
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Nearest Ferry
0.5 Miles
0.5
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles

Since the house is just steps to Downtown OB, you will have easy access to summer fairs, road races, bike trips, boating excursions and so forth. Not to mention great restaurants, shopping, and night life. What you may find most appealing, though, is just walking through the park to and from the water.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Oak Bluffs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 25 2016 - Oct 29 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,600
 
 
March/April
Mar 5 2017 - Apr 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
May
Apr 30 2017 - May 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
 
 
Early June
May 28 2017 - Jun 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,900
 
 
jun25-jul3
Jun 25 2017 - Jul 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,990
 
 
Early Summer 2017
Jul 3 2017 - Jul 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
Jul 30 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,150
 
 
Labor Day Week
Sep 3 2017 - Sep 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$3,650
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100

The website limits my options for payment terms. We often split payments in thirds, depending upon when home is booked. There is some flexibility.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Oak Bluffs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • There is a full bathroom on both levels of home.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties