Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Perfect Base For Exploring Skye And The Cuillin

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Cottage With Loch & Mountain Views

Nyumbani is a traditional single storey Skye cottage situated in its own wrap around gardens overlooking beautiful Loch Harport on the stunning west coast of the Isle of Skye. Nyumbani mean 'our home', in Swahili, and this aptly describes this attractive cottage, with its homely lounge/dining room with open fire, deep leather sofas, family sized kitchen and 3 generously proportioned bedrooms. There is a lovely conservatory that provides a second lounge area, with large flat screen TV and DVD. Doors open onto the fully enclosed gardens that surround the property. Bed linen & towels provided.


Owner
Diana Gerrard
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 10, 2017

Map

Car: recommended

Skye is renowned for its climbing and walking and, within close proximity of the Cuillin mountains and McLeod's Tables, Nyumbani is ideally located for this. For those who prefer less energetic exercise there are lovely walks direct from the property, with every chance of encountering a resident otter or seal in the bay as well as the occasional rare sea eagle which are known to nest along this coastline. There are numerous places of interest within easy reach. Talisker Distillery is situated just along the road, and Dunvegan Castle, seat of the Clan MacLeod since the 13th century and the oldest inhabited castle in Scotland is just a short drive away.

The pretty harbour town of Portree is about 20 minutes drive away. Set around its natural harbour, with spectacular hills and mountains beyond, Portree is a quintessentially picturesque fishing village. Brightly painted cottages cluster round the active harbour where some of the finest fish restaurants can be found. along with an excellent selection of local shops, pubs and other restaurants as well as a superb leisure centre with 25 metre swimming pool, sauna, steam room and table tennis, all available to visitors.

Amenities

Isle of Skye Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 family bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

46% Complete
38% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A Perfect Base For Exploring Skye And The Cuillin
average rating of 4.3076925 based on 13 reviews
Alabama
5

Amazing view

  • 5 of 5

Loved our time here.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, Surrey
5

Clean and cosy cottage

  • 5 of 5

We are a couple in mid 30s stayed for a week from Boxing Day and were joined by another couple for the New Year. We arrived late at night and were very pleased to find cottage very warm and cosy inside. Pictures don't do justice to this place, it has plenty of space and really well equipped kitchen. It's a shame the weather was quite vile throughout the trip and we didn't get a chance to enjoy the lovely garden. Great location, 10 min walking distance to amazing Oyster Shed and about 15 to the Old Inn if not keen on cooking or 20 min drive to Portree for something more special. This place is a true gem and I understand the parking situation (mentioned in few reviews) will be resolved shortly however I must say we had no problem parking opposite the house and when joined by our friends for a few days we managed to park 2 cars easily outside. Already thinking about next trip to Isle of Skye in late spring and if decided wouldn't even bother looking anywhere else. Most definitely will be coming back here. If you are after space, privacy and a home away from home this is the place.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice and clean with a beautiful setting.

  • 4 of 5

This is the second time we've stayed at this cottage,with friends. Beautiful setting with loads of space for the kids and dog to run around in,when not outdoors. The place was clean and tidy with everything we needed at hand. We would not hesitate to use this cottage again.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable Cottage for Family

  • 4 of 5

The unit was nice with two separate living areas to spread out. The owner and caretaker were extremely responsive as the unit needed attention when we arrived, and everything was taken care of in a timely manner. Both Diana and Keith were very friendly and helpful. We would certainly stay there again. The hiking around the Cuillin Mountains was awesome.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5

The first thing we noticed was the sign. Or rather, the lack of it. The rain was torrenting down, and if we hadn't seen the picture of the house on the website we'd have driven straight past it. There's a tiny number 5 on the house, but it's not readable from the road, and certainly not in the rain and the dark, as it was when we arrived.

The second thing we noticed was the lack of parking. We'd taken a 9-seater minibus, and there was simply nowhere we could put it. The amount of traffic on the road meant that it wouldn't have been safe to put it in the passing place, and the one piece of ground big enough was too soft and wet to take such a large vehicle. I understand there are plans to rectify this in winter 2016. Fortunately, the very next house has a large tarmac yard and drive and they agreed to let us park by their house. As this was by arrangement with the current occupiers, as it's a holiday home too, this may not be something you'd want to rely on. We had nice neighbours.

Once we got inside, the house was welcoming, roomy, beautifully decorated and furnished, and scrupulously clean. The sun room is marvellous. We had 7 people and a dog, and didn't feel cramped. With 4 single beds, 1 double, and several huge couches, there was lots of room. The entrance through the utility room is a good choice when entering with wet dog or muddy boots, and the washer and dryer saw a lot of use while we were there, as it rained for two days. The kitchen is well equipped for simple cooking and meal prep, although the kitchen knives were quite dull no matter how much I tried to sharpen them. We had to resort to my utility knife to cut some gammon we'd bought for tea, as none of the kitchen knives would cut it.

The price was very reasonable, taken at per person pricing. The views are utterly stunning. Whether you wanted somewhere as a base for exploring, or just somewhere to curl up on a huge sofa with a drink, a book and a world-class view down the valley - this place would be hard to beat. The caretaker is local, and the welcome pack gives all the needed contact details. And a useful bonus - all the appliance manuals!

Tip: take a tarpaulin or plastic sheet - we lay that down in the huge back garden on the one clear night we got, and lay there for hours while the sky filled up with stars.

Superb place, and the owner was very pleasant to deal with through emails. Fix the sign and add some parking and it'll deserve the fifth star.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
4

Comfortable and Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

Very happy with the cottage lovely location .Everything supplied.Couple of issues when we arrived, due to mix up with dates

but after contacting owner these were soon rectified.Not really much locally had a drink in the Inn which was pleasant athough quite busy for food.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to add your review, as we always find the feedback helpful. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were happy at the cottage, after the initial mix up. I have now resolved to send regular updated bookings schedules to the caretaker to ensure no repeat. I am glad we were able to rectify quickly enough that it did not effect your stay. If you are in the area again, as well as the Inn at Carbost, there is a hotel in Portnalong which also has a bar (which does provide some alternative) - and a bit further away there is the Sligachan, which serves food and drink all day (at least in the summer).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.