Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Bedrooms 4, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 8

A magnificent 18th century palace on a quiet street in the beautiful, and now chic and trendy Marais District of Paris, offers a special apartment for fortunate guests. Enter through a high portal into a quiet and beautiful courtyard lined with boxed Magnolias. Then enter through a private door directly into the apartment. The light from the courtyard enters the apartment, but cunning glass French doors prevent any prying eyes from seeing inside, while the insiders have an unobstructed view of the courtyard. The large entry hall, lined with 18th century stone is still modern and welcoming, with planted lemon trees, interesting antiques from the owners' travels, and attractive paintings. Add to this every modern comfort. The apartment is on two floors with two separate living rooms. There are two master bedrooms on the entry floor each with its own modern bathroom, and one double and one with two twin beds, and its own sitting area, on the lower floor. The two floors are separated by a charming spiral staircase. There is a beautiful dining room which seats 10 easily, a nice kitchen, and much more.

It is located in one of Parisians' most favored locations, the Marais. From the mid-thirteenth century, the Marais became one of the most important aristocratic areas of Paris. By World War II the Marais had declined, but a major effort was made beginning in the 1950's to renovate the area. The main palaces and mansions were restored and turned into museums: the Picasso Museum, the Paris Historical Museum and the Cognac-Jay Museum are now prominent and worthy of a visit. In turn, this building has been returned to its former glory by an eminent designer/developer and a very few privileged owners have apartments in it. The Georges Pompidou Museum, France's national Museum of Modern Art and one of the world's most important cultural institutions, was built on the western edge of the Marais. Richard Rogers and Renzo Piano were the architects of this architecturally revolutionary building. The Marais has become incredibly chic and you will find trendy shops, countless art galleries, and all varieties of restaurants and cafes. You can shop away and dine very well between museum visits!

The Pompidou, Picasso, Carnavelet Museums, the Place de Voges, The Seine, the Cathedral of Notre Dame are a 10 mn walk. You will also find the Opera not far away. Two metros are less than a 4 minute walk, RER a 7 minute walk, 2 bus stops within 2 Minutes.

More Details

Property Manager
Susan Doull
Speaks: english, french, spanish, italian
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
June 29, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Wonderful stay with family I can only highly recommend this apartment.This rental is very well decorated and the bedding is very comfortable.
Jan 2017
  • 1 of 11

Amenities

Sainte-Avoye Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • restaurants

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

In Paris' Marais District in an Historic Palace, Artfully Restored 4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom Apartment.
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 28 reviews
1

Would not stay here again!

  • 1 of 5

One star, I would NOT rent again. Great location, but the other info is very misleading. First there is NO A/C in the apartment as advertised. There are NOT two master bedrooms on the entry (first) floor. Bedroom one is enclosed by glass and French doors. Very little privacy with drapes that don’t completely cover the doors. Very little privacy off the main living area. The bedroom is connected to a bathroom with a door that open into a hallway. This shower/bath tub is not even completely enclosed or has a shower curtain, which leads to a wet floor and having to mopping the bathroom floor after every shower. The second bedroom is next to the entrance and again is only separated by a glass door. The second bath is at the opposite end of the apartment through the dining room and kitchen and opens into the kitchen. There are only windows and a doors on one wall of the apartment which prevents poor ventilation. The top floor was very hot.

The spiral staircase to the bottom floor is very narrow and treacherous. The bottom floor has no windows or doors, but is cooler. The bathroom is adequate but has what looks like black mold. Also due to the thick stone walls internet reception is very poor on the bottom floor.

The washer that literally holds one outfit and takes 4 hours to wash. It was a joke.

It was like staying in a youth hostel. If they renovated and updated the place it has the potential to be fantastic.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This apartment so beloved by so many that stay there was clearly not for you. So much of what you say is distorted or not true. There are definitely two lovely bedrooms on the entry floor. They are well designed, so that when wanted , they can open open up into the living area. If you raise the lovely, and completely private-producing draperies, yes, there are glass doors, well-covered,that we find a charming feature, for opening up the space. However with curtains in place, it is totally private, and offers just as much privacy as a wall. Some people like baths, some prefer showers. Shower/tub combos are common in Europe, and when the shower curtain is pulled, the floor remains dry. The thick stone walls keep the apartment beautifully cool except in exceptional heatwaves. But I know that your real problem was that you had not experienced a European washer before, and because they run cycles much more slowly than American ones, you insisted it was broken, and when we did not send someone to see you on a holiday Sunday, you were not happy. In fact, you warned us that if someone did not get over there on that Sunday, you would write a bad review. Most people don’t come to Europe to run laundry as a prime objective, and this machine is standard and works to European standards. So be it. To suggest that this beautiful apartment is like a Hostel is absurd. The pictures tell the story. I know that the rest of your group enjoyed it because they told me. I am sorry that you could not, too.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Dallas, TX
4

Nice accommodations and superb location

  • 4 of 5

Wonderful to have four bedrooms in such a prime location. Circular staircase a bit of a challenge, but we weren't really there much!! A bit hard to reach a local contact when a fuse blew, but all in all, we'd recommend Vivaldi!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paris in Marias district

  • 5 of 5

The apt is beautiful and the neighborhood was nice but we were so busy touring the sites of Paris we didn't tour the neighborhood except to get to our destinations. The owners/managers left helpful notes throughout the place that helped us navigate their beautiful home. We didn't have luck getting our clothes dry and a tea kettle might be nice addition to heat water as the microwave was also a bit confusing but neither of those restraints are major. The bedding was upscale, the house was spotless and 6 adults had room to visit each other or find their own cubby. One other note that wasn't a problem for us but could be a concern for others is two bedrooms are down a very steep spiral staircase and there are no windows at that level, otherwise the place is as advertised. Thank you for making our first visit to Paris welcoming and comfortable!

  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for writing. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am not sure why there wasn't a tea kettle , as all of our apartments have them. We will get another in there, asap! The clothes dryer instructions should be part of your introduction to the apartment. I will be reminding the greeter, in case he forgot. If you missed the sites of the neighbourhood, like the Picasso Museum, the Place de Vosges, and the Beaubourg Museum ( Modern Art), you will just have to come back. It was a pleasure to have you. Susan and the Commendable Rentals Team
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

Traveling with 3 children and 3 older adults. 8 of us total and this place was perfect! We would stay here again for sure!

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and delighted that you would like to come back. Thank you for writing. We would love to have you return, and hope that you do. Best wishes, Susan and the Commendable Rentals Tearm.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, as described. Fabulous views!

  • 5 of 5

property and house is exactly as described. Pool is small but nice. Fabulous views.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Large place just as described

  • 5 of 5

There was 7 people in our party & we all enjoyed the stay very much. There was plenty of space & the place was exactly as it was described & pictured online. Very quiet house w/restaurants/markets nearby.

Due to the strikes in France our timing changed and the staff was extemely accommodating & stepped to help us out on short notice.

I had only two minor suggestions for future visitors (which they were open to) but otherwise everything was great & I'd recommend this house. We'll definitely consider Commendable Renters for our next vacation!

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that your visit to Paris was a happy one and all that you hoped for. Vivaldi, with its 4 generous Bedrooms has proved to be such a happy place for large families or groups of friends to stay together and enjoy all the all the beauty and culture that Paris offers. We are pleased to know that you will use Commendable Rentals for the future, and remind you that we have wonderful properties around France and Italy, as well as other European countries, South Africa, and even Colombia. All the best, Susan
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Other Activities:

Eiffel Tower

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates Posted are for 4 People; Supplement for 5-8 people. End Clean of €250 added to all Bookings. Accidental Damage insurance of €75 required on all Bookings. 50% deposit at booking; balance due 60 days prior to arrival.
    Credit cards possible.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties