Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large 3 Bedroom Apartment (F), 2Bathrooms,wi-fi, 7 Minutes Walk To Tube Station

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,184 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3bed Flat, 2 Bathrooms London (25 minutes to City centre)

Maximum availability allowed on this property is 90 days per year

Other rental properties in the Local area

www.homeaway.co.uk/p8282125 www.homeaway.co.uk/p8282038

www.homeaway.co.uk/p8208634 www.homeaway.co.uk/p6969948

=========================================================

Situated in West London, is our 3 bedroom flat with 2 bathrooms, 2 Bathrooms, kitchen, living and dinning room.

The flat is perfectly located for easy access to all of London's attractions as the tube underground station is on the doorstep, making it just six stops to Heathrow Airport in one direction and eight stops to the City Centre ( 20 minutes) in the other direction.

The apartment consists of a spacious lounge / dining room/ kitchen,2 bathrooms and 3 double bed rooms (with Tv), which are very well equipped, offering all the modern appliances you would require on your holiday.

Local area

There is an excellent range of shops in the local area for fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, seafood, bakery and organic produce together with a large variety of restaurants, wine bars and pubs, Tesco super market, all within easy walking distance of 5 minutes.

It links to central London by tube in 25 minutes and to Heathrow Airport in 20 minutes. Local Parks are Lammas and Walpole (5 minutes walk).

Please note we have a number of 1 Bed, 2Bed, 3Bed and 4Bed apartments in similar locations if the above rental is not available (fill in our application form and we will send you the details)

Transport: Transport:

The apartment is just 7 minutes walk from the tube underground station, in West London which is on the Piccadilly Line and 20 minutes to the City Centre.

Car travel:

The apartment is 2km from Junction 2 of the M4 and 4km from the A40. The M40, M25, M1 and M3 motorways are easily accessible from Ealing.

The apartment has road parking.

10 Top attractions: Thames River Boat Cruise

1.Thames River Boat Cruise

2.Tower of London

3.Westminster Abbey

4.London Bridge Experience

5.Windsor Castle

6.St. Paul’s Cathedral

7.Shakespeare's Globe Theatre Tour and Exhibition

8.Tower Bridge Exhibition

9.Hampton Court Palace

10.Churchill War Rooms

LONDON SIGHTSEEING: LONDON SIGHTSEEING

Here are the ten top London tourist attractions for London sightseeing trip.

The Changing of the Guard at Buckingham Palace and on Horse Guards Parade are free displays of colourful Royal pageantry. In August and September Buckingham Palace itself is open to visitors. Take a look at the Houses of Parliament and the famous clock tower that houses Big Ben. Other must-see London sights include the London Bridge and nearby Tower of London with its colourful 'Beefeaters', British Museum, Princess of Diana's memorial and Madame Tussauds. Of course, you have to ride on the London Eye - the new landmark for London! London has some of the finest parks in the world. If you have time, pay a visit to Hamstead Health and Kew Garden - you will feel some peaceful in a busy city!

More Details

Property Manager
J Noel
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

Amenities

Ealing Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1184 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
32% Complete
12% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
Large 3 Bedroom Apartment (F), 2Bathrooms,wi-fi, 7 Minutes Walk To Tube Station
average rating of 4.04 based on 25 reviews
Naperville, IL
1

Disappointed

  • 1 of 5

Was really disappointed with the unclean state. Carpets very dirty, place very dirty upon arrival. Not at all maintained. After complaining, the person responsible was responsive ti our request to clean the apt and it was cleaned again but not up to standard. Got pictures to prove it. Only one bulb working in living room. It was very hot so we removed the covers from the comforters only to discover them dirty and stained. We're quite disgusted. Never again!

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: On the 2nd day, the guest said the apartment was not clean and there was a leak in the sink of the top bathroom. We sent a cleaner to the apartment a couple hours later. We arrived to find a clean apartment. However, to ensure the guest was happy,, we asked the cleaner to clean again any area the guest was unhappy with. After an hour the guest asked the cleaner to stop for she was happy with everything. We checked under the sink but could find no leak. A couple of days later, the guest said that there still a leak in the sink and that that the shower was slow to drain. She also mentioned about compensation because there were so many problems. We came again that day an inspected the sink. We put toilet paper on the shelf under the sink and ran the tap for 20 minutes. Not a single drop landed on the toilet paper. It was this point she said that it was an inconsistent leak. She said that she sometimes comes to the bathroom and there is water on the floor and shelf and refused to accept that there was no leak. The reason that there was water all over the place was that that were quite a few of them and they were quite messy when they washed and so water ended up everywhere. She was correct that the shower did drain a little slower and so we poured down some drain blocker. There are no carpets in the rooms or the hall of the apartment. The staircase that leads to the apartment is carpeted to help minim noise to the neighbour in the apartment downstairs. It is clean but agree it does get a lot of traffic since this leads to the entrance of the apartment.(That is purpose of the carpet). At the top the stairs as you enter thee apartment, there is a shoe cupboard where guests can leave all their shoes, etc. Re: her comment on the comforters/duvets being dirty and stained. Fresh new bed linen is always provided. It is impossible for me to comment on this issue because the guest never mentioned anything about them during her stay even when we visited her twice. I find this completely strange since she had never been slow to mention anything else whether it was a real issue or not. We even have spare duvets in the wardrobe and so you would have thought she would have used those if the ones on the bed were not clean. We have obviously had new guests since and have not viewed any dirty duvets. I really struggle to understand the comment that the apartment was not cleaned up to their standard. The apartment was left in a complete mess after they departed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond VA
3

Excellent Location for a London visit

  • 3 of 5

The flat is in a great location. Easy to arrive from Heathrow or King's Cross with a Piccadilly Line stop really a 7 minute walk from the front door. The town is quiet which was nice to come back to after a long day of hustle and bustle in the city. There are excellent coffee shops and restaurants just around the corner. The flat itself was adequate. For 3 of us, we managed well. I don't feel like the flat is big enough to comfortably fit as many people as the number of beds would hold. The flat was clean and the beds comfortable. The shower can be tricky to operate but you pretty quickly get the hang of it. The living room was crowded and the sofas not very comfortable. It worked for us, as we didn't spend much time in the flat other than to sleep and shower. When we had dinner in, it was cheese, bread, olives and ham, nothing that required any cooking.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Well located, ideal for families

  • 4 of 5

This apartment suited our family of six very well. One of its best features is its location, in a pleasant, safe neighbourhood just a ten minute walk from a Piccadilly tube station. There are numerous restaurants, a nice pub, excellent bakery and a good grocery store all nearby. In the apartment, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were adequate. There were no face cloths or hand towels provided. My daughter and I are tea drinkers and missed having a tea pot. However, these are minor things. We really enjoyed our week-long stay in this property.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect London Flat

  • 5 of 5

This flat was perfect for our group of 5 adults. It was close by tube to Heathrow and not far from downtown (by tube). The Tesco Express was very close and we loved the butcher nearby. We found that there were a lot of things within walking distance of the flat, food, drink, groceries, etc. The area was residential and very quiet for city life. The flat itself was not big by American standards but there was plenty of room for the 5 of us to spread out after a day of sightseeing. I would definitely recommend this place and would consider renting again for a future trip to London.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great location, apartment first class,

  • 5 of 5

Listing details was accurate, location was excellent, layout and facilities excellent, was the best holiday let we have booked so far.

