Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Penthouse balcony apartment with panoramic sea views.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 double bedroom balcony flat with large kitchen diner

Fantastic apartment with dramatic views of The Leas promenade and across the English channel to France. Relax out on the balcony and enjoy the beautiful setting or get out and about and explore this underrated and special location.

Well connected to visit London with the High Speed train service. Kings Cross / St Pancras in under 1 hour!

Accommodation is split over two floors with the master bedroom, lounge, kitchen/diner and bathroom on the first floor and two further bedrooms upstairs. Two of the three bedrooms have sea views. All bedrooms have double beds and there is a full size cot and optional travel cot available for children.

The kitchen has loads of workspace, a gas fired oven and hob, microwave, dishwasher and dining table that easily seats 6. Also included are a high chair and a booster seat for kids, in fact the flat has many extras good for children including toys, baby monitors, push chair and baby bath, changing mat etc. There is also a utility room with washing machine.

Clifton Crescent is a Grade II classic Victorian stucco terrace that fronts on to The Leas, a magnificent promenade lining the edge of the cliff with multiple paths down to the beach and coastal park below. Within easy reach are the Leas Cliff Hall, bandstand, amphitheatre and funicular railway. The area is often used for activities such as the classic car rally in August bank holiday, mini marathons, Triennial art installations and faires. The air show has recently returned and this flat has one of the best views to see the planes.

The town centre is only a short walk away with it's bars, cafes and galleries down the old High Street and creative quarter.

Further afield you could visit Dover for its enormous castle or even catch a ferry for a day trip to France. If you have a car you can get the channel tunnel from Folkestone or perhaps take a drive around St Margarets bay through Sandgate and Hythe and out to Rye. There's also the Dymchurch & Hythe railway through the marshes.

Inland there is the beautiful Kent countryside to explore and a visit to Canterbury with it's major cathedral, ancient buildings and excellent shopping facilities could be worthwhile.

More Details

Owner
Mr Christopher Bagust
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 10, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

We enjoyed our stay at Clifton Views, and in fact I wish it were this time last week so that we could do it all over again...
May 2013
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Folkestone Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (semi-detached)
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Town
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking On Street
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 baby crib
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
  • 3 double beds sleep 6 with ease + 2 infants, one in cot and there is a travel cot available too.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • unsuitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

37% Complete
54% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Penthouse balcony apartment with panoramic sea views.
average rating of 4.25 based on 30 reviews
5

Perfectly placed for a wonderful view and access to The Leas and beach

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for our short stay. Contained everything we needed, slept well and all amenities close by. Children enjoyed WiFi, beach etc and we enjoyed walking, beach and sitting on balcony looking at the view. We have never been to Folkestone before but we would go again. Ate out and had a fantastic meal at The Cliffe restaurant at The View hotel.

Thank you for letting us stay at such short notice. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely apartment true home from home.

  • 4 of 5

Lovely lovely period property. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort into making it welcoming and homely and a lovely relaxing stay with fabulous views. Stairs can be challenging with little ones but they had a brilliant time climbing home.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

the view was second to none.

  • 5 of 5

we arrived last Friday evening. getting in was easy thanks to Christopher's reminder.

we settled in , it was and is a home from home. The weather was excellent . I caught up with old friends . went along the harbour arm , ate seafood from chummy's which was great. gypsy tart ice cream is a must try. we will be back . had lunch at rocksalt not bad. walked along the leas as many times as we could the walk up remembrance hill ( remembrance not just in name).

the view I have to say was perfect I could sit there all day .

  • Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

the property corresponded well to the description given, including location and inside amenities

  • 4 of 5

Magnificent view from lounge and given the exceptional hot weather, breakfast was always eaten with the sea view and seagulls in the background. Linen excellent(although lack of tea towels). property clean. slight problems - impossible to lock apartment from inside(worry on safety) and also downstairs front door lock not functioning(safety issue again), key box very difficult to open.

Property well situated for shops, cafés, walking, beach - all within 5/10 minutes.

I would definitely recommend this property and will have no hesitation in coming back.

Many thanks.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review it is much appreciated that you have taken the time to write. Regarding your points about the door locks, we were not aware of these issues and they have both now been remedied.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago
4

Cute, abeit quirky, place; great location

  • 4 of 5

Cute but very quirky place. I guess this adds to the charm, but some people might be put off by all the personal belongings of the owner ( or owner's grandmother?) that are in the apartment. We only stayed for 2 days, but would've liked to stay longer to explore Folkestone. This apartment is perfectly suited for families - lots of space, 2 baths, and spacious kitchen. Grocery and shops are a 10 minute walk away.

The sink in one of the baths needs to have the drain cleaned. Not a big deal as we were only there 2 days but would've been annoying if we were staying longer.

The flat is indeed on the top floor, and there are lots of stairs, with no elevator. We had our teenagers haul our bags up :) In the past, at other Homeaway locations we've stayed in, the manager/owner had a person meet us at the apartment who could help with bags. Might be a good idea at this apartment, too.

However, balcony and sea views are lovely, you can see the coast of France at night!

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Dated

  • 2 of 5

Location is ok, parking was hit and miss never in the same place twice. Dryer wasn't working which was an issue for a family of four staying for 10 days. The windows rattled in the bedrooms and the main bedroom window wouldn't shut, the glass on the balcony rattled so much we couldn't sleep and had to wedge cardboard in the side to stop the noise. The sink the bathroom wouldn't drain and took forever to empty, we were told the landlord was aware of these issues but it was still rented out. The other issue was the personal effects left in every drawer and wardrobe we didn't find it quirky we found it a bit dirty and musky. Other than all of that ...............

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The washing machine had developed a fault and was replaced immediately back in January 16. The bathroom sink has been an issue on and off for some time due to difficulties with old pipework in this 200+ year old property and has now been remedied. As the apartment is located on top of a cliff overlooking the English channel and you were there in December the winds can be very strong at that time of year and so this would have affected the roof and balcony adversely. There are some remedial works being undertaken now. Unfortunately both the weather and parking are beyond our control but we are striving to improve anything that might be of annoyance so thank you for your comments.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
London Gatwick
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Leas Cliff Hall
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Dover
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Etchinghill Golf Club
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Folkestone Central
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
The Grand
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Folkestone
Car: not necessary

Enjoy a stroll along The Leas promenade right outside with its sea views across to France, admire the wonderful architecture of the crescent itself and the Metropol building before taking a cream tea in the conservatory of The Grand. Then descend to the beach on the funicular railway and ramble into the Coastal Park with it's adventure playground for the kids. Visit Folkestone harbour and sample the local seafood before climbing back to the town centre via the Creative Quarter galleries in the old High Street and the Bayle. Maybe there's a concert in the Leas Cliff Hall or look out for other events like the Triennial, classic cars Old Timer rally, air show or local theatre and children's activities.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Folkestone Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 16 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$259
$1,261
 
 
Late Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Oct 5 2017
2 night minimum stay
$226
$1,087
 
 
Autumn/Winter
Oct 6 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$194
$699
 
 
Xmas NY 17/18
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 4 2018
3 night minimum stay
$226
$1,158
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$194
From
$226
Thu,Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable damage deposit $129.36

A 50% deposit is required on booking with the balance due approx 6 weeks (40 days) before occupation. If booking within less than 6 weeks then the full amount is due.

A security (breakages) deposit of £100 is also required with the booking. This will be automatically refunded to you after your stay, usually within 28 days, unless there is an issue to resolve.

The minimum charge for any rental is £300. This is due to the level of fixed costs.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties