Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Small farm in Douro with private pool

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Space 1,937 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 rooms, seating up to 8 people

Farm in Mesão cold towards the Peso da Regua, consists of a main house which includes 2 bedrooms, 1 suite and various spaces such as kitchen, balcony and living room, is a house in independent by the pool.

The Farm offers various facilities and equipment available to customers, ideal for holidays. Abroad, we enjoy a rural and green surroundings, in perfect harmony with nature, and with extensive leisure facilities such as gardens, barbecue and swimming pool that invite unique moments of pleasure.


Property Manager
João Pereira
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 8, 2017

Map

Nearest Airport
88 Kilometres
Aeroporto de Porto
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Mesão Frio
Nearest Ferry
90 Kilometres
Porto de Leixões
Nearest Golf
33 Kilometres
Fregim, Amarante
Nearest Train
13 Kilometres
Peso da Regua
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
Rede, Mesão Frio
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Mesão Frio
Nearest Ski
153 Kilometres
Serra da Estrela
Nearest Beach
90 Kilometres
Leça da Palmeira
Car: necessary

Located in the Douro Valley 2 km from Mesão Frio.

Region of rare beauty, specifically in full demarcated region of the famous Port wine.

Finding one of the most beautiful landscapes in the world created by man, the Douro Valley offers unique experiences in the leisure.

Area classified as a World Heritage Site.

Amenities

Mesão Frio House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house (detached)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1937 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Parties/events not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • River
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Farm Holidays
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
Notes:
Sofa bed in the living room

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

74% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Small farm in Douro with private pool
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
4

Beautiful location, but quite challenging to get to

  • 4 of 5

This is an idyllic place to stay, especially if you want to relax by the pool. It is however very challenging getting a car up to the property, there are also a lot of steps to get up to the villa.

The villa itself is spacious and comfortable, my only gripe is that kitchen utensils were sparse if you plan to cook meals. We enjoyed the covered patio area which was nice for eating outside with a good barbecue. The area around the pool was also very nice. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Pictures make it look Good - BUT!!

  • 2 of 5

OUTSIDE.

The website pictures for the Pool & Terraces do not lie,all good,and then? 19 STEEP STEPS from car with luggage or - 2 x 6litres bottles of water is a real effort in strength & balance, oh yes there are also more steps to the Terraces & Kitchen. The punishment the car's clutch receives in getting to the property needs caution,the road is STEEP, the final turns are very tight and STEEPER,it's easy to stall the car! The first left turn is IMPOSSIBLE,pass on by,stop before the cliff,turn around on ANOTHER STEEP slope and attempt again!! turn into the property and imagine driving up a Helter Skelter.

THE KITCHEN.

Firstly, there are 9 steps from dining table to the kitchen. A smell of GAS from the stove was a concern,the Oven NEVER got to a required temperature and the under-sink cupboard had a Sanitation Odour! The Owner believes this to be natural for the area and that we have never lived abroad before!

Caution when using the sink,it is very easy to bang your head on the upper cupboards,(they also need alignment.) The Washing Machine is housed under the stairs where it should stay due to it's Rusty Body!

LOUNGE/DINING ROOM.

The 2 sideboards with cupboards were locked.The Writing Desk with Glass Cupboards above was also LOCKED but has the games,books,pliers and broken lock INSIDE!!

The Grundig Stereo is probably Antique,unplugged for L.P.'s & Cassettes only (if it ever works?) STEREO is quoted.

The 'Mitsai' Flat Screen T.V. was good connected to an array of Foreign Satellite Channels.

INTERNET or INTERNET ACCESS is only available at a further charge per day on a 'take-it-or-leave-it basis,we took it everywhere, as it's a Vodafone Hot-Spot,(handy)

The Dining Area light has 2 bulbs missing as does the lounge light (economy measures perhaps) The Dining Table opens out? (did not use)

BEDROOMS.

There are 4 further televisions in the house,all old shape,2 did not work,(perhaps a valve problem)

After climbing the 19 steep steps from the car it is a further 22 steps to the Master Suite which is large with a nice bathroom.Unfortunately for us the Mattress is HARD and the ants had to be 'gassed' the next day. To carry a 18kg suitcase to that bedroom took two people with 2 stops! We moved to the lower bedrooms with smaller,shorter beds with more tolerable mattresses,again light bulbs removed.

