Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Comfortable Villa with Heated Pool & Spa In Heart Of Seaside Town 600m to Beach

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Space 2,152 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Sleeps 10- with 5 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms

The Beach House is a high quality holiday villa (or gite) located in the heart of Berck-sur-Mer, a seaside town in the beautiful Hauts-de-France region on the Opal Coast, less than an hour’s drive from the Channel Tunnel and ferry ports.

The house itself is situated just a short walk from the town’s vast and beautiful sandy beach and its many shops and restaurants and has a heated private pool (with endless swim jets) and a 4-5 person luxury spa enclosed in a fully retractable conservatory ("abri"); great to use whatever the weather.

Berck is well situated, being close to Le Touquet and the Opal Coast towns to the north, the beautiful Somme area to the south and the pretty seven valleys area inland to the west. There is a lot to do in the local area.

This house is available to rent and provides top quality and spacious accommodation, being over 300 squares metres in size. In addition to the private heated pool and spa, it has been renovated to a very high standard with all mod cons and excellent facilities, including free wifi, hundreds of UK, French and other TV channels, free on-demand entertainment services, a wii games console with games (in its own room), garden games, boards games, books and more. It has excellent facilities for all ages, including children, and offers good value for money.

The property is detached, fully enclosed within its own grounds behind lockable gates and totally independent. It has a massive living area comprising a huge sitting room, a large kitchen diner in addition to a separate dining room, a second sitting area in the pool room, a relaxation-come-games room (containing a top of the range electric massage chair) and - if required - a third sitting room with games console. There are three double bedrooms, two twin rooms and three luxury bathrooms. It is set back from the road on a quiet road with no through traffic.

Outside, the house has a good-sized, private, lawned and enclosed, sunny garden with large, wrap-around terrace and, of course, the private heated pool with spa. The pool and spa are enclosed in a large retractable telescopic conservatory, meaning they can be either outdoor (for sunny days) or enclosed (for rainy days) at your choice, so you can always make the best of the weather.

There is off-street parking for two cars on a gravel driveway within the grounds and further parking outside.

More Details

Alan Moreland
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2018


Berck House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2152 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • The swimming pool MUST not be heated to above 30degC. If the pool is found to be above 30degC then a maintenance charge of EUR200 will be charged.
  • No glass in the pool house (abri) or pool area. Children should be supervised at all times in the pool area.
  • Please refer to the House Guide, located in the kitchen of the house, for a guide to operating the Beach House facilities and all safety rules.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
  • Family
  • Luxury
  • Sports & Activities
  • Baby Gate
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet
  • Three luxury bathrooms, including: a very large main bathroom with double bath, double sink unit, double-sized separate shower unit, toilet and music system; an en suite off the master bedroom with shower, sink unit and toilet; and a shower room with a double-sized, large-headed shower and sink unit. Plus a separate WC on the ground floor.
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • Five bedrooms: three doubles, two twins (each with two full sized single beds ). One of the doubles converts into an additional sitting room when not in use. The possible sleeping arrangements are very flexible and can be configured to suit either ten adults in comfort, or four adults and four children comfortably with each child having their own bed and the second sitting room available to provide extra living space. In addition there is a travel cot available which can be set up in any of the bedrooms.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Furniture
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • bay/sound
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • nude beach
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
21% Complete
10% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Comfortable Villa with Heated Pool & Spa In Heart Of Seaside Town 600m to Beach
average rating of 4.4210525 based on 19 reviews

Fantastic well-equipped home from home

  • 5 of 5

Great location and everything you could need or want for a brilliant relaxing holiday. Plenty of those little things you sometimes don't get like towels, coat hangers, adapters. And good quality bedding always makes a difference. The master bedroom had a John Lewis white down duvet that I wanted to steal!

Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments - we're glad you liked the bedding. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

This is the fourth time we've stayed here, that tells you all. Spacious, well appointed property, great location on a quiet side road 10 mins walk from the beach.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Spacious and well equipped with great kitchen, lots of gadgets but pool dissapointing

  • 3 of 5

The property is well equipped and spacious but the overall finish isn't a high standard to match. This would have been satisfactory had the spec not led us to believe it would be 'highly luxurious' - it was more basic than we expected. The bathrooms are lovely and clean and the kitchen and dining table were great for our large party of 8 adults. Outdoor table is also great. It's probably more suitable for a large family than 8 adults though.

Good walking distance from the beech, shops and restaurants.

The main disappointment was the pool - it looks very inviting but unfortunately the chlorine levels were so high it actually felt dangerous to go in for any length of time and one of our party couldn't go in the outdoors area whilst it was uncovered for the irritation to his asthma. The handy guy came very quickly when we rang up about it and put some dilutant formula in it but it did not improve drastically and by that time we had settled not to enjoy the pool in the same way we had hoped.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This party complained about the pool at the time. We sent the pool man out immediately to investigate the issue only to discover that they had heated the pool to 40 degrees C - the temperature of a hot bath - rather than keeping it at the 30 degrees C it is supposed to be used at. We always explain to guests at the outset how to operate the pool correctly and that it should not be overheated (to above 30 degrees C) and is both damaging to the pool and potentially unpleasant as it creates fumes. These guests chose to ignore this advice. We provide clear guidance for guests as to how to use the pool correctly. When this guidance is followed, the pool is very safe and does not generate excessive fumes.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, well equipped and homely property

  • 4 of 5

The Beach House is a lovely home-from-home and made for a wonderful Christmas. The house is large, with some great facilities and very well equipped with everything needed including all the kitchen utensils required for self catering. The spa was great and we loved the fact that the swimming pool had jets that meant you could just keep swimming!

The owners were lovely offering suggestions ahead of our trip (including restaurant tips for Christmas Day and activity ideas including sledging on the sand dunes!). Catherine and Alan were very responsive with minor queries during our stay, as was the emergency contact Michael who helped us out very efficiently with a power cut on Christmas Eve.

The location of The Beach House is fantastic – a quiet area yet a short walk (even for little legs!) to a well stocked supermarket, variety of restaurants, bakeries and the beach. We didn’t need the car once.

A lovely home, lovely location and lovely owners. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had nice holiday but owner kept full security deposit

  • 2 of 5

When we arived at Vila we were greated by an infestation of ants in the kitchen but once we invested in some ant powder saw no more for rest of stay. We had good weather while we were staying, temp was too hot in bedrooms needs air con our daughters were staying in the loft room but we had to bring them into our room for 10 night of our holiday as there room was dangerously hot. We enjoyed pool but some of our party would of preferred more traditional pool . Croquet set was great fun . If your tall the ensuite shower is too cramped but main bathroom is very big but with most of us using it always a que. Didn't like idea that owner has own shelf in fridge dog food and bowls and other food stuff in a number of cupboards in the kitchen. When we left property we left it in a much cleaner condition than when we arrived. When we got home 6days later we received an email saying a set of pool covers were broken and we are to have cost of repair removed from our deposit. The covers were same condition as when we arrived the second set seemed slightly thiner but thought that was as it was. We've since had an email saying each pool cover costs full deposit so won't be giving any deposit back. All our party feels very angry about this but they hold deposit so they hold all the cards! Just hope it's not something they do regularly at least your forewarned.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest caused several thousand pounds worth of damage to our house while they were there. To help guests make the most of their stay, we provide a guide to the house, which also contains a clear warning not to climb on the pool covers. Despite this, they climbed all over the pool covers breaking them (something which could not have been done by accident as the covers are raised up), left the pool house canopy free to swing in the wind damaging it in the process (the pool manager spotted it when he came to clean the pool and was so concerned by their carelessness he contacted us about it), and treated our home with general disregard. As a result, we have, reluctantly, had to hold on to their deposit just while we ascertain the cost of the damage done. Despite this, we will only be asking them to fund SOME of their damage; we will fund the remaining repairs ourselves. This is only the second time in 6 years of renting we have ever had to retain a deposit - we hate doing this and try to avoid it at all costs. To address their issues: this guest raised no issues during their stay, despite us providing a help line to enable any issues to be easily raised and addressed. We want guests to have a great time and so provide a local house manager, contactable at any time, to enable any issues to be sorted out immediately. They became negative only AFTER we discovered and mentioned the damage. This review would appear to be an attempt to punish us for asking them to make a contribution towards the damage they have done to our home. For a more objective picture, please see our other reviews, including one for the week immediately before this guest stayed, which rated us 5 stars.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
King's Lynn

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

The Beach House is a great location if you want to park the car up for a couple of days as everything is within walking distance - bakery, shops, restaurants and beach.

The pool is great if you have small children our grandchildren are 7 and 5 and they loved it and it is bigger than it appears in the photographs.

The big plus is it is less than 1 hours drive from Calais and have visited most of France over the years it was great to drive off the tunnel knowing that you did not have a 6 to 8 hour drive to reach your destination which was like having an extra day on your holiday. Also there is plenty to do and see in the local area.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good time. We agree, this is a very convenient (and lovely) part of France and we are surprised it is so often overlooked by Brits seeking to have a break in France. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
16 Kilometres
Le Touquet
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
Channel Tunnel
Nearest Golf
16 Kilometres
Le Touquet
Nearest Train
6 Kilometres
Rang du Fliers
Nearest Motorway
10 Kilometres
A16 exit 25
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Nearest Beach
600 Metres
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Damage Deposit $580.52

The rental price INCLUDES pool/spa heating, cleaning fee, bedding made on arrival, towels, electricity & water costs, Tax de Sejour, bath mats and kitchen linen.
Broadband, UK and French satellite TV and wi-fi are also provided free of charge.
A EUR 1000 refundable deposit is required on all bookings to safeguard against potential breakages and other accidents.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties