check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Leo Gutman

Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish

Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !

78 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Rancho del Oro House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

[Yes - that's right; Allan Fotheringham, the famous Canadian writer & journalist (magazines, newspapers, and books), stayed here while visiting Ajijic.]

Hola!

Your hosts are The Gutman's who reside in Ajijic.

The Mexican Jewel Home was built only a few years ago and everything is fresh, fresh, fresh!

This charming Mexican Jewel House is located in the most desirable area of Ajijic- Las Salvias area. Walking distance to EVERYTHING!!!

Set into the hills, with a lake view,why not rent your very own one story Mexican style house?

Are you considering retirement? The Mexican Jewel home will give you a true flavor of life in our village. An excellent getaway to a warm climate and a chance to experience the authentic Mexican life -enjoy the morning church bells, smell the fragrant flowers and be peaceful in the hills of Mexico. Some of the best weather in the world is enjoyed by folks from all over the world! This well designed home is located in a very safe and secure area and you can feel comfortable to walk the village streets in the evening.

The Mexican Jewel home has two spacious bedrooms-styled for comfort and charm with dramatic domed ceilings (cupula)in a large living room dining area. The terazza (terrace) provide space for outside dining and the lull of the fountain will make you understand why you are in paradise. Protected from the sun, you can enjoy the terazza all day long and dine out in the evening.

The master bedroom has an American queen size pillow-top bed with built-in spacious closets. We've taken the liberty to have all the rustic furniture hand painted by a well known local artist. This Mexican style room is light, airy and over-sized for your comfort with brick ceiling and tropical fan. The master bathroom is steps away with a Mexican tiled sink, dramatic shower with an actual built-in tiled sitting bench and sky lights to show off the hand painted wall mural.

The second bedroom has French doors to a small terrace, an American sized queen size bed, as well as an elegant rustic desk to set up your laptop - high speed internet access is already set up for you. Just step outside to another half bathroom with stained glass windows, Mexican tiled sink and all the comforts of home.

Mexican arches and nooks allow for a very open and spacious flow in this jewel of a home. Dramatic lighting sets off the hues and colors used on the walls. The Mexican kitchen was designed for easy living - with its array of bright colors and original tiles- has all modern appliances, large pantry, gas oven and stove-top. There is a triple filtered water system as well as bottled water.

All linens and towels are quality fabrics, understanding the needs of spoiling visitors. The TV, with 600 satellite stations from Canada to United States, includes movies,sports and a host of music stations for your listening pleasure.

For your convenience: there is a US washer and US dryer, a storage room for folks with golf clubs and sports equipment.

We've taken the pleasure to supply you with a list of our favorite restaurants, shops, village outdoor market days and full day outings to artistic and historical cities. We enjoy stocking the fridge with a few goodies to get you going the first day you arrive and you can certainly pop down the street for some fill- ins. This home is so well located that many visitors never use their cars. There are a variety of small fruit and vegetable markets 3 streets away, 2 fish markets and a small grocery store. This will give you a chance to stock up on our local produce and enjoy the quality foods.

Only 3 minutes from home,we have our very own baker (Pan). Walk down the cobblestones to the original rustic bakery and buy warm fresh rolls every morning, croissants, sweet rolls (pan dulce) and have an authentic experience with our local baker who speaks English! Once inside this amazing bakery-you can special order: bagels, baguetes whole wheat croissants and cactus bread.

If you are here for affordable plastic surgery, dental work or medical treatments - this home is a perfect place to be peaceful.

With everything on one floor, you can be mobile and enjoy the house.

Remember – location, location, location! Just a short stroll away and you are at the main plaza with over 40 international restaurants, local artist galleries, shops and the true Mexico, at your feet. Walk the cobblestone streets, get caught in the local sights and sounds of the village, and enjoy what over 7,000 North Americans call home.

We would also like to remind you that we have another home, The Mexican Sunrise House (VRBO #143099),that is close by for families and friends that want to enjoy their visits together, but maintain their privacy and comfort. Just ask for both homes if you are considering multi- family/friend visits to our village.

Maid and gardener services are included once a week as are gas, electric and local phone calls. There are absolutely no hidden charges!

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
Leo Gutman (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish

Reviews

4.9
based on 78 traveler reviews

Mexican Jewel House ....... Allan Fotheringham Stayed Here !
average rating of 4.923077 based on 78 reviews
California
5

The Jewell House in July

  • 5 of 5

We have included the Jewel House into our vacation schedule for the last few years but this is our first time visiting in the rainy season, what a delight! During our stay, it only rained in the evenings, making for green, lush days with that clean, after rain smell. We hiked on the numerous paths that are a short distance from the house that provided amazing views of the city, lake and waterfalls.

The casita is always ready upon arrival, clean and well appointed, (even providing Mexican coffee for your first morning). I love the Mexican tile work throughout the house. Our favorite Jewell House activity is sitting outside on the patio, with a book, enjoying the garden and fountain.

Leo and Gaby are exceptional hosts, sending you lots of valuable information on the Jewell House, Ajijic and tips before your visit. Once you have arrived, there is detailed information in the guest book and they are happy to answer any questions and recommend current activities in Ajijic. This time, their recommendations included a lecture, concert, and excellent restaurants to try, all within walking distance.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

GREAT EXPERIENCE!!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife, Sharon and I, made our first time visit to "Lakeside", and Leo was our host. Couldn't have wished for better! Leo helped me from the moment I booked our visit. He provided extensive , online information, WAY above and beyond the norm. He made our experiences from the airport to his home a "piece of cake", and that to us, is half the battle-stress free from the onset. The home was beautiful, modern, with all that one would require within , to prepare food, and be totally self sufficient. He has this lovely friendly dog, Cali, who is the there only if you want him there!.....great to have a visit from him!!...all in all, a great place to be, particularly if you are a first time visitor, as there's a ton of great information provided for you to explore...

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House & Host

  • 5 of 5

The Jewel House was an excellent choice for our visit to Lake Chapala. The home is conveniently located within easy walking distance of central Ajijic stores and restaurants. If we weren’t going out to eat, the kitchen had all we needed to prepare our meals. The home itself is nicely decorated and had everything you could want for a comfortable and enjoyable vacation stay. It also has a very front nice porch and garden area which was an especially nice place to eat meals or read.

Finally, what really stood out for us was our experience with the owner of the property, Leo. If you have never visited Ajijic, you couldn’t ask for a better host. Leo is very organized and will provide you with all the information you need to feel comfortable about your entire trip. This includes sending you instructions of how to take a taxi from the airport to this vacation home. We have rented a number of homes before, but never have we had a host as informative and welcoming as Leo.

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location, Well Appointed and Delightful Stay!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed for a week a the Jewel House and would highly recommend it as a "base of operations" when visiting Ajijic. The house is bright and spacious, with a lovely outdoor sitting area, and all of the amenities you could need. Although we only cooked once, there were ample dishes and cookware for anyone who wanted to cook more. The casa was very clean with lovely tiled bathrooms and comfortable beds. Although there were just two of us, this casa would easily accommodate a family or two couples. We didn't have a car and easily walked everywhere from the casa. There is a bakery very close by (try the cinnamon rolls!) and many small grocery stores nearby for staples and fresh fruit and vegetables. The owner, Leo, provides an excellent (and detailed) reference book at the house with information on the area including restaurant recommendations. He was very welcoming and we were pleased, after a long day of traveling, to find a welcome bottle of wine when we entered the house. He even provided breakfast staples (e.g. bread, coffee, milk, butter, jam) to get us through the first morning. As far as sights in Ajijic, we enjoyed the restaurants (try Pasta Trente at Consitution 33, Cucinart, Ajijic Tango, Don Quixote, and Salvadore's for breakfast), the thermal springs in San Juan Cosala, and the hike at the end of Juarez to the chapel. We took the bus to both Chapala and the thermal springs for 9 pesos apiece (55 cents) which was both convenient and inexpensive. Overall a great town and a pleasurable stay at the Jewel House and we would definitely stay here again if we ever go back to Ajijic (which we are already considering!).

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mill Valley, CA
5

Another Delightful Week in Ajijic

  • 5 of 5

Nicely situated, the Jewell makes an ideal place to explore Ajijic. This, our second visit to this charming casa, was as delightful as the last. While we were just a single couple, it would work equally as well for two, as we had difficulty deciding which bedroom to use. The quiet garden and fountain make your outdoor time pleasant (as well as a providing soothing backdrop for your afternoon siesta). Cook in (be sure to take in the nearby organic market on Tuesday, or the general outdoor market on Wednesday) or dine out - Ajijic has myriad dining possibilities, many of which offer exquisite cuisine - and very affordable at the current exchange rates.

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A True Jewel

  • 5 of 5

The Jewel House was the perfect size in the perfect location for our visit. While there is parking space for a car, we chose to walk everywhere during our visit. Ajijic's plaza is easy walking distance as are a plethora of geat restaurants. Our host went over and above anything we expected. All the information you need is contained in a notebook within the house, but your host is just a phone call away. The house, itself, is tastefully and comfortably furnished with careful thought given to guest comfort. Within days of our arrival, the neighbor across the street said he was available to consult if we needed anything. Noise levels, even during the holiday season, were reasonable and celebration parties seemed to end at a reasonable hour. Our positive experience in Jewel House certainly contributed to our final decision to move permanently into the area. We can recommend this property for a stay of weeks or of months. You will be comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Gudalajara Int'l Airport (GDL)
Nearest Point of Interest
Ajijic's Main Square
Car: not necessary

Spanish classes, tours of Guadalajara, trips to Tequila, San Miguel Allende, Mexico City and other cities in the vicinity

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rancho del Oro House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Off-Peak Season rate
May 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
7 night minimum stay
$600
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season rate
Nov 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$650
$2,400
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50

Price includes everything. You will not pay for anything else.

For extended rentals of 3 months stay or more, a further discount is provided:
Off-Peak Season Rates: $1,700/month. ( From May 1st. to Oct. 31st.)
Peak Season Rates: $2,200/month. (From Nov. 1st. to Apr. 30th.)

For a partial week or month, the nightly rates ($100) apply.
Until reservations are confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rancho del Oro House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
  • Village
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2) American Queen size bed in both bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Ceiling fans in every room, Mexican crafted ceilings, stained glass windows, hand painted furniture

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties