check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Enchanting Tropical Hideaway just 400 steps to Gulf beach

9 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Jose's Hideaway House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Tequila Sunset is our luxury island cottage, perched in the palm trees- just 400' from the gulf on North Captiva island. North Captiva is Florida's best kept secret. From the moment you arrive on the island you will feel like you have been transported to another world.

Two bedroom, two bath home features an all new interior with:

Brand new luxury hotel queen mattress (May 2016)

47' flat screen TV with DVR in living room

32' flat screen in BR

stainless steel appliances

granite countertops

mahogany cabinetry

British Colonial decor

just 400 feet from the best beach on North Captiva

360 degree views of the gulf and bay from our crows nest roof deck.

What makes our house so special?

Location, Location, Location!!!

- Just 400' to the best gulf beach on the island

- Private setting close to everything

- All new interior with new appliances

- Designer decor with new furniture

- Personally owned and maintained golf cart

- Privately managed- with our manager living nearby

Our home is one level for convenient living. The master bedroom features a new four poster queen size mahogany bed. The second bedroom is furnished with twin size beds and has it's own bathroom with shower. There is a hall bathroom with full size tub/shower combination.

Included in the rental is a four-person golf cart and membership at the private North Captiva Island Club with two pools, tennis, and an outdoor bar and restaurant. Luxury at an affordable price! Come down and discover why it's called Tequila Sunset!

Keywords: vacation rental, cottage, bungalow, beach house, beachhouse,

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Donna Ellswick
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 25, 2016
Call Owner

About Donna Ellswick

We fell in love with the island the first time we saw it from the boat. It reminds us of the British Virgin Islands, where we have sailed many times. I lived in Key West as a child in the 60's- and the island and it's people are reminiscent of those happy, carefree days. The island renews our spirits and is more beautiful every time we visit.

Donna Ellswick purchased this house in 2006

Why Donna Ellswick chose Florida

North Captiva has the feel of the Caribbean, but it is easier to travel to and property ownership is very uncomplicated. We also wanted our grandchildren to grow up experiencing this unspoiled natural paradise. We feel very fortunate to be able to own a home in such a paradise and want to share this with our guests.

What makes this house unique

The thing we love about our house is that we feel we are in our own world when we are there. It is nestled in the palm trees and affords great privacy. We are so close to the beach, I love to take my coffee and walk along the beach in the morning. The variety of wildlife and birds that you can see are breathtaking.

Guestbook comments from the owner


Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home! We love your Island décor and 4 poster bed-so romantic and comfy. We have been taking pictures nonstop of the all the amzing wildlife. Driving around in the golf cart has bben a blast and everyone here is so friendly. We love watching the airplanes taking off and landing and are fantasizing what it would be like to fly here from home (maybe not!) Carolyn has been very helpful and friendly.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 11


based on 9 traveler reviews

Enchanting Tropical Hideaway just 400 steps to Gulf beach
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 20 reviews

Great stay with great friends

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just stayed at Tequila Sunset for 7 days with another couple we are good friends with. We had a great time. North Captiva is a very unique experience that everyone should try at some point. Tequila sunset is a great centralized location that makes for a quick golf cart trip to anywhere on the island and is a short walk to the beach. The house was clean and as depicted online. The house has most of the essentials you would need for a stay on the island (beach gear, kitchen supplies, ect). I would recommend staying at this home to a friend.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed the island and Tequila Sunset. North Captiva is a great place to share with friends and family. I hope you can return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was exactly how it looked in the pictures! (great)

  • 5 of 5

Donna and her manager Carolyn were great. Carolyn picked us up at the boat dock, helped load about 500lbs of gear from my boat and was super gracious. The island is the best vacation I can imagine for a family. Quiet, safe and fun.. I'm 100% for sure going back and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Tequila Sunset!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, I am so glad you and your family enjoyed Tequila Sunset. I agree that the island is a perfect place to spend some time together enjoying the beauty and all that nature has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxation, Fun, Comfort and Beauty

  • 5 of 5

We had the most fabulous vacation! Thank you Donna for the use of your beautiful home. The location was so great! We were able to be on the beach in seconds for excellent morning shelling and afternoon sunning! We also really loved being able to go up on the Eagles Nest in the morning and enjoy the birds and views. We also went up in the evening for star gazing. We usually go to South Seas Resort on Captiva so we were nervous that the teenagers might feel too isolated but they said they choose this over South Seas. We were able to take advantage of your fishing poles, sand and water toys. Also the clubs kayaks, racquets and bikes. We can't say enough good things about your home and the communication with Carolyn before and during our stay. See you next year!!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa- I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is good to know that your teenagers appreciated all that North Captiva has to offer. I am often asked if teenagers would enjoy it - so very good to know. Carolyn, our on island manager, is a gem. She really represents what's great about the island. She lives on the island so can offer the best up to date info on all that is happening. She is a nature lover and people person and we are so lucky to have her. Would love to see you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, IN

Nice Spring Break Accomodation

  • 4 of 5

My daughter, her friend , and I stayed at Donna's home this March. Her home was comfortable and updated with nice furnishings. I thought it might be a little bigger based on the photos, but it was sufficient for our needs. The kitchen was stocked with lots of equipment, which made it nice for cooking. We loved using the Eagles's nest because it was breezy and the view was beautiful. We wished there were more than two chairs to use. The climb is a little precarious, so we didn't take any up there ourselves. The screened in porch was a nice place to sit in the morning or drop off shells or store beach things. The location to the beach and the beach access were great. We were there every day! Having a golf cart was essential to getting around on the island. We were thankful it was included in the rental. We enjoyed our time in Donna's home. She included everything we needed to make our trip go smoothly!

  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your suggestions are helpful, as we are always looking to improve our guests experience. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas, TX

Do you want a vacation where you can really get away?

  • 5 of 5

We had a magical experience at this property. I have rented homes several times through vrbo, and have been very lucky to always have have had a great experience, but this was far and away my best.

I am a nearing 40 mom, with a hectic job, and two amazing daughters who are 5 and 6. I've been going to Sanibel Island for almost 20 years with my family. We love the area for it's casual atmosphere, lack of of high rise hotels, nature preserves, marine life and beautiful locale, within quick flight within most anywhere in North America.

I've been to North Captiva several times by boat for the day but never stayed. It was always lovely and intriguing but we've always loved our Sanibel trips. It was a holiday weekend and we were looking to really get away.

I've been to many amazing places, luxury hotels, but this was truly a highlight in my travel experience. This isn't a new house, but it's a beautiful old Florida house that's been beautifully updated. Kitchen is galley style, but updated with granite counter tops and new appliances. Beds are comfy,main room couch and living area is perfect for family game night or a movie, very roomy. Wifi available when you need it ( but tell your boss it doesn't).

North Captiva and this house are a dream vacation for people that want some serious downtime in a beautiful setting. We saw dolphins, bald eagles, manatees, sea turtles, tarpon. We came home every night to comfy beds, and every amenity we needed. Plan simple meals. Enjoy your family, sunsets, seashells, and the beach. It's all here in abundance.

Donna the owner was great in responding to my requests. Carolyn who runs her property is a gem.

Will be back again as soon as I can.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Tequila Sunset. I am glad you enjoyed North Captiva after visiting Sanibel for so many years. Many people ask for a comparison, so your assessment is very helpful. Our Old Florida style house was built in 1997 and totally gut renovated in 2006. We try to insure the best experience for our guests by upgrading and replacing items frequently. We are fortunate to have such great guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
Alton, IL

Highly Recomended!

  • 5 of 5

Our family visits the beach at least once a year and we needed a place to relax and do nothing. North Captiva is exactly what you need if you need a place to relax. The beaches were beautiful and the shells were amazing. I have two daughters 5 and 7 and they loved the place as well as the drives on the golf cart around the island and to the North Captiva Island Club which was very nice. We came off season and appreciated not having the crowds, although I can't imagine the island is ever as crowded as other popular beach destinations. The house was great, clean and roomy. Remember when you come to this place bring shorts and swimsuits and all your food. There are two bars to eat at and a fancier restaurant which my family did not go to, however you can't buy much on the island so plan accordingly. We loved Donna's place and Carolyn was wonderful! We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that our guests enjoy our house and the island as much as we do. We are very fortunate to have Carolyn as our property manager. She is a long time resident of the island and lives nearby. She personally meets each guest when they arrive on the boat and is always available to handle any needs that should arise.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Island Girl Charters
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Over the Waterfront
Nearest Beach
400' feet from best Gulf beach

We are located in the Jose's Hideaway area of the island which is very central and right in the middle of the island. We are close to everything and the area is very lush with nice landscaping and is a great section of the beach. Our house is just 400' from the Gulf.


Rates & Availability

Jose's Hideaway House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Late Summer
Sep 7 2016 - Nov 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 29 2016
4 night minimum stay
Shoulder Fall
Nov 30 2016 - Dec 16 2016
4 night minimum stay
Dec 17 2016 - Dec 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
Discounted January
Jan 7 2017 - Jan 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Jan 29 2017 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Late Spring
Apr 30 2017 - May 20 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rate includes personal meet by our property manager, golf cart for your stay, and resort fee at North Captiva Island Club.Our weeks generally run from Saturday to Saturday but contact us if you have other dates in mind. Please check with us to get the best available rate quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Jose's Hideaway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Pack n Play (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
  • marina
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties