Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Ski House at base of Heavenly w/ Lake & Mtn Views & many Amenities

Bedrooms 5
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 4 Bath, sleeps 14

This mountain ski house is located 4 blocks from Heavenly Ski area on approx 1/2 acre and has lake and mountain views....also a view of Heavenly's 'Gunbarrel' ski run. This 5 bedroom, 4 bath, 2 car garage nonsmoking / no pets home is almost 4,000 sq. ft.& full of amenities, inc stone entryway with vaulted ceiling and 8' windows, game room with professional grade pool table and leather couches, and a 55' LCD TV w/ multichannel HD cable, DVD & VCR. Fully equipped kitchen and dining area that seats 12, plus a large back deck with 6 burner Weber gas grill, hot tub & more seating. The living room has comfortable couches, skylights, fireplace, 42' flat screen TV & poker table. The house has 4 TVs, 3 decks, 2 with lake views, 1 wood burning stove, and 1 gas fireplace & is entirely WiFied for your convenience.

With an open floor plan and a very large entertaining area to relax in, this house is truly a 'heavenly' place to enjoy Lake Tahoe. So.Lk.Tahoe Vacation Permit #103719

Upstairs: The master bedroom has designer bed linens on a king bed, Seating area with couch, chairs and desk and deck with views. Large master bath with double sinks, glass enclosed shower and sunken tub, separate commode area, changing area and large closet and built in drawer space.

Main Floor: Living room with views and deck access, wood and gas fireplaces, dining tables seating 12, kitchen and family room access, 2 Bedrooms w/King Beds, designer bed linens, large closets, ample drawer space, one with ensuite bath and the other with a bath just outside the door.

Downstairs: 2 bedrooms with shared bath. One with twin beds. The other has a full bed/ twin bunk bed and separate full size bed.

Garage access on this floor.

More Details

Sharon Flanagan
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 25, 2017

About Sharon Flanagan

We love the Tahoe area and are avid skiiers. We wanted to be close to a ski resort and found a house 4 blocks from Heavenly which was perfect for us. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we enjoyed the rest of the year at the house due to its central location. Within a mile of the lake, we can be at our favorite beach in minutes and have 5 of the best restaurants in Tahoe within a mile as well. The views from the hiking trails are spectacular and the large number of golf courses in the area keeps my husband busy. There is always something to do here, but we mostly enjoy just relaxing in our home. With almost 4,000 feet of interior space and 3 exterior decks there is room for everyone to choose how to spend their time when they are not out and about in Tahoe.

Sharon Flanagan purchased this house in 2003

Why Sharon Flanagan chose Lake Tahoe South Shore

We chose Tahoe because it had the perfect combination of snow and sun fun. We also wanted a place that our grown children would want to visit and bring their friends to visit as well. Tahoe has something for everyone and we have enjoyed family reunions, birthdays, visits with friends and relatives. We wanted the beauty of a Lake Tahoe with all its amenities and a comfortable home that we could enjoy along with our guests.

What makes this house unique

Stone entryway with 8 foot windows overlooking naturally landscaped yard, open floor plan in common areas, skylights, views of lake and mountains, three decks, large back deck with 49 square foot hot tub and 6 burner gas grill.

This house is spacious and comfortable for groups large and small

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Planning a trip to South Lake Tahoe ? Well a great rental is the Flanagan’s Heavenly Home. It is located in Heavenly Valley and a short distance from Hwy 50 and the casinos, even closer to skiing. We enjoyed our stay during July 2011 while attending the American Century Celebrity Golf tournament. A day at the tournament meant coming back to a quiet, relaxing home to fix meals, watch TV or get ready to go out in the evening.

The house is beautiful, very clean, and plenty spacious for a family or families (14 persons). It has all the amenities that you need: Hot tub, pool table, TV’s in every room with cable, well furnished in each room as well as the kitchen has all the necessary supplies for cooking, baking etc. With a television in every room, kids, grandparents and other adults were able to enjoy their own shows.

When we were ready to go to Edgewood Golf Course, at the other end of town, it took us 5 minutes, so you are not far from any action. The casinos are between the home and the golf course.

I highly recommend the Flanagan’s Heavenly Home to anyone that wants to truly enjoy Lake Tahoe ."
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 2


South Lake Tahoe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 14
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Suite
    Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , 2nd master bdrm
    Bathroom - toilet , shower , Just outside steamboat bdrm
    Bathroom - toilet , shower , On ground level serves bunk bdrm & Olympic bdrm
  • Master Bath in Bear's Den is huge. 2 lg. sinks w full wall mirror, separate toilet closet, large sitting area in tub/shower area w skylight. Vanities and commode area are travertine tiled. Moose Bdrm bath is complete with new porcelain tile while the shared bathroom for the Steamboat Bdrm and the Bunk/Olympic Bdrms are sink/toilet/shower.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom - 1 king , Separate Upstairs Master Suite=Huge
    Bedroom - 1 king , 2nd Master Bdrm w Bath=Moose Bdrm
    Bedroom - 1 king , Large Bdrm = Steamboat Bdrm
    Bedroom - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , Downstairs Bunk Bdrm
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , V Quiet/Secluded Olympic Bdrm
    Family Room - Family Room has 2 queen sofa pull out beds
    Living Room - Living Rm. as 1 queen sofa pull out bed
  • Many ways to mix & match sleeping arrangements. 3 King Beds; 1 Double Bed; 4 Twin Beds; 3 Queen Sofa Pull Out Beds
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 8 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Whirlpool
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
3 King Beds, 1 Double Beds, 4 Twins, 3 Queen sleep sofas. 2 big screen TVs; 3 fireplaces; 3 decks; lg. barbecue; pool table; poker table; views of Lake Tahoe on 2 front decks and Very Close proximity view of Heavenly Ski Area on back deck.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

Spacious Ski House at base of Heavenly w/ Lake & Mtn Views & many Amenities
average rating of 4.6896553 based on 31 reviews
San Diego, CA

Great for a large group!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I rented this house out for a 4 day 3 night period in August 2010. There were ten of us (all 25-27 yrs old, young professionals), and this house was absolutely perfect for our needs.

Inside, this house was huge and very welcoming to a large group. There is easily enough room to sleep 10 people (i believe there are 5 bedrooms), and honestly, I think it could sleep up to 16. There are 3 large living spaces on the main level that we spent nearly all our time in. The main room is equipped with a pool table, television, and a wide open entrance way that would be perfect during ski season. The living room has multiple couches, a poker table, and very large dining table. It also opens up to two different porches. The back deck was very spacious with chairs, tables, and of course the hot tub. The kitchen had every ammenity we needed as well.

The other great thing about this house was the location. We were only a mile or two from the Lake. Same with the distance to the casinos. At the end of each night, we had a very short cab ride home. During the day you get a substantial amount of sunlight on the back porch, and although the neighbors are relatively close, it still seems to be a very private house and we had no complaints.

As a young group we were definitely a little weary of renting a place that may have been too "delicate" for that many people. While this house is very well decorated and has a lot of nice furniture and other ammenities, it still feels comfortable enough to be able to relax in and not constantly worry about whether you're going to break something.

I would recommend this house to any young group of friends, and honestly, I think it would be perfect for a large family or group of families on vacation with kids. Its homely, well maintained, prime location, and truly delivered on everything promised!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Amazing place within walking distance of Heavenly

  • 5 of 5

We traveled with three families that included 6 boys ranging from 2 to 7 years old and had a fabulous time! The house is well-kept, warm and huge! Sharon was courteous enough to call ahead of time and warn us about a small leak from the roof, which wasn't a problem at all during our trip. In fact, we had beautiful weather that drew in crowds of people and filled up the Heavenly California parking lot by 8:30am! So we took advantage of the proximity to either walk or arrive early to beat the crowds. Thanks, Sharon!

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Good & Bad with Snow

  • 3 of 5

I've been renting for over 15yrs and this is the first I've ever encountered an experience like this. I was hesitant to give my review, but I know how much I rely on reviews when I rent. Therefore, I'm submitting this review.

I was initially surprised with the rental contract that asked for the list of names, addresses, and ages of all occupants for liability reasons. It also requested a current photo ID & this was sent after payment was submitted. I didn't get a chance to address the request but luckily there was not a problem.

I double checked my reservation 2 hrs prior to my arrival & noticed that the check-in time was changed without notice. Once I arrived to the home, there were several buckets and containers collecting water from the roof leaking. The carpet in the upstairs bedroom was even wet from water leakage. There was no heat in the home from the main heating source & the gas fireplace was not functioning properly. The home was 55-60 degrees all day & night. There were minor damages noted with furniture & fixtures. The home advertised 5 bedrooms, but one room was hidden through another room on the lower level. It was actually pretty creepy, but the home was big & spacious.

The owners & the property managers were very friendly & pleasant to talk to. They were notified of the problems discovered but had little resources due to time. The heating situation was resolved by the next day. The leakage had to be repaired after my stay. The owners & property managers were very remorseful and delivered a beautiful gift basket. They also compensated me for the purchase of the wood used for the wood fireplace. I'm hoping the owners are truly able to repair these issues because it would definitely put a damper on your stay! Good luck

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Tanya, We have used the same contract for the past 16 years and we have never had a complaint. South Lake Tahoe requires that permitted vacation rentals do not exceed their permitted number of occupants and having a list of occupants protects both you and us from complaints and possible fines. Additionally, if you have to use your license to rent a car or take a flight in a plane, why wouldn't that be required to rent someone's most valuable possession, their home? We have not changed our check in time. If you wanted a different check in time, all you had to do was communicate that to us. We work hard to accommodate requests from our guests. Over the past 23 days Tahoe has had 24+ feet of snow, along with rain and ice. While this has been called the "Storm of the Century", some meteorologists are suggesting it is the most snow the Tahoe Basin has ever experienced in this short a period of time. Many homes in the area experienced problems with roofs, skylights, heating systems,etc. Unfortunately we were one of the homes. Our property manager responded immediately & had both the gas stove and the central heating system working by 11:30 the night you arrived. Hot water boiler heat takes time to heat a 4000 square foot house because it is radiant heat, not forced/blown air and since according to our property manager you declined to use the gas stove to augment the heating system, the house remained cool until the next morning. All the ice and snow on the roof caused leaks in the entryway. While the leaks did not affect much of the usable space in the house, the situation was certainly not normal and we made sure that you knew how sorry we were that it affected you. Although the carpet upstairs was damp, it was only a 1' x 1' area....very small and could have been caused by the roof leak or condensation from the door or someone accessing the roof during the storm. You certainly read our previous reviews and decided on our house to rent based on those reviews. Although we certainly can not control the weather, we did everything within our power to remedy the situation. We do try very hard to provide an enjoyable experience for our renters and as you have stated we tried diligently to make the best of the situation for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Couldn't have rented a better home!

  • 5 of 5

I want to start off by saying that Sharon was incredibly friendly, welcoming, and informative for our stay. She provided us with a lengthy list of hikes in the area and we're so glad we checked out eagle lake because of it!

The house itsef was absolutely wonderful. As soon we arrived we were surprised as to how large it actually was. All 14 of us were able to sleep comfortably! We were truly in love with the place. From the antler chandelier to the creative art surrounding every corner. We even ran into the neighbors a few times and they would come out and make us feel like Tahoe natives. With a lake only a mile away to the hot tub on the porch, this was just the place we needed to stay and relax at for the labor day weekend. Inside the house was a pool table, board games, and a crazy collection of National Geographic magazines. The kitchen was fully stocked and made cooking so easy. Even better was that the barbeque worked fantastically. It truly felt like a home away from home. I would definitely recommend this place to any visitors and would love to give it another stay during ski season!

P. S. Sunset views were gorgeous from the deck

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice stay but not as we pictured it.

  • 3 of 5

Pros-Very clean, plenty of bathrooms for everyone, enough bedrooms for our group of 8. Easy access to house, close enough to the other things we wanted to do. Local manager very responsive to any questions and needs for repairs, etc. Fairly well equipped kitchen but hardly any spices. Nice to have barbecue and hot tub on the deck. 2 bedrooms and bathrooms were on the main floor with the kitchen which was very important to us.

Cons-No central air conditioning, lots of windows with no coverings that do not open and that get afternoon sun so the house was very stuffy and hot on arrival. The downstairs bedrooms stayed nice and cool because they were like a dungeon-one with no windows at all, and you had to walk through one to get to the other. Those 2 rooms share a bath which is small and dark. The spa had been set at 92 degrees so when we went to use it on the last day there was not enough time for it to heat to a spa-like temperature. Many more stairs in the house than anticipated. We specifically asked about stairs for my elderly mom and were told a few up to the front-there were about 10, then several more to get to the main floor once inside.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, We want our guests to thoroughly enjoy our home and in most cases we believe they do. We do not have central air and do not suggest that we do. Most of the houses in Tahoe do not have central air because it is rarely needed. While our home may have been warm when you arrived, I am sure that once you opened the windows and turned on the fans it quickly cooled down. There were fans in every room to move the air around and the 10 foot entryway windows do not have coverings because the view is fantastic. Why would we cover it? These are the only windows in the house that do not open. There are many others that do and provide air flow. The downstairs bedrooms only have one window, but there is enough additional lighting to make them cool and comfortable. They are a quirky part of the original house that many renters find unique and quiet. Our spa is usually set at 96 degrees by the company that services it. I can not speak to why it was lower during your stay. I will ask them about this and make sure that is remedied. As to the steps, I remember our conversations about the steps and I do not believe that I misled you at all about them. I did say there were a number of outside steps and a few inside to get to the main floor, but once your mother was on the main floor that the kitchen, bedrooms , dining room, decks and living room would all be accessible without further steps. I believe I even related a story about my mother-in-law, who stayed with us at the house in the main floor ensuite bedroom. She had difficulty with stairs, but once she was in the house she enjoyed it because most of the communal areas are on one floor and she could feel that she was a part of everything that went on in the house. I would hope that you and your mother found this to be true.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

2016 Lovely Summer Tahoe Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family and friends had a wonderful time at the Flanigan home! The kitchen was well stocked and appointed with everything we needed. Our party of seven only ate out one time during our stay so we saved several hundred dollars eating out expenses. We appreciated the nice and clean BBQ and we grilled every night. This home has plenty of space, we all had our own space to hang out. The location is awesome! Close to shopping, the lake, kayaking and jet skiing and of course the casinos! A 10 minute drive to almost everything we needed.

The home came fully stocked and everything was nice and clean and well maintained. We would certainly come back again in the future!

Thank you Sharon!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
55 Miles
RENO, Nevada
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Ski Run Marina Tahoe Queen
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Rt. 50
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cafe Fiore
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
State Beach on Route 50
Car: recommended

Only 5 minutes to the casinos, 2 blocks from Heavenly Valley - largest ski resort in the West.....walking distance, 2 minutes from South Tahoe's largest marina-includes boat rentals, jet ski rentals, & beach. (Home of the Tahoe Queen paddle boat-which has romantic cruises/ dinners); 3 minutes to Tahoe's only year-round hockey-size indoor ice skating rink & indoor swimming pool. Also, close to 5 golf courses, hiking, biking and horseback riding. Either way, you are close to all the excitement Tahoe can offer.

House layout:

Main floor (Split level): Entry way, conversation area; Gameroom - pool table, 2 sofa beds; family room, poker table, 1 sofa bed, wood stove fireplace; dining area; kitchen; 'Moose' bedroom (king bed)& full bath while 'Steamboat' bedroom (king bed)has a bathroom just outside door; mudroom (washer/ dryer), Front & rear decks (for viewing the lake and surrounding mountains), gas grill, hot tub.

Other Activities: Jet Skiing, Skating Rink,Indoor Pool, Shopping, Casino Gambling


Rates & Availability

South Lake Tahoe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Ski Season
Feb 21 2017 - Mar 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
Apr 1 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
May 31 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fourth of July Weekend
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
Jul 7 2017 - Aug 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nov 20 2017 - Nov 27 2017
4 night minimum stay
Ski Season
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
Holiday Season
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 2 2018
7 night minimum stay
Ski Season
Jan 3 2018 - Feb 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
President's Weekend
Feb 15 2018 - Feb 20 2018
4 night minimum stay
Ski Season
Feb 21 2018 - Mar 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $295
Tax Rate 12.0%

For Holiday rates contact owner

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message

Partner Offers