The property was clean and well maintained and the owner agent was very helpful during our stay. The local area offered plenty of restaurants and activities of high quality

I will be pleased to use this rental again.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

In need of some TLC

  • 2 of 5

Great location for being out of the city. It's close to a grocery store and a short walk to the Northfields underground station. The apartment itself needed some attention. The upstairs bathroom had a panel that was loose and that would prevent the door from opening. They had a beautiful tub in there, but it didn't work. Each room had a TV that either didn't work or the remote had no batteries. Also some big cracks in the ceiling and minor cracks on walls. It seemed to me that this location was on its way to become a beautiful little home and the intentions were there, but seems to not have been complete. I believe that if this location received some more attention on maintenance and focus on the little things like providing the small essentials to the renters it will be a great location.

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is a great apartment in a lovely location. Unfortunately, communication was pretty poor from the guest. They arrived at the apartment and complained that there was nobody there to meet them. Full instructions had been sent to them weeks before detailing on how they could retrieve they keys through the key box. When they called, we told them over the phone how to get the keys through the key box. It seems like they didn’t read their information pack at all during their stay. The beautiful bath tub works fine. If water pressure is low, you just need to follow the instructions and turn the water cock. The TVs work fine but you obviously need to use the correct remote control for the correct TV. They had mixed up the remote controls and were using the wrong remote controls for each TV. One remote control for one of the TVs did not have batteries. A simple phone call or email to us and we would have replaced promptly. However, there was still another working remote control that worked fine for that TV. The bathroom panel underneath the shower was perfectly fine before the guests arrived. When the guests departed, we discovered that one side of the bath panel had broken off. This was promptly fixed by us when the guests left. However, we are a little surprised that the guests didn’t inform us during or even after their booking since this happened during their stay. We also discovered that the head board for one of our single beds was broken after their stay. Again, it would have been nice to been informed during or after their stay. This has now been fixed. My recommendation is that guests read the information pack when they stay at this or any holiday let. Additionally, if there is any small problem, please contact the owner/manager so they can resolve it for you. If nobody knows, they are not aware and cannot resolve it for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Heathrow
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Thames
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Greenford
Nearest Train
0.3 Kilometres
Northfields Underground Station
Nearest Motorway
3 Kilometres
M4
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Northfields avenue
Nearest Beach
80 Kilometres
South end
Car: necessary

Lammas Park (5 minutes walk from holiday rental)

Tennis courts and a nature area are located opposite Culmington Road.

Access: Culmington Road, Elers Road, Northfields Avenue and Clovelly Road.

Facilities: Nature area, bowling greens, croquet pitch, tennis courts, junior football pitch, playground, playcentre

Restaurants (5 minutes walk from apartment)

http://www.allinlondon.co.uk/tube-northfields-restaurants.php

Tesco shopping 2 minutes walk from apartment

Ealing Broadway Shopping Complex/Accade (( Largest shopping complex in Ealing)

(20 minutes walk from apartment or 10 minutes by local bus E2).

http://www.ealingbroadwayshopping.co.uk/Shops

Top ten London attractions which are easily accessible from your apartment are: British Museum, Tate Modern, National Gallery, National History Museum, the London Eye, Science Museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds, the Tower of London and the National Maritime Museum.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ealing Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
summer
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$232
$1,403
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest
 
christmas
Dec 18 2017 - Jan 7 2018
5 night minimum stay
$232
$1,403
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$206
$1,146
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $13 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $83.67
Additional Guest Fee $12.87 per person per night

Maximum availability, 139 nights per year
Methods of payments :
Deposit required = 25%
All rates are in £ sterling

Bookings / Payment methods :-
1. Bookings / Payments can be made through the Web site using all major credit/Debit cards
2. Bookings / Payment can also be made outside the web site, by Credit or Debit card ( all major credit cards accepted)
Telephone +44 (0)20 8614 0722 / +44 (0)7778146497
3. We also accept payments by PayPal or Bank transfer outside the Web site
4. Same day booking can only accepted outside the Web site using PayPal / Bank transfer / Credit and Debit card
If you are making an enquire or booking outside the web site, press the link "Enquire Now"

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Available
Unavailable