Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

Casa Costa Tarifa 2

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,668 sq. ft.
Property type villa


About the property

3 bedroom house with plenty of space, stunning views.

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018


Tarifa Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa (detached)
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1668 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Rural
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 9 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • baño 1 - toilet , shower
    baño 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    baño 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • dormitorio 1 - 1 queen
    dormitorio 2 - 2 twin/ single
    dormitorio 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Otros - 3 twin/ single
  • There is plenty of room for additional beds which we have
  • Stereo
  • Toys ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Terrace
  • 5 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • bay/sound
  • forests
  • nude beach
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
This is a rustic house with sea frontage, perfect to unwind in. High heals are not recommended outside the house itself!


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 17 reviews

Breathtaking View, Stingy owner

  • 4 of 5

The view is absolutely amazing from almost every room in this house. However the owner is un-amazing.

When we booked, wi-fi was listed on his websites but when we got here, guess what? It had been out of commission for over a month but the owner had neglected to inform me. (It's also no longer mentioned on his websites.) He also didn't mention that he provided none of the things usually found in vacation rentals: adequate bedsheets, hand soap and other soap of all kinds, enough matches to light the stove for a few days, cleaning supplies, wastebaskets and so on. Also, no instructions of any kind; like how to dispose of garbage?

There wasn't even toilet paper. So, after driving 25 minutes or so on a scary and dangerous road from Tarifa, we discovered we didn't even have the bare essentials. This might not have been such a shock if the owner had bothered to send a list of all the things we needed to bring but he provide zero information on this subject. Since we'd already rented 11 apartments and houses in Spain and Portugal, we wrongly assumed that basic necessities would be provided.

The house itself is architecturally interesting and there are a lot of wonderful touches that reflect the fact that the owner built it for his own family. But now they have moved on and they don't seem to care about anything except collecting rent. There is a great deal of maintenance needed, many things are broken or missing, and the couch covers are so disgusting that I wouldn't even touch them let alone sit on them. There are maybe 25 empty cans of cleaning supplies that no one has bothered to throw away. Also, a trash pile outside and two trailers (caravans), one quite dilapidated, now used as storage spaces or filled with junk. The place is not filthy but it is indeed extremely funky.

If this guy spent about 500 Euros on this place it would be a real gem, 1000 Euros and it would be one of the best houses on the planet. But since he's too cheap to even provide dish soap I doubt this will happen any time soon. Maybe he should spend a week here and toss out all the junk, including the chipped Bug's Bunny cup, the broken tea kettle, the broken lounge chair, and so on.

He also owns another house just down the road. Fortunately, he's got a terrific on-site manager who looks after things at both houses as best he can given the stinginess of the owner.

But here's the bottom line: In the end, the spectacular view made up for all the inconveniences.

  • Submitted: May 11, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry if these clients think I am stingy. However, I charged them 55eu/night - many people would say that I am generous at that price! The things that the client asked for were brought within a matter of hours - if you want or need something just tell us and we´ll sort it out if we can. So I do not think it is fair to complain about somthing we provided.Internet is only availbale via 2 satellites now in this location. I changed to a new satellite but the installation was not done correctly and am awaiting for it to be reinstalled by another provider. This kind of thing is out of my hands I´m afraid. We are talking about a fairly remote location in Southern Andalucia. I would say that this lady´s husband did not like the wind and he had quite a lot of it - please understand that Tarifa is the wind sport capital of Europe. I hope that these clients enjoyed the rest of their vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Entorno inmejorable

  • 5 of 5

Preciosa casa con preciosas vistas a Marruecos, máxima tranquilidad, el único sonido es el del mar, no se puede pedir más, mar y montaña todo a la vez

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Ruhige Lage und ein wahnsinnig schöner Ausblick

  • 5 of 5

Unsere Erwartungen wurden übertroffen! Nach einer etwas holprigen Fahrt (es ist ein nicht allzu tiefes Auto zu empfehlen da der weg sehr steinig ist) kamen wir aus dem staunen nicht mehr raus. Das Haus befindet sich ca. 20min mit dem auto von tarifa entfernt und liegt sehr abgeschieden. Genau das hatten wir aber auch gesucht. Wer einen ruhigen Ort zum entspannen sucht ist hier also genau richtig. Es erwartet einen ein sehr schönes,großes Haus in einer super Lage. Die Straße von Gibraltar liegt einem quasi zu Füßen und von der Terrasse aus kann man den Blick auf das Meer und die Küste von Marokko genießen. Das Haus ist mit dem wichtigsten ausgestattet und uns hat nichts gefehlt. Die Abwicklung mit Andrew und Manolo (hauskeeper) hat auch hervorragend funktioniert. Ich würde jeden der etwas ruhiges sucht , das Haus jederzeit weiterempfehlen! Es war garantiert nicht unser letzte Urlaub in dem wunderschönen weißen traumhaus Nähe Tarifa :)

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Danke vielmals. Komm bald wieder!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

All I can say is wow!!

My wife and I and our two young children recently spent a week at Casa Costa dos in Tarifa in mid-December to celebrate my 40th and honestly could not have asked for more, it was exactly what we were looking for!!

First of all the location, breathtakingly beautiful and so peaceful with the most amazing atmospheric views over the straights to the Moroccan coast line, fire up the barby, crack open a bottle and just suck it all in, hard to beat!!

If youre looking for your run of the mill, sanitised holiday resort type trip, this might not be for you, but if you’re looking for a great, spacious, accommodation, full of character with a great relaxing feeling that provides you all you need for a wonderfully sociable, home away from home near Tarifa, then this is it! We had a number of friends and family drop by whilst we were there and without fail they all loved it as much as we did!

Couple more comments you might find helpful:

• Andrew and his man on the ground Manolo were both great in getting this set up, friendly and very communicative, absolutely no problems. (Not in the slightest bit intrusive as per some other reviews!!)

• The house is about 10 – 15 mins down a wonderful rural track off the road to Tarifa, but pretty good going apart from the very last bit wish is a tad bumpy, but doesn’t present any problem. We were fine in run of the mill family hire car, but a bit of ground clearance wouldn’t go a miss.

• If your visiting in winter, you have nothing to worry about, the log fire kept us nice and warm.

• I had vague concerns about the power source when I realised it was wind and solar only, but again we didn’t have a single issue, and the house is well light with all the facilities needed, in fact I was incredibly impressed. (Hot water, same, runs of gas and works perfectly well)

I think that about covers it, just let me reiterate, that we really had the best of breaks at Casa Costa and are already planning the next visit – Andrew thanks for everything!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great write up and taking your time to do so Arend..We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

fantastic house, but make sure it´s what you want

  • 4 of 5

The only reason I give 4 stars instead of 5 is because dealing with Andrew the host was a bit difficult and you can probably sense that from some of the other reviews. I have to say that it is worth it though. The house is simple but has great character. It was also protected from the wind. The area is very remote and the road in is slow and difficult but this was not a problem for us because we stayed at the house for the entire weekend. There was one functioning hot shower but that was enough for us. The chimenea worked well for heating the house. If you are looking for something a bit different that is isolated then you will probably love this place. Just make sure you bring everything you may need (including drinking water - we boiled the well water when we ran out but it´s not ideal). If you want to watch TV, work via internet, go swimming on a sandy beach or even use as a base for daily outings then it is probably not for you. For us it was perfect.

  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfecto para desconectar.

  • 5 of 5

Es una casa perfecta para aquellas personas que deseen desconectar. Se encuentra situada en plena naturaleza, sin vecinos alrededor, por lo que hay mucha tranquilidad y silencio. Además, cuenta con unas impresionantes vistas a las costas de Marruecos (se aprecia mucho mejor en persona que en fotos) que puedes estar mirando horas mientras estás sentado en la terraza. Además, por la noche se puede mirar al cielo y ver perfectamente las estrellas.

Para el camino que conduce a la casa es conveniente un coche alto, preferiblemente 4x4, puesto que una parte del camino es de piedras. En nuestro caso, que llevábamos dos turismos, tuvimos que dejarlos en la cancela de entrada ya que fue imposible subir la cuesta que va hacia la casa. Esto no fue un problema mayor ya que Manolo, la persona encargada de la casa, se ofreció amablemente a subirnos y bajarnos el equipaje en su quad. Manolo es una persona magnífica, muy atento y servicial. Le estoy muy agradecido.

En cuanto a la casa en sí, disponía de todo lo necesario para cubrir las necesidades de las 9 personas que estuvimos allí alojadas. No hubo problemas de espacio y el estado de limpieza era muy bueno. Un punto a favor son los grandes ventanales, que permiten ver perfectamente las vistas aun estando dentro de la casa. Al estar en plena naturaleza es normal encontrarse con algunos insectos, por lo que es bueno llevar un insecticida. Por otro lado, si para alguna persona es imprescindible el uso del móvil, cuidado porque la cobertura es muy escasa y solo en algunos puntos de la casa se puede coger algo de cobertura.

El pueblo de Tarifa queda a unos 20/25 minutos en coche, por lo que es recomendable llevar todo lo necesario para pasar los días que se vaya a estar en la casa. Al pueblo también se puede ir andando por un sendero señalizado con pivotes verdes, se llega en una hora más o menos y también tiene unas vistas muy bonitas. Lo recomiendo para aquellos que quieran hacer un poco de ejercicio.

Por último, decir que el casero es muy atento por lo que he podido hablar con él, aunque no le haya conocido en persona.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Se requiere una fianza de 300 euros. Existe un cobro adicional si hay mas de 4 personas, a 10eu/persona/noche

50% al reservar y el resto 6 semanas antes de la llegada por transferencia bancaria

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties