Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront Home with Extra Summer Sleeping Rooms

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 2 Bedrooms + Bunk Area, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Build to accomodate extended family, this rural retreat is nestled on low bank waterfront. The gentle sloop of the beach makes this beach child friendly and provides hour of entertainment for all ages wading, swimming, exploring tide pools and taking in the scenery. The Olympic Mountains frame the skyline on the opposite side of the bay. The property surrounding the house is forested and home to abundant wildlife. Seals, otter, blue heron, eagles, fish, ducks, seagulls, clams and oysters make their home in the bay.

We disigned this property as a family retreat, idea for sharing with adults and children. The home is fully equiped to make your trip as relaxed as possible. The kitchen is equipted with coffee makers, blenders, toasters, 2 refrigerators, icemaker, dishes, pots and pans and a grill. If you have a rainy day, there is covered patio area to allow for outside activities, an electric fireplace, flat screen TV's, a video library and computer. There is an outdoor shower to clean up after the beach, and a washer/dryer.

Whether you enjoy the outdoors in an athletic way, or prefer to relax in a lounger on the wrap-around decks this is the place for you. This haven takes you away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, while providing you the comforts to make this an experience to remember.

The cabin is single level with two bedrooms equipted with a queen and standard bed. An additional queen sofa sleeper in the great room can be curtained off for privacy. Across a covered deck, are two, unheated, sleeping rooms. One has a queen size murphy bed, the other, three built in bunk beds, a favorite for kids with their sleeping bags. Bathrooms are between the bedrooms and adjacent to the sleeping rooms. The property includes an acre, afording ample parking and privacy.

While most visitors arrive by car, the bay is about as far inside Pudget Sound as you can navigate. If you chose to arrive by boat, a mooring buoy is available, and a canoe, two kayaks, and a rowboat are provided for your use. If you want to trailer your boat to this location, we can provide information on boat launchs. This sheltered bay provides calm waters for skiing. A boat cruise to Olympia makes a great day trip from this location. Olympia offers several resturants and boater friendly access areas.

From the start of your day in this tranquil setting, through the breathtaking sunset from your deck, there is plenty to do all day long for adults and children of all ages. It is a perfect year round getaway. You will not want to leave and you'll definitely be back!

Keywords: Family, dog friendly beach house, sleeps 8,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We came down from Canada to take part in "LEEFEST" & had a very enjoyable time hanging out and play at your place. The Tideflats/clam operations is very interesnting. I got very excited, but then Uncle Art told me to CLAM DOWN
May 2008
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Shelton Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 3 - outdoor shower , Hot and Cold water
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bunk Area - 3 bunk bed , Rustic room with built in bunk beds
    Bunk house - 1 murphy bed , Unheated area with great bay view
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (3) Murphy bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront Home with Extra Summer Sleeping Rooms
average rating of 4.7 based on 11 reviews
Portland, OR, USA
3

Great location, house needs work

  • 3 of 5

The house is in a beautiful spot on the water, with seals playing out front and awesome views. Lots of privacy and quiet as well.

The interior is a little beat-up, the beds are mediocre, and the house only has two real bedrooms. There is a side room with curtains and a hide-a-bed and two outside "bunk rooms" that you wouldn't really want to sleep in (one of them smells awful, the other would be OK for camping.)

The biggest issue with the interior is the shower, which is a nightmare. The water pressure is all over the place, the temperature goes from freezing to scalding, and the showerhead is crammed over next to the wall. Probably the worst shower I've been in in twenty years.

Finally, the owners did not send access info via the homeaway site/app. I had to call after check in time to get the keybox code. I have to imagine this was just a one-off oversight on their part, but it was still a pain to deal with since I didn't have good cell coverage once I got to Shelton.

So: the house is peaceful and in a beautiful setting, but is in serious need of sprucing up. And a new shower.

If homeaway had a rating between "loved it" and "not really" I'd select that instead, but I did enjoy being here in the end, so I'll err on the side of being positive.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you didn't have the comforts you were expecting. I hoped our description of the property made the bedroom situation clear. We haven't had complaints about the shower, but I will check the issue and see what the problem is. Again I'm sorry you were disappointed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Enjoyed by one and all

  • 4 of 5

It was a great place for family fun at the beach. Everything we needed and more. Our hostess was very helpful when we spoke on the phone. Treated us like family and made us feel welcome to use anything we needed.

Only aspect that we didn't appreciate and have already shared with Sandi, was the dog from next door. The kids were scared when he barked and snarled at them. Came right up on our deck and pooped in the grass where they were playing.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad our home worked for your group. I'm sorry the neighbors dogs were a problem. We have spoken with them about your concerns.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Such a beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

What a great place. They have everything you and more. I can see us coming back. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad the property worked for your family. We appreciate your choosing us for your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle Washington
5

Great property to enjoy a weekend with friends and family

  • 5 of 5

I recently booked the house for a weekend with some family and friends. The house was perfect with beautiful views, great beachfront, canoe and kayaks that were well enjoyed, and oysters off the front steps! :)

We had a group of 8 and all were very comfortable. Two bedrooms inside along with two small rooms across from the cabin provided additional sleeping space that were very much enjoyed by several members of the group. The house was very clean with plenty of linens and towels for everyone. The kitchen has everything you need and we ate excellent meals cooking out of the kitchen both nights. The patio is spacious, has a huge gas grill and a fantastic place to enjoy dinner seating my entire group comfortably.

Everyone had a great time and commented how much they enjoyed the house, definitely a place we all would like to go back to. Thanks again Wayne and Sandi!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad your stay met your expectations. We love the property and enjoy hearing others do too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kayaker's Dream

  • 5 of 5

Such a great weekend getaway house. Far enough to feel like you are away from city life, but close enough for those quick after dinner ice cream runs to DQ. :) My family came here to celebrate family birthdays and had such a great time. We loved using the 2 kayaks and canoe that the owners have on the property and explored the surrounding areas, especially when it was high tide. Views are breathtaking, especially on a sunny day. House is right on the water, just steps away from the beach and there is a nice grass yard where you can play games. Owners were very accommodating and friendly, making sure that you have everything you need and even offering more than normal. We loved that they are pet friendly and enjoyed visits from the neighbor dog who we fondly referred to as "Bear." :) Such a great location for family reunions and can accommodate large groups of people easily. Thank you for sharing your lovely cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Treasure

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful home, with lots of room, and stocked with plenty of supplies for a large group. The wildlife was so fun, deer, seals with pups, hummingbirds, butterflies, so much to see. We had a 45th Birthday celebration and the privacy allowed us to laugh until dawn without bothering anyone. My daughters loved the Kayak and the bay is so private we could sit on the deck and watch them paddle all over. It was so relaxing and we had such a good time, we didn't leave all weekend! The group has decided we need to return every year. The owners were very helpful and accommodating as well. The only down side is there was a burn ban so we couldn't use the beautiful fit pit....next trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
73 Miles
Sea-Tac International Airport
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Bremerton Ferry
Nearest Train
33 Miles
Olympia
Nearest Motorway
9 Miles
Highway 101
Nearest Beach
Front yard
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $99

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties