check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Tom & Debbie Murphy

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Some French & Spanish

Winnisquam Cottage with Dock, peddle boat and Canoe/charming, quiet, private

35 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights

Overview

Lake Winnisquam Cottage Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, one bath, sleeps 6.

Traditional NH lakefront summer cottage. Private setting, yet near to many attractions. Waterfront is beautifully terraced with stone walls, and includes a safe swimming area as well as a 25 foot dock for your boat and great fishing. A 12x12 foot square float connects to the dock for placing lawn chairs to enjoy the views and sunsets. Loon sanctuary is an easy canoe paddle away. Grill your dinner on the deck overlooking the lake while the loons serenade you !

And let's not forget AUTUMN! The water is at it's warmest, the colors are starting to come alive, the Indian Summer days are amazing, and the crowds have mostly gone home.

We are located on the northern end of the lake in the no-wake zone. Chemung State Conservation land is on the opposite side of the lake.

No smoking in cottage. Mostly rented from Friday to Friday. Please refer to Availability Calendar.

PETS: Well behaved pets on a leash are welcome, 2 dog maximum, must be using anti-flea products.

GUESTS- 6 maximum on property.

CARS - 2 maximum.

SIX people is the maximum, no exceptions.

BOATING: A boating license is needed if more than 25 hp.

Winnisquam Marine Rental on our lake at the bridge (on Rte 3). Take exit 20 from the directions.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Tom & Debbie Murphy (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english, Some French & Spanish

Reviews

4.9
based on 35 traveler reviews

Winnisquam Cottage with Dock, peddle boat and Canoe/charming, quiet, private
average rating of 4.9142857 based on 35 reviews
5

Cozy, Clean, Pet-friendly & Great location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Tom and Debs guest house/cabin a little over a week thanks to some extra availability at the cabin, It was mostly my wife, myself and our chocolate lab Duke as well as a few friends for a couple of the nights.

The Cottage was as advertised and as clean as you could ask for. Plenty of space and all the amenities you would expect in a seasonal camp. It is located on the best part of the lake in the cove which is a no wake zone. Perfect for canoeing, kayaking, fishing, etc. The other nice thing about the location is the absolute quietness of the cabin, no road noise, not much lake noise, yet close to both Meredith and Laconia right in the heart of the lakes region.

Initially I was a little concerned about the cottage being so close to the living quarters of the hosts as I like my privacy and I hate to intrude on others. However Tom and Deb were great at giving us full access to the property and making us feel at ease. They were available if you needed anything and offered great recommendations on things to do and places to eat. They even took us out on a great hike in the Belknap mountain range.

We were able to use their deep water dock for our 18’ boat but it appears it could easily accommodate a larger boat. With that said you don’t really even need a boat to enjoy this cottage, there is a canoe and a paddle boat available and just relaxing and swimming off the dock which gets full sun is enjoyable.

A few other recommendations in the area include the Tree top Adventure tour at Gunstock (lots of fun), Tavern 27 (make reservations for dinner), Kitchen Cravings (for breakfast), Patricks Pub in Gilford (for beers & apps), Lanna Thai food (for takeout), Lakeside Deli in Meredith (for lunch)

In summary we had a great week at the lake, we did not want to go home. Our dog Duke was depressed when we left and is still tired from all the swimming he did. We will be returning at some point!

Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were perfect & fun guests. We sincerely hope we will see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nashua, New Hampshire
5

Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We had such a wonderful time at your Winnisquam Cottage. Everything we needed was right there making for a restful vacation. The house was neat as a pin, nice and quiet yet close to shopping, restaurants, etc... We loved being lakeside and paddling away-seeing the beauty of nature. Tom & Deb are friendly attentive hosts~so appreciated. We loved being able to take the doggies too! Thank you and we will be back :)

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad your weeks' vacation was relaxing for you and for your dog, Grace. Hope to see you again, Tom & Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Looking forward to our third stay!

  • 5 of 5

This review is for our stay 8/21-8/28/15. I had every intention of getting this done LONG before now but somehow the months have slipped away and it’s now 2016.

Our first stay with Tom and Debbie was in 2014. We had such a great time that we booked our 2015 vacation before we had left. We chose the last week of August so we could enjoy full moon on the lake and we weren’t disappointed! The lake is not only amazing during the day but at night as well. Listening to the loons and sitting around the fire waiting for the moon to rise definitely made the week unforgettable.

Having done a lot of sightseeing and hiking the year before (Castle in the Clouds offers great hiking and the amazing Fall of Song waterfall) we spent most of our time on or in the water. One day while out paddling around we had a loon surface several yards away, it was amazing! Couple of days later a bald eagle was circling overhead, the quiet end of the lake certainly has its advantages.

Being able to bring my dog is the icing on the cake. While he isn’t a fan of the water he enjoys sitting on the dock watching boats go by or sunbathing with the girls.

Tom and Debbie are the nicest people you’ll ever meet with the best lakeside cottage in the best spot on the lake. You just can’t go wrong spending a week with them!!!

Looking forward to July,

Mary Anne, Sonya, Tessa, McKenzie & Drake

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, that review was certainly worth the wait! Thanks so much Sonya, and we look forward to seeing you and your clan in July!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best place on the lake.

  • 5 of 5

As the grandson of the original owners, I was very impressed what beautiful work Tom & Debbie have done.

I was so happy to have a chance to stay at this wonderful cottage after many years away.

Everything that's needed for a perfect vacation is right here.

Tom & Debbie are the perfect host's , they made this a vacation we will never forget.

We are definitely looking to come back year after year.

Tom & Debbie, my family thanks you for everything you have done for us.

The Schutte's

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really enjoyed having your family as guests here. So fun looking back at the old photos you brought of the place, too. We love learning history about the neighborhood. Thanks so much for the kind words. Looking forward to seeing you here again. Tom & Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Manchester, CT
5

Outstanding cabin on the lake.

  • 5 of 5

This was our third stay at Deb & Tom’s cabin. That alone should tell you how much we enjoy the property. This was our first stay with our two young granddaughters aged 4 and 2, so we did not use the loft for sleeping, but it was a great play area. The cabin is clean and well stocked with the essentials you’ll need for your stay. We found the best place to food shop is the Hanaford’s in Laconia, (you can avoid the traffic in Meredith). The lake is WONDERFUL for swimming, canoeing, etc. The cabin is far enough from the water so you can feel safe letting the kids out side on the lawn, but close enough to be convenient. A bottle of wine at the end of the day at the fire pit proved to be a nice way to welcome the evening. And, for those of you not used to a clear night sky, the stars are amazing. I highly recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys have the cutest grand-daughters! Can't wait to see how they've grown next year! Thanks for the wonderful review. Tom & Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We would've liked to stay for a second week!

  • 5 of 5

What a relaxing week! Our family of 4 really enjoyed our week at the Murphy's cabin. Our two boys (12 and 17) loved the loft, dock, canoe, and fishing. Us "boys" took the canoe out one afternoon and picked wild blueberries at the top of lake Winnisquam, which were used in pancakes for days. The fishing was hit or miss, but isn't it always? The people at A.J.'s bait and tackle were very helpful. The cabin is rustic and comfortable. The lake is steps away, and gets deep quickly - perfect for diving in! We loved that the north end of the lake was a no wake zone. We spent a couple days at the cabin; a couple days hiking in Crawford Notch; and a couple days doing touristy things like mini-golf, the arcade, go-karts, and seeing Polar Caves. We spent the evenings reading and using the Wi-Fi; roasted marshmallows over the fire pit; and watched the stars. The charcoal grill was just the right size to cook burgers and dogs for the 4 of us. Our only regret is we couldn't stay for a second week.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love when people experience the full awesomeness of the lakes region. So glad you had a great week! Annd thanks for the terrific review! Tom & Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

×
This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.
Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Manchester NH
Nearest Motorway
8 Miles
US Rt 93 and NH 104,exit 23
Car: recommended

Even with its secluded location, this property in the heart of NH lakes region location provides an unbelievable variety of choices close by. Adults enjoy the fine restaurants, concerts, craft shops, discount outlets, antique shops and many historic places to see. Children can spend time at miniature golf, go carts, video arcades, bowling, fishing, swimming, canoeing, tennis, water parks, amusement parks, jet-ski rentals, or any number of other things close by. Side trips to the White Mountains or Atlantic coast provide many opportunities for hiking, sightseeing, and tours. Many special events are hosted nearby, such as the Scottish Highland games, the annual Laconia motorcycle rally, and the NH Motor Speedway hosts major auto races.

Other Activities: Arcades, Drive-In Movies, skateboard park,zipline tours, aerialtreetop adventures,Segway Tours.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Winnisquam Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
AUTUMN 9/9-10/7
Sep 10 2016 - Oct 7 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
6/2-9 Fri-Fri
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 9 2017
7 night minimum stay
$900
 
 
6/18-23 Sun-Fri
Jun 18 2017 - Jun 23 2017
5 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
SUMMER 6/23 - 8/24 Fri-Fri's
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,400
 
 
8/25-9/1 Fri-Fri
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
9/1-9/8 Fri-Fri Labor Day
Sep 2 2017 - Sep 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,200
 
 
9/8-10/6
Sep 9 2017 - Oct 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$1,400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

2017 DATES & RATES:
5/19-26 = $900 Fri-Fri
*Memorial W/E 5/26-29 Fri-Mon $600, OR 5/26-6/2 $1,000 Fri-Fri,
OR 5/29-6/2 $500 Mon-Fri
6/2-9 =$900 Fri-Fri
6/9-18=$1200 9 nights Fri-Sun BIKE WEEK RESERVED
6/18-23 =$800 Sun-Fri (5 nights)
6/23-8/25 =$1400 Fri-Fri weekly rates
8/25-9/8 = $1200 Fri-Fri weekly rates
9/8-10/6 = $1000 Fri-Fri weekly rates

Explained in email correspondence.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Winnisquam Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 2 double
    Bedroom - 1 double
    Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , ships ladder to loft
  • 1 room with one double bed, 1 room with two double beds, 2 single beds in loft sleeping areas. Blankets and pillows included. Please supply your own bed linens and towels.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Pedal Boat
  • Small Cooler
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 fulls, 2 twins. Canoe. Staircase to waterfront. WIRELESS is available, but may NOT be compatible to all computers or locations on property. PETS: 2 dog maximum, must be using anti-flea products.

Partner Offers