Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

100 private acres of mountain splendor. You won't find anything else like it!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

1 queen bedroom, 1 full bathroom, pull out futon sleeps 2-4

In the heart of North Carolina's High Country, this cabin is the perfect getaway. Located on over 100 wooded acres and surrounded by forest you'll enjoy quiet relaxation yet you'll be within 10-30 miles of area attractions. Area attractions include 6 nearby golf courses, snow skiing at Beech, Sugar, or Hawksnest Ski Resorts, antique and craft markets, fishing, hiking, gem mining, horseback riding, rodeos and more. Banner Elk, Boone, Linville Falls, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Penland School, Grandfather Mountain, and Blowing Rock are each no more than 30 miles, some much closer. For a special afternoon visit the Asheville / Black Mountain area and Biltmore Estate. The 8' wide wrap-around porch is a nice place to relax or make use of the gas grill. After dinner stroll to Plumtree, walk the surrounding woods,

90 ADDITIONAL ACRES ADDED In 2011 INCLUDING A BEAUTIFUL TROUT STREAM. Ask for trail directions to access this part of the property.

Pets are permitted with permission.

Perfect couples retreat or relaxing family getaway. This property is unique in its privacy and surrounding beauty.

We are often asked about cell coverage. Here is a response to a recent question.

 

'Thanks for the question. Our carrier is AT&T and about three years ago the coverage went down the tubes .  Our cousin has Carolina west and here works just fine. I have heard rumor that Verizon works but I can't verify that. There is a standard landline that you can receive calls with or use a calling card to call out. There is also wifi for Skype or FaceTime or imessage  There are pockets on the way to Spruce Pine and Newland where texts and Voicemails will come through. The bottom line is that it can be inconvenient but is no different at our cabin than anywhere else in the region. It is the nature of the topography. It is not something that we get complaints about.  Don't hesitate if you have other questions.'

More Details

Owner
Kate Hall
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

Amenities

Plumtree Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Any pre-approved pets must be crated if left unattended. Pets are not permitted on furniture and may not be upstairs in the carpeted area.
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
  • 6 ft long antique clawfoot tub with shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Upstairs bedroom has a queen bed + dish network TV and VCR. High speed WIFI is also available for video streaming. Pull out sleeper in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
1 queen, 1 sleeper sofa. Claw foot bathtub, large decks, ceiling fans. Private wooded Acreage. All modern amenities. Washer/dryer. Full kitchen including mirowave, range, fridge, toaster and coffee maker etc. Use the fireplace for fun and romance. Standard heater also.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(45 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
24% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
100 private acres of mountain splendor. You won't find anything else like it!
average rating of 4.5111113 based on 45 reviews
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

Better than the pictures convey! Paradise.

  • 5 of 5

Such beauty, solitude, grace and natural splendor. My 2 weeks plus at Arbor Branch was relaxing, stress free with beauty surrounding from morning sunrise to the late evening stars that were so clear in the evening sky one felt that one could reach up and touch them. The cottage was very well maintained, well supplied, all was in working condition. I have already recommended Arbor Branch and hope to return myself next summer.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
21 0
5

Just perfect

  • 5 of 5

We have been going here since 2010 . Perfect place to get away and relax

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful and secluded!

  • 5 of 5

Some of the photos of the exterior of this cabin are at lease 20 years old and therefore misleading by showing open space around the cabin. That may be good or bad, based on what you are looking for. In August 2017 there is absolutely no view of anything other than dense foliage from the porch, with a large poplar tree's branches actually touching the porch roof. Mature trees are shown in some of the photos, which are obviously more recent. The inside photos appear to be current.

We wanted a peaceful and secluded setting, which this cabin certainly provided, and the mature trees close to the cabin add to the sense of being secluded. The cabin is well maintained and comfortable. The bed is as comfortable as any we have ever slept in. The kitchen is well equipped, and there are wonderful antique pieces of furniture. The laundry room is well stocked with cleaning supplies, towels, etc. It was easy to relax and get comfortable here.

In the winter I believe there would be a good view. So take the main photo of the cabin and imagine this cabin engulfed in forest, and you will have a more accurate idea of what it is.

On the porch are comfortable rocking chairs where we had coffee and breakfast each morning, and peaceful conversations in the evenings. We watched deer grazing along in the woods just below the porch. There is a pasture below the cabin, probably in the vicinity of the split-rail fence in the photo. It is now out of view but close enough to hear the cows and horses at feeding time in the mornings, which we enjoyed.

My wife and I stayed there for our anniversary, and drove our antique Jaguar convertible car that has only 4 inches of ground clearance. The road and driveway are gravel but very well maintained and not at all too steep for us to access.

When we arrived, the refrigerator had quit working. It did not look very old, but obviously something had gone wrong and it had defrosted. One call to the owner, who was in Alaska, and somehow she managed to get a brand new refrigerator delivered and working in just a few hours. This was an amazing feat, on a Sunday morning! You can't ask for a more responsive and attentive property owner, so not only the cabin but also the owner get our highest recommendation!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairbanks, AK
5

This cabin is such a gem!!! Can't wait to return. Thanks for everything Kate.

  • 5 of 5

This is a great find. The cabin is comfortable and well equipped. We had everything we needed and throughly enjoyed our relaxing long weekend. The pizza at Blind Squirrel (very close) was great and we had a terrific lunch at Knife and Fork in Spruce Pine.

Kate got right back to us when we were looking for a hiking recommendation. We hope to come back later in the summer.

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

dishonest property manager scammed to keep deposit.

  • 1 of 5

scammed to keep deposit. Said there was trash everywhere. and Vomit?? Fabricated to keep deposit. The whole cabin was cleaned, rid of all trash, we even put the safety plugs bag in the outlets we used.Laundry and dishes were run as well. Be sure to take pictures before you leave because they will lie to keep your deposit.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I never enjoy having to keep a security deposit. Since joining Homeaway in 2006, it is something I have only done twice. In order to insure that your rental experiences go more smoothly in the future, I would recommend being truthful about the number in your party and the nature of your visit. Folks looking for a quiet couple’s weekend or fun family getaway are sure to have a positive experience with us. We offer our family’s home personally -- not through a property manager. We love the cabin and the property very much and take pride in being able to share it with others. The cabin is not suited for, or advertised as, a place for groups or parties.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Beautiful and easy to find

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with the house. It was easy to find with gps even though it is way off the road. The only thing that I didn't love was the old bath tub. But not a big deal at all! We would stay here again. Thanks! Also loved the keypad entry.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Italian Pizza & Pasta Restaurant
Famous Louise's Rock House Restaurant
Buttermilk Restaurant
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Mountain Glen, Newland
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
19-E
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Buttermilk Restaurant
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Beech Mountain, Sugar Mountain
Car: necessary

The cabin is located in beautiful Plumtree, NC. This is in Avery County between Banner Elk and Spruce Pine. 27 miles south of Boone and 50 miles north of Asheville. The area is the perfect blend of rural, natural beauty combined with easy access to the mountain's top attractions including the Blue Ridge Parkway, Mt. Mitchell, Linville Gorge and Wilderness Area, Penland School, Grandfather mountains, art galleries, antiques, skiing, and golfing.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties