Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Enchanting Tropical Hideaway just 400 steps to Gulf beach

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Tequila Sunset is our luxury island cottage, perched in the palm trees- just 400' from the gulf on North Captiva island. North Captiva is Florida's best kept secret. From the moment you arrive on the island you will feel like you have been transported to another world.

Tequila Sunset is a freestanding, unattached, single family home on large lot, not a condo or townhouse or combined with another rental

Two bedroom, two bath home features an all new interior with:

Brand new luxury hotel queen mattress (May 2016)

47' flat screen TV with DVR in living room

32' flat screen in BR

stainless steel appliances

granite countertops

mahogany cabinetry

British Colonial decor

just 400 feet from the best beach on North Captiva

360 degree views of the gulf and bay from our crows nest roof deck.

What makes our house so special?

Location, Location, Location!!!

- Just 400' to the best gulf beach on the island

- Private setting close to everything

- All new interior with new appliances

- Designer decor with new furniture

- Personally owned and maintained golf cart

- Privately managed- with our manager living nearby

Our home is one level for convenient living. The master bedroom features a new four poster queen size mahogany bed. The second bedroom is furnished with twin size beds and has it's own bathroom with shower. There is a hall bathroom with full size tub/shower combination.

Included in the rental is a four-person golf cart and membership at the private North Captiva Island Club with two pools, tennis, and an outdoor bar and restaurant. Luxury at an affordable price! Come down and discover why it's called Tequila Sunset!

Keywords: vacation rental, cottage, bungalow, beach house, beachhouse,

More Details

Owner
Donna Ellswick
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
March 27, 2017

About Donna Ellswick

We fell in love with the island the first time we saw it from the boat. It reminds us of the British Virgin Islands, where we have sailed many times. I lived in Key West as a child in the 60's- and the island and it's people are reminiscent of those happy, carefree days. The island renews our spirits and is more beautiful every time we visit.

Donna Ellswick purchased this house in 2006

Why Donna Ellswick chose Florida

North Captiva has the feel of the Caribbean, but it is easier to travel to and property ownership is very uncomplicated. We also wanted our grandchildren to grow up experiencing this unspoiled natural paradise. We feel very fortunate to be able to own a home in such a paradise and want to share this with our guests.

What makes this house unique

The thing we love about our house is that we feel we are in our own world when we are there. It is nestled in the palm trees and affords great privacy. We are so close to the beach, I love to take my coffee and walk along the beach in the morning. The variety of wildlife and birds that you can see are breathtaking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

6/15-6/22



Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home! We love your Island décor and 4 poster bed-so romantic and comfy. We have been taking pictures nonstop of the all the amzing wildlife. Driving around in the golf cart has bben a blast and everyone here is so friendly. We love watching the airplanes taking off and landing and are fantasizing what it would be like to fly here from home (maybe not!) Carolyn has been very helpful and friendly.
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Jose's Hideaway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Resort ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Pack n Play (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • marina
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • shelling
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Enchanting Tropical Hideaway just 400 steps to Gulf beach
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 23 reviews
5

Amazing vacation in the perfect location

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay on North Captiva and the house had everything we needed. Carolyn was great from the moment we arrived, getting us settled in and answering any questions we had about the island or the house. Donna, the owner was wonderful from the day we rented her home. We had a couple of issues that came up, but Carolyn and Donna took care of it immediately. I would recommend this home if you are looking for a small house, close to the gulf with resort access/amenities. The state park was amazing and we were able to hike to a secluded beach, explore and see wild life. Highlights were kayaking with dolphins and watching a baby eagle learning to fly out of the nest. If you are looking to slow down, connect and don't mind island time, this is the perfect spot.

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had a wonderful time! It felt like paradise.

  • 5 of 5

Donna's home was perfect. We felt comfortable and at home. Each morning we had coffee on the deck above the house where we could see the Gulf. We ate our breakfasts on the screened in porch, which was so relaxing in the breeze. There were blow dryers in each bathroom.

Donna and Carolyn communicated well with us, so we knew exactly what to do to get food, get to the island, etc.

The island was easy to acclimate to. We loved going to the end of the road to see the waves. We enjoyed watching dolphins at the end of the air strip. The key lime pie at Barnacles was delicious. My friends loved their fresh shrimp, except the night they got it blackened, it was too hot. The shrimp meal with a drink and tip was about $36. I just got pie for $6. We went to the pool and hot tub daily over by Mango's. They serve drinks and food there also. You can get a chicken taco for $10 which is about the cheapest meal on the island. Add a drink and tip that's included and you're up to over $20. Drinks run about $10. We never ate at the other two places. We read the reviews and bought plenty, actually too much, food. Mostly we ate at the house. There was salt, pepper, and other staple items already there.

We went to the preserve one day and found tons of shells. Bring your sunscreen and a bright tie to mark the place you exit the trail to go to the beach.

It was a dream vacation. I don't think it can be topped.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review of Tequila Sunset. So glad you enjoyed your stay in our little piece of paradise. It is an amazing getaway from the real world! You really discovered all there is on the island. The tip about the tie on the beach is a good one. After a long beach walk its helpful to find the shortest route home. I hope you can return the island soon! We would love to welcome you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Missouri
5

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, 2year old daughter and I had a great week spent at Tequila sunrise on North Captiva Island, FL. The house is in a fantastic location. It's very close to the beach, 3 houses away. And also close to the amenities of the North Captiva Island Club. The house was clean, well kept and had absolutely everything we needed for cooking, beaching and relaxing. It was great to have a high chair and pack play at the house. We hope to return soon!

The Bauer's

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Tequila Sunset. We look forward to your return to the island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great stay with great friends

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I just stayed at Tequila Sunset for 7 days with another couple we are good friends with. We had a great time. North Captiva is a very unique experience that everyone should try at some point. Tequila sunset is a great centralized location that makes for a quick golf cart trip to anywhere on the island and is a short walk to the beach. The house was clean and as depicted online. The house has most of the essentials you would need for a stay on the island (beach gear, kitchen supplies, ect). I would recommend staying at this home to a friend.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed the island and Tequila Sunset. North Captiva is a great place to share with friends and family. I hope you can return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was exactly how it looked in the pictures! (great)

  • 5 of 5

Donna and her manager Carolyn were great. Carolyn picked us up at the boat dock, helped load about 500lbs of gear from my boat and was super gracious. The island is the best vacation I can imagine for a family. Quiet, safe and fun.. I'm 100% for sure going back and I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Tequila Sunset!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Scott, I am so glad you and your family enjoyed Tequila Sunset. I agree that the island is a perfect place to spend some time together enjoying the beauty and all that nature has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxation, Fun, Comfort and Beauty

  • 5 of 5

We had the most fabulous vacation! Thank you Donna for the use of your beautiful home. The location was so great! We were able to be on the beach in seconds for excellent morning shelling and afternoon sunning! We also really loved being able to go up on the Eagles Nest in the morning and enjoy the birds and views. We also went up in the evening for star gazing. We usually go to South Seas Resort on Captiva so we were nervous that the teenagers might feel too isolated but they said they choose this over South Seas. We were able to take advantage of your fishing poles, sand and water toys. Also the clubs kayaks, racquets and bikes. We can't say enough good things about your home and the communication with Carolyn before and during our stay. See you next year!!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa- I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is good to know that your teenagers appreciated all that North Captiva has to offer. I am often asked if teenagers would enjoy it - so very good to know. Carolyn, our on island manager, is a gem. She really represents what's great about the island. She lives on the island so can offer the best up to date info on all that is happening. She is a nature lover and people person and we are so lucky to have her. Would love to see you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
RSW
Nearest Ferry
0.25 Miles
Island Girl Charters
Nearest Motorway
10 Miles
75
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Over the Waterfront
Nearest Beach
400' feet from best Gulf beach

We are located in the Jose's Hideaway area of the island which is very central and right in the middle of the island. We are close to everything and the area is very lush with nice landscaping and is a great section of the beach. Our house is just 400' from the Gulf.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Jose's Hideaway House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter 2017
Jan 29 2017 - Apr 29 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 30 2017 - May 13 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,250
 
 
Summer
May 14 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
June special
Jun 10 2017 - Jun 23 2017
4 night minimum stay
$250
$1,250
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,850
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rate includes personal meet by our property manager, golf cart for your stay, and resort fee at North Captiva Island Club.Our weeks generally run from Saturday to Saturday but contact us if you have other dates in mind. Please check with us to get the best available rate quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers