check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jeff and Angelica Bazyk

Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

Waterfront Log Home on Quiet Lake-25 Minutes -Sunday River Ski

14 Reviews
Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Waterford Chateau / Country House Rental Photos and Description

Chateau / Country House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Get away from it all... Nestled on the edge of the White Mountains in the Western Lakes Region of Maine, this is the ideal large, lakefront log home if your idea of getting away involves heading into the outdoors and away from the crowds.

During the Winter enjoy the large stone fireplace in the main room, nearby skiing, snowmobiling and ice skating on the lake. In Spring & Fall enjoy leaf peeping and hiking in the White Mountains. During the Summer enjoy the peaceful lake with private 230 ft. lakefront property, sandy water entry, swimming, large canoe, barbecue on a large deck and a hammock with beautiful water and mountain views.

Indoor photos of the home and additional outdoor photos are available.

Keywords: Log Home

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Jeff and Angelica Bazyk (Owner)
Member since: 2001
Call Owner
Speaks: english, spanish

About Jeff and Angelica Bazyk

When Jeff and I were in our early 20's, we started going up to coastal Maine every year in the summer. Raised in NY and southern CT, we fell in love with the quaint New England villages, the pine air, cool night summer breezes, the people, and the laid-back lifestyle. In 2001, we lived in a condo in downtown Boston and wanted to find a weekend retreat that offered lots of outdoor activities throughout the year. We had heard about the Lakes Region in Maine and decided to explore that area of Maine. The first time we saw this Log Home, set in the woods, on a beautiful lake, we knew it had everything we had hoped to find. With nearby skiing at Sunday River and Mt. Abram's and the interstate trail system of cross country and snowmobile trails - it would provide us with plenty to do during the winter. In the summer, we could canoe, kayak, swim, hike... or just relax by the lake. And, the nearby quaint New England towns of Bridgton and Bethel reminded us of why we were drawn to Maine so many years ago.

Jeff and Angelica Bazyk purchased this chateau / country house in 2001

Why Jeff and Angelica Bazyk chose Western Maine

The house sit on a lake and faces the sunset. Each evening, you can sit on the deck, watching the loons on the lake, as the sun dips below the White Mountains in the distance.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We rented 9/18-9/25 2011. The house was quiet and peaceful. Everything was provided that we needed. Our group included my brother and his wife, my mom and my wife, 10 month old daughter and myself. There was plenty of space for everyone to relax. There were two solid wood child gates. One at the top of the basement steps and one at the base of the steps to the second floor. They came in handy with a 10 month old that thought she needed to explore every inch of the house. The front porch was wonderful. We saw a Bald Eagle the second day. The home was centrally located for what we wanted to see. The coast was only about an hour away and so were the White Mtns. I only wish the weather was cooler so we could have tried out the fireplace. I know no one in our group wanted to leave at the end of the week. I'm sure we will be back in the future.
Sep 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Waterfront Log Home on Quiet Lake-25 Minutes -Sunday River Ski
average rating of 4.571429 based on 15 reviews
Beverly
5

Peaceful stay on quiet pond

  • 5 of 5

My family and I rented this home over Labor Day weekend and it was a blast! The house is beautiful and very peaceful. Loved sitting by the fire watching the sunsets every evening. There was 10 of us and everyone fit perfectly. The canoe was a bonus! To say it was Labor Day weekend, it was very very quiet and relaxing. Thank you Angelica, for such a great stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Hampshire
4

Very Good House for the Money

  • 4 of 5

The house was beautiful! As soon as we walked in we fell in love with the completely wooden but well manicured interior, the decoration on the walls, and the floors. You don't have a complete view of the lake from the house, but with the canoe you'll be exploring it soon enough. The lake was really nice, you would wake up to loons in the morning, and great blue herons were a common visitor. There were also usually deer tracks on our private beach every morning. The beds were comfortable, and the open design of the house was one of our favorite parts of the vacation. There were ample toys and books to keep young children entertained for weeks, and for adults there was the canoe, the grill, and the fire pit at the house to say nothing of the golf course and ski resort nearby. In the winter, the woodstove and the ambiance of the place would make it the perfect small family getaway.

As a negative, the equipment in the house is a little outdated. The TV is a fullscreen, not a widescreen, and will cut off a little bit of the picture. However, you can get pretty much all the channels you'll ever need. The coffee maker could also stand an upgrade, but other than that I don't really have many bad things to say about this place at all.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review and I'm gad you all had fun! I will get a new coffee maker next week... I appreciate the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Massachusetts
4

4th of July in Maine

  • 4 of 5

Nice location. Very private ,quiet and peaceful. We enjoyed kayaking , fishing and swimming . The description was accurate. The house was great , we had everything we need. Thank you .

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Jenn

  • 5 of 5

This was a great location! It was so peaceful and easy to get too. The house was super clean and beautiful on the inside. We loved sitting on the porch. The kitchen was stocked nicely, nice fluffy towels, but the beds were pretty hard. There was plenty of toys for my toddler and movies. We had fun fishing having a campfire and using the canoe! Perfect getaway for a weekend or the week. We plan to come back in the winter the house will be so cozy and inviting.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Max A.

  • 5 of 5

Amazing location in Maine. With mountains just a short drive away to hike or ski when there's snow so boredom is never a concern. The night sky in Maine is breathtaking and the pond which is less than a 100 yard walk from the cabin is amazing and is probably very nice as well in the Summer. This cabin lived up to the expectation and is exactly what one imagines when they think of a Log Cabin. The owners are very nice people and have great communication if need be. I would recommend renting this cabin to anybody who's interested in getting away into the peacefulness in which Maine has to offer.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Family Spot

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the cabin. We had plenty of room for all of the kids both inside and out. The private beach was perfect for our small children. We loved the peacefulness of Papoose Pond with no motorized water craft and lots of wildlife to watch. We even got lucky and got to watch a river otter on a few mornings. The cabin has a canoe which was perfect to get around and see the wildlife above and below the crystal clear water. There are lots of small towns to explore and the owners recommendations for restaurants are spot on. We will definitely be back next year. A perfect place for a summer getaway.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: THANK YOU for the great review. So glad you had a wonderful family vacation!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Portland, Maine
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Sunday River Golf
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Sunday River Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
60 Miles
Car: necessary

During the Winter, enjoy the large, stone fireplace in the main room, nearby skiing, snowboarding and ice skating on the lake. In Spring & Fall enjoy leaf peeping and hiking in the White Mountains. During the Summer, enjoy the peaceful lake with private 230 ft lakefront property, sandy water entry, swimming, large canoe, barbecue on a large deck and a hammock with beautiful water and mountain views.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Waterford Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Aug 29 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$875
 
 
Winter
Dec 23 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Jun 1 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$875
 
 
June
Jun 2 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$275
Fri,Sat
$1,100
 
 
Summer
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 26 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning, taxes (all additional fees) $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Waterford Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms are full baths. The first floor bathroom has a bath tub (as well as shower). The upstairs bathroom has an upright shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (2 - includes 4 twins beds)
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Raft
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
All Linens, Pack 'n Play Crib, High Chair, Toys and Children's Videos, Canoe and Floats

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties