check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Cindi Anderson

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

Private Luxury w/Stunning Views, Heated Pool, Excellent Reviews! 65' HDTV

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Private, Amazing Ocean Views, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, Heated Pool

Luxury Home with the Best Views on the Kona Coast (Big Island of Hawaii).

  

You'll love our large, heated pool! (This is not very common in Hawaii, but it is nice!) Travertine decking around the pool for the ultimate luxury.

Picture yourself lounging around the pool with the huge blue ocean always in sight, napping on the hammock, or reading on the tropical lanai sofas. Imagine one gorgeous sunset after another, framed by the palm lined coastline and the lights of Kona. Enjoy them with a glass of wine, Hawaiian music playing, surrounded by your family and friends. This is what you will find yourself doing at Kona View House.

We purchased and began renting our home a few years ago and from the beginning received excellent reviews and repeat customers. Since then we have spent over $250,000 on additional improvements!! Our rents are priced much lower than comparable homes. Given the size and qualiy of the house, yard and views, most homes are charging hundreds more per night. We are charging less because we live here half the year and often don't want to take bookings far in advance. We rent it just to pay for the constant upgrades we are always making.

Our home contains Tommy Bahama-style tropical furnishings and tropical art on almost every wall. Lots of teak and bamboo. Gorgeous lanais. Solar-Heated pool. hammock. 4 flat screen smart TV's including a 65' Big Screen. X-Box with games. DVD Library.

Large kitchen with Cuisinart appliances and cookware. High thread count sheets, thick and thirsty towels. Sleeps up to 9 comfortably, 10 possible depending on the situation.. We welcome kids, and they love to play in the extra large pool! (But should be supervised for safety)

Your stay at Kona View House is also environmentally friendly, since we have 33 grid-tied solar panels which produce all the power we use!

Our 25+ 5 star reviews assure you that you will have the vacation of your lives! Guests return to Kona View House year after year, and even have come back to get married!

WATCH OUR NEW FLY-OVER VIDEO! (see video camera icon above, just below the listing headline)

Please click on owner info to view our property website, where we have dozens more photos and info on Kona! We have stayed at many vacation rentals ourselves, and have included every amenity we could think of, so you can have the vacation of your dreams.

* Coolers, boogie boards, beach chairs and pool floats

* Storage containers to protect your food.

* High end linens and towels.

* Hawaiian CD's to get you in the aloha mood!

* High speed wireless internet.

* Large gas grill (replaced often due to the tough environment)

* Fully equipped, spacious and modern kitchen, full size washer and dryer, refrigerator with ice and water in door; new double oven, Cuisinart cookware and appliances (coffee maker, blender, toaster), rice cooker, lots of the cooking gadgets, ironing board and iron, hair dryers.

* 4 smart TV's with HD channels, can use your Netflix, Amazon, Hulu accounts.

* Sony Audio/Home Theater system.

* DVD library (a selection of movies for adults and kids)

* Book library

* Games

The house is on 2 floors. Upstairs is the kitchen, living room with big TV, dining room, main lanai, bedroom with king bed and ensuite bath, private den/bedroom with pull out memory foam queen bed, and powder room. Downstairs are two bedrooms with 1 full bathroom in the hallway between them. Both bedrooms downstairs walk out to the lower travertine lanais, and the pool. One is a wonderful room with queen bed. The other has a queen and a twin bed, and an armoire with x-box.

We are centrally located, just a 5-10 minute drive from downtown Kailua-Kona. Everything from Wal-mart and Safeway to the cute downtown shops and restaurants of Kailua-Kona can be reached in just a few minutes. You can even be snorkeling at one of the local beaches in just a few minutes. The airport is 15 minutes north, the mega resorts and beaches are 30 minutes north, and the Volcano is 2.5 hours south.

In terms of weather, because we are on the side of a mountain, you can choose your weather by elevation. Down toward the water it is very hot with little breeze. You would often want air conditioning at that elevation. Up at 1200-1500 feet it's quite cool; homes have fireplaces and residents wear long pants. Most people believe 600-800 feet elevation is ideal, and our home is at 650 feet. It's warm enough to feel that you are in Hawaii, but almost never gets too warm. In the evening, cool air comes down the mountain, and you can control the temperature in the house by opening and closing the front door to allow this air in or not. (Note that up north where the resorts are, it is often quite windy, but here we only get light breezes.) We do have 7 ceiling fans for warm days.

Many of our guests report that they had all kinds of plans to visit places around the island, but they actually spent a lot of their time at the house, floating in the pool, hanging out on the lanai and watching the sunset, not wanting to leave. This is the experience we try to provide.

Certainly there are many vacation rentals you can choose from, but we hope you will choose ours so we can share this magical place with you. There are places that are less expensive, but we have yet to see something comparable to ours in terms of views, amentities, luxury, and style, for less. Don't forget all the ways we will save you $ on your vacation! You can cook your meals at home, and you will have no rental costs for beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, boogie boards, coolers and snorkel gear.

Note: We do not allow parties; only guests staying at the home, and others as pre-authorized.

Hawaii Tax ID W45307256-01

Keywords: house, home, ocean view, pool, single family, neighborhood, views, luxury, villa

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Cindi Anderson (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english

About Cindi Anderson

We are an artist and an engineer, recently retired. We love brew pubs and happy hours with friends (our profile photo shows us at Humpy's Alehouse ) We started coming to Hawaii in 1990 and kept returning to the Big Island for it's raw beauty and Aloha spirit. We now are lucky enough to spend several months a year here, and the remainder skiing and biking at our home in Idaho.

Cindi Anderson purchased this house in 2006

Why Cindi Anderson chose Kona Coast

Gorgeous unobstructed views, high-end quiet neighborhood. While our home was already nice when we bought it, improving it has been a labor of love. These improvements have included decorating, opening walls, remodeling all the bathrooms, adding 1500sf of travertine around the pool, building a 1000 sf deck, new flooring, adding solar power, solar pool heat and an electric heat pump, replacing doors, windows, trim, flooring, and of course the constant maintenance that a tropical environment requires. But when you see it, and see our views, you will understand why it is worth it!

What makes this house unique

Our home is one of the original Kona vacation rental homes (when we started in 2006 everyone told us we were crazy renting out a high end house with great furniture!) But we know what people want and need when they are on vacation and have tried to provide those things. This is not an investment to us, we live here part of the year. We have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars on furnishing and remodeling. This home is very personal and important to us and we treat our guests as if they are family. The house is in a great, safe neighborhood, with amazing views, but it is close and convenient to everything. The backyard is the best! You will love it! It's so peaceful, with all the tropical plants, the views, the pool, all to yourself. Whether you stay home all day, or return after a long day at the beach or the volcano, it's a wonderful place to relax. You can lounge and watch the kids play and swim (there are lots of floaties and pool toys), someone can get the BBQ going on the gas grill, or just relax on the hammock or lounge chairs, or on one of the many lanais. It really is a special place. It's one of those places you'll think about when you are told to go to your happy place. You'll be back in my yard in your mind, marveling at the shades of blue and turquoise in the Pacific Ocean ;-)

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed our stay at your house. The view is spectacular and rain or shine it never disappoints.
Mar 2009
  • 1 of 4

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)
Private Luxury w/Stunning Views, Heated Pool, Excellent Reviews! 65' HDTV
average rating of 4.9714284 based on 39 reviews
5

What an amazing place

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic week in Kona. The house is beautiful with amazing views over the coast. We enjoyed magnificent sunsets from the house every evening. The house is decorated with a lovely Hawaiian feel and had everything that you would need. The check-in and check-out worked really well.

Big Island is one of the most amazing places we have visited. Every 10 miles that we drove the climate and landscape changed. The far north had scenery like Scotland with rain and mist. 20 minutes later we were in dessert and 94 degrees. Hilo had lush tropical landscapes along with the area close to where Captain Cook landed. As I come from Yorkshire it was quite moving that he had discovered Hawaii so far from home!

A fantastic holiday that I can highly recommend.

Craig.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay while visiting the big island of Hawaii.

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home was perfect for our family of 8 adults. The house was stocked with everything we needed for our week vacation. It was so nice to have all the toys for our beach days including chairs, towels, umbrellas, coolers and more. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals when we didn't want to go out including a grill by the pool. The location was great and central to all of our exploring and close to town if we needed to go shopping. The owners were always prompt in returning e-mails and quickly refunded our deposit. We would love to rent here again on a return trip to the Big Island. I was worried that there was no air conditioning but opening all the windows and using the fans cooled the house off nicely.

Thank you Cindi,

Michelle Hollis

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Michelle! Great to hear from you. We love happy guests :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great home for big family

  • 4 of 5

We stayed for 6 days in this residence! Great home with lots of amenities a bit outdated but great for a big family.

Warnings: neighbors can be really loud and you can be overcharged for cleaning! You are charged over $300 for cleaning and on top of that they can keep a portion of your deposit if the cleaning crew think they need to do their job!

Make sure you return the place as you got it if you want your deposit back fully!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear your family enjoyed the home. We, like most Vacation Rental owners, collect a security deposit to cover excess cleaning and damage. In 10 years, you are the 2nd from whom we have withheld anything. In your case the cleaners spent several extra hours cleaning things like play-doh in the carpet, and charged us $100 extra, which is exactly what we withheld. In our house rules we recommend contacting us immediately when any neighbors are being loud, so we can contact the owners who can solve the problem. Something to keep in mind on future visits.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

This house is now a favorite vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

I often rent beautiful homes different places in the United States, for family vacations. I must stay for the total package of what this home, view and pool had to offer, we hope to come here on a regular basis. For 11 years we have been having a summer vacations in Hawaii (often in Maui). This is our second visit to Kona and we love the fact that it has less people, and also easy to get a table without a wait at many of the great restaurants. This home changed how we vacation in Hawaii. We only went to the beach one time. We wanted to stay and enjoy the pool with this amazing ocean view. We often eat most of dinners out, and we only ate one dinner out. It was so beautiful and peaceful at this home, we would bbq most of our meals and just sat at the downstairs patio and enjoyed the view. We loved that no matter what time of day we enjoyed the pool, it was always warm enough. The huge kitchen had everything we could want, and we also loved the new kitchen bar to sit at (while someone else was doing the cooking). Loved all the nice decorations in the home. This home was about a five minute ride from the shops and great restaurants. I would say (except for sleeping) we spent 90% of our time at the house in this amazing backyard, either in the pool or just sitting the chairs/loungers and enjoying the view. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Our new found paradise!

  • 5 of 5

There are so many wonderful things to say about this place I’m not sure where to start. First, the house is awesome. It’s beautifully decorated with a design that allows plenty of room to gather as a family, yet allows an escape for quiet time as each of the bedrooms has its own Lanai. I found the lanai off our bedroom to be a perfect place to read or just relax and enjoy the view. You wake up in the morning and the opportunities are endless, as the location of the home is central to pretty much everything and anything you would like to do. We found many days we just wanted to stay home - the elevation of the property nearly guarantees the weather to be not too warm or too cold! It was convenient to cook our own food and enjoy it outside. We found the kitchen to be organized and well stocked with lovely dinnerware and high end cookware.

I could go on and on… I do have to make special mention of the pool, though. It was a huge hit with all three of the generations in our family. The solar heat is great, but if you find you would like the water even warmer, you can, for a small additional fee, have Cindi turn on the pool heater. We couldn’t get our grandkids out of there! At night, sitting poolside, enjoying the pool lights and the lights of Kailua-Kona, you just can’t help but relax and let go of life’s worries.

Lastly, I need to stress how wonderful Cindi is! She is such a pleasure to work. Cindi, thank you for our holiday perfect! We look forward to our next vacation with you.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. You were a lovely guest and we look forward to having you back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alberta
5

Spacious family home in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

Our extended family stayed at the home earlier this February. Such a nice place. Clean, secure, well situated and immediately felt like home. The house easily allows for enough space for 4 adults and 3 children. The kitchen was big enough to accommodate the main cook and 2 assistants too. The master bedroom mattress was exceptionally comfortable and no one had any trouble sleeping. After some time we found the faster routes to and from places so we didn't have to spend as much time on the #11 (painfully slow for visitors wanting to go north to Kua, Hapuna or other beaches. We've stayed at many VRBOs and this was right up there. In fact, we spend almost every dinner at home. Maybe a few more frying or sauté pans in the kitchen? B&B next door was super quiet as were the surrounding neighbours.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, and happy to hear you enjoyed our home. We had just purchased additional skillets, so there should be about 5. Sometimes they get buried in such a large kitchen, so we'll look around and find where they went. The main highway north is under construction to add more lanes. Between town and Costco there is an upper road shortcut, and that's probably what you are referring to. For future guests, if you turn right on Henry, past the Walmart, that turns into this new road, Ane Keahokalole, which dead ends right above Costco. From there you can continue north on 11. Thanks for the tip Romeo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Humpy's Big Island Alehouse
"Awesome beer on tap, and the True Hawaiian Pizza and Hamburgers are great!"
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
"Awesome fish tacos, kailua pork sliders, sweet potato fries and beer on the bar menu, best p..."
Jackie Rey's Ohana Grill
"Excellent food where all the locals go. I especially like the kalua pork quesadilla's half ..."
Splasher's Grill
"Great location and food. Large menu and everything we've tried so far has been great. Love ..."
Kua Bay Beach Park
"Beautiful beach with sand, lava rock, turqoise and blue water. "

Lava watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Sept 8-10
Sep 6 2016 - Sep 10 2016
3 night minimum stay
$329
 
 
Sept 30-Oct 4
Sep 30 2016 - Oct 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
$329
 
 
Winter 2017
Jan 9 2017 - Apr 22 2017
5 night minimum stay
$449
$3,073
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$429
$2,863
$9,000
 
 
Sept 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$349
$2,303
$7,000
 
 
Ironman 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Oct 15 2017
9 night minimum stay
$600
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 3 2018
14 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
Winter 2018
Jan 4 2018 - Mar 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$449
$3,073
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$399
$2,653
$10,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $275 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 13.42%

Price is for 9 people. 10th person is $10 additional per night, it is not recommended but may be suitable for a limited number of days or small children. Please inquire.

Minimum stay during Christmas depends on exact dates. 2 weeks is generally the minimum at Christmas but 1 week would be OK if it's the week prior to Christmas. $700/night at Christmas.

Ironman 2017 dates tbd but will be 9 days minimum at $600/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
  • California King bed (1) (extra long for tall people!), Queen bed (2), Twin Beds (1), Queen Sleeper Sofa with memory foam mattress (1). 10th person may be possible on an air mattress, depending on the situation. 3 bedrooms have smart tv's so you can watch your Netflix, Amazone or Hulu accounts.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Hammock, Heated Pool

Partner Offers