The sink plug in the lower bathroom NEVER closed.

THE TOWN.

Mesao Frio is compact, Saturday Market, 'Tasca do Zequinha' Restaurant highly recommended for price.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have been on HomeAway since 2005, with ratings between 4 and 5. I did not hide stairs or terraces and are visible in the photos. The house is painted white and has 2 floors is very visible. I think that when you chose your holiday destination, you did not realize that it was for an area classified as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The distinction was attributed by its stairs, slopes, walls, path carved in the earth by man, with secular vines and picturesque landscapes. All constructions in the area are controlled. I recommend you read: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/travel/travel_news/article-3052472/The-world-s-best-road-voted-Portugal-s-wine-region.html As I have confidence in my property, I always ask for a 25% deposit at the reservation and the remaining 75% are paid on the day of arrival and after the whole house is inspected by the renter and me. I can state the house was well looked after by you, found no problems and paid for it freely. I have my cell phone on 24 hours a day. Only 5 days after we arrived, we received the first complaint of the clogged sink. We went to the place and there was no clogging. All you have to do is pull the opening and closing valve of the sink to drain the water. Ant in a Bedroom? If it was in the kitchen it was more logical! When we did the survey everything was ok and I never received any complaints from the ants. For 10 days the renter must be careful with cleaning, we are in a rural environment where there are ants, mosquitoes, etc. The stove is gas and should close after use, the stove and oven are brand TEKA and function normally. As you can see in the photos, there are 1 tables in the kitchen for 6 people do not need to climb stairs. The house has more tables to eat in the barbecue (10P), dining room (8P) and terrace (6P). You can check in the photos that the top cabinets in the kitchen are well away from the head and are standardized. In the house, we could have a single television in the living room, but I found little and installed television in the kitchen and in all 3 bedrooms, all working normally. Total 5 television (I like to save). The existing lamps are of LED technology and are sufficient and necessary for each space. You could have informed us if the booking went well, if the owner was helpfull, if the house was cleaned on the check-in, if it is a quiet place, if the pool has water, if the gardens are treated, if it is a safe place, ... I like and I have pride in my house!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

The property inside and o...

  • 5 of 5

The property inside and out was immaculate and very charming. View of the Douro and in a quiet pretty hamlet, within walking distance of Mesao Frio and all facilities,[although uphill].A typical local house, with all the facilities you could require in the kitchen and the outside space, even to hammocks. Orange and lemon orchard, surrounded by vines.Secure parking, however with a tight entrance.[Difficult for a RollsRoyce].

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5

The property inside and o...

  • 5 of 5

The property inside and out was immaculate and very charming. View of the Douro and in a quiet pretty hamlet, within walking distance of Mesao Frio and all facilities,[although uphill].A typical local house, with all the facilities you could require in the kitchen and the outside space, even to hammocks. Orange and lemon orchard, surrounded by vines.Secure parking, however with a tight entrance.[Difficult for a RollsRoyce].

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
Reading, UK
5

"The villa is among the b...

  • 5 of 5

"The villa is among the best my family has ever rented. The location is fabulous (very peaceful with amazing views of the Douro river and the terraced vineyards). The house was scrupulously clean and provided everything a family of four could need. Our 14-year-old children loved the pool. The neighbours who came to top up the pool brought fresh lemons, figs, and salad vegetables from their garden. All in all a fabulous stay."

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2010
  • Stayed: August 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5

"Our two families would l...

  • 5 of 5

"Our two families would like to say that our visit to Quinta do Sacramento in Mesao Frio was fantastic. The villa was truly magnificent; situated in an area of stunning natural beauty and the views were spectacular. The owner was very helpful on our arrival and had arranged a local contact should we have needed it. He also sent us maps and instructions in advance to help us with our journey.

The house was truthful to its description, very comfortable and well equipped both inside and out! We would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a holiday in a very rural and quiet setting. The (few!) immediate neighbours were very friendly! It is almost impossible to say anything negative about our visit - however, after putting our thinking caps on we came up with this - the can opener was not working correctly - sorry!"

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2005
  • Stayed: July 2005
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties