check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Barry Bowen

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, italian

Fabulously Located 2 Bed/Bath Central London Flat - 4 guests preferred max 6

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Lambeth Apartment Rental Photos and Description

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms + sofabed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-max 6)

Probably the best located flat with the best reviews on VRBO!

You can -

rent whole unit as a 2 bed/2 bath (complete with sofabed in the living room), kitchen & private deck , perfect for 4 people, max 6 ...with its own private entrance - Great for guests wanting a wonderful location at a great price...

All with free wi-fi, & guests met on arrival and tour where requested.

A fantastic location in the quiet beating heart of the South Bank yet is only a short stroll from the excitement of Covent Garden, the West End & the Olympic sites. South Bank attractions include the beautifully remodelled Royal Festival Hall, The National Theatre & the iconic Oxo Tower (all moments away). The penthouse restuarant at the Oxo Tower offers one of the best views of London.

Shakespeare's Globe Theatre (to see or not to see it, that is the question!), the Tate Gallery of Modern Art (Miro a must!) and the staggering London Eye (dwarfing Big Ben!) are all less than a 10 minute walk from the property.

These world class attractions are knitted together by the inspiring river walkway (pedestrianized) which threads the length of the South Bank to London Bridge, the Tower of London & beyond.

All the major tourist attractions are a mere caber toss (a Scottish pastime!) from the apartment, which means that you can save on expensive travel cards during your stay.

Whilst you can genuinely walk to all the major sites on foot, public transport is right outside. A red bus picks up right outside the apartment stopping at attractions between Covent Garden & London Bridge, as do passing black taxis.

Waterloo station (main Train line & Tube line) is only 5 minutes walk away.

Paris is possible as an exciting daytrip on Eurostar in 2 hrs!

Broadwall is arranged over 2 floors & has all amenities. It comprises of 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, the downstairs one is en suite with shower and a bath whilst the upstairs unit has shower facility. Bathroom and shower room furniture is complimented with chrome taps and shower fittings, towel rail, wall-to-wall mirrors and siena tiled floors.

There is a sofa bed.

Hallways and living/dining & bedrooms feature beautiful cherry wood flooring.

The kitchen has quality designer units featuring curved breakfast bar. Integrated appliances include washer/dryer, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, kettle, microwave, toaster stainless steel hob with build in oven and extractor hood.

One of the great benefits of this property is that despite its fabulous central location it enjoys a marvellous secure & peaceful outside deck, leading onto a fantastic urban garden.


A timber decked roof garden with plants, seating and lighting proves very popular & a huge luxury in such a central location.

Security video entry phone has been fitted to the apartment. Remote controlled access to car park.

The apartment has allocated covered parking space within the ground floor car park which may be available upon request.

If it is not available, don't panic, I have another property minutes away ideal for 2.

We are proud of our 'Reviews' - don't forget to check them out!

Keywords: Flat

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Barry Bowen (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, italian

About Barry Bowen

To live here was to walk to work & live in Heaven!

Friends would stay & tell me how much they loved it.

Since then I have let it out & guests love it too...

The property has a fantastic deck which provides great extra space for adults & children.

The proximity to the amenities & attractions offers great savings on transport costs too.

All in all, a great vacation option!

Barry Bowen purchased this apartment in 2000

Why Barry Bowen chose London

The location is the key to this property.

It is so great for access to most of London, has fantastic transport link & amenities, & is wonderful if you enjoy walking about the city.

What makes this apartment unique

Huge private deck - which means great extra space.

Great location keeping those expensive transport costs can be kept to a minimum, so important when travelling with a group.

Immaculate inside, which means you can concentrate on doing what you do best - enjoying yourself!

Parking possible on request- allowing for those who rent cars security & peace of mind.

Free guided tour on arrival upon request- allows you to get orientated quicker.

Early & flexible check-ins to assist our transatlantic travellers.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great location! Thanks for the 'intro ' tour to this magical part of London. Loved

the Globe & the Royal Opera House.
Oct 2008
  • 1 of 10


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)
Fabulously Located 2 Bed/Bath Central London Flat - 4 guests preferred max 6
average rating of 4.7391305 based on 56 reviews

I would rent this property for my next trip without a doubt

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing location to explore London. Located close to the river and within in walking distance of everything. Barry met us opinion arrival and gave us a great sense of the neighborhood and provided tips on tourist activities but also on places where the locals go. He was super to communicate with and his property is in great condition.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location in London

  • 3 of 5

Terrific Location for our short visit to London. Home a bit different than we imagined, but appreciated the concern and care shown by owner

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing location and easy access to many London landmarks. Barry could not have been kinder or more

  • 5 of 5

Amazing location and easy access to many London landmarks. Barry could not have been kinder or more accommodating as our schedule changed after booking my due to a death in the family. My wife, 2 adult children and I had plenty of space and room. The deck was a welcomed respite and relaxed area after a day and evening of running around. I use VRBO regularly for personal and occasionally business trips and if ever in the London area - I will rebook this property! Tony C

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, absolutely wonderful host/owner, and very nice flat with a garden space!

  • 5 of 5

The flat was just right for two couples. The unit had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, a nice kitchen and living area, but the garden area was the best aminity.

Barry (the owner) met us at the flat when we arrived and we were 1 hour late due to customs. He not only showed us around the flat, he gave us a 40 minute walking tour of the area. He was a delight and really gave us insight on transportation, restaurants, sites, etc., we can't thank him enough!

The location was right in the heart of everything; two minutes from the river, 10/15 minutes to the Waterloo train and tube station, 15 minutes from the London Eye and you could be standing at Big Ben in 25/30 minutes. We found and frequently visited a great little pud (the Thirsty Bear) just 25 yards from the flat.

We all agreed that we would definitely stay at Barry's flat on our return to London.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulous Location BUT...

  • 1 of 5

My two sisters and I booked Barry's place for a weekend in London. We had communications issues throughout the time leading up to our stay. I kept getting emails from Barry to confirm my reservation. (I had paid in full) A day prior to our stay I got a frantic email saying that it was urgent that I confirm my reservation,. This was a little distressing because I was traveling in Ireland and my internet access was spotty. I was concerned about what would happen when we arrived in London. When we did arrive Barry was kind and apologetic and explained that there was an issue with VRBO and their website.

Barry is a wonderful, kind and funny man. He showed us the house and explained everything we needed to know about the flat - he even walked us to the main road and pointed out the direction of food, sights and transport near by. The location of the flat is ideal, close to bars, cafes and London is at your doorstep.

The flat however could use some attention. Without going into the nitty gritty (I sent Barry an email and pictures - but have not had a response) the flat is utilitarian and is in desperate need of a good cleaning. We had a cousin come to the flat one night to visit and we were disappointed by the quality, cleanliness and placement of the furniture. There was not enough comfortable seating for 4...there is a couch for 2 placed just above the TV so the person sitting in that seat kept hitting their head. I just opted for sitting on the floor to avoid the TV. Our cousin said it reminded her of a "students flat" which really hits the nail on the head - lots of random pieces of furniture and furnishings with a focus on frugality over comfort.

The sheets, towels and duvets need to be replaced and upgraded.

Our trip overall was not marred by the shortcomings of the flat but it was nevertheless a disappointment considering the cost.

  • Submitted: May 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In 15 years of attracting 5 star reviews we have suddenly received 2 which are not what we would wish for, however overall a record of which we are justifiably proud. We do listen, and as the focus appears to be on cleanliness we have changed our cleaners without hesitation & appreciate the feedback. As to Fran's other observations, someone once said to me the following - 'If you are going to be right or kind, be kind'. As 15 years positive reviews testify, as owners we feel and encourage guests to keep us abreast of any issues they might have so they can be rectified during their stay to maximize enjoyment rather than after departure which benefits neither side. That is one of the reasons we meet guests upon arrival. Whether these issues are real or perceived we are somewhat powerless to assist guest concerns if we are not informed during their stay. We are sorry you see fit to compare this $1 million property in a prime location to 'a 'student flat' and apologize that the 'placement of the furniture' was not to your taste. We did nt know - nor did we realize you were incapable of moving a portable sofa (it was not nailed to the floor!) 1 foot forward so you did nt hit your head on the TV (nailed to the wall)! Nor did we realise that a 3 seater sofa and a 2 seater sofa and 2 bar stools and 4 deck seats might not suffice for your party of 3 +1. I guess these are some of the reasons you decided to leave the rating you did. But it was nt the only thing you left was it? My cleaners were greeted by an unflushed upstairs bathroom toilet with waste on the floor (!!!) - not kind. Next time just leave the rating please.....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ann Arbor, MI

Great Location and Host

  • 3 of 5

Pros: As others have noted, the location is perfect for exploring on foot and host Barry provides a great introduction to the area to help you get your bearings and get acclimated to the area. And, it provides 2 Bedrooms and 2 bathrooms which is a luxury.

Cons: we were a family of 3 (parents and teen son) from Michigan and we have successfully used VRBO/Home Away for vacation properties across the US. In our opinion, this property is in need of a deep cleaning and the beds and bedding were not on par with what we would expect in a vacation property compared to US properties. The heat is programmed by the host and the first night, it was to come on at 7 pm and it did not come on at all and we were all uncomfortably cold all night. We had booked the property for 4 nights and had not yet booked the last 2 nights of our stay in London due to a change in itinerary. We ended up leaving a night early and forfeiting our prepayment for that night and booking a 1 bedroom suite in the Park Plaza Westminster for the last 3 nights. It was significantly more money (274 Pounds compared to Barry's 200) but we were quite satisfied there. Lots of space, great beds and location.

I must note that Barry did everything he could to accommodate us and was genuinely concerned that we were not happy. He came by and cleaned again on the second day. However, in our opinion, this property needs a full deep cleaning and it was not something that could be corrected in 30 minutes. He also offered to put us up on a hotel. After spending much time looking for hotel accommodations online, we decided we wanted to book our next property ourselves and had come to the conclusion we would need to spend additional money to book a property of our liking in London and decided to decline his offer. I debated whether to even write this review but I rely on others reviews and booked this property based on glowing reviews of others. So, I think it is important to weigh in on our experience. If you are "picky" about cleanliness and enjoy hotel style linens and soft towels, this is not the property for you. If you don't mind a few dust bunnies, cob webs and finger marks and smudges and want a centrally located flat with lots of room and a great host, this will work well for you

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Firstly let me say that if ' feedback is the breakfast of champions' I am very grateful for these comments as they provide learnings to carry forward for future guest bookings. I have 15 years of fantastic 5* reviews and I do occasionally get questioned whether they are real or not because they are so positive. At last I have one that is not a 5* review which after all these years I consider an amazing achievement and testament to our business. It also showed what a great value we offer compared to local five-star hotels in this great area. So thank you to these guests. With these particular guests it was the first time I had use the direct booking system, and whilst it is fantastic for booking quickly, the obvious downside is there is potentially less interaction between the guests and owner. With this in mind and rather than fall into the trap of commenting on these guests specifically I would say the following to those booking direct - Before booking it is important to understand that staying in someone's private residence is a different experience to staying in a hotel. Staying at a private residence offers a unique experience but is ultimately intended to be self catering. Staying at a hotel is typically less bespoke but potentially offers ongoing support if required though more expensive. I had little opportunity to converse with these guests prior to booking, but would offer this advice to all guests who feel there are some inadequacies in any property they are in - Rather than negatively reviewing a property after your stay, please consider giving feedback to your owner during your stay to give them a chance to rectify and maximise your enjoyment at the property. I personally cleaned the property for three hours during their stay and offered them a five-star hotel transfer at my expense, the same hotel they chose to stay in and which also supplies my towels and bedding. Please give your owner the chance to go the extra mile - I will always try to assist where I can....
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


London Eye
"A great way to start or end your trip!"
Tower Bridge
Big Ben
"The name of the bell in the tower & overlooks the Houses of Parliament & River Thames. Iconi..."
Trafalgar Square
"Location of national celebrations & flanked by the National Gallery."
Hyde Park
"Enormous park flanked by Kensington Palace & the site for the world renowned artists in conc..."
Westminster Abbey
"Resting place for the most prominent Kings & Queen's of England."
Buckingham Palace
"Home of the Queen. Popular to see the 11 am changing of the guards."
"The shoppers mecca. Some go to buy a Harrods bag just to say they have been there!"
Covent Garden
"If you saw Shrek, you/ll love this. This is theatre land, Drury Lane, the muffin man. Great ..."
Leicester Square
"The place to go where they roll out the carpet for first night shows & where you go to get h..."
Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
"A personal favourite at great prices. Just the best outdoor theatre in an authentic open air..."
Thames River Boat Cruise
"A wonderful way to see London through the ages."
Millennium Bridge
"No traffic, just great views down the river & a wonderful view of St Paul's."
Carnaby Street
"Ah the swinging sixties ! The Beatles etc ...."
Royal National Theatre Box Office
"Wonderful London theatre at its best. A 5 min riverside walk from the flat."
Borough Market
"Foodies paradise, & Dickensian London at its finest. Where Charles Dickens London comes to l..."
St. Paul's Cathedral
"Walk over the Millennium Bridge to Sir Christopher Wren's masterpiece. Just 15 min walk from..."
Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Nearest Barpub
10 Metres
The Thirsty Bear
Nearest Ferry
10 Metres
At property
Nearest Train
500 Metres
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Oxo Tower
Nearest Beach
54 Miles
Nearest Point of Interest
Tate Modern Art Gallery
Nearest Point of Interest
Shakespeare's Globe
Nearest Point of Interest
Borough Market
Nearest Point of Interest
London Bridge
Nearest Point of Interest
Tower of London
Nearest Point of Interest
St Paul's Cathedral
Nearest Point of Interest
National Theatre
Nearest Point of Interest
London Eye
Nearest Point of Interest
Houses of Parliament & Westminster Abbey
Nearest Point of Interest
Buckingham Palace
Nearest Point of Interest
Waterloo Station & the Cut
Nearest Point of Interest
British Museum
Nearest Point of Interest
National Gallery
Car: not necessary

Within a 15 minute walk of most of the attractions in the City of London. Underground just a 5 minute walk, bus right outside. World class theatre, restaurants & sites easily walkable.


Rates & Availability

Lambeth Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $33 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $98

Please note that the first payment of £75.00 does not form part of the rent and acts as a security deposit until departure when payment converts to a cleaning fee. A vrbo travellers fee may by applied by vrbo.

Arrival time - 2 pm
Departure time -10 am.
Skype ID - happymoney12

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Lambeth Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 698 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Whole unit - 2 bathrooms, 1 with shower & bath, 1 with shower only.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    sofabed - 1 double , not another bedroom, however sofabed in living room
  • 2 double bedrooms with double bed in each. One bedroom with en-suite, other with private bathroom. Sofa bed (full double bed size) in living room.
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • tennis
One set of keys per group per party - 2 available upon request where possible. Others with the owner in case of emergency. NB - please note that if you are looking to accommodate more than 4 persons at the property the standard rate is £25 per person per night extra. This is to cover extra linens/bedding and insurance necessary. Please notify owner with your enquiry.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties