Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Riverside Townhouse Moments From Tonbridge Castle And High Street

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,722 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Lounge with River views 3 Bed 2 Bath Close to all amenities No car needed!

Waters Edge is an attractive modern townhouse set right at the rivers edge in the centre of historic Tonbridge. With wonderful river views you can enjoy from the first floor lounge relaxing by the open French windows or snuggled up on the comfortable sofas by the real flame fire. Wander into Tonbridge to visit the castle and its grounds, dip into the individual local shops, stop for a coffee at the historic Chequers Inn or choose to stay at home sipping wine and barbecuing in the Courtyard garden.

Ideally situated for reaching all of Kents attractions and activities or further afield - no car needed!

*Large Lounge with Frenchdoors balcony for river views, 'Contemporary-Country' decor* *Real flame fire (gas)* *Flat screen TV with Freeview* *DVD player and Ipod Dock*. *Spacious well equipped Kitchen with casual eating table for breakfast or keeping the cook company* *Separate Dining Room* *Three good sized Bedrooms tastefully decorated with quality furnishings* One Double with river views and Ensuite, 0ne Double with King size bed which also converts to Twin Beds, One Full size bunk bedded room adjacent to main bathroom with charming décor suitable for adults or children* *Natural down/feather duvets and quality bed linens and soft towels in all bedrooms*

Large Child safe enclosed Courtyard Garden furnished for relaxing and enjoying al fresco meals and a glass of something chilled. Or choose to savour the expanse of the river from the garden at the front of the house and watch the world float by.

Many personal touches including soft cushions and throws, tea lights, candles, DVDs, CDs, books and games for adults and children etc etc. to help make your stay here truly special.

Once you've chilled out at home maybe go exploring there's plenty to see - drive through leafy lanes past bluebell fields to quaint cobbled villages and historic sites - you are perfectly positioned for enjoying all of Tonbridge and the surrounding areas' multitude of wonderful tourist attractions including Tonbridge Castle, The Hop Farm Country Park, Hever Castle, Ightham Mote, Knole Park, Leeds Castle Canterbury Cathedral etc and with excellent transport links both road and rail for reaching the beautiful south east coast (40mins), central London (35 mins) and airports.

Come and make Memories.

More Details

Amanda Barstow
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, french, dutch, danish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Tripadvisor Review submitted by Guest

My extended family (4 adults and 3 children) had a lovely time at the house, which was very clean and furnished nicely. In fact, we were sad to go home! The kitchen was well stocked with essentials and a great size for cooking family meals. Big supermarket a short walk away, as was the train station, castle, and anything else you might want to do in town. Lovely location on the river, which is not so great if you have a toddler who likes to run off at every opportunity I suppose, also lots of stairs as it's a townhouse, but we didn't find it to be a problem. Owner was friendly and quick to answer any questions we had. Thanks!
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 4


Tonbridge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1722 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 18
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Town
  • Waterfront
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , Bath has traditional brass handheld shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , ensuite - Large Shower enclosure and sink with mirror
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , Ground Floor Cloakroom Toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , King Bed converts to Twin Beds
    Bedroom 1 - 1 double , with ensuite
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Full sized Bunk Beds
  • Each bedroom has been individually decorated in contemporary relaxing tones and has its own style with thoughtful touches such as throws etc to help you enjoy your stay and feel at home. Bedroom 1 has French doors (with safety rail) which overlook the river and an ensuite shower room. Bedroom 2 has very large wardrobe space with full length mirrors. The Bunk Bedded room can comfortably be used for adults or children. All mattresses replaced regularly and refurbished in 2012. COT also available
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Riverside Townhouse Moments From Tonbridge Castle And High Street
average rating of 4.571429 based on 11 reviews


  • 5 of 5

A wonderful home from home. It is tastefully decorated and very clean with all the extras that you would need. It is close to the center of town but also quiet and a short drive to all the treats that Kent has to offer. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Potentially Charming Experience Marred by Electricity and Heating Problems:

  • 2 of 5

The house was delightfully situated in a quiet scenic area on the river in Tonbridge very close to the castle, parks and shops. Unfortunately, throughout our stay we had problems with the water heating, the electricity and utilities which diminished our experience considerably.

1. When we arrived, the electricity was off except for some overhead lights and one outlet in the kitchen. We talked on the phone with the owner but there was nothing that could be done until 8.00 am the next morning when an electrician arrived. We had no hot water, no stove, no microwave, no internet access, and only one working outlet on the first night.

2. After the electrician turned the power on we were only able to get one hot shower between the four of us. We phoned the owner again who told us the control was on the dining room wall. But we had hot water only for short periods and at odd times. I had a hot shower the next morning but my son had only cold water for his shower directly afterwards. The same thing happened the next day. On the last morning, we all left without showers as only cold water was available.

3. The WIFI password was incorrect. The owner said we must have got an old password from an outdated part of the web site. We had received the password from the owner in her welcoming letter! We found the correct password on the router.

4. There were no instructions for the operation of any of the house utilities. All four people in our party own their houses in Canada and the USA and are experienced in fixing and understanding household appliances and systems. We were able to make most things work, except the all important hot water. But we wasted a lot of frustrating time understanding the various systems.

5. We corresponded with the owner who offered us financial compensation. But to our astonishment she stated that, “Acceptance of the financial compensation would be conditional on us seeing and agreeing to any review prior to posting”. We believe it possible that VRBO would find these terms in violation of the VRBO extortion policy which reads, “owners cannot mandate a review in exchange for funds or ask the traveller to revise a review for compensation”. This review is posted without prior agreement of the owner.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to learn of your feelings on your experience. We are genuinely saddened and disappointed that any guests would go away unhappy. In this instance however we feel we did all we could to overcome this position and are sorry that this has not been possible. We welcome all feedback but we do feel your review score is rather harsh and in places your comments are not accurate. 1. The electrical issue - a thrown fuse - was advised to us at 10.30pm and resolved at 8.00am by our electrician putting the fuse back on. Over night you did not have use of the hob or microwave or the internet but the lights and other areas were working as normal. 2. The hot water heating is fully controllable by guests on a NEST controller - when you raised the issue we immediately boosted the hot water remotely and we talked you through setting times yourself and also offered to set any times for you remotely via the App too. So there was no reason for you not to have hot water whenever you needed it. As you did not provide any times we couldn't take account of your specific needs but we did increase the normal times on the schedule. 3. There was nothing in property that was faulty or didn't work fully and properly and contrary to your comment all appliances - which are 'standard' UK models - have manuals provided and this is indicated in the additional property information brochure at the house. Staying in a holiday home will always however mean some familiarisation is necessary. 4 There was an out of date wifi code on your welcome letter for which we apologize but the correct code is both in the property brochure and on the router at the property. We do not feel any of the above warrant compensation of 50% of your rental costs requested by you; entirely in an attempt to recover your goodwill as a guest we did offer a goodwill payment which you declined. We think it natural that we would wish to see any review is fair and accurate prior to posting. We wish it had been possible to conclude matters with your satisfaction and remain saddened that this has not been possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Excellent townhouse with more than home feel away from home in an historic town

  • 5 of 5

We have had a very comfortable stay in this beautifully decorated and well-equipped townhouse of modern equipment. This is our second stay in the property this year. We enjoyed the riverside, cooking experience in the kitchen, and BBQ and candle night dinner on the outdoor garden. The property has been improved with additional fixtures; not to mention about the new home appliance control system and newly fitted shower enclosure to the 2nd bathroom. This property is spacious, clean and tidy with good home atmosphere. We love to stay here and will certainly want to come again in the near future!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Delightful stay in Tonbridge, along riverside yet convenient to town centre

  • 5 of 5

All well-equipped, clean and tidy, home-feel ... what a nice townhouse with river view and full home appliances together with entertainment in warm family room on the first level, this 3-bedroom property can accommodate our family of 4 perfectly well. In fact, it can allow 6-8 guests to stay in such a convenient location in Tonbridge. High street shops and supermarkets are just within walking distance. The private garage allows us to park our rental car. Yet the railway station is just about 15mins walk. Highly recommended for families!

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Ray boakes perfect habitation for families

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderfull stay clean with quality

Very well organised

Would recommend everyone

100% satisfaction

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Winkler, MB

At home in Kent

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in Tonbridge was made very comfortable in this townhouse. The location was great for access to groceries and restaurants only a short walk from the townhouse. There was plenty of room for our family of 5 and having 2 1/2 baths was so convenient. The goodies left for us to enjoy was a thoughtful and appreciated gesture. This home was so comfortable and pretty and we loved coming home each evening to relax. We explored Tonbridge and found a park that our 3 teenage daughters quite enjoyed playing in! We also took the train into London one day which was a great convenience. The 50 minute ride takes you to Trafalgar Square which is a great starting point for exploring London. Communication with Amanda was excellent and finding and getting into the townhouse was seamless. A very good experience. Thanks for making our stay in Kent so pleasant. We highly recommend this property as your home away from home!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
51 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Choice of many Tonbridge High Street
Nearest Ferry
91 Kilometres
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Poultwood Golf Course
Nearest Train
1 Kilometres
Tonbridge Main Line Station
Nearest Motorway
16 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Choice of many Tonbridge High Street
Nearest Beach
50 Kilometres
Car: not necessary

Tonbridge is a historic market town set on the river Medway, on whose banks the property itself sits, with Tonbridge Castle (the original version of which dates back to Norman Conquest times) at its centre. The town also has many other notable historic buildings including The Chequers Inn and Tonbridge Priory.

Mingling with the traditional, Tonbridge also has all the modern conveniences which make a holiday enjoyable too - riverside restaurants and cafes, excellent shopping opportunities for both essentials and relaxed browsing in boutiques for lots of things you didn’t know you needed.

Haysden Country Park with two lakes and the Medway too for sailing fishing and wandering plus a children’s play area etc is within walking distance and Sevenaokas Wildlife Reserve a pioneering nature reserve which has a roughly equal proportions of water and land and includes five lakes and a mixed habitat of ponds, seasonal flooded pools, reedbed and woodlands and The Hop Farm Family Park at Paddock Wood with numerous attractions for children and adults alike including Pirate Cove, Animal Farm and a Victorian Carousel to name a few are each a very short drive away.

You can also discover the elegance of Royal Tunbridge Wells (15mins)and its 400 years history - its Chalybeate natural 'restorative' water Spring and historic Pantiles shopping area too.

Or just take time to travel through country roads and lanes which take you to picturesque villages at seemingly every turn - Brenchley, Benenden, Speldhurst, Hawkhurst and Goudhurst.....where cobbled streets, rose covered doorways smiling faces and friendly service are more the norm than the exception.

Tonbridges' excellent transport links both road and public transport mean you are within easy reach of all the area has to offer.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $346.31
Pet Fee $48.48

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.