check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Susan Mansfield

Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

FLORIDA'S BEST KEPT SECRET WITH HEATED POOL

72 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Boca Grande House Rental Photos and Description

4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6

No sprawling resorts or snowbird traffic jams -- just privacy, gorgeous beaches, outstanding shops and excellent restaurants. Boca Grande, an exclusive island on the west coast of Florida, close to both the Sarasota and Fort Myers' airports, and two hours from Tampa's airport. Boca Grande is a barrier island just north of Captiva and Sanibel Islands -- like Key West without the crowds. Charming house in historic district, near town and beach. Artists' community, walking, bike paths, amazing shelling on white sand beaches, seaplane, tennis and workout room close by, as are boat rentals, fresh shrimp right off the boat at Whidden's Marina, tarpon fishing and shallow water fishing. Golf courses 15 minutes from Boca Grande. Boat dock and trailer parking available upon request. Excellent cook's kitchen. Wifi, 42-inch flat screen and Weber grill. People have come from 7 countries, 32 U.S. states and 30 Florida cities/towns to stay in my home -- many of them are repeat renters or have told their friends and famiy.

My house is in a lovely neighborhood and has a lot of privacy with all the landscaping I have done (front yard landscaping not reflected in the photos). If you would like to see more photos of the house please go to Homeaway property #103237. I do my best to help each of my renters have a wonderful, stress free holiday. I have a great kitchen for cooking – gas stove, all clad pots and pans, Wustof knives, a Weber grill and a charcoal one as well for those who prefer that. I have wireless and a large flat screen television (with lots of great dvds). I can also arrange to have a friend who is a third generation fisherman in Boca Grande give you a boat tour for lunch to Useppa Island Club, http://www.useppa.com/indexb.html or Cabbage Key, http://www.cabbagekey.com. He will tell you all about the history in that part of the world and has many fascinating stories about the people he has met flying and fishing, both famous and infamous. In addition he has a seaplane which is great fun even if just to see Boca Grande from the air. For back water fishing or lighter tackle fishing, I know another terrific guide. I can also steer you to the best massage therapists on the island. I will steer you to the best restaurants, shops and places to rent sports equipment. I really take great care to make sure that you will have the best, stress free vacation of your life! Susan Mansfield 203.866.9500

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Susan Mansfield (Owner)
Member since: 2006
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Susan Mansfield

I live in Rowayton CT and bought my house in Boca Grande in 1989. I own and run a communications firm and try to get to Boca Grande three times a year. I now have three grandchildren who can't wait to get to Boca Grande every year at least two times.

Susan Mansfield purchased this house in 1989

Why Susan Mansfield chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

Boca Grande is a very special place. When you cross the bridge it's as though you've gone back to an earlier time when life was simpler. It's one of the most beautiful and relaxing places in the world. People come from all over the world to stay in my home, but they also come from as close by as Sarasota -- a one hour drive. I've found that many Floridians think of Boca Grande as a vacation destination -- about 1/3 of my renters are from in-state and they have visited from 33 states. Only 17 to go!

What makes this house unique

I work very hard to make sure my renters have a wonderful, relaxing vacation. I can arrange fishing (backwater and Tarpon), boat tours to nearby islands for swimming and lunch, book massages and let you know where to rent kayaks, stand up paddle boards, dock and boat and trailer, get fresh catch shrimp and stone crabs at the docks and provide a list of the best restaurants.

Reviews

5
based on 72 traveler reviews

FLORIDA'S BEST KEPT SECRET WITH HEATED POOL
average rating of 4.986111 based on 72 reviews
5

Travel Insurance Really Works!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and our two dogs live in Texas and were planning to drive to Boca Grande for a vacation recently. Unfortunately, with all the flooding in Louisiana, all the roads to Florida were closed. However, we had opted for travel insurance with CSA Travel Protection so I was able to file a claim. We easily downloaded the claim forms and filled them out, then Susan filled out the necessary paperwork on her end and emailed it to the company expeditiously. We received a check for the entire amount from the insurance company within 10 days of when we were to check out! So, while we were disappointed not being able to go on our vacation, it would have been much more upsetting if we had not been reimbursed.

I told Susan that we are looking forward to staying in her house in the near future. Thanks again Susan!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bloomington, Illinois
5

Charming Beach House!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from a week staying in this charming beach house. The location is on a quiet street, close to the beach and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The house is beautifully decorated, cozy, and very clean. The attached pool is well-maintained and private. We thought the beds were really comfortable with high quality mattresses and linens. My husband and I enjoyed cooking in the fully stocked kitchen that had everything we needed. Taking rides in the golf cart around the island was a highlight for our son - especially going for ice cream at the Loose Caboose. Susan is very friendly and helpful. This was truly one of our favorite beach vacations. We had an amazing time and we can’t wait to go back!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Crystal River
5

Boca Summer

  • 5 of 5

Our family just recently stayed at Susan's cottage and had the most relaxing stay. We enjoyed the spacious kitchen to cook in and the peaceful porch for relaxing and reading. The kids had the best time swimming in the pool and chasing lizards in the backyard. We found the location very convienient for a walk to town or to the beach. We rented Susan's golf cart during our stay and were able to enjoy the ease of traveling the island. The kids loved our afternoon trips in search of iguanas. We've visited Boca Grande many times and this by far was our best stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lake Mary, Florida
5

Mangos in Boca Grande

  • 5 of 5

My family recently spent 4 nights in this adorable cottage. The location couldn't be better - it is about a block away from the shops and restaurants of Boca Grande and the beach. The neighboring home had mango trees that dropped mangos into the backyard daily. My daughter loved collecting the mangos and making juice with the juice press in the very well equipped kitchen. We also really loved using the outdoor shower by the pool after spending time on the beach. None of us wanted to leave and we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Coming back again next year!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful family vacation in Boca Grande! This charming beach cottage provides all the essentials to make it feel like home. We loved having coffee on the front porch each morning, and cooking out by the pool after a fun day fishing. The location is perfect! Susan was a pleasure to work with, and we look forward to staying in her lovely home again next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Denver
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

This is the third time that three buddies and I have rented Susan’s home in Boca Grande and it suits us perfectly. We come to Boca Grande for one reason – to fish. We fly fish with Jamie Allen and Skip Zink, local tarpon fishing jedis. When it’s time to rest, we go home and hang by the pool. While there are plenty of restaurants to eat at in Boca Grande, two of us like to cook and Susan has everything we need to cook and grill. We’re already booked for next year!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: not necessary

No sprawling resorts of snowbird traffic jams, just privacy, gorgeous beaches, outstanding shops and excellent restaurants. Boca Grande, an exclusive island on the West Coast of Florida, is less than 75 minutes from the Sarasota and Fort Myers airports and two hours from the Tampa airport. It is north of Captiva and Sanibel Islands. Like Key West without the crowds. Not even one traffic signal. Charming house in historic district with beautiful new pool. Artists' community, walking, bike paths, shelling on white sand beaches, tennis and workout room close by, as are boat rentals, shrimp and stone crap boat docks and tarpon and snook fishing. Boat dockage and trailer space available.

Other Activities: Shopping, Pilates, yoga, fascinating historic lighthouse documenting the history of Boca Grande.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Boca Grande House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Value Season
Aug 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$1,950
 
 
October
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$2,500
 
 
Pre-Thanksgiving
Nov 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$2,350
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Pre-Holiday
Nov 27 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$2,350
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 18 2016 - Jan 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,000
 
 
January
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,650
 
 
High Season
Feb 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,950
 
 
May
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,800
 
 
June
Jun 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,700
 
 
July 4 Holiday Week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,850
 
 
July
Jul 9 2017 - Jul 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,600
 
 
Value Season
Aug 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning $175 + Tax
Cart per week $250 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

Contact owner for rates.
Discounts for multiple weeks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Boca Grande House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Outdoor - outdoor shower
    Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • Downstairs bathroom has a tiled tub/shower and upstairs has a tiled shower. There is also an outdoor shower (with privacy screen) by the pool.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom - 1 twin/ single , Pak-n-play
    Bedroom - 1 twin/ single
  • All linens provided. Soft sheets and comfortable pillows. Downstairs bed is a Tempur-Pedic.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Tennis ...
  • Tennis Court
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Boat dock and trailer parking available upon request. Jenn-Air gas stove in kitchen. 4 adult bikes, 1 child's bike. Heated pool with outdoor shower, central air/heat. Outdoor Weber gas grill and charcoal grill as well. Well-equipped kitchen with gas stove, Wustof knives, all clad pots and pans.

Partner Offers