Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

City Lake Luxury Apartments with free Wi-Fi/AppleTV/Netflix

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 753 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming apartments in the city center (101 disctrict)

This charming historical apartment building is located in the very heart of Reykjavik next to a central park garden "Hljomskalagardur" and the city lake " Tjornin". The apartments have theluxury that you need for your stay in Reykjavik. Free public parking is along the street. Each living area provides a great living space with comfortable seating area, dining area and a fully equipped kitchen. Multimedia equipment includes 46-50' TV, Apple TV with Netflix account and a sound system.


Property Manager
Sigurdur Gislason
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, german, norwegian, Icelandic
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2017

About Sigurdur Gislason

I, Sigurdur, run this small company since 2010. My goal is to provide a great accommodation service for tourists to enjoy their trip of a lifetime. I run a few apartments in Reykjavik.

Sigurdur Gislason purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Sigurdur Gislason chose Miðborg

This charming apartment building has these two luxury apartments and is on the main walking street. Here you and your family and friends are optimally situated with only a 6-8 minute walk from the crossing of Laugavegur and Laekjargata streets which mark the very center of the old Reykjavik and some of Reykjavik's best restaurants, cafés and the well known Laugavegur the main shopping street. Still you can enjoy the peace and calmness of this friendly neighborhood in close vicinity to most of the Foreign Embassies.

What makes this apartment unique

Many of our guests have told us that we are so optimally close to the life of the city center but still without the sounds of it's night life. Some feel better one floor up with a better view but still others admire the fact that a family or friends of 6 people can so well be accommodated in the three bedrooms. Most people who stay with us really love the living area and the atmosphere that we have made by picking furniture and amenities. Our place is a real home-away-from-home.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Pros: “the set up, décor... quality of furniture, kitchen well equipped, bedsheets clean, apartment quite spacious”

Cons: "difficulty to open the entrance door, needed a safe for keeping precious items eg jewels, cash"
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Kilometres
KEFLAVIK INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
All main bars in Reykjavik reached by walking
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Nesklúbburinn
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
All of city's main restaurants by short walking
Nearest Ski
40 Kilometres
Bláfjöll
Nearest Beach
2.5 Kilometres
Nauthólsvík
Car: not necessary

The Hallgrimskirkja church is a 5 minute's walk away. The Harp music house is a 12 minute's walk and the apartment is located on Laugavegur the main shopping street.

Amenities

Miðborg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 753 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • One bathroom with shower, sink and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Or 2 single beds
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , This bed is 140 cm wide.
Entertainment:
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
42% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
City Lake Luxury Apartments with free Wi-Fi/AppleTV/Netflix
average rating of 4.0 based on 8 reviews
5

Beautiful flat in a lovely house with a great location near the lake.

  • 5 of 5

Five adults stayed here after a multi-day hike and found everything we needed. Great coffee machine with everything needed to enjoy coffee and tea. Nice kitchen and nice living room. Recommend this for everyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location. We were only there two nights but it served our needs perfectly. Beds were comforta

  • 4 of 5

Clean. However, Shower taps dripped constantly. Otherwise suited our needs.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, we will take a look at the shower taps. Laufey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible experience at this stay. Apartment double booked and not available when we reached.

  • 1 of 5

This was a very bad experience. We had booked for two weekends with our roadtrip around the island in the middle. When we reached the apartment after 6 hour drive we could not get in as the greedy company had double booked the apartment. For next 2-3 hours we were given the go around. We were a group of 4 specifically needing three bedrooms in one apartment. After endlesss wait we were offered 2 separate apartments and made to stay separate from the group. No refund was provided. This is the worst experience we have had with homeaWay and the company that looks after these apartments in Reykjavik. Best avoid. They are undependable to say the least. We will make sure none of our friends ever rent from these guys in Reykjavik. Homeaway should remove their listings for a scam and pathetic attitude.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This double booking was a mistake that I made and I am so sorry that this happened ... it was not made by greed it was simply because there were two separate bookings for the same person (does not happen very often) and I accidentally took it as just one booking.... In the first phone call we did tell the guests that we would find them something else and we offered them to stay in a two bedroom apartment and just relax while waiting (they did refuse). We did find them two apartments in the same building (with other renting company) and these two apartments are often rented out as one, just on two floors. We gladly paid for these apartments so we could not afford to give a full refund as well (we are just a small family company with four apartments). We did everything in our power to make the guests comfortable and are so sorry that this happened. We did talk to HomeAway and explained the situation and they very happy with the way we dealt with it. Laufey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington USA
4

Our Iceland Home

  • 4 of 5

The apartment was perfect for the four of us. It was clean, spacious, comfortable and close to every thing. The faucet in the kitchen was "super" difficult to turn off , even for the guys. We did ask that it be fixed , but alas, it didn't happen during our stay. The lack of essential staples was disappointing....sugar, spices, cooking oil, can opener, items we usually find in other VRBOs. But all in all, we had a great time and enjoyed our stay. We would book this apartment again.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response... The faucet is fixed and I have brought some more things to the kitchen... Laufey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely apartment in a fantastic neighborhood! Perfect for our family!

  • 5 of 5

The apartment had everything we needed to make our first trip to Reykjavik outstanding. Perfect location!! The managers were extremely responsive to our one minor problem with the TV.

  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well... we want the TV to work to relax after a long day... Thank you for your stay Laufey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Convenient, cozy apartment near city center

  • 4 of 5

Our family of four stayed for two nights over Christmas and really enjoyed the apartment. Laufey was a huge help, finding dinner reservations for us on the holidays (critical) and recommending grocery stores, etc. the apartment was clean and comfortable for all of us. The location worked great, we didn't use the car at all, just walked everywhere. Nice to be across from the park and the lake. Hope to return!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words.... good to have such happy guests :-) Laufey
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties