Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 Bed/1BTH waterfront w/sunsets, sandy swimming...2 miles from the village!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 3-5)

The charm of Moonglade Cottage has been captivating families and summer guests for the past 40 years. Location, amenities and the natural beauty of the surrounding area are what keeps these guests returning year after year.

Situated on the eastern shore of Suttons Bay, Moonglade boasts of spectacular sunsets framed by the twin birch trees from the deck off the master bedroom. The screened in porch with antique wicker furniture awaits you at days end to relax or simply hear the pristine blue water of Suttons Bay lap on the beach. The porch is a great place to take a nap or just read a great book while the midday sun hovers ahead. The cottage is equipped with all wood or tile floors (no carpteing), granite/tile bath, compact yet efficient kitchen with all full size appliances and Fisher/Paykel dishwasher, 2 bedroom (queen and doouble/twin bunk) 2 flat panel TV's and all of the amenities of home.

The ambiance of the village of Suttons Bay lies just 2 miles away. Playing host to award winning restaurants, art galleries, and boutique shopping, Suttons Bay is another constant reminder of why guests travel to Leelanau County.

The heartbeat of Northwest Michigan is Traverse City located just 15 minutes away with world class restaurants, shopping and entertainment at nearby Interlochen Center for the Arts or Dennos Center. Be sure to take advantage of it all!

There is NO DOCK due to the low water levels. Swimming is still great but you have to walk out quite far to get waist deep.

Keywords: Waterfront Cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

Amenities

Suttons Bay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
General:
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) second wood floor bedroom has a bunk bed with a double on the bottom and twin on top.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

82% Complete
13% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2 Bed/1BTH waterfront w/sunsets, sandy swimming...2 miles from the village!
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
5

A delightful experience

  • 5 of 5

We love it. We have been coming for several years and return as often as we can. The Moonglade is a compact,well-laid-out two-bedroom bayside cottage, tastefully decorated, with an open kitchen-living room space connecting to a spacious screened in porch. We like the fact that this creates a sizeable area for entertaining, something we regularly do, including a mini-family reunion last year. We have never seen a cottage that integrates exterior and interior spaces better than this one does. There are two patios, adjacent to the cottage one with a large table and chairs suitable for major picnic meals, either prepared in the well-equipped kitchen (with dishwasher) or on the gas grill, and another off the sliding glass door in the main bedroom. As we often need to finish up the last bits of work from our lives downstate, we appreciate the wi-fi. Yet another furnished area for congregating is down two short flights of stairs to the cement patio area on the water. It is all set in the non-touristy, rural Stony Point peninsula, dominated by woods, cherry orchards and not a few stately residences. Downtown Suttons Bay is a 5-10 minute drive away.

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to know you enjoy the Moonglade Cottage so much!! Yes it is a charming located with spectacular views and amenities. See you in August!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Spent 2 nights traveling with our dogs for an appointment in TC. Overall great place, inside was clean. Outside was a bit dirty however we were just arriving before the season started and it had been a few weeks of crap weather. Tom was super accessible to answer any questions. Centrally located to all the wineries....stop at Hop Lot great place!

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to learn you like the location of the Moonglade and amenities it offer in early season! Hope you can return someday - fall and spring are great times to visit too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful views and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We had a relaxing stay at the Moonglade cottage. The location on the penninsula was perfect for us!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy to learn you enjoyed the Moonglade for the weekend - it sure was a nice one. Please plan on a return visit in the fall when you can stay longer!! Would love to welcome you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this little gem so much. The view of the bay was breathtaking! The cottage was very clean and comfortable. We spent a lot of time on the screened porch, relaxing watching the bay. the kitchen met all our needs and more. Our dog loved the cottage as well! And so close to Suttons Bay! We will be back. :)

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of our new favorites!

  • 5 of 5

This was one of our favorite getaways so far! Our first time in northern Michigan and it was everything we hoped for and more. Our fondness for the cottage grew throughout the week. It was clean and super accommodating for the 2 of us and our 2 dogs. The screened in porch facing the lake is a bonus, especially in the morning and evenings. The sunsets are amazing, but we really enjoyed coffee on the porch in the morning and afternoons by the dock. Our dogs loved the yard, especially the hill. They used it to chase their toys and dry off by sliding on their back down the hill.

Suttons bay is absolutely breathtaking. Its crystal clear and very calm especially most mornings. The water temp was perfect during our stay and even refreshing on a couple of the hotter days. Reesie, our water loving dog, couldn't get enough. The water depth was perfect for for doggy paddling.

My favorite was the paddle board rental. The calm waters are great for the novice paddle boarder. We rented for a day, but next time will rent for the week.

The town of Suttons bay is less than 5 minutes away. It was a little busy during our stay, but we ordered carry out from a few of the places and Hansons (grocery) provided everything we needed for the rest of our meals.

We had the best lake perch and whitefish from Boones pub. We stopped for cherries, sweet corn and honey at local road stands.

The location is perfect for touring around the area on short day trips.

It's like a step back in time. No chain restaurants/stores for miles. It will definitely be one of our top destinations. Can't wait to come back.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you 4 enjoyed the Moonglade Cottage so much - and yes the Moonglade and Leelanau County are magical. Will there be a return visit in 2017? - would love to have you return and experience the magic again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Location, location, location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a long weekend. Even though the weather was more like late fall than early spring it did not deter us from enjoying the area. Just a short drive across the peninsula to Fishtown or a short drive down M-22 to Traverse City and just a few minutes drive to the village of Sutton's Bay you will stay busy, even if the weather does not allow you to boat or swim. The property is right on the water and has a staircase coming off the seawall into the water. We hope to come up when it is warmer so we can enjoy the water as well.

  • Submitted: May 16, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Delighted you enjoyed the Moonglade Cottage, its amenities and magical Leelanau County despite the late fall like weather!! Plan a return when you can enjoy the water and boating. Would welcome you back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Suttons Bay Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

linen/towels $50
Pet Fee $75
cleaning fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties