Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Admiral Cottage, Cosy Thatched Cottage Close To Sea & Sand Dunes

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Cosy Cottage Close To The Sea

Situated in the quiet and picturesque village of Winterton on Sea, Admiral Cottage has been fully refurbished in 2012 to a very high standard including fitted kitchen, spacious confortable lounge with traditional Norfolk Winder staircase up to double room with ensuite shower room ( see photo of steep stairs). Off the lounge is a twin bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Only ten minutes walk to the sandy beach (with children and buckets and spades), beach cafe, shop, fish and chips and local pub nearby (families & dogs welcome). Close to broadland villages offering boat hire or Hemsby and Great Yarmouth for more lively entertainment for all the family.

Admiral Cottage & its sister cottages, Compass Cottage and Beachside Cottage are all in the heart of Winterton on Sea old village and are within a short walk of the beach, pub & shop. Pets are welcome at no charge. See all 3 at www.WintertonHolidayCottages.com

Set in the heart of the Norfolk Broads, Winterton on Sea offers a base to explore wildlife, is ideal for cyclists and walkers, and is well situated for visits to many historical sites including National Trust and privately owned estates. There is also a wealth of family entertainment in the surrounding areas including theme parks, outdoor activity centres, steam trains and country parks as well as many things to see and do inside as well as out.

A pretty thatched cottage with parking on driveway. Comprising entrance lobby, living room with Multifuel log burner & SMART TV, kitchen with dishwasher & washer, 2 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms. Outside is a patio area with furniture and grassed area. Garden is fully enclosed.

Ground floor, twin bedroom with ensuite bathroom, with power shower over bath, digital television. Upstairs (steep stairs) master bedroom – with king size bed, Digital television with en-suite shower room.

Services include Multifuel log burning stove (1st supply provided), Thermostatic electric panel heating all year, double glazing. Bedding, bed linen, duvets, bath robes and fluffy white bath sheets are provided. Parking for one car on drive (note - no access to the garage for guests unless by arrangement to store bikes/canoe). Electric cooker with ceramic hob. Washing machine, dishwasher, under counter fridge with small freezer compartment, microwave. Televisions (SMART TV in living room and bedrooms), Digital TV, DVD player (with selected DVD's), CD player/radio, WIFI, hair-dryer. Enclosed garden with furniture. Selection of toys and games, high chair & travel cot. Welcome pack on arrival. Multiple pets welcome, no smoking.

Please note that Admiral Cottage is a traditional cottage with many original features which include a steep staircase to master suite and lower than usual height internal doors. The room heights are not reduced just doorways. There is also one step between rooms on the ground floor - Porch to lounge, lounge to kitchen and lounge to twin bedroom. The cottage is therefore not suitable for guests with restricted mobility, for any further information or to discuss further please call.

Winterton on Sea is ideally placed to explore the Norfolk coastline with its quiet sandy beaches, picturesque villages, bird sanctuaries and nature reserves. Nature lovers will find the Norfolk Broads a great attraction, as will walkers and cyclists. Above all, Winterton provides an opportunity to get away from it all as its beaches and tranquillity are what make it so special. Compass Cottage lies in the heart of the village and is nearby the local pub, The Fisherman’s Return, a 300 year old establishment offering local ales, good food and facilities for families, including a large safe garden. Historic Norwich lies 20 miles to the West with its fine cathedral, ancient cobbled streets and great shops. Only 25 miles north is the North Norfolk Coast and the well known towns of Cromer, Sheringham and Wells next the Sea and ten miles south lies Great Yarmouth for family entertainment, amusements and all that is traditional for a lively English seaside resort.

More Details

Owner
Miss Samantha White
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 10, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a wonderful holiday cottage, we have stayed at many holiday properties big & small, the owners have gone to a lot of trouble to make sure everything is provided, even down to little things like cotton wool balls in bathroom and spare light bulbs. This cottage is delightful from the time you enter the cosy lounge.

Not far from beach so wonderful for the dogs, they had a great time. Good Beach cafe with sumptuous cakes! Winterton is a lovely village, lots of thatched cottages and roses round the doors. Although in a quiet village not far from the rest of the world!

Sue, Steven & Becci + the two hounds
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 5

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Norwich
Nearest Barpub
50 Metres
Fishermans return
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Great Yarmouth
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Winterton on Sea
Car: recommended

The area around Winterton provides a great variety of different activities to suit different tastes. From coarse fishing, sailing, golf, birdwatching, horse riding and walking for those seeking outdoor pursuits, to National Trust properties and historic Norwich or family entertainment, theatres, horse racing, greyhound race track, fun fairs and amusements in Great Yarmouth (ten miles south).

Amenities

Winterton-on-Sea Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Tiled Stove
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Bathroom 1 is en-suite to 1st floor master suite accessed by very steep stairs Bathroom 2 is en-suite to the twin bedded room on the ground floor Both bathroom have luxury power showers Luxury monogrammed bathrobes available for the master bedroom guests during your stay at Admiral Cottage. Fluffy white towels are provided for all guests; one hand towel and one bath sheet per person.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Bedroom 1 - Master suite with en-suite shower room is on first floor which is accessed by very steep stairs. Not suitable for children, elderly or infirm. Bedroom 2 - Twin bedded room with en-suite bath room (shower over bath) is on ground floor Both bedroom have colour digital TV Hair-dryer provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • sailing
Notes:
Pets are welcome and the rear garden is fully enclosed. We ask that pets are not allowed on furniture or upstairs and are not left alone in the cottage. There is no extra charge for pets. There is a drop leaf dining table and 4 chairs in the lounge.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Admiral Cottage, Cosy Thatched Cottage Close To Sea & Sand Dunes
average rating of 4.642857 based on 47 reviews
5

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5

Everything was wonderful with the property. Beds comfy, endless hot water for the fantastic showers. Kitchen facilities adequate. Very comfy lounge. Very dog friendly garden. Having been to Winterton a few times before, (this property for the first time) this property put the creme on top of the icing on the cake, but to have the fantastic Fishermans Return over the back fence caused a problem, my wife refused to cook for the whole week. Our group had a total of 28 main course meals at the Fishermans Return and every one was perfect served by the very attentive, friendly staff. The only negative comment on this property is the fact that access is not available until 16.OO hrs on the day of arrival, which we feel is a bit late, but would definitely book again.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Homely and comfortable. Good weather helped!

  • 5 of 5

Cottage is nicely kept and suitable for 2 couples and 2 dogs

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy tranquil and very welcoming

  • 5 of 5

Cottage was cozy and unique with all the home comforts... Friendly warming people, dog lovers everywhere and the fisherman's return a must for a meal or two..beautiful freshly cooked food..and the chippy was super too..ready to book in for next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

comfortable cottage, fabulous seaside

  • 4 of 5

Admiral Cottage's strongest selling point is definitely its location - fabulous beaches, dune walks and boat trips on the doorstep. The cottage itself is neat and comfortable, although if like us you are not pet owners, you might notice a faint smell of dog. Having to rely on the fold-out table for meals was a little cumbersome and we were surprised that there was only enough loo roll, dishwasher tablets and bin bags for a couple of days, so that we had to buy our own supplies. But these are minor niggles in what was, overall, a fantastic family holiday experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your response Kathrin, we take all reviews seriously and have looked into the faint dog smell, sorry about the amount of Loo rolls and bin bags but as a self catering Cottage we only supply enough for the first few days, but will be looking into this for future bookings. Many thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Admiral cottage

  • 4 of 5

cosy, compact and comfortable with everything you would need for a holiday. Stairs took some getting used to , nice welcome pack waiting for us , would happily stay agian

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Extremely disappointing holiday property not worth the money. Missed out on a holiday this year.

  • 1 of 5

We have stayed in many dog friendly cottages over the years, but found this property was very very disappointing. I appreciate the cottage is meant to be authentic an oldy worldy, but we found it quite tired looking an quite poor in its cleanliness. The furniture especially the sofa was very smelly and dirty, as was the fridge. In fact the whole property was so extremely odorous, doggy an of a very poor standard that it affected my partner's asthma an we could not stay any longer than the weekend. We were extremely downhearted as we never got our yearly Norfolk holiday an wasted a lot of money on a property not worthy.

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Wayne, sorry to hear the Cottage didn't live up to expectations and can assure you this isn't usually the case, the problems you list have been looked into and remedied were necessary, if only you had notified us you had left you could of had a full refund, many thanks for you review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund