check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peter Blume

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, russian

Mountain Contemporary

47 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

Lanesville House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 3 Baths, indoor sauna, indoor jacuzzi, outdoor 40' pool (summer only

Beautiful mountain views on 13 wooded acres. 6 miles to Hunter Mountain. 40' inground pool. ( summer only) game room with air hockey, foosball, xbox, darts,music.

Great hiking ( at lest 10 marked trails just minutes away) or hike on the property. river tubing, (snow tubing in winter), fishing, tennis and golf nearby, horse back riding and miniature golf nearby. 20 minutes to Woodstock. less than 10 minutes to Hunter Mt. festivals

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Peter Blume (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english, german, russian

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay here. We can all say that this is a beautiful country house!
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.7
based on 47 traveler reviews

Mountain Contemporary
average rating of 4.7021275 based on 49 reviews
5

I wish I could give it 6 stars!!

  • 5 of 5

We've rented this house for the last two years in a row, twice per every season, and can't wait to do it again this upcoming winter. The house is both exceptionally clean and amazingly thought through: weather it is cutlery or extra blankets, pots or glasses, bottle opener or tea cup coasters - anything we don't even know that we might need is under the fingertips. Beautiful and stylish. Comfortable for adults. Fun for kids! Our boys enjoyed x-box, hockey table, soccer table and especially - darts! We enjoyed the spectacular views, close distance to Hunter skiing trails, loving atmosphere... and most of all: how easy, helpful and responsible was its owner, Peter. Thank you, Peter, warmest memories from our past two winters were created by the side of a fireplace in your mountain retreat!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

A nice place for a getaway!

  • 3 of 5

This would be a 3.5 star review if that were possible and we would return here should that occasion develop.

My girlfriend, her three adult daughters, her one year old grandson and I spent a week at this house. The girl's boyfriends dropped in for a day or two throughout the week. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Pete who gave us the lay of the land and recommendations on things to do. He is a very nice guy and he was not the least bit intrusive.

Our experience was that the pool was the bomb!! We spent nearly every afternoon in it and enjoyed. The pictures of the house are accurate. The primary reasons for the tree star reviews are a.) that there is no mechanism to give a 3.5 star review. b.) there are a couple of general maintenance issues.

The place is rustic, which is at times charming and at other times less convenient. The wooden deck and the wood in the pool area could be treated or finished. The stairway leading down to the pool could use some TLC. The warped bench on the handmade picnic table could be replaced and one or two of the interior walls should soon be painted.

The house accomodated the 8 (at times) of us well and the 6 that stayed all week very well. The house was comfortable when we were in it. Fortunately we had fabulous weather and we went out to North-South Lake, Tannersville, Saugerties, Woodstock and Phoenicia. Following our few hour excursions, we would return to enjoy the pool. Most evenings we cooked on the gas grill and ate at either the outdoor picnic table or sizable indoor table. The kitchen, refrigerator and bathrooms were all adequate for our needs.

In our opinion this is not a 5 star property because it needs some maintenance and it is not luxurious. We were not seeking luxurious. We were seeking a nice place in the mountains where we could spend some quality time and not break the bank. We found just that at this place. It was a really nice week and we would come back here. Oh and we went to see a show at Levon Helm's barn!!! That was awesome!

If you are looking for the type of experience that we were looking for, you will not be disappointed. If you come expecting 5 star luxury you may be.

Pete was very prompt on the deposit return.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Summer Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

I rented this lovely home in Lanesville with 6 friends for a girl's weekend, and it was perfect. The house is really spacious and all of us slept in it comfortably. There is a wrap around deck with the most amazing views of the forest and mountains, and the grill on the deck made for a lovely spot to enjoy our dinners. Best of all was the pool!! I felt like I was at my own private mountain resort. Pete was extremely nice and showed us around the house and provided us with firewood. If youre looking for a quiet place to getaway and unplug, look no further than this rental home!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise Found!

  • 5 of 5

Firstly, a big thanks to Peter for renting us his very impressive home that he built, quite literally. Peter was available at every step along the way and always quick to respond to emails.The day I called to book the last 3 days available in July, Peter made it easy to setup a security deposit to reserve the house. Book early if you want this gem!

We had lots of plans for activities but more or less scrapped them all to spend more time in the house and on the grounds. We were 2 couples with a total of 3 kids between us and there was ample sleeping space and we were even able to give the baby her own room. The futon on the bottom floor really saved the day and added a bed to the count. The house was clean and there was enough towels and linen for all. The kitchen had all necessary amenities and was sufficient for all of our needs. The pool was amazing! A little chilly, but that was because it wasnt too hot out and pretty cloudy. The mountain views from the house are really beautiful, we loved laying on the deck off the master bedroom to star gaze, and having coffee on the lower deck in the morning. The game room was an added perk as well. Also the kids loved the fire pit outside.

The only negatives i can mention, is that the house isnt air conditioned, but it wasnt really hot either, and that none of the bedrooms on the upper floors had any window shades or blind. Not an issue to most, but my kids are sensitive sleepers in sunlight.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to booking again!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

MDW Trip

  • 4 of 5

Overall, 4.5 stars - great weekend trip for a group of 9 young adults. The home was just as pictured in the photos, and the owner was able to open the pool for the start of the summer season. Sleeping arrangements were reasonable and linens and bath towels for 8 are available with the home. Everyone loved the pool and indoor sauna, and the outside fire pit was nice as well for s'mores and star gazing. Hiking was maybe a 5 minute drive, with several nearby trails to enjoy.

Kitchen has most key necessities/pots as well as some items left by others such as spices, condiments, etc...Since this is off the beaten path, be prepared to do a stop at Walmart/Target or a grocery on the way, as the closest "chain" grocery was about 20-30 min drive once we arrived. Only other "downfall" was no cell phone service anywhere near the house (or in town) which made it hard for some contact, however home has WiFi that helped with that a lot when indoors. Friendly & helpful owner, and immediate return of the security deposit, which was great. Overall, would certainly stay again.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that your group enjoyed your stay but to clarify a couple of issues... There are convenience stores open early and late in the villages of Hunter and Phoenicia both 10 minutes away. The upstate chain supermarket 'Tops' is in Tannersville 15 minutes away and IGA in Boiceville 20 minutes away. In the mountains cell service is iffy so we provide unlimited LL phone at the house and WiFi. There is also a mini tower for Sprint on the property and we will be installing one for AT&T. BUT there is absolutely full cell service near the villages of Hunter and Phoenicia both 10 minutes away. Your hosts, Peter and Lara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Spring Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed a wonderful spring weekend at the house with 4 adults. The house was quite comfortable with lots of space. We enjoyed the indoor hot tub, sauna, and wood stove. The owner was very responsive and quick to return the security deposit as well.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Albany,NY
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
many
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Tannersville
Nearest Train
40 Miles
AMTRAK
Nearest Motorway
28 Miles
NYS Truway
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
many
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Hunter
Car: recommended

Skiing, swimming

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lanesville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
thanksgiving
Nov 23 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2016 - Dec 26 2016
4 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
New Years
Dec 28 2016 - Jan 2 2017
5 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
MLK Weekend
Jan 13 2017 - Jan 16 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Presidents w/e
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
Memorial Day w/e
May 26 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$400
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$400
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning $0
Pet Fee $100

$300-$400 night

Security deposit ( damage deposit) required to reserve the dates.
Rent is due upon signing of lease

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lanesville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • festivals
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
2 queens, 2 full, 1 sleeper sofa. Pool (summer only); 2 woodstoves; jacuzzi ( not used in summer months); sauna; toaster HDTV.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties