Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Small fisherman's cottage close to sea front in Whitstable

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom terraced cottage with small extra child's room and sunny back garden

This is a small fisherman's cottage one street back from the sea. It has a an open plan living room and dining room with kitchen off this. The bathroom is also downstairs. At the back of the house is a small toy room with door to sunny back garden where there is a table and 4 chairs. Upstairs there is a double room with small child's room leading off this which contains a cot. There is a further twin room upstairs. It is well equipped for small children with stair gates if needed, high chair and cot. There are also plenty of toddlers toys and books in the house. There are tennis rackets and 2 sets of golf clubs in the house and also 2 very basic bikes for local use. one has a child seat on it.

Local town: Whitstable is a lively seaside town with plenty of popular restaurants, pubs and shops within walking distance. The shingle beach is 100 yards away and the sea gets lovely and warm when the tide comes in on sunny days. Young children can spend hours happily paddling and beach combing.There are local tennis courts and 9 hole golf course within easy walking distance. Whitstable has thriving sailing community and lively small harbour where fresh fish can be bought. The town has a small indoor swimming pool. we have equipped the house with tennis racquets and balls, 2 basic sets of golf clubs.

We can also make a beach hut available on request.

Wider area: Whitstable is very close to Canterbury and the historic sites of Canterbury Cathedral and St Augustine's monastry. There are many historic places to visit in the area including Dover castle, Walmer Castle and Sandwich.

sport: The golf courses in Kent are varied and include Canterbury, Deal, Boughton, North Foreland and Royal St George's.

There are community tennis courts within 100 m.

The local 9 hole golf course in Whitstable is within walking distance.

Sailing club.

More Details

Owner
Vanessa Potter
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Vanessa Potter

We are retired doctors who live in the area and have 3 children and 3 grand children who live in London.

Vanessa Potter purchased this house in 2009

Why Vanessa Potter chose Whitstable

We bought it to have an interest in our retirement and also so that our family and grand children can enjoy visiting Whitstable for weekends and holidays. The house is therefore well set up for under 5 year olds at moment and will change as grand children grow!

What makes this house unique

House set up with toys etc for little boys! Very close to beach which children enjoy and close to restaurants etc as well.

Amenities

Whitstable House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • The bathroom is downstairs.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 baby crib
  • 1 double, 1 twin and one cot room which is off the double room. It would be possible to use the cot room for an older child if they are happy to sleep on futon matress on the floor.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
this is family holiday home equipped to cope with babies and toddlers. There are a few toys and books in the house for this age group. There is a very convenient Corner store nearby which serves meals from breakfast onwards during day and sells essentials as well. Car Parking is difficult in Whitstable in the summer.Parking is available in front of the house for unloading but then after 1 hour the car needs to be moved round the corner to the adjoining street.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
38% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Small fisherman's cottage close to sea front in Whitstable
average rating of 4.0555553 based on 18 reviews
Stockton, New Jersey USA
5

Terrific experience

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect time staying in Whitstable. The cottage was within a stones throw to the beach, cafes, shops and restaurants. Windy Corner Cafe and Birdies are 2of our many favorite places. The cottage had everything we needed; excellent shower, washer, strong internet connection , comfy beds, and a private garden. People are very friendly and helpful.

We arrived on cycles and found it easy to keep them in the back garden then ride off to Canterbury ,Sandwich, Seasalter, Faversham, or a coastal route.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return. Friends from Belgium joined us for 2 days and were also charmed by the fisherman's cottage and Whitstable.

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Really glad you enjoyed our cottage. We are happy when guests are happy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Dirty

  • 1 of 5

The cottage was dirty and uncared for. The oven had not been cleaned, the floors were unswept, the stairs were unclean and the garden was full of weeds. The main sofa was filthy and very old and the kitchen seats are covered in stains. Yuck! Overall I was very disappointed. The only plus is the bedding was clean and it is close to the seafront. I raised my concerns with the owner who insisted that it had been cleaned and that others had not complained this year! There was an offer to clean it the next day but by then we would have spent one out of two nights there and I did not want someone coming in whilst I was out. In any event it would not have solved the problem of the dirty seats and the fact that it clearly needed a very deep clean. I have stayed at other holiday lets before and the standard both in decor and cleanliness has always been very high. There will be better places to stay than this.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was very sorry the tenant was so unhappy with the cleanliness. I was surprised that there was a problem as it was the first time that this had happened. I use a reliable letting agency for the change over and had no problems before. However I immediately contacted them about the problem and they went out of their way to try and arrange a re-clean but the tenant refused access to the house for this so we were unable to correct this. There were things that had been missed on the clean due to half term pressures on turn overs that week and I accept this was unacceptable. The tenant asked for and has been given a considerable refund to compensate her for the distress it obviously caused her .However the house is aimed mostly at families with small children and gets a fair amount of wear and tear. The sofa covers had been dry cleaned in March and the oven give a professional deep clean in April. I have been in touch with the company and they are putting in place a system of checks to ensure this does not happen again. We have pulled up the weeds in the garden gravel, which took us five minutes, and it remains a lovely sunny space with lavender and climbing vines. We are instituting a system of checking the garden more frequently.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Homely cottage, so close to the beach

  • 5 of 5

The location of the cottage was perfect: so close to the beach and the walks into town. Windy Corner cafe just a minute away for snacks and provisions, and the High Street just five minutes walk.

Our 8 month old grandson loved playing with the toys in the playroom downstairs, and we enjoyed evenings eating outdoors in the back garden.

The house was well equipped and there was everything that we needed for our stay on our first visit to Whitstable. We will be coming back.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely cottage with all you need close by

  • 4 of 5

Lovely cottage in a great location. We had a very nice stay, perfect little weekend getaway. Parking Can a bit tricky but we were made aware of this before we came and willing to overcome this for the great location.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing coastal retreat

  • 4 of 5

Lovely bank holiday weekend stay in well located and comfortable cottage close to beach and high street. Peaceful and calm surroundings but amenities all in walking distance. Would love to return.

  • Submitted: May 15, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Great location

  • 3 of 5

Pros: ideal location on lovely Island Wall- it's so close to the beach and a great cafe with easy access to the high street. Spacious and bright cottage, with lots of storage space, worked well for a family of four and a dog.

Cons: difficult to wash up for a family of four in such a small sink, would benefit from a dishwasher which there is room for. Parking is tricky as hard to find spaces in local streets and one hour parking only near the house - would benefit from a resident's permit to avoid having to keep moving the car.

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2014
  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
The Neptune
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Dover
Nearest Golf
300 Metres
Whitstable
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Whitstable
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Several
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Whitstable
Car: not necessary

This is a small fisherman's cottage in the conservation area of the seaside town of Whitstable. It is one street back from the sea and within easy walking distance to the town's High Street and all its quaint shops and restaurants, such as Wheeler's Oyster Bar, the Whitstable Oyster Fishery and the Neptune Pub.It is only 100 m to the Beach. There are public tennis courts and a 9 hole golf course all within close walking distance. There are many fine golf courses in East Kent including Canterbury, North Foreland, Deal, and the Royal St George's golg club.The town is 6 miles from the historic town of Canterbury and Canterbury Cathedral and within one hour of Dover Harbour and the Channel Tunnel. The train station is a 10-15 minute walk away and it takes 1 hour 10 minutes to get to London.

Golf: 9 hole golf course 300 m away. Several courses in East Kent Including Canterbury, Boughton, Deal, Kingsdown, North Foreland and Royal St George's.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

£30 extra for dogs.
There is a non refundable deposit of £100 per week. Full payment needed 5 weeks before let.
Fully refunded 2 months before start of let except for £100
Full weeks only in summer holidays

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties